Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] UModeler : Model and Prototype in Unity [Unity Awards 2018 Finalist]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by UModeler, Mar 23, 2017.

  1. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    Hi Mattlock,
    I'm happy to announce that this issue has been resolved in 2.7.23. Get the latest version and check it out.
     
  2. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    Hello everyone,

    UModeler has been updated to 2.7.23f2 for hotfix. It's related to unwrpping UV2. Refresh All used not to be able to resolve broken UV2 for lightmap sometimes.

    Usually UV2 messes up when you modify a UModeler mesh after generating UV2s. Now [Refresh All] in 2.7.23f2 ensures 100% fix of broken UV2
     
    Vectrex likes this.
  3. hungrybelome

    hungrybelome

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2014
    Posts:
    312
    Hi, is there anyway to make bevels with face weighted normals?
     
    UModeler likes this.
  4. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    Hello hungrybelome, I don't understand what you said about face with weighted normals in the bevel tool. Can you explain it in more detail?
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2020
  5. Squeyed

    Squeyed

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Posts:
    32
    hungrybelome is referring to this technique http://wiki.polycount.com/wiki/Face_weighted_normals

    It's used in Alien Isolation and Star Citizen to great effect, in those cases it means some of the benefits usually derived from baking high poly mesh details into a normal map can be simulated directly in the normals of the mesh. In the case of Star Citizen they were able to tile relatively small textures over very large ships, breaking up the tiling with deferred decals etc while getting smooth looking edges without using a normal map.

    That's the basic crux of it, smooth looking edges without a normal map. The bevel itself is not sub-divided so the polycount can be kept relatively low.

    In Maya you can use many different available scripts to run the process of weighting the faces automatically, usually by selecting all of the non-bevel faces and running the script.

    I agree it would be a wonderfully useful addition as currently I have to treat all of my meshes in other software to achieve this. To begin with being able to at least set a vertex normal manually would help, then being able to set each normal in a vertex separately would be even more helpful (for hard edges). But best of all being able to process face weighted normals by selecting the non-bevel faces and clicking a button would be a huge advantage.

    If those are not an option I would greatly appreciate the ability to set hard/soft edges as opposed to setting smoothing groups.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2020
    UModeler likes this.
  6. TabArtwork

    TabArtwork

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Hello. I'm loving this asset.
    I just had a question regarding the UV Editor.
    I have two materials on the UModeler Object. When I try to edit the UV on the object, it always selects the first material and I can not figure out how to edit the UV for any planes that have the second mateiral.

    Is there a way to change which material the UV Editor is working on?
     
    UModeler likes this.
  7. Vectrex

    Vectrex

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Posts:
    237
    This small article explains it well http://www.bytehazard.com/articles/vertnorm.html
     
    UModeler likes this.
  8. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    Hello TabArtwork
    There is a material list in the Settings in the UV Editor window as shown below. You can choose a material which you want to be displayed on the view.
    upload_2020-9-11_18-59-53.png
     
    TabArtwork likes this.
  9. Squeyed

    Squeyed

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Posts:
    32
    Any chance of getting a decrease selection feature? The increase one is excellent, in other modelling software I often use a mix of increase/decrease selection coupled with invert selection to get the parts I want to edit quickly.
     
    Willbkool_FPCS likes this.
  10. andyz

    andyz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,379
    Started playing with UModeler and on second opening of project getting a lot of error messages in the console in 2019.4.8 like:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. GUI Error: You are pushing more GUIClips than you are popping. Make sure they are balanced.
    2. UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
    and

    snip: file out of place
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2020
  11. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    Thank you for explaning it and sharing the article about FWN. I managed to understand what it is and I found out that there is a 3ds max script regarding it while reading the article shared by @Vectrex.
    http://www.bytehazard.com/articles/wnormals.html

    The author of the 3ds max script said
    It seems that this is not a tricky to implement. I'll look into it more.
     
    Squeyed likes this.
  12. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    Hello @andyz,
    Did you move the UModeler folder or change the folder structure or does the full path name of UModeler include not english characters?
     
  13. andyz

    andyz

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    1,379
    Nevermind I had dragged the assembly out of place after destroying Unity's UIElements (if you click to open the dll, UIElements gets destroyed - well very pushed - for no good reason (except a lot of elements in the project window)
    All good
     
    UModeler likes this.
  14. elaradi23

    elaradi23

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hey @UModeler

    Is there an equivalent to FBX Exporter from ProBuilder or any means of exporting to .fbx files for UModeler Pro? I'm considering getting UModeler Pro but I also want to be able to extend my work in Blender.
    I hope you don't mind these comparison questions, but I couldn't find an answer for that anywhere.
     
    UModeler likes this.
  15. Squeyed

    Squeyed

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Posts:
    32
    Export to .obj is in the export options.
     
    elaradi23 and UModeler like this.
  16. Flavelius

    Flavelius

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Posts:
    772
    obj != fbx
     
  17. Squeyed

    Squeyed

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Posts:
    32
    Didn't say it was.
     
    Willbkool_FPCS likes this.
  18. Flavelius

    Flavelius

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Posts:
    772
    I had to assume that because he did ask explicitly about fbx export.
     
  19. Squeyed

    Squeyed

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Posts:
    32
    No one forced you to assume and state the obvious, you're arguing for the sake of arguing. Elaradi23 can decide if the information given is useful to their case. Let's not waste any more of this forum's space, good day sir!
     
    UModeler likes this.
  20. eddieray7

    eddieray7

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Totally awesome tool! One quick question - how do I copy/paste polygons between two different uModeler objects?
     
