Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Remote Config vs Remote Settings

Discussion in 'Unity Remote Config' started by Peter77, Jul 21, 2019.

  1. Peter77

    Peter77

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    4,217
    How does the new Remote Config compare to the existing Remote Settings functionality?

    I read the Remote Config introduction post and it seems to me both systems seem quite similar and I wonder what's the difference between them.
     
    dzamani likes this.
  2. tagh

    tagh

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2017
    Posts:
    4

    Hi @Peter77

    Remote Config is an evolution of Remote Settings:
    - Unity Analytics is no longer required to be enabled to use Remote Config or any of its features
    - State-less real time segmentation (segmented remote settings functionality is available through Remote Config's new rules system)
    - Unity Package Manager Editor Package that allows you to configure your settings and rules from the editor
    - Public REST APIs for management of configs https://remote-config-api-docs.uca.cloud.unity3d.com/

    We'll be continuing to build on the current feature set of Remote Config, and is meant to replace Remote Settings.

    If you have any additional questions about the new Remote Config Platform please feel free to reach out!

    [Updated with correct API Docs Link]
     
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2019
    facundo_unity961, Griz and Peter77 like this.
  3. Peter77

    Peter77

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Posts:
    4,217
    Thanks for your answer!

    Are there plans to add Xbox and PlayStation support?
     
  4. vd_unity

    vd_unity

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Hi @Peter77

    Yes, we are exploring official support for both Xbox and PlayStation, but have no timeline yet.
    We’ll share more when we can.
     
    Peter77 likes this.
  5. game_apps

    game_apps

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Posts:
    36
    Hi @vd_unity

    Why cant we add multiple key-value pairs in Config at once(from web dashboard), like we use to have in previous Remote Settings using a .csv?
    This is really needed, multiple games can have same common configurations too.

    Will it be supported ? Any ETA if its planned?
     
    Evorowy likes this.
  6. amateurhr

    amateurhr

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    When Remote Settings has an outage, our entire game is unplayable. Will Remote Config have a way of dealing with this? Is any part of Remote Config baked into the current build or is it just an independent window that happens to be in Unity?
     
  7. rambod

    rambod

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Posts:
    22
    hey @amateurhr! I'd love to dig deeper into that to see what's going on, with Remote Config the last delivered config will be cached, so the only time things would potentially break are during the first session.

    One way to mitigate this would be to pass in default values into the GetString/GetInt/GetFloat/GetBool/etc APIs.

    With regards to baking Remote Config in the current build, would you be interested in discussing that further so we can understand your requirements?
     
  8. amateurhr

    amateurhr

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    @rambod with regards to baking in Remote Config, I am just trying to solve that first user experience. As you can understand, if there's ever an outage when we have user acquisition spend on, we will need a way of falling back on default values that don't need to be pulled down from Unity's servers, at least until Unity has a SLA policy as robust as AWS.

    For the caching you mentioned earlier, are both remote settings and remote config key/value pairs cached or is it just remote config?
     
  9. JeffDUnity3D

    JeffDUnity3D

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    May 2, 2017
    Posts:
    5,906
    Default values are indeed baked into the local app. If there is no network access, the default values are used. And cache handling is similar, the last received values are used.
     
  10. rambod

    rambod

    Unity Technologies

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2018
    Posts:
    22
    Totally agree, the best way to handle that is by passing in a default value into the GetString/GetInt/etc calls. I would love to know what you would want beyond that, so we can capture that and build that out in a better way.

    Totally agreed here too, we're working on getting an SLA policy in place, so we'll keep developers updated on that.

    Currently, it's one or the other. Remote Config will overwrite cached Remote Settings. We have a release upcoming (pending platform testing currently) that will open up the web request, and there the Remote Config cache will be in a different place than Remote Settings, and you can even implement your own caching mechanism if you'd like.