Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

[RELEASED] Smooth Sync - Smoothly network rigidbodies and transforms while reducing bandwidth

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Fuestrine, Aug 4, 2017.

  1. radiantboy

    radiantboy

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Posts:
    1,542
    how do I get rid of the mirror compile errors? just install mirror?
     
  2. Fuestrine

    Fuestrine

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    568
    @radiantboy
    If you will be using Mirror, yes install the latest version of Mirror from the Asset Store.
    If you will not be using Mirror, you do not need to extract the Mirror files. You should only extract for the networking system you will be using.

    Let me know if you still have issues after that. Cheers.
     
    radiantboy likes this.
  3. DesarrolloNinus

    DesarrolloNinus

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    hey i'm using mirror but i got many errors the firs one was change NetworkIdentity to
    NetworkServer on the file SmothSyncMirror.cs but after that im having more issues \SmoothSyncMirror.cs(626,23): error CS0723: Cannot declare a variable of static type 'NetworkServer' do you have any update of the files ? or i just delete whic files?
     
  4. Fuestrine

    Fuestrine

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    568
    @DesarrolloNinus
    Do you have the latest versions of Mirror from the Asset Store and the latest version of Smooth Sync from the Asset Store?

    If not, get the latest versions and try again.
    If so, try the following:
    • Delete all of Smooth Sync from your project.
    • Reimport Smooth Sync and only import the Common folder and the SmoothSyncMirror.unitypackage.
    • Unpackage the SmoothSyncMirror.unitypackage
    Let me know if that doesn't help.
     
  5. ajackster

    ajackster

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I am running into an issue w/ SmoothSyncNetcode where players other than the owner become "invisible" if I set Sync Scale to None (seemed to randomly happen if I had it != None but was random.) I noticed that objects that went "invisible" were actually just having their scale set to Vector3.zero.

    I've tracked down this code starting on line 2018 in SmoothSyncNetcode.cs

    Code (CSharp):
    1. if (!hasControl && !NetworkManager.IsServer)
    2. {
    3.         setScale(Vector3.zero);
    4. }
    Commenting this code out seems to resolve my issue. What is the purpose of setting the scale to 0 like this? Am I misunderstanding something or is this a bug? I would expect turning Sync Scale to None to not touch the scale value of the object at all.

    I am using Unity Netcode for GameObjects and am using SmoothSync v3.40

    Thank you!
     
    stardust_enterprise01 likes this.
  6. Fuestrine

    Fuestrine

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    568
    @ajackster
    Definitely a bug. Thank you for letting us know. It looks like those lines were added under "Fix for sometimes not initially syncing if they are at rest." so you may get some issues related to that with that commented out. I would think a Vector3.one instead of a Vector3.zero would at least stop things going invisible but I'm not sure. This fix was added by the other guy I code with and he's out for the holidays. I'll respond when he returns in the new year or maybe I'll dig into it myself and get back to you a bit sooner. Cheers.
     
    ajackster likes this.
  7. Fuestrine

    Fuestrine

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    568
    @ajackster
    The reason was that Netcode doesn't spawn at the updated scale by default (without Smooth Sync) so that was our attempt to not have the scale be wrong upon spawning. Then Smooth Sync would get the updated correct scale and set it.
    If you only set scale to 1, then you can probably leave that as 1 and be good to go.
    Alternatively, you can just get rid of that section if not syncing scale at all (or add a conditional to not run it). We'll have to look into an official fix for the next release. Thanks for letting us know!
    Also, please let us know if you still get "invisible" issues with it set to 1 and I can maybe get you an official fix sooner.
     
  8. dadamsj1

    dadamsj1

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Posts:
    39
    Hi @Fuestrine

    I recently upgraded to Smooth Sync PUN2 v3.22 to v3.4. I immediately noticed a significant amount of jittering. When I reverted the commit and return to v3.22 again, the issue disappeared. Any idea what would cause this?

    Photon SendRate = 20 ms
    Sample object settings:
    When to Update Transform - Update
    Interpolation Back Time 0.06
    Time Correction 0.1
    Position Easing 0.318
    Rotation Easing 0.318
    Scale Easing 0.85
    Snap Time Threshold 3

    Note: I did not change any settings on my smoothSync objects or the send rate for Photon (commit is literally just SmoothSyncEditorPUN2.cs, SmoothSyncPUN2.cs, and StatePUN2.cs). I have the .patch files if you'd like me to send them. PUN2 is latest version as well.
     
  9. RTTTTT

    RTTTTT

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Hi @Fuestrine

    I'm using SmoothSyncMirror.

    Once my player object moves the scene, the client's transform is not reflected in the server. Between clients, the transform changes are well applied and are not reflected only on the server.

    In a Multiple Additive Scenes environment, Is there anything I have to do specifically when OnClientChangeScene is called?

    https://mirror-networking.gitbook.io/docs/examples/multiple-additive-scenes
     
  10. Fuestrine

    Fuestrine

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    568
    @dadamsj1
    That's a rough one as v3.22 was almost 4 years ago around August 2019. A lot has changed since then.
    Try setting the Smooth Sync settings on your game objects to default to see if that clears it up.
    If that doesn't clear it up, do you get this behavior in the example scene for PUN2 in the Smooth Sync plugin?
     
  11. Fuestrine

    Fuestrine

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    568
    @Seugnjun
    Are you only talking about Mirror's "Multiple Additive Scenes"?
    My best initial thought is try calling the code in SmoothSync.OnEnable() or maybe even SmoothSync.teleportOwnedObjectFromOwner() for a separate reset test.
    If this is an ownership change, try setting the "Smooth Authority Changes" option in Smooth Sync.

    I'm not too familiar with Mirror's "Multiple Additive Scenes" unfortunately. If the above doesn't help, let me know and I'll have to see if I can dig deeper. Thank you.
     
  12. Davey111111

    Davey111111

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Super excited to try this out but I'm having an issue with the asset.
    Using Netcode for GameObjects 1.2.0
    Unity Transport 2.0.0

    I understand these are beta releases that I'm using so I understand if things aren't compatible at the moment.
    My characters movement is not being synced and the console is throwing the warning: "Could not find target for network StateNetcode message."

    Smooth.StateNetcode:Deserialize (Unity.Netcode.FastBufferReader) (at Assets/Smooth Sync/Netcode for GameObjects/Smooth Sync Assets/StateNetCode.cs:401)

    Edit: Nevermind! Problem solved :) Just had to set the Transform Source to "Server" in the Miscellaneous options because my game is server authoritative.
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2023
  13. AsifNaeem

    AsifNaeem

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Posts:
    16
    I tried it with removing photon pun2 package. Re-importing latest available version. Also tried with removing & re-importing Smooth Sync. But error still resist.
    In empty package it is working fine but with my project it is showing error.
    I am using Unity 2021.3.12
    Any suggestion to resolve this issue?
     
  14. Fuestrine

    Fuestrine

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Posts:
    568
    @AsifNaeem
    "In empty package it is working fine"
    Is it working fine in the PUN2 example scene provided by Smooth Sync?
    I just tried using the latest PUN2 available from the Asset Store and the latest Smooth Sync from the Asset Store and got no issues in Unity 2021.3.5f1.

    If the PUN2 example scene provided by Smooth Sync is working fine, you'll have to see how your setup is different from this scene.
    Try redownloading the latest versions as well before you import maybe.
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2023 at 1:12 AM
  15. VRGroupRWTH

    VRGroupRWTH

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    We're having invisibility issues with the latest netcode for gameobjects (1.2.0) as well. Afaik they actually sync scale initially now, so when somebody joins non-scene objects have a scale of 0 until they get move once.