Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

[Released] UModeler X (Beta) : Model, Rig, Paint and AI-Texture within Unity [Unity VSP]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by UModeler, Mar 23, 2017.

  1. Mikenseer

    Mikenseer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Posts:
    74
    You were right! We were running an older version of Blender. This solves all our needs at the moment. Thank you very much!
     
    UModeler likes this.
  2. Mikenseer

    Mikenseer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Posts:
    74
    Running into an issue with the Polygon Color tool.
    Sometimes after Umodelerizing an object that has vertex colors, we will use the Polygon Color tool to select a face, then color pick it, then select polygons using that color. This all seems to work, but then it will seemingly delete all the faces once going to object selection mode.

    Or, upon recoloring all of the selected faces, once going back to Object Selection mode, the new color will not be applied. Perhaps its taking vertex data from somewhere else?

    And even more strange, sometimes a few ctrl + z's will fix the issue. As if multiple steps are happening behind the scenes and getting mixed up.

    Images show going back to object mode after recoloring selected polys. (While editing a umodelerized prefab thats using vertex colors)

    upload_2023-7-15_12-39-56.png upload_2023-7-15_12-40-6.png

    Edit: after some more experimenting the issues all seem tied to the Select Polygons tool in the polygon color tool. When selecting polys manually everything works as expected.
    If you select with the color picker, then recolor those polys, THEN select another poly and recolor it, then undo that change. Sometimes that seems to fix the issue. But it's a weird workaround.

    Hope this helps track down the issue!
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2023
    UModeler likes this.
  3. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Okay, thanks for the detailed explanation. what material or share are you using for that object? it seems like you don't use the unity standard shader. and what RP is in the project? BiRP, URP?
     
  4. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Hello everyone

    We are sad to announce that UModeler lite, a free version of UModeler, will be discontinuing its service. UModeler lite will only be available for download until September 19th 2023.

    For those who have already downloaded the Lite version, you can continue to use it, but there will be no further updates.

    However, don't worry. A next-generation 3D asset creation solution called UModeler X is available now and it's also free to use, so we ask for your continued support and use of UModeler X.

    Thank you for loving UModeler lite all this time.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2023
    StevenPicard and Willbkool_FPCS like this.
  5. Bagazi

    Bagazi

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Posts:
    611
    How can I add polygon colors to a model in the URP environment, and are there any specific considerations to keep in mind, such as material selection?

    I tried coloring it but wasn't successful.

    upload_2023-9-2_22-11-34.png
     
    UModeler likes this.
  6. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Hello Bagazi,
    To use vertex colors with your UModeler model, you need to assign a material that supports vertex coloring using the Material tool. Unfortunately, Unity's Standard Shader doesn't support vertex colors by default. However, I found that the Polybrush package includes materials that do support vertex colors. You can get it from here: Polybrush Documentation
     
  7. lclemens

    lclemens

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Posts:
    785
    Does Umodeler support a decimation modifier? I think of all the things I used in Blender the most, that one would be on the top of the list. I searched the internet, but I haven't found any literature about Umodeler and decimation. Maybe I'm just not looking for the right terminology?
     
    UModeler likes this.
  8. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Hello Iclemens,
    UModeler currently doesn't have the decimation modifier, but UModeler X—our upcoming version—will include it in the future. This is because UModeler X will support a modifier system similar to Blender's. You can try UModeler X for free here.
     
    lclemens likes this.
  9. lclemens

    lclemens

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Posts:
    785
    Any guess on how long? I'm debating purchasing a decimation asset vs staying with blender and if the wait won't be too long I might consider waiting for UModeler X's implementation.
     
    UModeler likes this.
  10. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Which decimation asset are you considering? Could you recommend some? At the moment, I can't promise when the decimation modifier will be added to UModeler X, as I need to discuss the priority of upcoming features with my colleagues.
     
    lclemens likes this.
  11. lclemens

    lclemens

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Posts:
    785
    I'm mainly looking at three - PolyFew, Meshkit, and PolyTool. The first two seem way too expensive. I like how Polyfew has a feature to ignore a certain part of the mesh. I think Meshkit doesn't make atlases, so it won't work with URP. I would use the tool for regular meshes and also skinned meshes.

    Currently I am using UnityMeshSimplifier which is free and opensource, but it doesn't really have a nice GUI. I also use Blender sometimes but the workflow trying to import/export FBX is a pain. Perhaps I'll build a GUI for UnityMeshSimplifier.
     
