Search Unity

[RELEASED] ShaderOne

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by echologin, Sep 8, 2018.

  1. trinistry

    trinistry

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Hello,
    when I play in editor everything looks fine. But when I build for iOS on device, all ShaderOne meshes have turned black. Version: 0.22
    Do you want me to give any more details or settings?
     
    echologin likes this.
  2. Thomas-Pasieka

    Thomas-Pasieka

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Posts:
    2,112
    That sounds rather excellent/useful! Looking forward to it!

    Thomas
     
    echologin likes this.
  3. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    Submitted 0.23

    Raised price to 42 dollars ( from 40 )

    42 being the ultimate answer in Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy
    ( I had to do it .. was bugging me )

    v0.23
    * fixed: issue with vertex lighting
    * fixed: issue with vertex specular
    * fixed: issue when using more than 1 dir light with shadows on
    * added: forces alpha to 1.0 when alpha channel is used for effect
    * added: can read SurfaceMap per vertex with per vertex ( WIP )
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2018
  4. Thomas-Pasieka

    Thomas-Pasieka

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Posts:
    2,112
    Nice update! Are there going to be any more new "vertex" animation related things coming?
     
  5. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    Vertex animation ?
     
  6. Thomas-Pasieka

    Thomas-Pasieka

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Posts:
    2,112
    Well imagine cloth. I would like to be able to have it look a bit more realistic swaying in the wind. For example, I have this plane of mine and want for those flags/flaps to behave somewhat more realistic (maybe using noise?)

    thomas-pasieka-2018-11-08-10h02-18.jpg
     
    echologin and Mark_01 like this.
  7. Mark_01

    Mark_01

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Posts:
    451
    Cloth and maybe hair even ? :)

    Cloth is a good idea .. flags , banners, armour ? capes :D
     
    echologin likes this.
  8. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    ohh yeah I remember sorry I thought u meant something else

    I will do that when I do vegetation/cloth and VSPRO support

    just taking longer than I thought to get to that point
     
    Thomas-Pasieka and Mark_01 like this.
  9. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    put more screenshots on main post on page 1
     
    Mark_01 and Thomas-Pasieka like this.
  10. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032

    Hi sorry i missed your post just saw it now

    Do you have the Manager in the Scene ? and are you using ShaderOne Lighting ?
    What model is the iphone ?

    It has to use opengl es 3.0 and up

    Try it with latest v0.23 has a few lighting fixes
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2018
  11. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,877
    Let's say I have a model that is natively large or one that I have scaled up, and I want to add a little noise to it for detail on LOD 0... to help give the impression the model is truly large when seen up close. Like, maybe some complex (non-repeating) specular / gloss noise.

    Can I do it with ShaderOne?
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2018
  12. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032

    you can put the detail texture on the layer 1 with multiply blend mode on that layer ( not the main blend mode )

    and adjust the alpha on layer1 color for the strength
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2018
    hopeful likes this.
  13. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    BTW i made a simple tool to combine Height, AO, Roughness and Metallic textures

    all into one SurfaceMap texture for ShaderOne .. will be in next update

    will be submitting it Tuesday Night...
     
    EvilGremlin, hopeful and Mark_01 like this.
  14. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    v0.24 in store !!
    * fixed: Issue when mixing Vertex and Point lighting
    * fixed: Issue with light probes
    * fixed: Issue in ShaderOne lighting with Shadows
    * fixed: shadow issue with diffuse wrap mode
    * fixed: error when baking lighting
    * added: Diffuse wrap amount slider on material
    * added: Diffuse wrap energy conserving mode
    * added: Multiply diffuse mode ( Zelda like lighting )
    * added: Ability to turn on and off zwrite for non solid blend modes
    * added: Tool to combine textures into surfacemap ( WIP )
    * changed: Dir lights set as not important will get calculated as light probes
     
    sjm-tech, Mark_01 and hopeful like this.
  15. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    Added where any layer can use uv0-uv7

    Can now choose if rim lighting adds to output or lighting ( kind of a fake fast translucent effect )

    will be uploading new update soon
     
  16. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,517
    Will you be supporting Deferred rendering anytime soon?
     
  17. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    At this time i dont think i will ( still debating it ).. it would take a lot of time, many effects in shaderOne would not be possible ( or would need to be rendered in forward mode anyways ) and basically be just like standard shader

    I would rather spend that time making my own SRP pipeline
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2018
    Razmot likes this.
  18. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    What is your reason for wanting deferred ?
     
  19. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,517
    That's the rendering mode I use in my game. It works best for having lots of point lights in the scene.
     
