Search Unity

  1. Get the latest news, tutorials and offers directly to your inbox with our newsletters. Sign up now.
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] UModeler : Model your World in Unity [Unity Awards 2018 Finalist]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by UModeler, Mar 23, 2017.

  1. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    Does it happen all the time? It hasn't been reproduced in my test. See how I tested in the following video.
    UModeler_FlipToolTest.gif
     
  2. andyz

    andyz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,703
    Sorry I meant Axis Flip on a new cube, selected face - but I'm finding if I press menu buttons without the right thing selected or I multi-press it can lead to errors. Like make a cube and then just click the axis flip a load without selecting a polygon - does the console start filling with errors for you?

    Also a corner case! - if you load up a project and you had the UModeler window open then it can start fully open with all controls, even if no UModeler object in the scene (maybe because I did not save scene?).
    Clicking buttons then leads to console errors, nothing more.
     
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2021
    UModeler likes this.
  3. andyz

    andyz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,703
    Can I just delete the cache of this plugin (which I can't find BTW)?
    Has anyone logged this bug with Unity?
     
    UModeler likes this.
  4. andyz

    andyz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,703
    test2.gif
     
    UModeler likes this.
  5. andyz

    andyz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,703
    Bevel on a box can be tricky if more rounded bevel wanted?

    It is an incredible tool BTW, just noting any issues!
    bevelbox.png
     
    UModeler likes this.
  6. UlfvonEschlauer

    UlfvonEschlauer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2014
    Posts:
    103
    Thanks for the reply! That is a pity! Any chance you will support skinned meshes in the future?
     
    UModeler likes this.
  7. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    It can be reproduced. We'll fix it asap. Thank you! For now you can avoid this error by toggling off Display Polygon Preselection in the Preference window.

    Can you share a screenshot or something like that?
     
    andyz likes this.
  8. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    Unfortunately beveling a vertex with multiple segments isn't supported. Technically we hasn't found a solution yet.
     
  9. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    We don't have plans to support a skinned mesh because UModeler was designed for editing a static mesh so it would need many changes to support a skinned mesh.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2021
  10. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
  11. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    Hello everyone

    UModeler 2.8.2f2 has been released for hot fixes as listed below.

    • Fix : Fixed Null Reference Exception when Open button in the inspector is clicked.
    • Fix : Fixed typos of tooltips etcs.
    • Enhancement : Supported converting a quad-based mesh using UModelerize.
     
  12. Wolfos

    Wolfos

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Posts:
    796
    I imported Umodeler in a near-empty Unity 2020.3 project (using URP). Created a box using the box tool, and now it's throwing this error every frame:
    DirectoryNotFoundException: Could not find a part of the path '{Wolfos's awesome project directory}/Temp/RoslynAnalysisRunner'.
    System.IO.__Error.WinIOError (System.Int32 errorCode, System.String maybeFullPath) (at <eae584ce26bc40229c1b1aa476bfa589>:0)

    This was fixed after going into and exiting playmode.
     
    UModeler likes this.
  13. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    Hello Wolfos,
    Okay, aren't there any other plugins in the project? It doesn't seem to be because of UModeler
    judged by the error messages.
     
  14. Wolfos

    Wolfos

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Posts:
    796
    No, this is the only plugin for now. Haven't really encountered it again though. Seemed Umodeler related at the very least, since it triggered it.
     
    UModeler likes this.
  15. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    티져1.png

    The Medieval Town - Vermilion : New 3D package modeled with UModeler will come to you soon with UModeler 2.8.3.
     
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2021
  16. knas01

    knas01

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Posts:
    165
    Hi, there are 2 things I have questions about.

    First, when you select a polygon in iso it looks like this. If you move the camera it flickers and is very annoying. Is there a way to fix that? This is in URP.

    Second, you can see 2 transform handles in the pic. Is there a way to disable the one for the object position? I only want it to show when the object tool is selected.
    {3A7EB67F-7E66-4DB0-AF9B-18030C62BFB8}.png
     
    UModeler likes this.
  17. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    Hello knas01
    We'll look into the flickering issue in ISO.
    What version of UModeler are you using? As far as I know, displaying two gizmos was fixed before. FYI the current version of UModeler is 2.8.2f3.
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2021
  18. knas01

    knas01

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Posts:
    165
    @UModeler That's the same version I use. It's a new project and I installed Umodeler for the first time in it yesterday.
     
