Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

[RELEASED] Retro Look Pro - post-processing effects pack.

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by limitless_development, Nov 14, 2018.

  1. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108

    Hi,

    1. This problem wil be fixed in next update (Update will come in mid January)
    2. Pink screen means that there were some errors during building shaders. Please mail me limitlessunitydevelopment@gmail.com and also please provide with some screenshots of shader errors.
     
  2. netpost

    netpost

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Posts:
    388
    @limitless_development

    This is a great asset!

    Can you tell me if it is possible to record automation to change presets? I am trying to go from a glitches black and white
    preset to a non glitches black and white preset. The idea is to have just the glitches happening at the beginning and the end of my black and white scene effect.

    I tried using two retro look pro components and activate one while desactivating the other but it does not work.

    Also I already asked that question but is there a way to have the post fx applied only to a single object using layers and
    camera projection ? I would gladly pay for an asset that allows applying effets only on single object or skinned meshes.
    There are some shaders on the store but nothing really usefull for scary fx such as glitches and distortion.

    Thanks for you help!
     
  3. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,

    You can manipulate effects through scripts. Send me email and I will help you with that.

    I am currently working on update.
    In that update effects will work for UI and on any layers you want. This feature will work only in URP and Standard renderer.

    Update will be available on next week.
     
  4. gamedevluuk

    gamedevluuk

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2014
    Posts:
    12
    Hi there and thanks so much for your asset. It has been working wonderful for us in URP.

    I am trying to recreate your monitor from the examples you have showed. I assumed you did this by having a seperate camera with post FX that renders to a render texture? Everything works fine for me except as soon as I turn on any of your post fx in the volume the render texture goes black. If I try with a built-in post FX it does work on the render texture.

    My question:
    Did you use a render texture to show your effects on a monitor screen that sits in the scene?
    If yes > Why does my render texture turn black whenever I enable any of your effects while the Unity built-in effects work fine?

    Your post FX work fine in the scene if I don't render it to a RenderTexture.
     
  5. everedx

    everedx

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Hi!! Looks awesome!!

    I need to know something before buying it though.

    Does it work with the 2DRenderer? As far as I know, the 2D renderer does not accept custom passes, so I don't know if this is supported.

    I cant really afford to lose the 2D lights.

    Regards,
     
  6. Squigglestixx

    Squigglestixx

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2021
    Posts:
    1
    I've been tinkering with this quite a bit and got everything looking great. However, some of the filters are totally ignored once i build the game. In particular, the vignette and noise don't do anything. They work fine in scene view and while testing the game, but not after building, any ideas? I'm on 2020.2.5, using the built-in pipeline. thanks!
     
  7. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108

    Hi,

    Effects works in URP as custom passes so they are not supported by 2DRenderer.

    But you can try to use effects as version for PPv2.
     
  8. RafaelGuimaraesBarbosa

    RafaelGuimaraesBarbosa

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2019
    Posts:
    15
    Hi this work with Build In?
     
  9. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi

    yes, it works with build in graphics via post-processing stack v2.
     
  10. Aoedipus

    Aoedipus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Posts:
    23
    Hello, I just purchased and have re-imported the package several times now. I'm getting nothing but either completely black screens or inverted ones, with both the example scene as well as any Volumes I create and then add overrides to. I'm running Unity 2020.1.12f URP without using postProcessing v2. Any suggestions would be much appreciated...
     
  11. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,

    If you using URP, you should import "Universal Render Retro Look Pro.unitypackage". It works as custom render features and without any postProcessing v2.(Note that if you imported any other Retro Look pro versions, please remove them )

    If you already imported package, then follow these steps:
    1. Open your renderer and click "add Render Feature".
    2. Add all Retro Look Pro effects you need.
    3. In your scene add Volume component to any gameobject you want. In volume component create new volume profile or use existing one. Click "override" and select needed effect.
    4. If you still see black screen, enable MSAA on render pipeline asset.

    Please let me know if it helps.
     
  12. Aoedipus

    Aoedipus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Posts:
    23

    Thanks so much for the quick response - it was indeed the multi-sample anti-aliasing flag (point #4) that did the trick. Funny thing was, I thought to try that at one point but thought, nah, why would an anti-alias setting be the issue? Might be a useful thing to add to the docs at some point :). All the very best.
     
  13. Aoedipus

    Aoedipus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2019
    Posts:
    23
    Is there a way to get the Retro Pro effects working without having to use MSAA? I ask because I'm running into a long standing (5 yrs) issue with MSAA over-interpolation causing white pixels to appear on object edges (see this and this), particularly when using fog shaders. Apparently Unity has decided not to address the issue, since a fix would require additional render passes, and negatively impact URP performance. The built-in post-processing overrides seem to run fine outside of MSAA, so I'm hoping yours might be able to as well?
     