  20. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    Are you using any assets that require deferred

    I ask because i have idea to support unlimited lights using my lighting

    A kinda deferred Hybrid but would be faster than unity deferred


    you can now have up to 4 dir lights, 16 point, 16 spot lights
    you can have any amount of lights in scene it just picks the closest ones to Camera
     
    recon0303 likes this.
  21. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,517
    I'm not sure. I have had some assets in the past that required deferred, but not sure if my current projects are using any of them.
     
  22. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032

    how many lights on average do u have in a scene ?
     
  23. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,517
    It depends. In a dungeon there might be torches all over the place with maybe 6-8 visible at any one time. But then there might also be some other additional lights for ambience. So maybe add an additional 3-6 on top of that.
     
  24. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    I think it could handle that as is..
     
  25. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    Just added ability to TINT Lightmaps so you could bake for daylight and make it darker color for night

    without having to use double the lightmaps
     
    atomicjoe, Mark_01 and magique like this.
  26. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,517
    There is one feature this lacks that makes this a difficult asset to use. For me it's a bit of a show stopper since the time involved is a hefty price tag to pay. I'm referring to the height and ambient occlusion needing to be added to the surface map. You explained to me in Discord how to do this in Photoshop, but what a pain to have to go through hundreds of materials and do this for them all. I know there are some other tools like RTP3 and MegaSplat that have built-in ability to combine maps in a similar way. I think it would be really nice if ShaderOne allowed us to specify the AO and Height maps normally, but it would combine them itself with some built-in tool.
     
  27. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032

    There is a tool in it now … Window/ShaderOne Surfacemap Maker
    ( it is a work in progress so any bugs or if you think it needs a feature let me know )

    I may make option to just have it work like standard with all separate textures but that uses more vram and is slower
     
  28. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,517
    Is this new? Because you showed me how to do in Photoshop when we chatted on Discord and you didn't mention this tool.

    But what would make it better is for the tool to just work behind the scenes. So, we as developers would just assign the maps the usual way or they would be auto assigned when switching from Standard shader. Then you could just click a button on the inspector and it would generate the combined surface map.
     
  29. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032

    yeah I just added it recently
     
    magique likes this.
  30. recon0303

    recon0303

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,598

    Echo is a machine he is always adding stuff. fast. ( I tend to help where I can. ) He can post on what he added recently. ) cool stuff. you will see. He is always adding stuff and at a fast pace. ( Vet shader coder. so that is why I support him. and more to come.:) Plus his shader is damn fast.... Faster than any on the store so far.
     
    Mark_01 and echologin like this.
  31. Mark_01

    Mark_01

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Posts:
    451
    Plus one, I am happy with this as well, plus the great support, not to mention all the updates so far in very little time.

    ( Reminds me I have yet to do a written review, alto I have 5 stared it in the Unity Editor ) :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2018
    recon0303 and echologin like this.
  32. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032


    Adding Translucent option... right now it uses 1.0 - AO value for thickness
    will add Thickness map support also and will work with a global thickness ( no map needed )

    Will try to submit update tomorrow night.
     
  33. atomicjoe

    atomicjoe

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    412
    I'm really, REALLY thinking on switching my current project to Shader One, but before I do, I have to know:
    1- Does the 3D fog work against the skybox? Since the fog is rendered per shader, how does it work against the sky? Does ShaderOne include any skybox shader? (also, what about transparent shaders?)
    2- I have purchased LOTS of materials made using Unity's Standard shader which use ALL the options of Standard shader: secondary maps with different tiling and offsets than main maps (Detail Albedo and Detail Normal), detail mask, emission...
    I can not manually convert them nor convert it's textures, since that would be too much work and I'm not even sure I could match the originals.
    Does ShaderOne really translate automatically and correctly ALL the settings on Standard shader materials? (secondary maps with different offsets and tiling than main maps, detail mask...)
    Can ShaderOne just work with the same textures as the Standard shader without having to convert them first? Or at the very least, is this conversion COMPLETELY automatic? (I have a folder with 252 huge textures of every type mixed in, I can't manually select each texture for each channel for each material (more than 100) to manually convert each texture...)

    -edit: also, lots of this materials are reusing textures with different offsets and tiling to different channels to add detail without having to use 10 times the amount of textures they already use.