  19. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
  20. mick129

    mick129

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Posts:
    131
    Hello,

    A pre-buy question.

    I need to modify the UV of some trees that I have made and would love to do it inside Unity, can your tool help me to modify existing fbx?
     
    UModeler likes this.
  21. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    Hello mick129,
    Any mesh in the MeshRenderer component can be converted to UModeler mesh (This is called UModelerize) and can be modified with UModeler. Therefore you can load .fbx mesh in Unity and convert it to UModeler mesh to be edited.
     
    mick129 likes this.
  22. ravin5432

    ravin5432

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    Hello everyone; I just got v2.8.3 on the sale. It looks cool but after install if I hit any key I get floods of errors.
    ArgumentException: Getting control 10's position in a group with only 10 controls when doing KeyUp Aborting!
    I do see the menu under tool is listed and I see the GUI hot keys, so it looks like its working, but it is conflicting with Unity's native layout.
    Using v2019.4.4f1 of Unity.
    Is there a step I missed with install? Is this fixable? Without a fix Runtime hangs on the errors.
     
    UModeler likes this.
  23. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    Hello ravin5432
    Have you tried it in a new project with only UModeler plugin?
     
  24. ivarsson2

    ivarsson2

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hi!
    I'm currently evaluating UModeler for a new project. So far it seems like a really nice tool but this project requires manual control over normals.
    It normal editing possible in the full version?

    Cheers,
    / M
     
    UModeler likes this.
  25. Zebbi

    Zebbi

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Posts:
    521
    Should I leave Umodeler scripts on prefabs and objects I'm using in scenes? Is it more performant if Umodeler is removed for the objects? Also, do I need to create a mesh asset for anything, or would creating a prefab be good enough for most cases?
     
    UModeler likes this.
  26. Xiperius

    Xiperius

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    - Assets : Includes The Urban Buildings demo pack to showcase Hotspot Texturing feature.
    - Feature : Added the Hotspot Texturing.

    Thank you for this!
     
    UModeler likes this.
  27. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    Hello ivarsson2
    Thank you for considering UModeler for your project.
    Does editing normals mean Weight Vertex Normals like this - http://www.bytehazard.com/articles/vertnorm.html?
    Unfortunately UModeler doesn't have capability to edit normals yet.
    It would be helpful if you explained what the normal editing looks like.
     
  28. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    Hello Zebbi,

    If you remove UModeler component, .asset file should be created for reference beforehand.

    But you don't need to create .asset file for a prefab because UModeler component creates a mesh for the mesh renderer.

    Regarding performance UModeler components are automatically excluded in building if Don’t Save In Build property in Local Settings tool is enabled : https://umodeler.github.io/MiscGroup/LocalSettingsTool.html

    Usually UModeler component is just for editing in editor so it isn't needed at runtime so you don't need include UModeler component in building.

    For this reason UModeler doesn't affect the performance at runtime normally.
     
    Zebbi likes this.
  29. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    You're welcome. We hope that this cool feature will be useful for many UModeler users :)
     
  30. Zebbi

    Zebbi

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2017
    Posts:
    521
    Thanks! So best practice is probably just to leave UModeler script on all objects unless there's a specific reason to remove Umodeler or create a mesh?
     
    UModeler likes this.
  31. cranecam

    cranecam

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    22
    upload_2021-4-25_18-1-10.png

    how can this settings window be fixed?
     
    UModeler likes this.
  32. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    What version of Unity and UModeler are you using?
     
  33. cranecam

    cranecam

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    22
    Hi it looks ok now in latest uModeler version
     
    UModeler likes this.
  34. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    We've developed Hotspot Texturing feature and it's available in UModeler 2.8.3f2.

     
    Mauri and thelebaron like this.
  35. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    649
    Hello everyone
    Blacksmith - new 3D asset package modeled with UModeler will come to you in the UModeler upcoming update.

    poster4.png
     
    Mauri likes this.
  36. DGordon

    DGordon

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2013
    Posts:
    575
    Can this create a 3d mesh from a 2d image? IE: Id like to take an image of a bush, or a tree, and have it extrude that picture so I can have it on the front and back, and put a cardboard texture on the sides, to make it look like a game piece.
     
unityunity