    UModeler likes this.
  12. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Thank you for the information! I've started to consider adding UnityMeshSimplifier to UModeler X for decimation, as long as the license policy permits it. It looks like PolyFew uses UnityMeshSimplifier as well.
     
    lclemens likes this.
  13. SOL3BREAKER

    SOL3BREAKER

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    Posts:
    47
    Sir, I downloaded umodel x and did some test.
    Can I disable the mesh renderer, I tested it with a mesh combiner to combine the meshes, and it need to disable the original renderer.

    And I also test it with Sectr, sectr would export the mesh to the sublevel, and it would cause umodelx to rebuild mesh and umxObjectData for sublevel. Every time I export the sectr chunk in main level it would not only create mesh for main level and also another new mesh for sublevel
     
    UModeler likes this.
  14. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Hi, you could disable the Mesh Renderer manually by toggling off the component.

    upload_2023-9-13_14-5-51.png
     
  15. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Regarding Sectr, what is the asset? Could you share a URL of the asset store page?
    I'm not sure but this issue could be resolved by removing UModeler X component before it's exported.
     
  16. dev_project

    dev_project

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2020
    Posts:
    23
    Hi. I just tried to export this as OBJ again using UM 2.10.12. UVs are still broken on the exported OBJ. Do you think there's a chance it may be fixed for OBJs? I need this because I store generic assets under version control as OBJs and textures so others can then work with them outside of Unity. Thank you.
     
    UModeler likes this.
  17. Opaqueplacebo

    Opaqueplacebo

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Is there a precise method for scaling uModeler objects or faces?

    I appreciate the ability to be precise when extruding an edge or geometry face and I was wondering if there was a similar method that lets me enter a value in the inspector?

    Moving/Extruding Ref - The distance value shown in the inspector when moving a face
    upload_2023-10-12_12-8-25.png

    Scaling Ref - As far as I can tell I can only measure the value by the size of the edge that ends up changing
    upload_2023-10-12_12-10-51.png
     
    UModeler likes this.
  18. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Hi Opaqueplacebo
    Unfortunately, entering a precise value for scaling isn't supported in UModeler. Would you like to enter a scale factor, like 80% or 130%, for scaling?
     
  19. Yany

    Yany

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Posts:
    96
    Hi All,

    Sorry if I ask something trivial to others, but now that there's a mega bundle including the non-X UModeler I got curious why the UModeler X is free, while the standard UModeler costs over 100 bucks.

    Is the X-version less? Or is there a "sidenote" in the license docs of the X-version? Where's the catch? :) Thank you for the clear up and patience.
     
    Colin_MacLeod and UModeler like this.
  20. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Hi Yany,
    Thank you for your interest in our products.
    UModeler X is the next version of UModeler, and it's equipped with richer and more powerful features. However, some features available in UModeler, such as Sketchup-style modeling and Hotspot texturing, have not yet been implemented in UModeler X. Despite this, the reason UModeler X is free is because its business model differs from UModeler's. UModeler X provides almost all 3D editing tools for free, and we plan to introduce a subscription-based model for those who wish to use the cloud-based services that will be unveiled in the future. If the current 3D editing features and the ones to be added later are sufficient for you, you can continue using it for free. Our team is currently working hard to develop an attractive cloud service, and we plan to expand our business through this feature.
     
    Colin_MacLeod, Yany and adamgolden like this.
  21. Yany

    Yany

    Joined:
    May 24, 2013
    Posts:
    96
    Thank you for your thorough answer. I'd somehow put the main thoughts from this to the store description and/or the first post in this forum. Great stuff!
     
    UModeler likes this.
  22. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    I added the thought on the main page of this forum and the asset store. Thanks!
     
    Yany likes this.
  23. Opaqueplacebo

    Opaqueplacebo

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    I think entering a scale factor would indeed be a nice alternative!
     
    UModeler likes this.
  24. Opaqueplacebo

    Opaqueplacebo

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Hello again, I had another question concerning how uModeler creates and saves Static Meshes.

    Specifically, I notice when I save a uMod object's static mesh with a unique name and then make that object into a prefab, its static mesh then seems to reset. What exactly is going on here?

    Is there a specific order or method for how we should be saving a uModeler object's Static Mesh?

    The problem I'm trying to avoid here is having multiple static meshes that are the same. I also run into other problems but I'll wait for a response before detailing them since they deal with creating prefab variants.

    Saving the Static Mesh of a uMod object
    upload_2023-10-25_12-23-27.png

    Turning the uMod object into a prefab, why is there a new Static Mesh created?
    upload_2023-10-25_12-24-7.png
     
    UModeler likes this.
  25. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Hi Opaqueplacebo
    Sorry for the late reply. We'll address this issue and get back to you! Thanks for the detailed explanation.
     
  26. kenlem1

    kenlem1

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    Does X have snapping?
     