  14. kojoopuniLA

    kojoopuniLA

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, I'm currently using Retro Look Pro + Limitless Glitch Effects on Unity 2019.4.22 LTS on URP. I'm building for iOS. Certain effects look fine in the Unity Editor but have major black artifacts on an iOS device. Certain effects such as the VHS and Bleed effects display the same black artifacts in both the editor and on the device. Is there something that I'm missing? I would really like to use these effects, but they are not usable for me at this point. I'll attach a screenshot of the VHS effect. Thanks in advance.

    Screen Shot 2021-05-21 at 5.12.23 AM.png
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2021
  15. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,

    Sorry for so long reply, forum notifications do not always come.

    In upcoming update you will able to use Retro Look Pro without MSAA.

    Update is already finished and will be avilable on Asset Store very soon.


    replied to email.
     
  16. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Retro Look Pro v2.7 update is released !


    Changelog :

    • Mask effects with texture or render texture feature
    • Apply effects to any layer separately (URP & Built-in)
    • Fixed Black screen in scene view
    • Fixed Black screen without MSAA
    • Bottom streth now works for all edges (effect renamed to Edge stretch)
    • Bottom noise now works for all edges (effect renamed to Edge noise)
    • Optimization improvements
    • Legacy effects have been removed completely
    • New Example Scenes added
     
  17. WuceBayne

    WuceBayne

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    Hi,

    Unity 2020.3.5 / Built-in

    I tried to install the last version (2.7), but I get the following error messages after importing files from LWRP&Built-in Render Retro Look Pro.

    [Script Updater] Unable to check errors listed in `Temp/ApiUpdater_CheckMovedFromd05163c6a72174747a79e83308a05ef6`. File contents:
    2022933242144
    -1485410143
    C:/[...]/LWRP&Standard) RLPro Post-processing stack v2 effects/Scripts/Effects/RLProBleed.cs
    9
    60
    BleedMode
    0
    0


    And

    Assets\LimitlessUnityDevelopment\(LWRP&Standard) RLPro Post-processing stack v2 effects\Scripts\Effects\RLProBleed.cs(9,60): error CS0246: The type or namespace name 'BleedMode' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)

    Looks like the RLProBleed.cs file is corrupted.

    I thought this issue might related to the Package Manager in Unity 2020, so I tried again in a brand new project in Unity 2019.4.27. I deleted the asset in the AppData/Roaming/Unity/Asset Store-5.x folder, downloaded Retro Look Pro again, but unfortunately, I ended up with the same error message there.
     
  18. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,

    Thank you for bringing the issue to our attention.

    Seems like RLPro_Enums.cs file was not updated properly in built-in version.

    Fixed version will be avaliable on Asset Store pretty soon. Untill that please replace RLPro_Enums.cs (Assets\LimitlessUnityDevelopment\Resources) with attached one and problem will be solved.


    [UPDATE]
    Fixed version is already on the Store.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Jun 13, 2021
    WuceBayne likes this.
  19. dreamade

    dreamade

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Hey hi, I'm using effects with standard render pipeline for UI. I want to make effects apply only to a button, not to whole screen. How can I do that?
     
  20. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,

    You can render needed button with separate camera and apply effects to it as it shown in example scene for UI.
     
  21. BrianGavage

    BrianGavage

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Hi there,

    I'm using the Low Res effect with standard RP. All resolution scales are slightly blurry, and this is without the use of any other effects. The moment I turn it on even at scale 1 it blurs all edges. I have no AA applied to anything.

    Is this supposed to happen? How do I get a clear pixel resolution like with point filtering?
     
  22. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108

    Hi,

    Thank you for asking.

    Low Res effect originally designed to be blurry like in old TV's.

    If you want simple low resolution effect you can find it online for free.
     
  23. BrianGavage

    BrianGavage

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2021
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks mate, good to know it wasn't unintended. Cheers!
     
  24. Innovine

    Innovine

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Posts:
    505
    Does this work for Forward Rendering in URP? I want to use forward rendering to a render texture, and then apply these effects on that render texture. Does that work?
     
  25. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,
    Yes Retro Look Pro support Forward rendering in URP.
    Ofcourse you can render anything you want to a Render Texture and apply Retro Look Pro effcets to it.
     
    Innovine likes this.
  26. AndrewSpalato

    AndrewSpalato

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    Hi, I have Retro Look Pro using URP and integrated post-processing (NOT PPv2). I am using Unity 2020.3.18f1.

