Search Unity

[RELEASED] TerraLand 3 - Streaming Huge Real-World & Custom Terrains For Open-World Environments

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by TerraUnity, May 20, 2018.

  1. lex24

    lex24

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Posts:
    10

    here is what Windows build with "Development build" mode enabled prints to console.

    Assets/TerraLand/TerraLand Core/Plugins/System.Configuration.dll exists in project and "Any platform" is selected in import settings
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2019
  2. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    All account setup requests have been resolved a few minutes ago.

    By "TerraLand Runtime API sample scene" which scene do you mean exactly?

    As a hint, you also have to include needed plugins in the root folder of the build along with the cached server directory if the "Project Root Path" checkbox in "RuntimeOffline.cs" script in scene is checked, or else you should type in the absolute path of the server root directory in the "Data Base Path" field in UI.
     
  3. lex24

    lex24

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2013
    Posts:
    10
    Assets/TerraLand/Scenes/Runtime API/Online Streaming/TerraLand Runtime.unity
     
  4. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    We have spent plenty of hours to overcome the issue and unfortunately recent changes in .Net 4 and Unity's mono compiler breaks a lot of dll reference operations and web requests in conjunction with Visual Studio. The Online Streaming scene used to work properly just before Unity 2018.3 and .Net 4.

    But there is another update release (ver. 3.4.1) coming in a few hours into your account which some of the issues mentioned by you has been resolved as you will no longer receive DLL reference errors in builds. It may be possible that all issues in building Runtime Online Streaming scene are not handled yet in the release but please check them back when it's live and see if the build problem persists.

    FYI, recently our preferred and more updated method of streaming system is Offline Streaming which you can have cache servers of huge datasets in your own local/online locations and stream tiles out of these servers.
     
  5. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    TerraLand 3.4.1 is live now in your account on our website and is under approval on AssetStore.

    Here is the change list:
    • Removed "IndexOutOfRangeException" error appeared occasionally in TerraLand Downloader
    • Removed remaining 3rd party assets from the package
    • Replaced streaming assets demos' tree & rock assets with primitive gameobjects
    • Updated TileImageImport.cs script with minor changes
    • Replaced System.Configuration.DLL with Unity's compatible version to safely make builds
    • Added "Draw Instanced" option in RuntimeOffline.cs script to enable/disable instanced rendering of terrain tiles with "Always Included Shaders" notification
    • Removed San Sebastian demo scene
    • Updated Runtime.cs script with minor changes

    Due to a conflict in the latest version submission (ver. 3.3) in AssetStore with guidelines, that version is bypassed and after approval from the AssetStore you will see the version 3.4.1 and TerraLand's status will be out of deprecation.

    AssetStore's May Madness Sale is over now but you can still get TerraLand 3.4 for $24 with 50% off from our website here: http://terraunity.com/product/terraland-3/
     
  6. Mike891

    Mike891

    Joined:
    May 18, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    When is this on the asset store again? Missed the sale because it got taken down :(
     
  7. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    Sorry for that, but you can buy TerraLand with the same sale price on AssetStore directly from our website which the offer ends in 2 days. Unfortunately the UAS review team is raining issues on us for a simple submission which is the cause of approval delay...
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2019
  8. Zante

    Zante

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Posts:
    357
    Is there any way I can purchase the geometry blending shader seen below separately from the main package?
    Can you confirm that the shader itself would work without the terrain shader and scripts being used?

     
  9. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    The shader used in the video is 4 years old now and didn't get production ready yet. We are planning to develop it further and include this in our upcoming product and will be released somewhere in the initial versions.

    The whole concept of the solution is to have it on any objects anywhere on terrain and let it automatically handle rest of the job as it does in the video.

    So you just have to wait a bit longer until it is publicly released, also we plan to release some of the solutions in the upcoming project separately so it may be possible that this one would also make its way out of the uber pack we're working on now.

    You are in a hurry and want to access unofficial releases, contact us.
     
  10. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    As we are getting close to the upcoming product release:

    Custom terrain shader with procedural texturing & tessellation fully on GPU

    TerraWorld_TerrainShader.jpg


    Procedural snow scattering

    UncannyValley_5.jpg


    Automatic lake and water areas generation with realistic coastlines

    unknown.png


    Realistic clouds rendering and scattering

    Unity_2018-08-11_23-42-52-37.jpg


    High performance rendering using various optimization techniques in a vast environment practical for play-able scenes

    unknown (1).png


    Procedural splatting (texturing) & tessellation on GPU

     
    Last edited: May 30, 2019
    ikemen_blueD and Rockwall33 like this.
  11. Rockwall33

    Rockwall33

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Posts:
    186
    Hello!

    I tried finding a thread for Terraworld, couldn’t find it.

    What are the details on it? The videos look amazing? Is there a price or a release date soon?

    Again sorry I couldn’t find a thread, hope it’s alright for me to ask here.

    Thank you!
     
  12. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    Yes, there are no threads for TerraWorld yet but we plan to have a release soon. All related stuff regarding this product will be announced here on forums and other channels.

    Unfortunately can not give exact numbers for price and release date but will be set in the upcoming weeks. Keep asking questions here, we will also create a Discord channel for this before release.
     
    HeadClot88 and Rockwall33 like this.
  13. Rockwall33

    Rockwall33

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Posts:
    186
    Thank you!!
     
  14. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    Rockwall33 likes this.
  15. Migueljb

    Migueljb

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Posts:
    441
    Are we able to download higher resolution RAW files. I only see 8bit can we download 16bit raw files? Also really looking forward to the new texturing and tesselation stuff. It's the missing piece when trying to get close to these captures of real world places.
     
