Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.1 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

Assets [RELEASED] Silantro Flight Simulator

Discussion in 'Works In Progress' started by Oyedoyin1, Mar 20, 2018.

?

Which is better in terms of "user-friendliness" and "performance"

Poll closed Aug 13, 2018.
  1. 1 giant script

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Multiple smaller scripts

    15 vote(s)
    100.0%
  1. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    ##UPDATE

    New Turboshaft Engine and Blade System to power the V-22 Osprey




    //
    Blade System
     
    HeadClot88 likes this.
  2. khos

    khos

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Posts:
    780
    Hi, is it possible to edit/change airfoil type/shape at runtime for aircraft?
     
  3. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    Yes you will :).
    //


    1. Creating new Airfoil


    //
    2. Editing existing Airfoil
     
    Last edited: Jun 18, 2018
    John-G and khos like this.
  4. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    #UPDATE

    New control setup with different controllers (still in development)


    //
    //
    Osprey Update
    //
    1. Vertical Takeoff

    //
    2. Short Takeoff Configuration

     
    John-G likes this.
  5. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    31
    This is the best flight simulator asset I've ever seen!
     
    Oyedoyin1 likes this.
  6. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    31
    I don't understand how to take off in demo version? Plane reaches 55 knots and then stops reaching speed to take off.
     
  7. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    Thank you very much :). Please don't forget to rate on the asset store.
     
  8. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    Wow.. I'm sorry that's happening.

    1. Which of the aircraft demo!?
    2. Was(were) the engine(s) at full power!?
    3. Was the parking brake disengaged!?
     
  9. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    The preflight check list is pretty simple

    1. F1 to start up the engine(s)
    2. Press down Alpha 1 to accelerate the engine(s) to full power
    3. Tap X to release or disengage the brakes (might require multiple clicks due to a bug in the initial release)
    4. Once the aircraft reaches takeoff speed, rotate by pressing down the (down or S) button.
     
  10. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    31
    There is only one aircraft(A29 SuperTuncano). Maybe you forgot to reload demo because I saw on the screenshot of demo that there are 3 aircrafts:).
     
  11. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    Yeah, I had to pull the Spitfire due to problems with the aircraft setup and I want to replace the Phenom 100 with the F-35 as the official jet aircraft.

    Can you takeoff properly from the tucano now!?
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2018
  12. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    31
    I tried to test it in my notebook and it works now but in my another computer it still reaches 55 knots of speed and doesn't speed up further to take off.
     
  13. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    Woa... So the problem only happens on your other computer!?
     
  14. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    31
    Yes. On the screen is the maximal speed that the aircraft reaches.
     
  15. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    Maybe it's an issue with your other computer. What are the specs and can you send the "output_log.txt" file in the demo data folder.
     
  16. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    31
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    From the log file it seems the Black box component (SilantroDataLogger) couldn't get permission to write data on the computer, and somehow interfering with the normal operation of the scripts.
     
  18. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7,814
    Any chance for a Web demo? Some of us don't do Windows. ;)
     
  19. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7,814
    OK, I've just purchased the asset and I'm having fun exploring it. But there are a number of issues out of the box:
    • Missing scripts in various places, for example, on the Explosion Effect and on the GUI System (in the JetAircraft sample scene).
    • Also in the JetAircraft sample scene, the camera is in front of the plane, facing backwards, instead of behind it. How do I fix that? (And how in the world did you fly it that way?)
    • Possibly related, the whole jet aircraft seems to be backwards — the local +Z is pointing towards the tail, instead of the nose.
    • Both samples have the data logger set to save to C:/Users/ACER USER/Desktop/, which obviously doesn't exist on my Mac, and wouldn't even exist on most Windows machines (since most users are not named ACER USER). This causes an exception that prevents running until you disable the logger or change the path.
    These look to be mostly errors in packaging up the asset or preparing examples, so I'm by no means giving up on the asset. I hope this feedback will help you make a more polished release.
     
    Oyedoyin1 likes this.
  20. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7,814
    More troubles (trying to set up my own plane)...

    It seems that many scripts are trying to find the instrumentation via tags, with code like this:

    Code (CSharp):
    1.         GameObject brain = GameObject.FindGameObjectWithTag ("Brain");
    2.         if (brain.transform.root == gameObject.transform.root) {
    3.             instrumentation = brain.GetComponent<SilantroInstrumentation> ();
    4.         }
    5.         if (instrumentation == null) {
    6.             Debug.LogError ("Instrumentation System is Missing!! Add COG to aircraft");
    7.         } else {
    8.             instrumentation.boom = EngineRun;
    9.         }
    This is a horrible way to do it, because it fails if there is more than one Silantro plane in the scene! (The second one will pick up the brain of the first.) It's also fragile and unnecessary. Please use something like transform.root.GetComponentInChildren<SilantroInstrumentation>() instead.