    I am able to add effects to the forward renderer and post process volume which works well but I also have a UI cam that is an overlay camera to my base camera.

    Integrated effects like bloom are rendered on the UI camera, but the VHS effects do not. Is there a way around this camera stacking?

    Thanks in advance.
     
    onercorr likes this.
  27. DarkStoneDigital

    DarkStoneDigital

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    Hey! So I'm using RLP in HDRP and it has been awesome but I've run into an issue that seems to be related to resolution changes. I'm still trying to hunt it down but I wanted to post it here to see if this is a familiar issue to you. I'm using the old film effect in my main menu, and then i'm using the jitter effect in a scene in my game. When the jitter kicks on, it displays an image of the old menu.

    If you've seen this before, let me know. I greatly appreciate it.

    upload_2021-11-3_10-0-45.png
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2021
  28. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Retro Look Pro updates arrived !

    v2.8.1
    HDRP fixed resolution change issue

    v2.8.0
    • Fixed Example Scene for URP
    • Added VHS Tape Rewind scene (URP, Built-In)
    • Added VHS Tape Rewind effect (URP, Built-In)
    • Updated documentation
    • Optimization improvements

    58.png
     
  29. ag_radley

    ag_radley

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hi, I'm enjoying using Retro Look Pro, but I'm having a strange issue. It seems that only RL Pro Jitter is not working on when I build the game, however it works fine in the editor. Other effects like Glitch 1 and Glitch 3 work fine in build, it's only Jitter and I believe possibly Signal Noise that do not work in the build. Any idea what might be the problem?

    I've tried various things like reimporting packages, moving shaders to Resources folder, and so on.

    I'm using Unity 2021.2.0f1, built-in render pipeline, and building for Windows. Attached is a screenshot of my camera object.
     

    Attached Files:

  30. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,

    Do you have any errors on build ?

    Please mail me (Limitlessunitydevelopment@gmail.com) to investigate that issue.
     
  31. Lechuza

    Lechuza

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2014
    Posts:
    22
    Considering about buying this. Would it be possible to apply the effects to the UI elements/canvas only on SRP? How would I go about setting that up? Would I need a separate UI camera for it? Thank you in advance!
     
  32. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,

    Yes you can apply effects to separate layer. You will need a separate UI camera for it.
     
    Lechuza likes this.
  33. PhatNeezy

    PhatNeezy

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Hi,

    i bought your asset today but the scanlines effect dont look like in the showcase. I tried a lot of different settings but i dont get it. I wannt horizontal scanlines.

    I hope you can help me.

    Greets


    Showcase:
    upload_2022-1-11_19-15-25.png

    My Result:
    upload_2022-1-11_19-15-54.png
     
  34. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,

    Simply adjust "distortion" parameter to "0" and play with "Scan lines" parameter to avhive needed width.
     
    PhatNeezy likes this.
  35. qcrocknet

    qcrocknet

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2020
    Posts:
    16
    Hello,

    First I would like to say that this a great asset. Just love it and works out of the box (Untiy 2021.1 for me). Now I was wondering if there some playmaker custom actions for this or at least a C# example of one, I would probably do some of them afterwards. I just need to turn on or off the specific effect at some point in my game using Playmaker. Thanks :)
     
  36. Brenton

    Brenton

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Posts:
    14
    Apparently the effect I actually bought this package for is not working (HDRP) Artefacts_RLPRO:

    AssertionException: Assertion failure. Value was False
    Expected: True

    UnityEngine.Assertions.Assert.Fail (System.String message, System.String userMessage) (at <15e405c9beda435fb78db5a973118bc4>:0)
    UnityEngine.Assertions.Assert.IsTrue (System.Boolean condition, System.String message) (at <15e405c9beda435fb78db5a973118bc4>:0)
    UnityEngine.Assertions.Assert.IsTrue (System.Boolean condition) (at <15e405c9beda435fb78db5a973118bc4>:0)
    UnityEngine.Rendering.BufferedRTHandleSystem.GetFrameRT (System.Int32 bufferId, System.Int32 frameIndex) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.render-pipelines.core@12.1.3/Runtime/Textures/BufferedRTHandleSystem.cs:79)
    UnityEngine.Rendering.HighDefinition.HDCamera.GetPreviousFrameRT (System.Int32 id) (at Library/PackageCache/com.unity.render-pipelines.high-definition@12.1.3/Runtime/RenderPipeline/Camera/HDCamera.cs:184)
    Artefacts_RLPRO.GrabCoCHistory (UnityEngine.Rendering.HighDefinition.HDCamera camera, UnityEngine.Rendering.RTHandle source, UnityEngine.Rendering.RTHandle& previous, UnityEngine.Rendering.RTHandle& next) (at Assets/LimitlessUnityDevelopment/Retro Look Pro HDRP/Scripts/Effects/Artefacts_RLPRO.cs:98)


    Suggestions?
     