    UModeler likes this.
  21. Skairen_Garons

    Skairen_Garons

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    I'm having a really weird issue that is making impossible to work in a comfortable way. Even when I have other objects hidden, Umodeler keeps selecting any random object I'm pointing at when I try to manually generate an object by drawing or modify its mesh. Any idea what is happening?
     
    UModeler likes this.
  22. BradZoob

    BradZoob

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    Just started using this, i created a sphere with 64 segments and i'm getting awful performance, when i select a face (polygon tool) or a collection of verts and click any tool to perform an action on it the editor freezes up. If i click on the object and it accidentally registers my click as a drag the editor will freeze while it calculates a "push/pull" or some other geometry modifier, is this normal? the mesh is only 16k verts, i can usually modify tens of millions of verts in realtime with a cost of only a couple of ms, so is there a project setup preference i should observe? like IL2CPP/Burst etc ? Unity 2019.1.14f, Mono 4.x. I couldn't find any such setup details. Or is the limitation of this tool to meshes with under 16k verts? The mesh square draw/extrude function worked fine, but that's only a handful of verts. Also i noticed this is built with DLL's, does this mean if we wanted to optimize this by using Compute to calculate the geometry updates (if that's the bottleneck) we'd be out of luck because the source is protected?

    Thanks, this tool does seem pretty amazing, was just hoping to actually use it :p lol.
     
    UModeler likes this.
  23. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    Hello @elaradi23

    UModeler has an .obj exporter so you can export UModeler mesh as .obj and import it into other DCC tools.
    Obj exporter - https://umodeler.github.io/MiscGroup/ExportTool.html

    If you prefer .fbx, you can consider using FBX exporter provided by Unity.
    FBX exporter - https://docs.unity3d.com/Packages/com.unity.formats.fbx@2.0/manual/exporting.html

    I hope this answer helps you.
     
    elaradi23 likes this.
  24. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    You can detach the selected polygons to make them belong to a new object using Detach Tool and combine the new object having the detached polygons with the other UModeler object by using Combine Tool.
    Detach Tool - https://umodeler.github.io/UVEditor/WeldAndBreakGroup/DetachTool.html
    Combine Tool - https://umodeler.github.io/RemoveGroup/CombineTool.html
     
  25. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    Hmm... UModeler is designed to make it not possible to select other objects in Edit mode. In Object mode other objects can be selected with Unity intrinsic module. So it's very hard to understand your issue. Could you make a video or .gif file or images and share them so that I could figure it out?
     
  26. Skairen_Garons

    Skairen_Garons

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Give me a moment and I'll show because this is weird xd I'll put it in this same post.

    Edit: Here it is. The Umodeler window pop up is because I tried erasing and importing again just in case but it didn't help. As you can see when I create a new object it goes nuts and doesn't let me draw the new object it just tries to select anything I'm pointing at. When I select something in select object mode, it stays where it is but as soon I try to modify it, it goes nuts again.
     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2020 at 7:17 PM
    UModeler likes this.
  27. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    Hello @BradZoob,

    UModeler is for low-polygon modeling and prototyping so it is very hard to manipulate a high-polygon mesh like more than 2000 polygons but the number could vary depending on the computing power. Actually I would have had to decrease the number of maximum segment of the sphere tool such as 32 or 24 etc. I already have known the issue. And the freezing problem tends to happen very frequently due to the architecture of UModeler if the polygon count is high. Fortunately I've made it happen much more less today and this change will be included in UModeler 2.7.25 after 2.7.24 being released which is going to be released in a few days.
    Regarding the source code, our policy is not to provide it with the package because of some security issues so I hope you will understand our situation.

    Best regards
    Jaesik.
     
    BradZoob likes this.
  28. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    Seamless editor is now on. hahaha. It makes you select other UModeler object without LMB click. Set the Seamless Edit mode to Single in Settings window.
    Settings window - https://umodeler.github.io/settings.html
     
  29. Skairen_Garons

    Skairen_Garons

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Good god......I'm sorry people.....I'm stupid xd Thank you for the problem solved.
     
    UModeler likes this.
  30. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    New UModeler Trailer - The Island Villag

    All assets on the video except a few small grasses and water are modeled with only UModeler.

    The Island Village demo pack is going to be provided exclusively for free with UModeler 2.7.24 soon.

    Enjoy UModeler!

     
  31. Skairen_Garons

    Skairen_Garons

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    So, it is in single now....I can't draw anything?
     
  32. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    You can draw as you did in the selected object. If you want to draw or edit on other object, you should select it with Object Tool.
     
  33. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    A video about Seamless Editing. It is rather old but still useful.
     
  34. Skairen_Garons

    Skairen_Garons

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    It doesn't let me. I create a new object only one click build works.

    edit: Maybe I'm doing something stupid but creating a new object and drawing it manually should as easy as I try in the video. By the way, In a new project, it just works, so....

     
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2020 at 7:51 PM
    UModeler likes this.
  35. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2020 at 7:33 PM
    Willbkool_FPCS likes this.
  36. UModeler

    UModeler

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2016
    Posts:
    571
    This seems very weird. I'm glad to hear that it works on the new project, though.
     
  37. RussianRonin

    RussianRonin

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Hello,

    I am trying to use UModeler with Bakery and Emissive textures. Does Umodeler support this combination of tools or am I missing some settings? There are no lightmaps generated for the UModeler Object when I Render with Bakery. Let me know if you need any other info. I am using Unity 2018.4.20f1, Bakery 1.71 and Umodeler 2.7.24.
     
unityunity