    (And note: there is never any reason to write gameObject.transform... just transform is the same thing but shorter and faster.)
     
    Oyedoyin1 and alexanderameye like this.
  21. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    Thanks Joe, I've fixed the missing scripts issues in the update I'm working on (it's the destroy after time script that is missing) .

    The only aircraft with the Z axis pointing backwards is the Phenom 100 and this is a problem with the modeling of the aircraft, I've however replaced it with the F-35 as the sample Jet aircraft.

    The samples were made on my system, that's why I had to make the save path specific. Anyone using the Package just has to set that path to his/her system path (its not hard coded into the system).
     
  22. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532

    I designed the Simulator in such a way that each component can work independently but would still require a central controller to bring things together, but the fact that I created the engines and some other systems that require this instrumentation component before the VMC /Controller created a big issue.

    The engine is a child of the aircraft, the instrumentation gameobject is also a child of the aircraft so using transform.GetComponentInChildelren was not an option, transform.root.GetComponentInChildren works but fails when the aircraft is not the root gameobject (especially if there are other aircrafts within the root object). Out of frustration, I opted for this quick and inefficient fix to buy some time :cool:

    The issue has been solved in the update however, what I've done now is to have the developer manually assign the aircraft instrumentation in the VMC/Controller system (it will then assign it to all its child components). :);)
     
  23. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    ##UPDATE

    STOVL system Update 100% complete!!!!
    Demo will be available soon

    F-35 Complete VTOL Test
    1. Vertical Takeoff (0:0-0:50 mins)
    2. Transition to supersonic flight (0:49-2:38 mins)
    3. Return to Hover (2:40-3:30 mins)
    4. Vertical landing (3:35-4:25 mins)

     
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2018
    WebLab, JoeStrout and gl33mer like this.
  24. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7,814
    Just leave the path blank (before creating your Asset Store package). The code should then write to the default directory, which will be the directory containing the project. Users can still change it if they want, but at least they don't get an error right out of the box.

    In addition, you should catch the exception that happens when the path is invalid, log a warning to the console (just once), and then continue without the data logging. That too would be better than preventing the demo from running.
     
    Oyedoyin1 likes this.
  25. JoeStrout

    JoeStrout

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Posts:
    7,814
    That sounds like a decent solution. I would also be fine with some component that represents the aircraft itself, and has to be at the top level. Then child systems (which might be located anywhere) could do GetComponentInParent<SilantroAircraft>() to get that top-level component, and then call GetComponentInChildren or GetComponentsInChildren on that to find any other references they need.
     
    Oyedoyin1 likes this.
  26. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    F-22 Raptor Teaser

     
    WebLab likes this.
  27. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    31
    Wow, that’s what I wanted!:)
     
    Oyedoyin1 likes this.
  28. gl33mer

    gl33mer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Posts:
    278
    Oyedoyin1 likes this.
  29. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    Thank you very much :)... That's part of what i've been looking for.
    I'm also thinking of using CFD (Computational fluid dynamics) to improve the aircraft drag properties, know any good free or "not too" expensive software!? The one from Hanley is about $895-$6000.
     
  30. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    #UPDATE

    A-10 Thunderbolt with the updated GAU-8 Avenger (fixed the barrel rotation).

     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2018
    WebLab and JoeStrout like this.
  31. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    31
    Could you also add a wingtrails?;)
     
  32. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    I will. I just delayed adding any major effect so I can effectively monitor the "script performance" without interference
     
    WebLab likes this.
  33. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    #UPDATE

    New KC-10 Extender Aircraft setup, heaviest setup I've had so far (Total weight almost 250,000kg!!!!).



    It's going to be used for aerial refueling missions purposes in the future ;)
     
    John-G and WebLab like this.
  34. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    31
    Very nice! Wait for the demo update with new aircrafts;)!
     
  35. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    #UPDATE

    New additions
    1: Reverse Thrust for Turbofan Engines


    2: Incremental Braking system (to brake gradually)
     
  36. jojiklmts

    jojiklmts

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    W
    here do you get the 3D models ?
     
  37. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    Mostly from "Sketchfab".
     
    jojiklmts likes this.
  38. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    Me-262 Sturmvogel setup with weapons test.



    "Aircraft per System" mission:):).

    Available aircrafts in each category ;

    1. Low Bypass Turbofan : F-35 Lightning
    2. High Bypass Turbofan : KC-10 Extender
    3. Turbojet Engine: Me-262 Sturmvogel
    4. STOVL System : F-35 Lightning
    5. Piston Engine: P2006T Tecnam (In development).
    6. Turboprop Engine : A29 Tucano
    7. Main Fighter Aircraft : A-10 Thunderbolt
    8. Turboshaft Engine : V-22 Osprey (Still unstable during sharp rolls)


    Would have added more aircraft examples but I'm trying to keep the Package size under 150MB.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2018
    jojiklmts and WebLab like this.
  39. jojiklmts

    jojiklmts

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    I am having various errors and warnings reported in Unity console. One set of issues is reported when I load the package. Second set of issues is reported when I play test the scene. And yet another set of issues is reported when I stop play testing. See attached.
     

