Search Unity

Assets [RELEASED] Silantro Flight Simulator

Discussion in 'Works In Progress' started by Oyedoyin1, Mar 20, 2018.

?

Which is better in terms of "user-friendliness" and "performance"

Poll closed Aug 13, 2018.
  1. 1 giant script

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Multiple smaller scripts

    15 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    #SUPER UPDATE
    //
    Mobile version of Silantro Flight Simulator is coming with the update!!!!
    //

    Demo video (Initial test with no graphics optimization yet and basic UI controls)

     
    WebLab likes this.
  2. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    What device do you use in this video?
     
  3. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    TECNO Camon CX
     
  4. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    Ok, thank you)! Could you also please publish this demo:)?
     
  5. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    I want to improve the controls and quality before releasing it. I'll release the web demo for PC and mobile(sample apk file) together.
     
    WebLab likes this.
  6. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    Ok, great!!:)
     
  7. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    #UPDATE

    Spoilers have been added to the aerofoil system. The can be easily controlled and modified.


    //
    //
    TEST VIDEO

     
    WebLab likes this.
  8. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2018
    WebLab likes this.
  9. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687




    //
    //
    Demo run Test
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2018
    WebLab likes this.
  10. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    #WEAPON SYSTEM UPDATE
     
    HeadClot88 and WebLab like this.
  11. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    Wow, that's really cool!! Especially I like F-35 and flaps system that affords to land the Boeing in the rotated position(on the back gears). Also there is a list of my suggestions:):
    1. Steerable nosewheel
    2. F-35 short take-off, like here
     
  12. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    Those are all available too. All the planes have steerable nosewheels ( the maximum steer angle differs tho e.g the B737 is 40 to 40 while the Me-262 is just 20 to 20).
    Use the (< and >) keys to steer the wheels.

    The F-35 is also STOL capable. Tap 8 after engine start up is complete to move to STOL mode.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2018
  13. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    //
    Here is the Short Take off Demo;

    Guidelines;
    1. Start Engine and wait for start up sequence to complete
    2. Switch to STOL mode by tapping 8 on the keyboard, wait for Liftfan to run up to full speed.
    3. Release parking brakes by tapping X on the keyboard.
    4. Throttle up engines and fly away:).
    //
     
  14. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    #UPDATE

    Got started on the weather system which is supposed to be the last puzzle piece to complete the first update:):).
    -: Added Time of day settings
    -: Added temperature-air density variation.

    Local Temperature data can be saved as a preset i.e weather data can be gotten from "AccuWeather" or other weather data suppliers and loaded into the system.
    //
    Here is the temperature plot for my current location.

    //

    //

     
    WebLab likes this.
  15. TooManySugar

    TooManySugar

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Posts:
    864
    In regards to your poll. while ressult speack by itself, on ebig script would be suicidal.

    Mantaining that thing would be such a nightmare.

    Fun ennought, I remember a corean dev that developed some aircraft sim that for some reason also developed the whole thing in a single script. I did not buy the assets but reading teh comments left clear that that was not the way to go XD.

    The way I like the things is that each script manages a task, not too chopped on their scope but too long scripts are ofte a headache. Please write the code thinking ppl may add/excend/ or integrate into their existing projects. :D

    EDIT: ok you where probably trolling us as I see in teh documentation that everything is properly ordered into several task oriented scripts

    Request for future, som AI would be cool, no rush tho, first you have to get a solid foundation. I'm doing tanks right now so not really need aircraft physics but this is something I like so I'll be watching :D
     
    Oyedoyin1 likes this.
  16. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    Sorry, just didn't understand for the first time(I just have another keybuttons on the places of < and >):)
     
    Oyedoyin1 likes this.
  17. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    :):):) I wasn't clear on what i meant by the poll question.

    Based on the old the system, the wings contained the SilantroAerofoil script for aerodynamic calculations, SilantroControSurface for basic controls, SilantroFlaps for Flap control, SilantroAerofoilHealth for health and destruction, so 4 main scripts had to be individually configured before the wing can work.
    Now i was about to add the Slats and Spoiler controls plus weapon system hookup, that adds up to about 8 major scripts!!! That was why i asked if it'll be ok to leave the multiple scripts or merge them into one main script.

    I've however found the perfect solution. The ControSurface,Flaps, Slats and Spoiler Controls have been added to the main Aerofoil Script. I've also left space for a "Variable sweep wing" system which will be added in a couple of days.;).
    Heres what the new SilantroAerofoil script looks like now;






    As you can see, all the components have been merged and easier to adjust and control.:)

    Sure, i'm going to add Full AI in the future. Actually some AI is present now but you can't notice ;), its a basic VMC system for the STOVL system.
     