  37. qcrocknet

    qcrocknet

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2020
    Posts:
    16
    Ok so after fiddling with my project, I managed to find a workaround to enable/disable one of the RLPRO effects with Playmaker. I create a second PostProcessing volume object in my project for the same camera and same layer, and I am able to Activate/Deactivate that second PP volume object with Playmaker. I do not have a solution to control the settings as of now for a RLpro effects thru Playmaker. But for my purpose, my simple workaround is fine. Thanks.
     
  38. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,

    I will definitely add instructions and examples of how to manipulate Retro Look Pro values via PlayMaker in future updates.
     
    fordtimelord and qcrocknet like this.
  39. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,

    Apparently Unity updated High Definition package and some dependencies were lost.

    I made a fixed version. It wil be in upcoming update.
     
    Brenton likes this.
  40. jushiip

    jushiip

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Hi,

    The effects doesn't seem to work with the latest URP versions. Does your roadmap have any plans for adding in support for URP 12 / Unity 2021?
     
    Irrgeist likes this.
  41. Irrgeist

    Irrgeist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    Can confirm, seems to not work with Unity 2021 - URP 12. Is there any update planned?
     
    jushiip likes this.
  42. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,

    Just checked in Unity 2021.2.2f1 with URP 12.1.1 and forward renderer package works normal.


    Can you please provide me more info so I can dig into the issue.

    1. Your Unity version
    2. URP version
    3. Renderer you are using (Forward or 2D)
     
    Irrgeist likes this.
  43. Irrgeist

    Irrgeist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    I managed to get it working. Make sure you use the RLPro_ForwardRenderer Data asset in your Renderer Pipeline asset or set Intermediate Texture to "Always" in the Renderer Data.
     
    geoffa likes this.
  44. jushiip

    jushiip

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    5
    Hey, I'm sorry for the false alarm. I got the effects to work in Unity 2021.2.11f1 with Universal RP 12.1.4 (using forward renderer).
     
  45. Mr_Sheldon

    Mr_Sheldon

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Hi,

    I've installed the RL asset and upon importing the Retro Look Pro URP package I received a bunch of "Shader not found" errors. The overrides appear in the volume component just fine and I can mess with the sliders but it shows zero effect on the game view. Any help greatly appreciated. Thanks for your time!

    Unity 2020.3.14f1
    URP 10.5.1
    Default Renderer (ForwardRenderer)

    Editor Log:
     
  46. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,

    Please make sure that you added Retro Look Pro Render features to your renderer.

    Or you can use RLPro_ForwardRenderer instead of yours.

    If this info didn’t helped you, please mail me limitlessunitydevelopment@gmail.com and I will help you to solve that issue.
     
  47. Mr_Sheldon

    Mr_Sheldon

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2021
    Posts:
    4
    Yes that got it! I totally overlooked that in the setup, pardon that. Thanks for the help and speedy response!
     
  48. flutes

    flutes

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    Hello, I have the URP version of your package and would like to apply the effect only to certain layers, how can I do this?
    Thank you :)
     
  49. limitless_development

    limitless_development

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2018
    Posts:
    108
    Hi,
    Simply open "Retro Look Pro Example Scene UI" .

    In this example scene you will see how to use Retro Look Pro for UI elements or any other separate layers.

    How it works:

    0. Make sure that you added "Custom Texture_RLPRO" Render feature to your Renderer.
    1. Create Canvas with needed UI elements on layer UI.
    2. Create Render Texture.
    3. Create separate camera on layer UI to render image to Render Texture.
    4. Create post process volume to apply needed effects to UI elements.
    5. Create main post process volume.
    6. In Volume click "Add Override" RetroLookPro/CustomTexture.
    7. Insert previously created Render Texture in "Texture" field.
    8. All done! Now you can see your UI elements with effects rendered separately from other elements in scene.

    NOTICE: Look at Retro Look Pro render features order in your Renderer. If you want separate layer to be rendered on top of other layers, make sure that "Custom Texture_RLPRO" Render feature is in the bottom of the list.
     
  50. flutes

    flutes

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2017
    Posts:
    7

    Hello, thank you for your answer, I know this solution, which I don't particularly want to show the effect on a user interface.