Search Unity

[Released] uNode - Visual Scripting [Support C# Import/Export]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by wahid_rachmawan, Oct 18, 2017.

  1. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    Hello everyone uNode v1.8b2 has been released its comes with new vertical graph theme:
    Screenshot (292).png
    Currently its still 20% done, mean it not support all of old theme features.
    To use it you'll need to import Vertical Graph.unitypackage inside uNode folder after import change the theme in the preference.

    Note: New Vertical theme only works on Unity 2018.3 we will soon upgrade the requirement to Unity 2019.1 when the stable version out.

    changelog v1.8b2:
    -New Vertical Graph theme.
    -Added ability to open recently files.
    -Improved C# Parser
    -Improved Editor
    -Improved ItemSelector
    -Fixed some bugs.

    Download here : http://maxygames.com/download/

    Sorry for the late update, I encountered a problem in my life so this update was delayed for a while.
     
    AthrunVLokiz and Szaruga like this.
  2. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    278
    How big are the shortages / restrictions compared to the old theme?
     
  3. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    278
    New test project + Unity 2018.3.11 --->
    The uNode editor window does not work --->
    2019-04-01_11-51-19.png
     
  4. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    • Not support state flow
    • No icon
    • No auto conversion
    • No control point
    • Since its currently only cover basic features of uNode, other feature may not implemented.
    All of the above disadvantages will be eliminated when its done.

    Try to change theme to another theme first and change back to vertical theme, if doesn't work try to remove the preference data in 'Assets/uNodeData/PreferenceData.json'
    Change the theme from the Unity Preference > uNode instead uNodeEditor
     
  5. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    278
    But I have not even unpacked yet "VerticalGraph" - I only imported uNode
     
  6. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    Same this why you'll need to change the theme from Unity Preference
     
    alisia likes this.
  7. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    278
    @wahid_rachmawan

    So - have to unpack "VerticalGraph" - and then change the theme in preferences - it just helped

    As for "VerticalGraph" - looks promising - but not yet usable (a lot of errors - eg. lose function parameters)
     
  8. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    278
    When VerticalGraph is finished - I will probably start using it, but in the meantime ...
    It is a pity that the knots look bad again:
    is (worse):
    2019-04-03_20-14-28.png
    was (better):
    2019-04-03_20-12-15.png

    is (worse):
    2019-04-03_20-26-08a.png

    But it was better:
    2019-04-03_20-27-33.png

    An additional problem with flow value:
    2019-04-03_20-57-51.png
     
  9. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    278
    @wahid_rachmawan
    It's nice that you moved in "switch" - "Next" down / end. I think that in these nods - it would be useful too (especially in the loops) --->
    2019-04-03_21-28-07.png

    It would be useful for some nodes to work the same as "StringBuilder" --->
    2019-04-03_21-13-43.png
     
  10. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    Thank you, i'll fix it all in next update.

    It will be improved in next update.

    Soon i will make it.
     
    Szaruga likes this.
  11. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Hi everybody!
    I just bought uNode and I'm imaging to do some great things now.
    One of them is - I'm now sure what the VPL is doing because of that, I can immediately see the translated C#-code. It's very helpful for better understanding of the graphs.
    Much success to all and your works!
     
  12. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Question on 'Comment as Node' and Adding of 'Node Group Comment'

    Is there a node working as a 'Comment' or kind of 'Sticky Note'?
    I have read in a post of June that notes are be planned. I couldn't find things in Editor.

    I used 'Node Group' as compensation. Sadly 'Node Group' doesn't have a 'Comment Field'.
    Would you be so kind and add that field?

    Just as explanation: At the beginning of a project I'm doing a kind of 'Mind Map'. Showing to me what should be going on and what is done.
    It would be nice if this map could be directly build within the uNode Editor.
    Those map could be a kind of 'Smart Mind Map' gathering the thoughts of the author, listing of objects and execution of some functions.

