Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Vegetation Studio

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by LennartJohansen, Jun 23, 2017.

  1. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    765
    Very cool!
    I like it!!
    Great work, will keep watching for a future release.
     
  2. DJ_DiX

    DJ_DiX

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Hello all, dont finded answer in theme, so will ask:

    Is it possible to change spawhed trees to my own prefabs?
    Simply i have trees prefabs with "mining" script, i can cut it, and when it empty - tree removing for some time before spawn again.
    Is it possible to use it with Veg.Studio?

    I'm newbie in veg.studio, so i dont know possible it, or not, and if yes - how to do this.
     
  3. MHS-JProgrammer

    MHS-JProgrammer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    Hello, I'm having an error after update "Vegetation Studio Pro" to version 1.4.5 and "Stylized Grass shader". Now some scripts say that some AwesomeTechnologies namespaces are missing. I never had this issue before.

    I tried to regenerate project files in Preferences, delete the Library folder and even use an updated version of Unity.
    Now I'm looking into the assembly definition assets. But I don't know how they work exactly.
    Do you have any idea of what could cause it?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. MHS-JProgrammer

    MHS-JProgrammer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    I also found out that there are some constraints with errors.
    I had to add it manually. Now it seems to be fixed.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 12, 2021
    Lyxodius likes this.
  5. Malan-x

    Malan-x

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Hello all!

    How to correctly change the splatmap at runtime? And how to correctly update spawn grass and plants?
    I am changing the splatmap array using the given method:

    terrainData.SetAlphamaps(x, z, splat);

    But the grass and plants either do not update or an error pops up:

    InvalidOperationException: The UNKNOWN_OBJECT_TYPE SplatMapRuleJob.SplatMapArray has been deallocated. All containers must be valid when scheduling a job.

    upload_2021-9-12_21-8-51.png
     
  6. vinnygombici

    vinnygombici

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    Hello, If I use Instanced for trees instead of Instanced indirect, I get about 0.6 ms performance boost on the CPU, and 1ms performance boost on the GPU. However, when the trees turn to billboards, I see 1-2 frame when the tree disappears. Anyone had this problem?
     
  7. pixel_maniacs

    pixel_maniacs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2015
    Posts:
    71
    Hi trying to build I get the following error: (running 1.4.6)

    upload_2021-10-8_9-11-19.png

    upload_2021-10-8_9-13-13.png

    upload_2021-10-8_9-13-20.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2021
    SHSA likes this.
  8. Sir_patrickl

    Sir_patrickl

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Posts:
    28
    Hi,
    Does vegetation studio support URP or is it only supported in the pro version?
     
  9. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    780
    Hi. using unity 2019.4 and Vegetations tudio Pro, I have a main Biome, and several Forst Biomes, along with Lake Biomes (Using R.A.M Rivers by NatureManufacturer and Lake Polygons) and River Biomes (Using R.A.M Rivers Splines)... each having a Vegetation Studio Mask Attached.

    The problem is that whenever I Regenerate the Splatmaps either from the Windows>AsesomeTechnologies> Regenerate Splatmaps menu item, or from the Biome itself within Vegetation Studio Pro, the Polygons and Slines are never regenerated and so I have to go through every Lake and every River Spline to generate the splat maps individually.

    Is there a way for VSPro to recognize the Splines and Polygos s when I regenerate All the Splatmaps, they are all regenerated?

    Thanks.
     
  10. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    765
    Hawk, that is a great idea!
    I haven't seen it anywhere, but @Rowlan makes some great solutions for VSP.
    Check https://forum.unity.com/threads/free-vegetation-studio-pro-extensions-open-source-github.808008/ maybe he has added it or can add it to the batch extension.
    Worth a try.
    David
     
    Rowlan and Hawk0077 like this.
  11. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    780
    Thanks silverthorn, I actually not a single minute before checking this post for answers... just regenerated all slats from the Windows Menu, and it actually regenerated the river I was working on too. Maybe because it was selected at the time I regenerated them. im not sure.

    I will check the layers to see if that makes a difference and possibly tags (not sure how that all works)

    of course I will then check the link above.

    Many thanks.
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  12. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    765
    Excellent! I'll have to make sure of that too if I run into that problem.
    Have a great Christmas!
     