    Attached Files:

  40. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    Yeah I'm sorry that's happening. I forgot to reset the data save path to default before uploading the Package, that's why you're getting the errors.

    FIX: Find the black box gameobject in the aircraft hierarchy (should have the script "SilantroDataLogger" attached to it). Change the file save path to a valid path on your PC e.g C:/Users/......

    Remove the missing script attached to the "GUISystem" game object under scene objects.
    That should do it ;)

    About the warnings, they're just values I've created for future use, that have not been assigned a function yet... It's nothing to worry about.
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018
  41. pStar

    pStar

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    Oyedoyin1,

    I purchased Silantro for a project my students are working on, and it works great, but we're having difficulty creating a heavy aircraft. Would be able to send theKC-10 for us to see how to setup a big and heavy aircraft?

    Thank you for all your hard work,
    ~Pat
     
  42. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    I'm glad you're enjoying the Package, please don't forget to rate it on the asset store :):)

    Send me an email, lemme try and solve the problems/ Guide you through the setup.
    Most of the components on the KC-10 are updated versions of the current release and combining them with the one you have might be problematic.
     
  43. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    #UPDATE

    P2006T Tecnam Piston engine demonstrator complete

     
    WebLab likes this.
  44. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    #UPDATE

    Development work temporarily stopped till weekend when my new pc arrives.

    Latest setup : Boeing 737-500 Classic Takeoff, short flight and Hard landing (to test the effectiveness of the new reverse thrust system
    (Custom Ordered)

    //
    Main features left to complete update work
    1. Basic weather system
    2. Advanced weapons system (already updated the Minigun and finished the drop "unguided" bombs)
    3. General Clean up and debugging.

    //
    KINDLY RATE THE ASSET ON THE STORE IF YOU'VE PURCHASED AND ENJOYED IT(5 stars ;)). IT'LL REALLY HELP ME A LOT.
    Asset Store link : http://u3d.as/18FY


    .... and if you have any questions, requests, complaints or suggestions.. Kindly mail me directly : silantrosimulator@gmail.com
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2018
    WebLab likes this.
  45. WebLab

    WebLab

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2018
    Posts:
    31
    Great! I'll purchase your asset soon and rate it. Waiting for the update:).
     
  46. HeadClot88

    HeadClot88

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    686
    Hey @Oyedoyin1 - Got a question about this asset.

    Does this support Helicopters?
     
  47. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    Actually No.
    Its just for fixed wing aircraft (including the V-22 Osprey).

    A separate Simulator for Rotary Wing/Helicopters is currently in development.:):)



     
    HeadClot88 likes this.
  48. khos

    khos

    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Posts:
    780
    Hi, just to ask if that is ok, when you say fixed wing, would that include drones, gliders , possibly paraglider/flexifoil ? I imagine Paraglider type might not work as the wing is not exactly fixed.. can aircraft without engines be modified to fly with thermals somehow?
     
  49. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    You should with just minor adjustments and modifications. Straight wing drones and gliders can fly with the system as it is as long as they are given a starting velocity or "push" e.g dropping from a powered aircraft.

    //PARAGLIDERS//FLEXIFOIL
    The aerofoil system can be modified to get a shape close to that of a para-glider or flexifoil by using multiple aerofoils and angling them. Check out this sample;


    Note: You can use more aerofoils to get a smoother shape, but be conscious of its effect on performance.

    //THERMALS INTEGRATION
    Thermals generally affect wind speed (from my little knowledge of kite gliding ;))


    //

    //
    So all you have to do to integrate it with my system is to find a way of modeling the "thermals variation" and how it affects or changes wind speed. This value(wind speed) can then be used to modify the "local wind" variable of the aerofoils.
     
    khos likes this.
  50. Oyedoyin1

    Oyedoyin1

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2016
    Posts:
    532
    #UPDATE

    New PC finally arrived!!!, and ive already implemented some massive updates to the aerofoil system.
    Flaps and Slat control has now been added to the aerofoils



    //
    New Flaps and Slats System
    //
    //FLAPS

    //
    //SLAT


    //
    DESTRUCTION SYSTEM
    //


    //
    //Sample aircraft: B737-500 with the full control system
    //


    //Checkers color coding
    1. Red - Primary control surface(Aileron and Elevators visible)
    2. Blue - Flaps
    3. Magenta - Slats
     
    sharkapps and WebLab like this.