Search Unity

[RELEASED] TradeSys 2.x - A trading and manufacturing system

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by CallumP, Mar 2, 2013.

  1. beowulfkaine

    beowulfkaine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    Can you verify that it works with the most recent version of unity? If so I’ll buy it right now!
     
  2. CallumP

    CallumP

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    74
    From my test on 2018.2, the example scenes work okay and it is only the warning which is fixed above. The 2018.3 beta shows a couple more warnings, one of which I will be able to sort because it's similar to the one above. The other warnings are API depreciation which I will unlikely be able to do much with further investigation and more changes, but for now it is just a warning.

    If you do get it and do for some reason come across any issues, let me know and I will do my best to resolve them.
     
  3. beowulfkaine

    beowulfkaine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    Great! I went ahead and bought it, so far I am able to get it to work, however following the instructions and adding the correct tags, I am still not able to get the create new game object to un-grey.

     
  4. beowulfkaine

    beowulfkaine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    Also, I'd like to have the stations/windows for all the traders open on a canvas. I'm going to be using this in VR so instead of the GUI I need it to be a canvas based gui, is there an option for that?
     
  5. CallumP

    CallumP

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    74
    It looks like you are in a demo scene and you can't add another controller to a scene which already has a TS controller gameobject. That option should become selectable in a new scene. As for the canvas, unfortunately the UI is only on the old system but the examples should hopefully give guidance on the variables you will want to show in a canvas gui
     
    Shawn67 likes this.
  6. beowulfkaine

    beowulfkaine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    are there any playmaker actions for this by chance?
     
  7. CallumP

    CallumP

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    74
    playmaker was one thing i wanted to try and integrate but never had the time to add so unless someone else has made them, unfortunately there are no actions
     
  8. beowulfkaine

    beowulfkaine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    It's a shame, you should really reconsider retiring this asset and perhaps even expand on it offering more options and features. As a seller myself, I would KILL to have a product on the asset store that is absolutely unique and has NO COMPETITION with anyone. Nobody one sells anything like this, you basically have the market cornered in this product.
     
  9. beowulfkaine

    beowulfkaine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    General question to anyone that has this asset:

    Does anyone know how to have these display on a canvas UI instead of a camera? Also is there a way to change what the buttons look like?
     
  10. kev000

    kev000

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Hello. I've noticed that this asset has the ability to import items from Inventory Pro. How would I go about to import items from Inventory Master -UGUI? I already have a database of items there and making them compatible for TradeSys would be a dream
     
  11. CallumP

    CallumP

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    74
    Apologies for only just seeing this, I have been on holiday. I will try and have a look at this over the next few days, I feel like it should be possible and similar to Inventory Pro but I haven't had a look at the code yet
     
    kev000 likes this.
  12. CallumP

    CallumP

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    74
    The latest update now has support for Inventory Master! Also has the fix I stated previously.

    If I remember, I will take TradeSys off the store at the end of the month. As far as I know, you should still be able to download the update if it has been taken down
     
  13. attaway

    attaway

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Posts:
    34
    Are there any packages on the Asset Store that are similar to this?
    I want to integrate this into the VR game I'm working on, but I just read you'll be removing it from the asset store. I really feel like this sort of package will be in more demand now that there's going to be way more VR content coming out next year.

    If you show how this can be integrated into modern systems like Bolt, Rucksack, Inventory pro, Quest Machine, Love/Hate, Emerald AI, etc. I really think this package could make some good money.
     
    beowulfkaine and wood333 like this.
  14. wood333

    wood333

    Joined:
    May 9, 2015
    Posts:
    619
    Hey @CallumP,

    You need to assign an avatar for yourself. That gray default figure makes you look like a user and not the developer. Pick something unique that pops, and it will make it easier for us to recognize your posts.

    Keep up the great work.
     
  15. beowulfkaine

    beowulfkaine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    Any updates on the use of playmaker with this package? I bought this a while ago in the hopes that playmaker support will come. I'm desperate for playmaker support as I am working on a Virtual Reality Oculus go project space sim that heavily relies on this asset, any updates would be great!
     
  16. beowulfkaine

    beowulfkaine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    Anyone willing to pickup where the developer left off with this asset?
     
  17. CallumP

    CallumP

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    74
    sorry, been busy the last few weeks. I've now taken TradeSys off the asset store but will still support any issues that arise due to new unity updates for the time being

    I'm starting to have a look at rewriting the system to make it better but this will take time but I'm hoping that i continue to find the time to write the code to get it back on the store as soon as i can and the idea is that it will be far easier for me to then integrate with other assets
     
    kev000, wood333, attaway and 2 others like this.
  18. beowulfkaine

    beowulfkaine

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2014
    Posts:
    170
    Is anyone who has this asset interested in doing a playmaker conversion that also allows the screens to be put on Canvas? I'm needed to use this in a VR environment, I'm willing to pay $100
     
  19. John-G

    John-G

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,111
    Hi @CallumP, hope all is well. Any updates/progress report on the rewrite.
     
    rmorph and Duffer123 like this.
  20. rmorph

    rmorph

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2012
    Posts:
    35
    Coming back to look at the asset after a while and sadly it's giving me obsolete warnings and the demo no longer runs.
    I'm not a programmer. Any chance anyone can fix these issues and get the asset running?

    Assets\TradeSys\Editor\ItemEditor.cs(34,11): warning CS0618: 'PrefabUtility.GetPrefabType(Object)' is obsolete: 'Use GetPrefabAssetType and GetPrefabInstanceStatus to get the full picture about Prefab types.'
    Assets\TradeSys\Editor\ItemEditor.cs(34,66): warning CS0618: 'PrefabType' is obsolete: 'PrefabType no longer tells everything about Prefab instance.'
    Assets\TradeSys\Editor\TraderEditor.cs(81,21): warning CS0618: 'PrefabUtility.GetPrefabParent(Object)' is obsolete: 'Use GetCorrespondingObjectFromSource.'
    Assets\TradeSys\Editor\TraderEditor.cs(91,32): warning CS0618: 'PrefabUtility.GetPrefabType(Object)' is obsolete: 'Use GetPrefabAssetType and GetPrefabInstanceStatus to get the full picture about Prefab types.'
    Assets\TradeSys\Editor\TraderEditor.cs(91,77): warning CS0618: 'PrefabType' is obsolete: 'PrefabType no longer tells everything about Prefab instance.'