    Hawk0077 likes this.
  13. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    780
    You too silverthorn, and thanks for the past assists too. All the best.
     
  14. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    765
    This video was made using this asset. I use VSP in all my projects.



    Third in the Apollo’s Dream series, we make these for all people to find some peace and beauty in this world of chaos. We hope you enjoy it.
     
    Hawk0077 and Duffer123 like this.
  15. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    780
    Hi, anyone have any ideas what could be causeing this error?

    I just upgraded from 2019.4.33f to 34f to try and get rid of it but it remains.

    All of my Biomes seem fine and I cant see anything undue within Vegestation Studio system, apart from trees and rocks and other objects showing as pink, but they all display ok in the scene.

    Im going to try reinstalling it to see if something is broke. Much like throwing stuff at the wall and hoping smething sticks. LOL

    Heres the error: image_2021-12-28_222505.png
     
  16. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    780
    Seems noone is in Unity anymore and prefer prrefer to live in Discord.

    Anyways, I have a few issues with VSPro.

    Using Unito 2019.4.4 all of the Vegetation Items in each Biome are Pink. The prefabs of each item are showing and working as expected but VSPro is making everything/the little icons Pink. There are no shader issues on eany of the LODs withn each prefab... so whats going on with this? Any ideas?

    Also setting up the spla maps based on specifi rules is proving an imossibility.

    Whether I have Use With Auto Slat Generation on or not for each texture in a biome, the texture is generated. as I belive this setting is to disabe certain textures within each biome, but it isnt working.

    Im using CTS too. But no matter where I generate from (CTS, MAin Menu, or VSPro Biome settings) I cant eliminate a texture to focus on others to get their positioning right.

    Any ideas to solve any of the above issues appreciated, thanks
     
  17. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    765
    Hey Hawk
    Can’t help on the textures. I haven’t been able to get textures with VSP, so I just use MegaSplat. I’ve never fully understood the process.

    The pink though, I do get all the time. For me it’s a unity problem. The fix is to go to the item that is in VSP and find it in your assets. Right click and reimport that item only and see if that fixes it. Some times it take several attempts or it’s the textures that need the reimport. I’ll reimport a folder of grass, for instance, and only half will be corrected. Then I’ll select the rest individually to bring them back. If they are pink in the asset folder, it’s a unity import issue. It doesn’t help to reinstall either. A reimport of the pink items is the quickest fix. This seems to me to be a 2019 issue, because I didn’t experience it until switching to 2019. I hope this helps, I know how annoying it is.

    I’m with you on the discord instead of forums. And for the record, if anyone is listening, I prefer the unity forums to discord. I don’t have all day to sit and wait for an answer. For unity forums, it may not be live chat, but it is so much easier to get direct answers. Just my 2 cents.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2022
    Hawk0077 likes this.
  18. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    780
    Awesome, thanks dsilverthorn. I will try reimporting when I open my project later tonight.

    By the way, theyre some great videos you keep adding.
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  19. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    765
    Thanks Hawk!
    They are a lot of fun doing and my wife composes so much music that I have to find a place for them. ;)
    We are really appreciative that people like them, and really glad that you enjoy it too. It is a great feeling to know your work is bringing a smile.

    When you reimport, just make sure you don't hit the reimport all button or you will be waiting a long time for every asset to reimport, and you could lose settings or prefabs that get replaced if they aren't saved to their own folders. I've run into that problem before and it was no fun. But I'm sure you are making backups of your project. I am looking forward to seeing it, when you are ready to show it off.
     
    Hawk0077 likes this.
  20. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    780
    Originally I was awaiting the release of 2018 and the multi tile system. At which point I had a great working environement ready to add a game to. Wildlife, flying dragons and everything was fine. However, I was of the opiion that I should keep upgrading so when HDRP came out i upgraded and then found myself in trouble because many assets such as R.A.M and others just couldnt keep up with the Unity HDRP development. So I reverte to 2019.4 and am staying right here until I get the environment working and am then able to add the basic concept to the game. (Im keeping that under raps. lol)

    I did notice the music was very fitting as I was a pro drummer for 40 years. Creates great atmosphere for the scenes.

