Search Unity

[Released!] Sci-Fi Damage FX

Discussion in 'Works In Progress - Archive' started by unityuser94, Aug 3, 2015.

1. unityuser94

unityuser94

Hi,
    I am a 3d modeler, programmer, and shader writer. I have been using unity for ~4 years. I was Inspired by this video:

and have set out to create something similar that other game developers can use.

Latest progress demo/video/update:

Previous videos:
    Oldest:

Webplayer Demo:
    http://vectorforgegames.com/Sci Fi Damage FX Demo/

Released thread:
    http://forum.unity3d.com/threads/released-sci-fi-damage-fx.354775/

Right now it works with unity's standard surface shader, and supports all of the texture maps.

I am posting this in the WIP section to get feedback, and see if there is an interest for something like this on the asset store, so please leave your thoughts and suggestions :)

Launch Features:

*Heat damage affect as shown in progress video.
    *Fade in damage texture for damaged areas.
    *Adjust normal's based on damage, to add depth.

I will document my progress here.

Thanks,
    -Patrick

Last edited: Oct 10, 2015
    moure, rebit, LeftyRighty and 3 others like this.
  2. Zakkon

Zakkon

Saw your tweet, I must say this is something I have asked myself again and again how to do.

Your prototype looks sweet, but I would like to see it work with advanced geometry. Then you got something you could use as a shield impact effect.
    Would be cool if we could use seamless impact textures, for example an hexagon pattern or something to give the shields more personality (like this: http://static.tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pub/images/BubbleShield.jpg)

Keep up the good work! This is something that I think alot of games (including mine) could benefit from.

3. unityuser94

unityuser94