Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

Renaming Projects

Discussion in 'Unity Hub' started by TriNityGER, Jan 24, 2018.

  1. StickGrinder

    StickGrinder

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Does Unity Hub 3.0 introduce this feature?
    From the changelog I see nothing about this...
     
  2. zacnate88

    zacnate88

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Dear Hub Team devs, we all know how hard it is to get a full-fledged feature through the development cycle. Maybe someone could make a sneaky push with a user-unfriendly implementation for the time being? For example, make the hub look for a .unityprojectname file in the root folder of the project, read the project name from there. It can be ANSI or whatever. Don't even document it anywhere, just wink at us.
     
  3. jaytay579

    jaytay579

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2013
    Posts:
    3
    I'd even be happy with something manual that just cuts down the steps. Right now, if I rename any part of the hierarchy leading to my projects or if I move my projects, I have to delete the old project reference from the hub and manually re-add it. Even just changing this behavior to popping up a "Find project..." dialog (similar to what Adobe After Effects does when it can't find footage) so I could manually re-link the project WITHOUT that deletion step would remove a minor pain point and perhaps buy the Hub devs a bit more patience on this thread!

    Along the same lines (like almost EXACTLY the same), since Unity is so regularly updated, when Hub finds a project's version of Unity Editor is missing, it would be great if it could look for another version of Unity Editor that's the same MAJOR revision and just ASK whether we want to update. So, for example, if I created a project in Unity 2021.1.14 and then I installed Unity 2021.1.15 and deleted the previous version (I only have so much hard drive space!), Unity Hub would offer to update the project to 2021.1.15 WITHOUT me having to manually select the new version.

    These are really small tweaks that could make the Hub experience WAY less annoying.

    : commences holding breath :
     
    nandovilla likes this.
  4. unity_phEhuZFHd2xKQw

    unity_phEhuZFHd2xKQw

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    september 2021, still no option to rename project from the hub. this is ridiculous
     
    nandovilla likes this.
  5. UnityJuju

    UnityJuju

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2021
    Posts:
    222
    Hi folks! Thank you so much for your patience with this request.
    We're planning to add this feature in a future version! :)
     
    Judge_OnUnity likes this.
  6. ciccio_uk

    ciccio_uk

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    October 2021 atill no option o_Oo_Oo_O
     
  7. Aspenforest

    Aspenforest

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Okay guys, I figured out a hacky solution for Windows how to rename Unity projects in the Unity Hub app. We achieve this not by renaming Unity projects per-se, but using a hack to rename the folder it resides in on the disk.

    First, you need to install the Link Shell Extension. Here is a direct download link for your convenience: https://schinagl.priv.at/nt/hardlinkshellext/HardLinkShellExt_X64.exe

    Second, create your Unity project where you want it to, giving it the desired project name. It can reside inside a Plastic SCM sync folder.

    Third, right-click on the Unity project folder and select "Pick Link Source".

    Fourth, right-click on empty space right next to the Unity project folder, then choose "Drop as..." -> "Symbolic Link".

    Fifth, rename the symbolic link to what you want.

    Sixth, hide the original Unity project folder, but not its subfolders nor files.

    Seventh, insert the original Unity project folder path into the Plastic SCM ignore.conf file, if it happens to reside inside the sync directory. Plastic SCM is able to sync the Unity project through the dynamic link.

    RESULT: You have a Unity project using the desired project name in the Unity Hub, while on disk the project appears to reside in a differently named folder, which also syncs properly through Plastic SCM.

    Note: The Plastic SCM sees the symbolic link as a regular folder, so that when the project is being pulled to other devices, Plastic will create a regular folder to put the Unity project stuff in if it does not already exist. Just rename the folder to the desired Unity project name and repeat the process described above to recreate the dynamic link for each device.
     
  8. JesOb

    JesOb

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,111
    Just tested HUB 3.1 Long waited Rename Feature :(

    And this is absolute nonsense :(

    Do Unity think that we wait few years be able to rename project folder not from explorer/finder?

    Current nonsense kills repository structure and is not what we waiting for! Unity!
    We need renaming that will not rename any folder!!!
     
    Havokki and nandovilla like this.
  9. JesOb

    JesOb

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,111
    Please Unity just NEVER touch this
     
    Havokki and nandovilla like this.
  10. Orion

    Orion

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Posts:
    264
    Wait, they added renaming projects by renaming the folder?
    ... ugh. Point missed entirely.

    It can't be so hard!

    notepad++_f2LulFV3Hg.png
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2022
    nandovilla likes this.
  11. JesOb

    JesOb

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,111
    Name in project settings is good and needed :)
    But for case of few copies of same repo just for different platforms it will not work so my suggestion is:

    use product name as @Orion sad + some postfix that only hub will know and we can easily change.
    $"{productName} - {hubPostfix}"

    So we can have in hub:
    My Best Game Ever - Client Android
    My Best Game Ever - Client 1 Windows
    My Best Game Ever - Client 2 Windows
    My Best Game Ever - Server Linux

    May be just store this hubPostfix there:
    ProjectFolder/
    hubPostfix.txt <--- just file with text string
    Assets
    Library
    ProjectSettings
     
  12. bex_unity

    bex_unity

    Joined:
    May 29, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    bump - the beta renaming was removed not long after it was introduced, judging by the changelog. Would really like this feature, though given the amount of bumps in this thread I'm sceptical that it'll ever happen...
     