  16. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    TerraLand's produced heightmaps including raw was always 16bit from the beginning; where did you get the 8bit from?

    Yes, good splatting and texture blending plus tessellation and height blending is quality standard for terrain rendering these days and all these features plus many others are already available in our upcoming product to be released soon.
     
  17. Migueljb

    Migueljb

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Posts:
    441
    If we have a bing key is there a way to download the bing aerial images instead? As I switch the tabs from google to bing they can look alot different.
     
  18. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    TL obtains its data only from ESRI for its terrain generation but as you see the feature is there in the Interactive Map window only for area previewing.

    But our upcoming product "TerraWorld" already supports multi source data capturing feature which can generate terrains from user-defined sources as the demand is high on this option. However, in TerraWorld, the scenes are pretty detailed that original heightmap and imagery from mapping sources are mostly used for analysis and the final output of terrain surface in terms of shape and rendering is far more realistic compared to a terrain created from GIS sources.
     
  19. Migueljb

    Migueljb

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Posts:
    441
    Really looking forward to TerraWorld. I'll be first in line to try it out:)
     
  20. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
  21. Trevellyon

    Trevellyon

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Hi there
    I have been using Terrland 2 and have upgrade to 3, awesome I work love it.
    I have a quick Question at the moment the height is assigned to y axis and lat and long to x, z axis
    Is there any solution to make height on the Z axis, We have a lot of data, lots and lots, millions of data points, that are xy as lat, long and Z as height axis. It would be a nightmare to change all these. Any idea??
    cheers
    T
     
  22. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    @Trevellyon What is the format of the height data file you are referring?
     
  23. Trevellyon

    Trevellyon

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    hi
    x,z as lat long and y as height (it is data points we wish to represent on the map) so we wanted to rotate the map so that y was height, i know this goes against how unity is set up.
    cheers
    T
     
  24. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    Yes I got what you need at first place but asked about the format of the file the data is stored in. Because only supported formats in TL are raw, ascii & ESRI's tif so you need to write a custom wrapper for your data files.

    However, you can use external GIS software like Global Mapper which converts your data file and does needed editing there.
     
  25. Trevellyon

    Trevellyon

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    still doesn't answer my question, is there a way you can rotate the landmass/terrain + neighbours so that the height of the terrain is on the z axis, and not on the y?? this would save us reprocessing millions Xn data points. or using a different terrain generator. our data is irrelevant at this point as it will be a point cloud on the map..
     
  26. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    I did answer your question, terrains are not rotatable not in Unity nor in any other engines due to technical limitation/optimization for height-based terrains where heightmap is 2D planar projected. So there is no way other than having your original data in proper format which is a simple step whether done in Unity or outside.
     
  27. Quast

    Quast

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2015
    Posts:
    457
    Great offer. Thank you so much.
     
  28. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    Quast likes this.
  29. Glacier-Games

    Glacier-Games

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Posts:
    8
    Hey there!

    So let me start that I absolutely love TerraLand, and I have so many ideas for games that use the tech! I've started production on a game using the Runtime online streaming feature of TerraLand, and everything works great in the editor, but for some reason when I Build & Run the game, TerraLand will not download the heightmaps or satellite images. The downloader stays at 0%. I'm building on a Mac, and have tried building on every version of Unity 2018 and 2019. To test to see that it wasn't just my game, I simply downloaded TerraLand 3 onto an empty project and used Build & Run on the WorldExplorer Main Menu scene and the TerraLand Runtime scene. I also attempted this on every version of Unity 2018 and 2019. It works great in the editor, but when I try and run the built game it once again remains at 0%.

    Also, I've set .NET to 4.x in the editor for API Compatability Level and Scripting Runtime Version.

    Thank you for your help!
     
  30. startupstor

    startupstor

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    I was really excited about this plugin but it just doesn't work. I tried generating terrain through one menu and terrain data was cloned and completely broken, tried generating through another option and it downloaded the images and then got stuck at 4% on downloading terrain height maps. The worst part is there is not option to cancel the download so I have to exit unity every time I try to troubleshoot the issue.
     
  31. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    Thanks for the kind words and sorry for the late reply. We have investigated the issue and unfortunately there is issues when building Online Streaming scene, the case is open and we try to resolve it as soon as possible and let you know, please send us an email with the same explanations so that we can follow up the case.
     
  32. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    Strange! what is the Unity version, TL version and machine specs? And please elaborate more on the issue.
     
  33. Rickmc3280

    Rickmc3280

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Posts:
    24
  34. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    For this kind of data, a GIS software such as Global Mapper is needed to edit and export data into tiles. Simply import them in GM, split them into tiles and export in a supported TL format and all this can be done easily in GM.

    We have an extensive tutorial shows you how to use external custom data files in TerraLand using Global Mapper here:


    In order to setup your own server to be used by TerraLand's streaming system read here to get started about the structure of the streaming servers in TL: https://forum.unity.com/threads/rel...world-environments.532304/page-6#post-4256392

    And: https://forum.unity.com/threads/ter...eal-world-gis-data.377858/page-8#post-3388627

    If you want to change your reference data into any other geo-spatial projection formats, Global Mapper will do it for you too. BTW, why do you need to convert to spherical?
     
  35. jj-steele

    jj-steele

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2012
    Posts:
    16
    Hi,

    Is there any ETA on Terraworld? Rough guess would be fine.
     
  36. TerraUnity

    TerraUnity

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Posts:
    721
    Roughly this month, follow here: https://discord.gg/QgPpNpE