    UModeler likes this.
  27. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    What kind of snapping would you like UModeler X to feature? UModeler X supports all types of snapping available in Unity, including (V)ertex snapping and grid snapping.
    upload_2023-11-7_9-58-8.png
     
    kenlem1 likes this.
  28. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    We reset the .asset file in the prefab to ensure complete independence from the UModeler object. Is there a reason you prefer to keep the .asset file after the prefab is created? Also, we apologize for the delay in addressing this issue. Rest assured, we are now giving it high priority.
     
  29. lclemens

    lclemens

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Posts:
    785
    It seemed to me like the decimation algorithm in Blender produces higher quality polygon reduction than UnityMeshSimplifier. I'd suggest experimenting with both first.
     
    UModeler likes this.
  30. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Hi Iclemen,
    We are currently developing a Decimate modifier, as shown below. It's in development on the feature-dev branch, which means it may take some time to be incorporated into the official release.
    We're using UnityMeshSimplifier library for it.
    Honeycam 2023-11-10 19-20-37.gif
     
    lclemens and Willbkool_FPCS like this.
  31. kenlem1

    kenlem1

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    I tried snap settings in Unity. I must have been doing something wrong. I’ll try again. I really want to use this.
     
    UModeler likes this.
  32. Colin_MacLeod

    Colin_MacLeod

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Posts:
    346
    Hey @UModeler, sorry to bring this up again, but I'm uncertain which asset to use in my game: UModeler or UModeler X?

    I want to construct an invisible plane with ramps above the world for flying cars. I'm using a traffic system (STS) that seems to work best with gravity enabled, so the cars would be held in the sky by the invisible plane. However, the plane will have ramps that the cars can fly (i.e., drive) up, as there will stacked levels of flying cars.

    Given that I already own UModeler, which asset would be best for this use case?
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2023
    UModeler likes this.
  33. Colin_MacLeod

    Colin_MacLeod

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Posts:
    346
    @UModeler Which one do you think is best in this case (invisible ramps): UModeler or UModeler X?
     
    UModeler likes this.
  34. Colin_MacLeod

    Colin_MacLeod

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Posts:
    346
    Hey @UModeler, you keep liking my questions, but you don't answer them.

    I guess I'll play with UModeler since that's the paid asset, and post here how that works out.
     
  35. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Hi, I believe that if your main purpose is to make invisible ramps UModeler is pretty sufficient.
     
    Colin_MacLeod likes this.
  36. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    UModeler !
     
    Colin_MacLeod likes this.
  37. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Sometimes I'm unable to answer questions right away due to various reasons. In those instances, I might leave a 'like' and will respond as soon as I have the opportunity. I hope you understand. :)
     
  38. Colin_MacLeod

    Colin_MacLeod

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Posts:
    346
    I see. I wasn't sure whether it was clear to you that there was a question.

    Thank you so much for the pointer. It's a bit confusing to me that there are 2 products and the newer one (which is going to be more feature-rich) is free.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2023
    UModeler and lclemens like this.
  39. Opaqueplacebo

    Opaqueplacebo

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    All is good, no need to apologize for a late reply!

    As for why I wanted to keep the .asset file, I assumed it was the workflow needed for making sure the created mesh is properly assigned on the prefab.

    Ultimately the issue I've come across is that I'll either lose the mesh file or the changes I've made to the umodeler object won't appear on the mesh file that gets saved.

    I would love to know if there's a video explaining best practices for creating a prefab from a uModeler object, or even a video explaining the relationship of the umodeler object mesh vs the prefab mesh.

    Sorry for the vagueness, I can't even say with certainty at what point the mesh ends up breaking.
     
    UModeler likes this.
  40. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Hello everyone.

    We are thrilled to announce the release of our 'Getting-Started Manual' for UModeler X on the official Unity Learning site. This marks a significant milestone, making it easier for more people to learn about UModeler X. We are committed to publishing more educational materials there in the future. I hope this resource will save you time and effort in mastering UModeler X.

    https://learn.unity.com/project/getting-started-with-umodelerx
     
    adamgolden likes this.
  41. lclemens

    lclemens

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Posts:
    785
    Am I the only one getting this error every time enter and exit play mode?

    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    Tripolygon.UModelerX.Editor.UMXApplication.RefreshSelections () (at <b084aaeb560d4cd0ae2c8adbfd458f09>:0)
    Tripolygon.UModelerX.Editor.UMXApplication.EditorSceneManager_SceneClosed (UnityEngine.SceneManagement.Scene scene) (at <b084aaeb560d4cd0ae2c8adbfd458f09>:0)
    UnityEditor.SceneManagement.EditorSceneManager.Internal_SceneClosed (UnityEngine.SceneManagement.Scene scene) (at <78fe3e0b66cf40fc8dbec96aa3584483>:0)

    It happens in a project where i'm not even using umodeler or umodelerx at all. I do have a subscene and I'm using entities graphics - maybe it doesn't like that?
     
