Search Unity

Render as image sequence

Discussion in 'Cinemachine' started by Ben_Martin, Mar 30, 2018.

1. Ben_Martin

Ben_Martin

Hi all,

I'm new to Unity and I'm interested in it, only to create cinematic render scenes for a film.
    I won't use it to create games or anything related.

I've been watching to a lot of tutorials and learned many cool stuff about Unity but one thing that I could not figure out yet, (and I do believe that this question may already had been asked more than once and for that, I apologize): How to render a cinematic scene to HDD as a sequence of images?

Is this already possible using Unity stand alone or is this feature still dependent on third party scrips?

Many thanks.

Cheers.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm3552923/

Last edited: Mar 31, 2018
  2. Ben_Martin

Ben_Martin

I just found two free ways to capture frame sequences or video clips from the render engine for video editing.

1st method, load and install:
    FrameCapturer - https://github.com/unity3d-jp/FrameCapturer
    This script is added to the Unity camera and allows to save image sequences or videos from the render.

2nd method, load and install from Unity store:
    Recorder - To use this tool you should know hot to work with Cinemachine.
    Check this video tutorial to understand what I mean:

Hope this helps some people, that like me, did not know how to save image sequences from the render.

Cheers.
    --------------------------------------------------------------------
    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm3552923/

Alekxss, KRGraphics and tomasdgarcia like this.
  3. DerDicke

DerDicke

Just my 2 cents. Tried FrameCapturer in Unity 2018 and didn't work for me. It can save webm, but playing that in Firefox shows only half of the recording. Converting the webm to some avi produces the whole video but has a noticeable delay exactly at the point video stops in Firefox. Too much hassle for me.