    TooManySugar likes this.
  18. TooManySugar

    TooManySugar

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Posts:
    864
    Fine to mee that thing loosk gigantic tho. I mean is ok inspector wise but there is stuff like health and fx mixed. May be is just you mixed all the info in an editor script no the main components. But, not complaining just saying.
     
  19. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    :):) Fear Not. The Aerofoil Script is split into different sections handling various functions like basic controls, advanced controls and destruction. Any can be removed or adjusted, I'll try my best to comment as much as possible to aide making changes.

    But come to think of it, the Wings in reality performs a lot of functions :D, that's why the script is very large as compared with other scripts.

     
    TooManySugar likes this.
  20. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    #UPDATE

    Concept Proof setups;
    1. Eurofighter Typhoon to Demonstrate Canard Control



    //
    PS: Please ignore the wrong Engine name :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2018
    WebLab and TooManySugar like this.
  21. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    #UPDATE
    *Added New Lights system
    *Added Direct Creation of Aircrafts from GameObject Menu




    //
    A-29 Night Takeoff with the new Lights

     
    WebLab and TooManySugar like this.
  22. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    I like it!:)
     
    Oyedoyin1 likes this.
  23. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    #UPDATE

    A-10 Thunderbolt Carpet Bombing Test

     
    WebLab likes this.
  24. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    #UPDATE

    Electrical Propulsion has been added to the system.

    Components
    1. Electric Motor: It draws power from a battery pack composed of several batteries connected together, the batteries can be recharged using the battery charger.


    //
    //
    2. Battery Power

    //
    2.1 Battery Charger: Recharges the battery from power supplied either by a solar panel or in future updates, a generator


    //
    //
    SOLAR POWER SYSTEM
    //
    Components
    1. Solar Cell


    //
    2. Solar Module; Combination of several cells


    //
    3. Solar panel: combination of several modules in either series, parallel or combined configuration


    //
    Video of the electric power configured A-29 Tucano coming soon ;)
    //
    //
    Also basic radar system is almost complete

     
    WebLab likes this.
  25. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    #UPDATE

    Electric Motor Powered A-29 Tucano, you can see the solar panel for charging the batteries on top

     
    WebLab, JamesArndt and khos like this.
  26. JamesArndt

    JamesArndt

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Posts:
    2,687
    Outstanding. This has to be one of the most detailed sim packages I've seen so far for Unity. Keep up the good work.
     
    Oyedoyin1 likes this.
  27. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    #UPDATE

    Default Control Options; easy to configure and start with
    Available Controls;
    1. Keyboard
    2. PS4 Controller
    3. Logitech Extreme 3D Joystick (Recommended)


    //

    //
    //

    //
    Configuration Menu
     
    WebLab likes this.
  28. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    Great! I waited for this! Also I am waiting for the homing missile system:)
     
    gregop2 likes this.
  29. max00007

    max00007

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Posts:
    19
    First off: Great work. From what I see it seems to be the best shot at an easy to use flight sim asset. But before getting the asset I have two question:
    1. After a quick test flight pitch up & down does not go back to idle position after keyboard input. The other controls do. Is that just an issue with the WebGL test flight or the keyboard input or???
    2. Some keys do not seem to work with Firefox (i.e. thrust up) some do not work with the edge browser (F5 for self destruct). Is that also just an issue with the webgl test flight?

    Thanks ;)
     
    Oyedoyin1 likes this.
  30. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    No its not an "Issue". It's a deliberate setting i used i.e the snap toggle for the pitch control was deactivated. It can be easily changed from the input manager configuration.



    Yes i noticed that too. It seems to be a WebGL browser compatibility issue cus the controls don't even work with my Google Chrome browser, that's why i recommended Firefox as the Default browser.
     
  31. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    #UPDATE
    Just finished setting up the update tutorial Scene



    2. The GUI for the radar has been updated. You can now select from either a Stationary Radar or a Pivolted Radar Screen (Used in real aircrafts).
    *Stationary Radar



    *Pivolted Radar

     
    WebLab likes this.
  32. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    antoripa likes this.
  33. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    Controls scheme

    1. Logitech Joystick



    2. PS3/PS4 Controller

     
    antoripa, WebLab and Bartolomeus755 like this.
  34. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    Great! Now I can afford to buy the asset. When is the update:)?
     