    This is a link to the free version of the materials I purchased so you can check their complexity.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2018
  34. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    I plan on making the fog fade into skybox ( I can try to do that this weekend )

    By default my "Surface Map" is setup like the _Metallic map on Standard ( where metallic = r and smoothness = a )

    Right now it doesn't detect detail maps but you can use them on Layer 1 and set blend mode to multiply on that layer
    ( I can try to make this automatic also this weekend , its on my todo list )

    It tries to get as many settings from Standard as possible if something doesn't work its easy to add or fix it to get a new setting

    I will download that texture pack when I get to work and see they are setup in a way that my shader can use
    (an hour or 2 )
     
    atomicjoe likes this.
  35. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    Ok finally got to try that material asset

    Some materials work out of the box ..

    The ones that dont would be the ones with Height, AO, Detail Mask
    Some of those things can be converted using my SurfaceMap tool

    But i am going to add a mode that works with all those textures from standard as separate texture
    ( but that will be slower )
    might be a while b4 i can add that ( a month or so )
     
    atomicjoe and Mark_01 like this.
  36. atomicjoe

    atomicjoe

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    412
    YES! That would be the best compatibility feature for ShaderOne!
    I'm sure this will make more people adopt your shader system!

    About the 3D fog and the skybox, I'm surprised ShaderOne doesn't already support that.
    Do you plan to implement this through a skybox shader or through other methods?
     
  37. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    It will work within the shader no need to use a special skybox shader ( at least thats the plan atm )

    would work with a cubmap at first .. then i think i can make a cubemap from the 6 texture skybox way
     
    atomicjoe likes this.
  38. atomicjoe

    atomicjoe

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    412
    That's actually awesome, as it would be compatible with custom skybox shaders, doesn't it?

    Also, I would need more info on how ShaderOne works with Lightmaps: I'm using Bakery right now for lightmapping (since it's way better than Unity's lightmappers).
    It outputs ordinary lightmaps, so that shouldn't be a problem, but it uses the meta pass of the shaders to render them.

    Does ShaderOne support directional Lightmaps for correct normal mapping? Otherwise, normal maps will not render once baked.

    How about mixed light mode? How does ShaderOne manage interaction between light-baked and realtime objects?
    Does it work the same as Unity's Standard? (ignoring realtime light on baked objects, shadow masking, substractive shadows...)
     
  39. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    all that should work ... only did some basic testing with lightmaps and fixed a few lightmap bugs
     
    Mark_01 and atomicjoe like this.
  40. recon0303

    recon0303

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,598
    That is one sexy looking fish lol
     
    echologin likes this.
  41. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    Sorry still did not submit this next update been fixing bugs ... ( hopefully will 2maro )

    Did make a little video to show Multi-Layer animated Translucent (SSS)
    Also uses subtractive rimlighting and distortion




    If anyone that bought it wants to try this before i submit PM me your Invoice Number or msg me on Discord
     
    Mark_01 likes this.
  42. michael_unity988

    michael_unity988

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    on the shader or while baked processing?
    is it better from the standart shader of unity for lightmap?
    i cant see specular influence . it will be ok in the new shader?
     
  43. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    I mean testing with baking, light-mapping should look the same as standard but u can have real time specular on
    with baking... just choose unlit on material but keep specular checked on
     
  44. michael_unity988

    michael_unity988

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2018
    Posts:
    9
    1.can i baked specular ? because i see defuse only
    2 if not ? so why i need directional map?
    3. do u use direcional map in ur shader?
     
  45. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032

    I do not use directional maps yet ... but should be able to have real time specular on baked objects
     
  46. witcher101

    witcher101

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2015
    Posts:
    471
    Does this work on webgl??
     
  47. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    I just compiled one of the demo's with 3D fog on and it seems to work fine with webgl 2.0
     
    Mark_01 likes this.
  48. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    finally submitted v0.25 ( hopefully it will go through tomorrow )

    I made it half the beta price until new year ( $21 usd )

    0.25
    * fixed: Animation not working on layer 3
    * fixed: UV's getting messed up with baked lighting
    * fixed: uses a few less shader keywords
    * fixed: instancing error in unity 2017/2018
    * fixed: bug with intersect effect
    * added: rimlighting can optionally be injected into lighting ( fast fake SSS )
    * added: Camera look ahead for shaderOne light sorting
    * added: Tint lightmaps ( Day/Night/Weather change )
    * added: per layer translucent option (SSS)
    * changed: require MaterialControl Script for random UV option
    * changed: order of channel mapping enum
    * also uses a few less shader keywords
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2018
    Mark_01 and StevenPicard like this.
  49. zKici

    zKici

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Posts:
    211
    Steal of a deal for $21
     
  50. echologin

    echologin

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Posts:
    1,032
    at that price id buy at least a dozen