Search Unity

[RELEASED] SceneNav - Smooth & Fast Scene Navigation

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Rowlan, Aug 2, 2022.

  1. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,294
    SceneNav got released to the Asset Store and has a -50% release discount!


    Description

    SceneNav provides a means to zoom out, point at a desired destination by providing a preview of that destination and to zoom back in to that desired target. As such it's supposed to enhance your workflow by allowing quick navigation across your scene.

    SceneNav is based on actual use cases. Projects which require a fast workflow for scene creation. With emphasis on focusing on the project without being slowed down by Unity's lack of proper tools for navigation around the scene. Especially scenes with large terrains.

    As such I tried to keep the accessibility convenient for you while having the functionality help you speed up your workflow.

    SceneNav comes with preconfigured presets. Depending on your own workflow and scene size you can adapt those presets to your personal needs. As such I tried to keep SceneNav very flexible.

    Showcase Videos

    The videos are examples of what you can do with SceneNav in combination with other assets and projects. In case you are interested the descriptions of the videos contain information about which assets were used.

    Presets

    Currently there are 3 presets and key bindings available which you can use. The default key bindings are Shift+1, Shift+2 and Shift+3. You can adapt those in the Shortcuts manager of Unity to meet your own personal requirements.

    Depending on feedback I can extend the amount of presets. 3 just seemed to be the sweet spot for general use cases.

    Requirements

    SceneNav uses a raycast in order to pick a destination. With that in mind the target destination needs to have a collider.
     
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2022
  2. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,294
  3. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,294
  4. BetaMark

    BetaMark

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Posts:
    229
    How would this work if my giant world is multiple scenes loaded at runtime?
     
  5. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,294
    It's an editor tool, not a runtime tool.
     
  6. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,294
    Here's what's coming in the next weeks: SceneMarks.



    ie History & Favorites in SceneView :)

    I created a prototype over the weekend and it shaped up nicely. Have to test it more and maybe implement other things while toying around before I release it. It'll be a free update to SceneNav.
     
  7. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,294
  8. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,294
    Got a few vouchers for SceneNav to spare:

    ASV-U6FY-KXPY-EDHA-GQ7M-G3RJ
    ASV-TP34-YUKT-G7GV-YLLE-6996

    Enjoy :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 4, 2022
    UnitySynopsis likes this.
  9. UnitySynopsis

    UnitySynopsis

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2019
    Posts:
    40
    Thanks
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  10. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,294
  11. jpileborg

    jpileborg

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Posts:
    33
    I have installed SceneNav version 2.0.2 from the asset store into Unity 2021.3.20f1 (running on Linux with Vulkan backend), in a HDRP scene. And I just can't get it to work.

    There's nothing in the console, there's no conflict with the shortcut keys, just nothing seems to happen. Is there a way to debug the plugin? I added a simple `Debug.Log` in `SceneNav.SceneZoomShortcutPreset1` and it doesn't even print when I press `Shift+1`.
     
  12. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,294
    I just installed 2021.3.21f1 (Windows) and created a HDRP scene, installed SceneNav and all works fine out of the box. Can you try this one:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEditor.ShortcutManagement;
    2. using UnityEngine;
    3.  
    4. public class Example : MonoBehaviour
    5. {
    6.     [ClutchShortcutAttribute("MyContext/MyFunction", null, KeyCode.Y, ShortcutModifiers.Shift)]
    7.     public static void ShortcutTest(ShortcutArguments args)
    8.     {
    9.         if (args.stage == ShortcutStage.Begin)
    10.         {
    11.             Debug.Log("Key Down");
    12.         }
    13.         else if (args.stage == ShortcutStage.End)
    14.         {
    15.             Debug.Log("Key Up");
    16.         }
    17.     }
    18.  
    19. }
    Pressing shift+y should show the key press / key release in the console.

    I don't have a linux system, so can't test on linux. It was tested on Win/Mac. If you want feel free to contact me on discord Rowlan#9633 to get this checked faster.
     
  13. jpileborg

    jpileborg

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2013
    Posts:
    33
    First sorry for the late reply, have been a busy week. :)

    I made some progress... I removed and reimported the package, and get three of these errors:
    Code (csharp):
    1. InvalidCastException: Specified cast is not valid.
    2. Rowlan.SceneNav.SceneNavDataEditor.OnEnable () (at Assets/Rowlan/Tools/SceneNav/Editor/SceneNav/SceneNavDataEditor.cs:24)
     
    Last edited: Mar 25, 2023
  14. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,294
    Is that the first error? Because there's nothing special to it. Did you by any chance change the code? Looks like the scriptableobject of yours doesn't macth the editor target.

    In case you only removed SceneNav and not the SceneNav Data try this:

    * delete Assets/Rowlan/Tools/SceneNav, ie the root of it
    * install SceneNav

    That error doesn't make any sense otherwise because it's all the same SceneNavData class and should be cast-able.

    If that doesn't work, then file a Unity bug report, then it's a Unity Linux thing. It works perfectly fine on Win and Mac.
     
    jpileborg likes this.
  15. AlbertoZuya

    AlbertoZuya

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    Hi!, i´m a very newbie in Unity and your tools are a good helpers in my hard road to develop, so thankyou in advance!
    i´m tryin to make works scene nav, but i receive an error message in console when trying to install and I don´t know how to solve it.
    Can you help me please? upload_2023-12-1_7-28-17.png
    upload_2023-12-1_7-28-17.png
     
  16. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,294
    That's odd. Can you try clicking on the Rowlan folder, open contect menu (right mouse button) and click Reimport?
    Alternatively open the settings menu: Tools > Rowlan > SceneNav > Settings
     
  17. AlbertoZuya

    AlbertoZuya

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2023
    Posts:
    2
    it works!
    thank you very much Rowlan!
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  18. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,294
    It's the Holiday Season. Enjoy some SceneNav vouchers! :)

    ASV-YVER-KCAF-JRFN-RL6M-KFF3
    ASV-6VLM-R4NR-GWNK-APFL-6XQX
    ASV-9TH6-DUHM-VVC4-6EQ3-MJNA
     
  19. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,294