Search Unity

Remapping Values Automatically detect Bounds - Shader Graph

Discussion in 'Shaders' started by Nightstriker, Aug 7, 2018.

1. Nightstriker

Nightstriker

Hi All,

I am a newbie on Shaders so this is probably something that I am missing on their logic. I want to basically normalize a list of values (let's say the Red channel of an image) based on its range. If I use the remap component I would need to provide the Min and Max values of the original range, which I don't know. I can have it as an input on the shader but then I would need to somehow calculate it and id I do it inside the shaders that would be more accurate and efficient.

Using c# logic I would just loop through all the values and keep the largest / smallest, but obvjiously I cannot do that. So I guess my question is how you usually do that with shaders? Is there a way to have "global values" that the program can access? Is there another trickery that solves this problem? Do I just need to do it in C#?

Some form of guidance would be much appreciated!

2. bgolus

bgolus

Is the texture one you're importing in to the editor? If so, precalculate the range in C# and set them as material properties, or maybe just remap the texture asset itself.

However if this is a texture being generated at runtime, like for a post process effect where you need to calculate the range of the current scene, then that's harder. Pulling the texture back onto the CPU to process in C# isn't what you want to do. Shaders are perfectly capable of iterating through textures on their own and it'll likely be able to churn through a texture in less time than it takes to transfer the image back to the CPU from the GPU. There are multiple ways to go about this.

Old school multi-sample downsample: