Search Unity

[Released] Weaver - Get rid of your magic strings

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Kybernetik, Dec 3, 2018.

  1. Kybernetik

    Kybernetik

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Posts:
    774
    Have you ever wanted to:
    Well, I just released a massive update to my Weaver plugin which lets you do all those things. Please check it out and let me know if you have any questions, feedback, feature requests, etc.

    If you are upgrading from an earlier version of Weaver, the Change Log contains an Upgrade Guide to help you.

    [Weaver Lite] [Weaver Pro] [Documentation] [Forum] [Support: KybernetikGames@gmail.com]
     
    Last edited: Mar 18, 2019
  2. Player7

    Player7

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1,504
    What is the difference with the Lite and Pro versions?
     
  3. Kybernetik

    Kybernetik

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Posts:
    774
  4. Gekigengar

    Gekigengar

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2013
    Posts:
    439
    @Kybernetik Just found a bug on the inspector after creating the 14th layer.
    upload_2020-2-5_1-18-3.png
    All the layer names would shift to the right.
     
  5. Kybernetik

    Kybernetik

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Posts:
    774
    Thanks, I'll take a look at it.
     
    Gekigengar likes this.
  6. Player7

    Player7

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1,504
    Is this hotfix "Fixed CSharp.IsValidInMemberName to correctly treat the pipe symbol "|" as an invalid character" that could be included in the next update...
     
  7. Kybernetik

    Kybernetik

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Posts:
    774
    It will be included in the next update when I do some work on Weaver again, it's just a pain to test and upload the Pro and Lite versions with several different versions of Unity each (more so than my other assets because Weaver tests include procedural scripts so they can't be automated) so I haven't done it just for that one bug fix.
     
  8. Player7

    Player7

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1,504
    Speaking on new Unity versions.. just updated my project to 2020.1.0a22 and it was Weaver causing some issues with one of its build scripts that builds the BuildDetails.cs script

    Well I mean you could just update the Pro version first and then do the Lite version as and when time allows, so Lite version doesn't get as frequent an update.. it is afterall the free version.
     
  9. Kybernetik

    Kybernetik

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Posts:
    774
    Trying to support alpha and beta versions of Unity is a massive waste of time because they often introduce bugs that are fixed by the time that version actually releases. For example, in one of the recent Unity versions they implemented a new API for adding your own page to the preferences window but during the beta the old system was broken and the new one completely undocumented, then when it released the old API worked fine again.

    Setting up the tests and separating everything from the rest of my unreleased systems is also a significant chunk of the time involved and doing each version separately would increase the possibility of having different issues with only one of them, which is already a significant hassle as it is.
     
  10. Player7

    Player7

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1,504
     
  11. Player7

    Player7

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1,504
    yeah fair enough can't blame you on that when it's unity breaking stuff without having adequate replacements they stick to and document properly.

    Anyway the above error is from 2020.1.a22 but I'm not utilising weaver just yet, so I've removed it for now.
     
  12. Kybernetik

    Kybernetik

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
    Posts:
    774
    If you try it again, check the import settings of the DLLs because that sounds like the external scripts can't see anything in the DLLs so Unity might have lost the import settings (if so, that's a bug I would expect them to fix before release). The ones in Assets/Plugins/Weaver should be editor-only and the ones in the Runtime folder are for all other platforms.
     
  13. Player7

    Player7

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Posts:
    1,504
    hmm doesn't seem to be the issue
     
unityunity