    Edit:
    Now I have noticed the node "Region", it seems to be an alternative to the above.
    It doesn't have a comment field and does have a different behavior than the other nodes, because of it's editing field is not within uNode Node Inspector but within a pull-down menu. It would be better, all nodes are handled the same way.
    I will do some testing with the Region Node.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2019
  13. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    Thanks for buy uNode.

    Every node in uNode have comment if you fill it the comment will show but if you mean a node which only for commentary (Sticky Note) node we don't have it for now.

    I think that's region node not sticky note.

    Sure, i'll add it soon.

    I don't know what this and how it works, can you explain me more about it?
    If it can improve productivity i will prioritize it.

    You mean all within a pull-down menu or inspector?

    Edit:
    Just checked and it's a bug, the inspector should show field for region like name and color.
    It will be fixed in next update.
     
  14. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    A lot of Warnings installing uNode first time
    Not really a bug but not the best for newbies seeing uNode the first time. A bunch of warnings are shown if uNode is installed first time in a new unity project.
    Unity 2018.3.11, uNode 1.7.5
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 7, 2019
  15. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,100
    these warning you can ignore
     
  16. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Region in Menu missing + Zero-Error info
    If starting a new uNode Editor Window. the context menu doesn't' show the 'Region' command.
    And by the way - someone else did a notic for that - for newbies and me it's disturbing seeing the red 'error sign' even if a 0 is counted. It would be better if the error sign is shown in actual case of an error.
     

    Attached Files:

    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  17. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,100
    yes the error should only be red if there was an actual error otherwise gray or something neutral
     
  18. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Thanks for your adwise, I do know it. But I imagine uNode don't look professional if showing those things at first start up.

    I expect what wahid_rachmawan is doing with uNode is one of the best VPLs for Unity.
    I would like to help a little bit making uNode smart and having a high quality. This would be good for my work too.
     
    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  19. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    What is Tabulator 'Main'
    One more being at startup. uNode Editor is showing in tabulator the field 'Main' what is behind this?
    I have done two tabs by my own, 'Manager01' and 'Manager02, and I can change the graphs. But what could I do with the tab 'Main'?
     
  20. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Bug when copy a node to another graph
    I did the following:
    - Use uNode window 'Main'
    - creating the node 'This'
    - Building a 'Region'
    - Copy node 'This'
    - Use window 'Manager02'
    - Past (the node 'This')
    - Got Error
    Secondly
    What I have done in the window 'Main' also was shown in window 'Manager01'.
    'Manager02' was empty and got the error when pasting the node 'This'.
    uNode_Bug__U2018.3.11_uN1.7.5__Copy a node to another graph.png
    Correcting did work! Very good!
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2019
  21. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Strange Effects for Tabulator 'Main'
    Changing the name of a region in my window 'Manager01' does also change the name in the region of window 'Main'.
    Both tabulator windows and there region nodes seem to be connected.
    uNode_Bug__U2018.3.11_uN1.7.5__Strange Effects for Tabulator -Main-.png
    Edit:
    Deleting the nodes in 'Main' ('Region' and 'This') did delete the nodes in window 'Manager01'.
    Building a new node in 'Manager01' (StringBuilder) did build the same node in 'Main'.
    Somehow both Graphs are connected.

    For now I will forget about 'Main' and are going on with my 'Manager01' and 'Manager02'.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2019
  22. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    I'll fix it soon, the warning just related to line ending and some obsolete API in newer unity so you can ignore it.

    Please try latest version found on : http://maxygames.com/download/
    I'll not update the newer version on asset store until v1.8 is stable.

    I still working hard to improve appearances for uNode, one of them is vertical graph but more suggestion is welcome.

    The tab 'Main' is a tab which depend on active selection (project or hierarchy), the other tab is locked for only one graph.

    Please post the error stack for i can fix it.

    This is not bug, when you paste node from another graph those node still referencing to another graph so it correct it, the dialog appear because in old version uNode may reference variable, or function from another graph but i thing the dialog is not need anymore since in newer its forbidden.