  42. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    What version of UModeler X are you using? We've resolved a play-mode-related issue in the latest update. Additionally, as you might know, the decimate modifier has finally been added to UModeler X. You can see the details here: https://umodeler.notion.site/UModeler-X-Release-notes-100324fafae04ab9954447a2f8ecc0b6
     
    Mark_01 and lclemens like this.
  43. lclemens

    lclemens

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Posts:
    785
    I'm using 0.16.1. I just made a blank scene in the same project and hit play and stop and the error still happens, so I think it's probably not related to subscenes.

    umodelerx.gif

    At the moment I can't show the hub either anymore.

    ObjectDisposedException: Cannot access a disposed object.
    Object name: 'Tripolygon.UModeler.Hub.Views.Hubs.HubEditorViewModel'.
    Tripolygon.UModeler.UI.ViewModels.ModelessViewModelBase.Show (Tripolygon.UModeler.UI.Application application) (at <5230077154444f6b8e6cdf47f8412471>:0)
    Tripolygon.UModeler.Hub.HubActions.Invoke_ShowWindow (System.Object parameter) (at <9b34523573a24403ad5559622955f7b3>:0)
    Tripolygon.UModeler.UI.Input.RelayAction.Tripolygon.UModeler.UI.Input.IAction.Invoke (System.Object parameter) (at <5230077154444f6b8e6cdf47f8412471>:0)
    Tripolygon.UModeler.Hub.MenuItems.Tools.UModelerHub.ShowMenu.Invoke () (at <9b34523573a24403ad5559622955f7b3>:0)

    I think maybe I just need to reinstall it so I'll try that.

    That's awesome news about the decimation modifier!!! I'm excited to try it out!!
     
  44. lclemens

    lclemens

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Posts:
    785
    I uninstalled umodelerx and the umodelerx hub. Then I went to the asset store and added UmodelerX and installed from the package manager. The same error occurs when pressing play and stopping. The only difference is that there is a new error in addition to the other null ref exception.

    InvalidOperationException: 'UMXCommandService' has already been released.
    Tripolygon.UModelerX.Runtime.UMXCommandService.Release (System.Boolean backup) (at <836b934370c64e9c87677d9f82be420b>:0)
    Tripolygon.UModelerX.Editor.UMXCommandServiceUtility.EditorSceneManager_SceneClosing (UnityEngine.SceneManagement.Scene scene, System.Boolean removingScene) (at <b084aaeb560d4cd0ae2c8adbfd458f09>:0)
    UnityEditor.SceneManagement.EditorSceneManager.Internal_SceneClosing (UnityEngine.SceneManagement.Scene scene, System.Boolean removingScene) (at <5e6ebaa7d75c4d5399dc81ecead6b43f>:0)
     
  45. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    does this still happen even after hot-reloading? what unity version are you using?
     
  46. lclemens

    lclemens

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Posts:
    785
    I'm not quite sure what "hot-reload" means. There's an asset called hot-reload but I don't use that. If I edit a script or something in VS and then switch back to Unity there are no errors. As far as I can tell the errors only happen when pressing play/stop even on a blank scene. I use 2022.3.17 and it also happened when I had 2022.3.16.
     
  47. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    I apologize for any confusion. To clarify, by 'hot-reloading,' I meant reimporting a project. Which version of the hub are you currently using? To the best of my knowledge, this issue was addressed in the Hub 0.12.6 update. Here are the release notes for UModeler Hub for your reference - https://www.notion.so/umodeler/UModeler-Hub-Release-notes-10c7a932e40848d2ae31192f41447d54

    upload_2024-1-14_13-1-44.png
     
    Mark_01 likes this.
  48. lclemens

    lclemens

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Posts:
    785
    I am using Hub 0.12.6. As far as I can tell, reimporting an asset doesn't cause the error. I deleted the lib and obj folders and restarted unity. no new errors appeared. I also did a Reimport All operation (which is pretty much the same thing), which again took forever, but there were no new errors. The only errors I get are from pressing play/pause. The project is big and uses a lot of 3rd party assets like Odin Inspector, but the scene I'm using is empty (just camera and directional light).
     
    UModeler likes this.
  49. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Hi, does this error still happen in an empty project without the Odin Inspector?
    What unity version are you using? Could you share a video clip to demonstrate this issue?
     
  50. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    I've tested this brifely on unity 2022.3.17 as show in the following video but I haven't found any issues yet.
    odin-umx-hub.gif
     
    Mark_01 likes this.