Search Unity

[RELEASED] RPG Map Editor

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by CreativeSpore, Nov 6, 2014.

  1. CreativeSpore

    CreativeSpore

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,173
    Sorry for my late answer, I missed your question.
    I have no plans to update to the new GUI at the moment.
     
  2. CreativeSpore

    CreativeSpore

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,173
    Yes, here you can see an example made by @JoeStrout :
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/released-rpg-map-editor.278604/page-9#post-2573211

    About your custom player animation, it depends on what kind of player animation you are using.
     
  3. Pingquin

    Pingquin

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2013
    Posts:
    6
    Hello, is this framework pathfinding support different agent size?
     
  4. CreativeSpore

    CreativeSpore

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,173
    It is working based on tile grid, so it finds a path checking if the tile is passable or not.
     
  5. lizkin

    lizkin

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Posts:
    16
    Hello, I see that you have also a asset called "Super Tilemap Editor". Does RPG Map editor contain it, or has the same functionality ? (I know this asset is focused on RPG , but I wonder if Map Editor is the same or better or worse ?)
     
  6. lizkin

    lizkin

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Posts:
    16
    No answer ?
     
  7. Calm

    Calm

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    How would I be able to use a raycast to get the index of the tile?
    I'm using ScreenpointToRay to get the world space position.

    Is there somehwere that I can access the index for each tile type? Like all grass is index g and so on. I'd like to build a db of the tile index from the tileset so that i can access which tile is at x,y coordinates.

    thanks!
     
  8. CreativeSpore

    CreativeSpore

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,173
    Sorry for my late answer. Unity forum sometimes skip sending notifications.
    This question has been answered in the forum in case you want to see more detailed answers.
    Super Tilemap Editor is more updated and flexible than RPG Map Editor, but RPG Map Editor is more easy to use if you use tilesets with the RPG Maker layout. Also includes a framework to help you to create an old school RPG.
     
  9. CreativeSpore

    CreativeSpore

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,173
    Use RPGMapHelper.Raycast for raycasting.
    But for you are looking for, check the class AutoTileMapSerializeData that is doing something similar to what you are trying to achieve.
     
  10. JGameMaker92

    JGameMaker92

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    @CreativeSpore
    I'm on Unity 2019.3.2f1 (64-bit) now and just imported RPGMapEditor into a new project. The tileset in the inspector is showing up blank when I try to paint. Reimported the asset a couple time but it's still blank. The one in play mode still works ok. Hopefully it's an easy glitch to fix :)

    RPGMapEditorGlitch.gif
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2020
  11. CreativeSpore

    CreativeSpore

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,173
    I couldn't replicate this in Unity 2019.3.0f3. It could be a bug with that specific version or an issue with the Unity layout.
    Try to restore the layout to see if that fixes the issue:
    upload_2020-2-25_10-56-10.png
     
  12. JGameMaker92

    JGameMaker92

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    I tried restoring the layout and that didn't fix it unfortunately.
     
  13. CreativeSpore

    CreativeSpore

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,173
    I have tried again with Unity 2019.3.3f1 and it's working fine. Could you check if this version of Unity works properly?
    Also, could you try creating an empty project?
     
  14. CHOPJZL

    CHOPJZL

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Posts:
    54
    Hello!
    I am wondering how to create an AutoTileSet. It's not about how to add the png file to the tileset. But how does the editor knows which tile uses which part of the png file?
     
  15. CreativeSpore

    CreativeSpore

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,173
    That is automatically done by the Tilemap behaviour.
    Here you can see some video tutorials:

     
  16. CHOPJZL

    CHOPJZL

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2016
    Posts:
    54
    I watched the tutorials before. Like I said it just shows adding the png files to the tileset.
    But what is the rule to prepare the png file? Do I need to arrange the tiles like in the example?
    tileset1.jpg
    How about animated tiles, Do they must be 3 frames and must be in 1-3 5-7 columns?
    macks_A1.png
     
  17. CreativeSpore

    CreativeSpore

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,173
    You need to follow the same layaout as in the example tileset that you can also see in the manual:
    upload_2020-8-29_19-46-33.png

    For example for the animated tileset, it should be the same size in tiles and you should place the same number of frames.
     
  18. vent0s

    vent0s

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    @CreativeSpore Hi, I have the same issue with @JGameMaker92
    The tile goes blank as I tried to implement this plugin in unity2020.3.2f. I tried to import that into 2019.4.15f, but the result shows the same. Seems like version that above 2019 will have this issue. Here is the video showing how it looked like when I tried to implement that into a fresh created unity2020 project.
     
  19. CreativeSpore

    CreativeSpore

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    1,173
    This is black magic. I imported it to Unity 2021.1.2f1 and it works properly.
    I recommend you to reset your layout to default. I've seen some bugs related with that, like for example having two inspector windows, etc. That could fix the issue.
    upload_2021-4-10_10-28-20.png
     
    vent0s likes this.
  20. vent0s

    vent0s

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    tested that on 2021.1.3f1 and 2021.1.2f1, changed layout into default, the problem still exists. I think it might be caused by some factors from some of the settings or environment in the computer. (but this is so weird, what might cause that?)
     
  21. vent0s

    vent0s

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2020
    Posts:
    3
    got a new issue, the waterfall animation seems not working properly, but the one in the sample scene did not show the same.

    Im currently using a "MV" sized map, don't know if that is the reason or something that I didn't aware of went wrong. Thanks in advance for any valid suggestion!
    upload_2021-4-22_12-58-40.png
    upload_2021-4-22_12-59-23.png
     
  22. snake2571

    snake2571

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Hello. Did you manage to solve this problem? Faced the same.
     
  23. snake2571

    snake2571

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    The problem hasn't gone away. Please, help
     
unityunity