    Oyedoyin1 likes this.
  35. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    Bartolomeus755 likes this.
  36. SimLoop

    SimLoop

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Posts:
    25
    Is there no way around this starting velocity? I want to do a wingsuit base simulator and there would be no starting velocity.
     
  37. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    Well lets break this down...



    For a normal aircraft, the engines add force to get it up to lift-off velocity, while gliders need to be pulled up to takeoff speed by another powered aircraft.

    Check out this wing suit video


    The solution is to jump from a very high position so as to gain speed and generate enough lift for controls to work.

    So i guess you can do the same thing, set up the character and drop it from a height (similar to jumping from a mountain as the divers do), gain enough speed and continue with your flight. :)
     
  38. Michealfame

    Michealfame

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Posts:
    11
    can someone help me with this error?
    private static void NewMethod5()
    {
    Camera.depthTextureMode |= DepthTextureMode.DepthNormals;
    }

    private void CreateMaterials ()
    {
    if (!m_SSAOMaterial && m_SSAOShader.isSupported)
    {
    m_SSAOMaterial = CreateMaterial (m_SSAOShader);
    m_SSAOMaterial.SetTexture ("_RandomTexture", m_RandomTexture);
    }
    }

    [ImageEffectOpaque]
    void OnRenderImage (RenderTexture source, RenderTexture destination)
    {
    if (!m_Supported || !m_SSAOShader.isSupported) {
    enabled = false;
    return;
    }
    CreateMaterials ();

    m_Downsampling = Mathf.Clamp (m_Downsampling, 1, 6);
    m_Radius = Mathf.Clamp (m_Radius, 0.05f, 1.0f);
    m_MinZ = Mathf.Clamp (m_MinZ, 0.00001f, 0.5f);
    m_OcclusionIntensity = Mathf.Clamp (m_OcclusionIntensity, 0.5f, 4.0f);
    m_OcclusionAttenuation = Mathf.Clamp (m_OcclusionAttenuation, 0.2f, 2.0f);
    m_Blur = Mathf.Clamp (m_Blur, 0, 4);

    // Render SSAO term into a smaller texture
    RenderTexture rtAO = RenderTexture.GetTemporary (source.width / m_Downsampling, source.height / m_Downsampling, 0);
    float fovY = Camera.fieldOfView;
    float y = Mathf.Tan (fovY * Mathf.Deg2Rad * 0.5f) * Camera.farClipPlane;
    float x = y * Camera.aspect;
    m_SSAOMaterial.SetVector (Name, new Vector3(x, y, (float)Camera.farClipPlane));
    int noiseWidth, noiseHeight;
    if (m_RandomTexture) {
    noiseWidth = m_RandomTexture.width;
     
  39. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    What script gives you the error!?
     
  40. Michealfame

    Michealfame

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2017
    Posts:
    11
    its Visual studios C# i am going to show what the error said...

    Error CS0120 An object reference is required for the non-static field, method, or property 'Camera.depthTextureMode'
     
  41. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    I doubt this is actually from any of my scripts. But i think the solution is exposing the Camera field in the inspector i.e

    public Camera myCamera;
    private static void NewMethod5()
    {
    myCamera.depthTextureMode |= DepthTextureMode.DepthNormals;
    }
     
  42. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    #UPDATE

    Version Update 1.12 has been submitted for review!!!!:):)
     
  43. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    Have you added the aircraft examples?:)
     
  44. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
  45. Ahmedgis

    Ahmedgis

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    Amazing work

    I wonder, if we can control more than one aircraft into one scene in order to implement somthing near a Tower Simulator?
     
  46. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    Yes you'll be able to.:)

    I'm currently working on the "Third and First Person" enter-exit system for the aircrafts for version v1.14.

    Jet Assisted Takeoff (JATO) will also come with the update.

     
  47. longroadhwy

    longroadhwy

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Posts:
    1,459
    Sadly the Blue Angels do not perform that JATO routine anymore. That is nice feature to add to your unity asset.

    Do have a running log of all changes since the very first release of your flight sim asset?
     
  48. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
  49. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    687
    #UPDATE

    AC-130 Setup complete.
    Test Flight:

     
  50. SimLoop

    SimLoop

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Posts:
    25
    That's what I planned to do, but when I tried to implement it with Silantro it didn't work. I did manage to get something to work with UnityFS a while ago, but there is no more contact with Chris.
     
unityunity