    Now yu say that about reimporting Im a little confused. Do you eman reinstall/import the assets from the asset store/Package manager?

    Thats where I just reimported some assets and the pink remains. I did try deleting the library flder a few weeks ago to try and solve the problem but that didnt work.

    Recently (yesterday) I added 4 rocks. 2 of which were displaing ok and 2 pink? So whats going on there, I have no idea.
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  21. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    765
    Yes, reimport from the asset folder in the project. Right click on the pink one and select reimport and it will do a real quick reimport of that item. That usually fixes it. You can also multi-select objects or do the whole folder.
    Reimporting from the store or manager takes forever and doesn't fix the problem. It seems Unity doesn't install everything correctly and the game object come out pink. Reinstalling doesn't fix it, but right clicking on folders or game objects and doing single reimports usually works.

    If you select reimport ALL, it will reimport and reinstall everything in your asset folder. That should be avoided, for obvious reasons.

    Very funny that you're a drummer. So am I! I played professionally through the 80s and 90s, and then taught for 15 years for the Air Force locally. My wife and I met in a rock band in the 80s. Now she is a classical composer and I do the art for her music- adding drums and percussion when needed. Very cool that we both end up creating with Unity.:)
     
    Hawk0077 likes this.
  22. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    780
    WOW!, yeah the internet made it a small world. I dont do any playing any more. I got sick of being told to "shut that nosie up by the neigbours". So I bought myself a couple of guitars and learned for a couple of years but never got beyond a certain spot. i ddint have the same dedication. But am planning on giving it another go.

    Thanks again for the assist. Much appreciated. Take it easy, and of course, keep up the good work.
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  23. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    765
    You too Hawk!
    If you need anything, I'll be around.
     
    Hawk0077 likes this.
  24. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    780
    Thanks, I appreciate it.
     
  25. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    780
    YAY! We have Icons. Thanks Silver
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  26. Claytonious

    Claytonious

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Posts:
    829
    How do you remove a single, specific tree from persistent storage at runtime, programmatically? For example, to destroy a single tree that is being chopped down? I gather that a small vegetation mask would work, but if we are using persistent storage, can we more efficiently just remove a single tree, similarly to how the editing tools do it?
     
    dsilverthorn and Hawk0077 like this.
  27. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    780
    I asked this years ago and have now forgot so will be asking again later. But From before, it could be the standard unity editor to paint out the trees. I forget, but you do have to kinda paint them out, I just cant remember how. Sorry I cant be more helpful.
     
    dsilverthorn likes this.
  28. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    765
    I haven't done it, but I remember it being asked years ago- it seems. with tree cutting. It seems like there was a special script added for that, but it may have been included in the asset now. Sorry I can't remember more.
     
  29. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    765
    @Claytonious I found this post from 2018, I don't know if this is still the way it works or if something has been added to do it.
    [RELEASED] Vegetation Studio

    You can search for "Harvest" to see the different post on the topic.
     
  30. dsilverthorn

    dsilverthorn

    Joined:
    May 14, 2017
    Posts:
    765
    Our latest video highlights Vegetation Studio!


    Hope you enjoy this vintage creation of ours.
    Musical Composition by Teresa Silverthorn
    Art work by David Silverthorn

    Assets Used:
    Gaia by Procedural Worlds https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/15277
    Forest Vision by Bauervision https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/20500
    Weather Maker by Digital Ruby (Jeff Johnson) https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/11088
    Pegasus by Procedural Worlds https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/15277
    Fawn by Asset4Indie https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/10644
    Bird Flocks- Butterfly, Sparrow, Hummingbird by Unluck Software https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/1075
    Woodland Animals- Deer by VintageSoft https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/21015
    Super Combiner by LunarCats Studio https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/18135
    Vegetation Studio by Awesome Technologies https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/25402
    Final Camera Effects Pro by Project Wilberforce https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/22764
    Inspector Gadgets Pro by Kybernetik https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/16747
    Easy Scatter by Hedgehog Team https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/1351
    MegaSplat by Jason Booth https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/25047
    Turbo Rename by Rob Reijnen https://assetstore.unity.com/publishers/29405
     
    borgstation likes this.
  31. Radivarig

    Radivarig

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Posts:
    61