  13. nandovilla

    nandovilla

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2016
    Posts:
    9
    I think it'll ever happen. I got tired of waiting and made my own launcher:

    upload_2022-5-27_11-13-18.png
     
    mgear likes this.
  14. Alexander_V

    Alexander_V

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2020
    Posts:
    8
    Cmon! Please, implement the renaming feature! Working with multiple branches if you use Perforce is a mess also most of the projects have a subfolder named just "Unity" or "Client."
     
    JesOb likes this.
  15. Sailendu

    Sailendu

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    254
    Please implement this feature, I really need this feature. Please...
     
    JesOb likes this.
  16. mikelortega

    mikelortega

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Posts:
    47
    I've posted a possible solution for Windows users, using NTFS Directory Links, in this thread.
     
  17. Orion

    Orion

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Posts:
    264
    A solution like this has already been suggested by Aspenforest above. I don't think it's a very pretty solution to something that should be really simple to implement.
     
  18. RisingSunStudios

    RisingSunStudios

    Joined:
    May 23, 2018
    Posts:
    34
    Bump - please please please implement this EASY feature in the CORRECT way! It wouldn't even be a breaking change. Hell, give me access and I'll do it for you!
     
    nandovilla and JesOb like this.
  19. JesOb

    JesOb

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,111
    You already have the same name 3 times
    upload_2023-2-17_14-31-34.png
    Highlight folder name in right column, so you have that folder name old behavior, and make project name show Project name from ProjectSettings or CustomName if specified in hub it is so easy
     
  20. Derptastic

    Derptastic

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    How is this still a thing 5 years later? Bump...
     
    chriseborn, Sailendu and JesOb like this.
  21. ItsQuadrus

    ItsQuadrus

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    Unity Hub changed so much but they still haven't added the option to rename projects. Wow.
     
    chriseborn likes this.
  22. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9,566
    after all these years, had to test it myself.

    And about ~30 minutes & ~10 lines of code later,
    modified UnityHub now supports custom project naming! (as a proof of concept)
    upload_2023-12-7_13-47-12.png


    its done through loading ProjectSettings/ProjectName.txt file,
    same file as i use in my custom launcher, where the image below is:
    upload_2023-12-7_13-41-38.gif
     
    MrLucid72, JesOb and nandovilla like this.
  23. JesOb

    JesOb

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,111
    Cool
    can you share it?
     
  24. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9,566
    JesOb likes this.
  25. Sailendu

    Sailendu

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2009
    Posts:
    254
  26. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9,566
    i would think so..if you can unpack the asar in mac somehow.
     
    Sailendu likes this.
  27. Brathnann

    Brathnann

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2014
    Posts:
    7,200
    Nice. Does this have to be changed every time Unity Hub is updated?
     
  28. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9,566
    yes, any update would overwrite/refresh the app.asar file (so need to unpack and modify again)
     
  29. JesOb

    JesOb

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Posts:
    1,111
    Works like a charm :)

    Few notes:
    - it dont work for me with 7z plugin - it incorrectly unpack archive and then hub just fail to start
    - for python way we need to install nodejs and scripts dont work without modification os.copy does not exists shutil.copy do
     
    mgear likes this.
  30. Gamemakers3D

    Gamemakers3D

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Posts:
    31
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2023
    mgear likes this.
  31. mgear

    mgear

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9,566
    here is snippet for reading ProductName field as project title,
    first it checks for ProjectName.txt, if not found,
    then tries ProjectSettings.asset for productName,
    if not found, use the regular foldername.

    *ideally there would be some setting,
    where you can pick which naming to use (folder name or custom name if exists or productname)

    Code (JavaScript):
    1. exports.getCustomProjectName = getCustomProjectName;
    2. async function getCustomProjectName(customNamePath, defaultName) {
    3.      try {
    4.         // if ProjectName.txt exists
    5.        const customName = await fileSystem_1.fs.readFile(customNamePath, 'utf8');
    6.        return customName.trim();
    7.      } catch (error) {
    8.      }
    9.      try {
    10.         // try to read ProjectSettings.asset next
    11.         let settingsFilePath = customNamePath.replace("ProjectName.txt",""+"/ProjectSettings.asset");
    12.         console.log(settingsFilePath);
    13.         const settingsNameRaw = await fileSystem_1.fs.readFile(settingsFilePath, 'utf8');
    14.         const settingsName = settingsNameRaw.match(/productName: (.*)/)[1];
    15.         return settingsName.trim();
    16.     } catch (error) {
    17.         //console.log(error.Error);
    18.     }
    19.     return defaultName;
    20. }
    *not tested with complex product names, maybe it takes first word only atm
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2023
    judesidloski and JesOb like this.