    The 'Main' and uNodeManager_01 both have same graph so any change made in the graph the other will also changed.

    Thanks for the help by posting bug and suggestion.
     
  23. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Documentation misunderstanding 'StateFlow is a Graph'
    There seem to be a misunderstanding part in documentation. It is written
    - 'A StateFlow is a graph' and
    - 'Flow Graph is a graph'.
    It would be more clearly changing the phrase 'StateFlow' to 'State Graph'.
     
  24. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    That's good idea, i will change it soon thanks.
     
  25. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Thanks, now I understand what 'Main' is doing!
    Changing the selected object in Hierarchy will change in parallel the Graphs in 'Main'.
    In principle it is a good feature.
    And of course I will download the actual version of uNode.
    Edit:
    Wouldn't it be better to change the word 'Main'? For programmers 'Main' has a defined meaning.
    What's about 'Actual', 'Present', 'Marked', 'Selected'.
    'Selected' has a good understanding.
    Edit:
    I just looked at www.thesaurus.com for a synonym to 'Selected'.
    They showed me ' Picked', 'Chosen', 'Called', 'Tagged'
    One of them should it be. Now I prefer 'Picked' or 'Chosen'. Picked is more modern. Chosen more clearly.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2019
    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  26. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Bug installing 1.8.b2 in totally new project. Unity is 2018.3.11f1.
    When opening uNode editor they need a reference at 'D:/My Project/uNode ...'.
    I don't have Disk 'D:'
    Edit:
    I have seen your post with Szaruga.
    But I have no chance of changing things in preferences. There is nothing but 'Theme Native' and

    'Preferred Editor is Node'.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 7, 2019
  27. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    Its bug in preference, i have fix it in new update but instead of wait you can fix manual by changing to another theme from Unity Preference (Edit > Preferences...) > uNode > Theme and change it back when you've done.
     
  28. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    I've been working on improving vertical theme, here it is:
    Screenshot (297).png

    Screenshot (298).png

    Now it has icon and will show the error badge when the node has errors and its show with information when mouse over the error icon.

    For now control point will not available until i found a way to make it but alternatively you can use new feature called Proxy.

    Proxy is a cool new feature which will eliminate most of graph spaghetti, its will hide the wire/connection and will show when you mouse over the node.

    And vertical theme now support State Graph but not for State Machine because i still find a best design for it, suggestion are welcome.

    New update coming very soon maybe tomorrow or in a few days.
     
    Szaruga likes this.
  29. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    278
    @wahid_rachmawan ... reminder ;) --->
    I am very curious about the final version of the vertical layout - I have a few comments, but maybe I will wait for now.
     
  30. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    Thanks for remind me, previusly it planned on b2 but delayed because busy in real live. I will try to implement it before next update.
     
  31. BebopTune

    BebopTune

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2019
    Posts:
    12
    Hello.

    Would be nice if Transitions placed on connection lines between state nodes, with dedicated node(different shape than state node).

    And arrow for connection line, indicate flow direction for preventing confusion.
     
  32. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    Hmm still don't know what it should be, i think its like Animator window but in uNode state node are combine with regular node which mean the design should be support for connecting to regular node.

    Thanks.
     
  33. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    New updates has been released.

    changelog v1.8b3:
    -Added auto convert incorrect port for Vertical graph.
    -Added support State Flow graph type for Vertical graph.
    -Added ability to reorder variable, property, and function by drag & drop in uNode Editor.
    -Added error badge for Vertical graph.
    -Improved Vertical graph.
    -Improved Editor.
    -Fixed some bugs.

    Download here : http://maxygames.com/download/
     
    Szaruga likes this.
  34. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Hi, I just installed 1.83b in an existing project.

    Three errors were shown. uNode Editor is starting.
    uNode_Bug__U2018.3.11_uN1.8b3__Three Missing Errors.png

    Only two themes, 'Dark' is preinstalled. Changing to 'Nativ' then 'Dark' theme is away.
    uNode_Bug__U2018.3.11_uN1.8b3__Only Theme Dark and Nativ.png
     

    Attached Files:

  35. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    Please clean install v1.8b3, the errors happen because i have deleted those script in newer version.
    For bug theme, i will fix and reupload it ASAP.

    Thanks for report it.
     
  36. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Now I did it all new!
    - Installed new Unity 2018.3.12f1
    - Dragged my saved uNode-1.8b3.unitypackage into Unity
    - after installing uNode, No Errors
    - in preferences only Theme 'Native'
     
  37. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    Yes the bug theme still happen, i've say above that i will fix it ASAP and reupload it (today or tomorrow).
     
  38. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    Just uploaded a new update for fix theme bug.
     
  39. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    278
    @wahid_rachmawan
    An attempt to switch / use a vertical theme ---> no nodes and errors --->
    2019-04-09_17-42-33.png
     
  40. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    What the unity version do you use?

    Just tested on Unity 2018.3.0f2 with clean install uNode without errors.
    and it should not throw null error since i have assign it.
    Capture.PNG
     
  41. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    278
    Clean new project - Unity 2018.3.11f1
     
  42. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Hi, I do have the same errors as Szaruga told us.
    The same 'NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object'. The exception is repeated and Console counts 999+ errors.
    The same line numbers in different 'cs-Files'.
    Unity 2018.3.12f1, uNode 1.8b3 fixed
     
  43. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    Please use Unity 2018.3.0f2 for anyone who want try vertical theme, i think the problem is within unity since the API is still experimental the error may show on different unity version and i will not made support for newer version until unity 2019.1 out.
     
  44. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    278
    Ok, I moved the project to Unity 2018.3.0f2 because the VerticalTheme is tempting.
    Soon will be the official 2019.1 version - can expect uNode support for this version?
     
  45. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    278
  46. wahid_rachmawan

    wahid_rachmawan

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2017
    Posts:
    346
    Yes as soon the unity 2019.1 out, i wait for 2019.1 because in 2019.1 the UI Element is no longer experimental.

    Firstly thanks for trying vertical theme:).

    Download and replace NodeSwitchView.cs with the script below to fix it.
    Anyway i just add single line in the script at line 88 : 'AddOutputFlowPort("onFinished", "Next");'
     

    Attached Files:

  47. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    278
    @wahid_rachmawan
    Thanks :)

    I'm starting to get used to the vertical theme.
    Sometimes such errors appear:
    2019-04-10_08-02-12.png
    2019-04-10_07-28-41.png
    After their occurrence - the editor stops working and needs to be turned off and reset.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2019
  48. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Sorry, but Unity Hub does not have an Official Release of 2018.3 below of 2018.3.12f1.
    Downloading an old version from archive is surely a wrong way. Losing all versions til 2018.12 is sad for those using them.
    Ok, I will wait for 2019.1.
    (There is an release out of 2019.1.0f1 ordered in Unity Hub Beta Releases. I will test it.
    Does work with 1.8b3fixed, but not with vertical design.)
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2019
  49. eggeuk

    eggeuk

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2013
    Posts:
    72
    Region without Inspector Fields (unity 2019.1.0f1)
    1 Was fixed some version back, but now in 2019 back again.
    2 Wishlist: Region Command in Context Menu if no node is highlighted (clicking on background).
    3 Wishlist: Possibility of making Region as small as possible, using it as kind of 'Title/Header Line'.
    uNode_Bug__U2019.1.0f1_uN1.8b3fix__Region + Inspector.png
     
  50. Szaruga

    Szaruga

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2016
    Posts:
    278
    @wahid_rachmawan
    Suggestion:
    For both types of loops - it may be better to swap the positions of the outputs "body" and "next"? - because they cross unnecessarily. --->
    2019-04-10_12-43-36a.png