Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

[Released] R.A.M River Auto Material.

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by NatureManufacture, Oct 13, 2017.

  1. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    We did tons of changes 2 weeks and it will be online;)
    Sure just move the points. Umm render type is only corelated with material settings to be honest its just a power or colors and noise texture nothing more.
     
  2. blitzvb

    blitzvb

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Posts:
    284
    Does the new version include the runtime placement of river?
     
  3. sstrong

    sstrong

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    1,437
    We really like RAM and we're adding direct support in Landscape Builder 2.0. However, we have a couple of small issues.

    1. Upgrading RAM to 1.2 breaks all the materials (the shader variables must have changed - we assume)
    2. In the shader, there is no "easy" way to change the direction of flow. The user would need to set all the speed vector3 properties to -ve. We'd suggest a simple int (show as bool) next to UV direction value. We "could" add an option in LB but that may break every time you change your shader properties.

    Stephen
    Landscape Builder Team
     
    eaque and NatureManufacture like this.
  4. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,353
    Suggestion: Would it be possible to add some kind of height heat map on the river for debugging? I think it could be a nice and helpful addition. I created a terrain and added a river only to notice that I did my terrain a bit wrong. Parts of the river run upwards and after that downwards. So I have to adjust the terrain now and that kind of heat map would be really helpful. River must always go downstream. It's hardly noticable in the attached image because I already adjusted it a bit, but the blurry part in the background is lower height-wise than the river in front, my mistake of course, but I still have to fine-tune it. Basically it'd be just a helpful visualization of the water level. Just a suggestion :)

    ram.jpg
     
    blitzvb and BackwoodsGaming like this.
  5. kerrmedia

    kerrmedia

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2015
    Posts:
    250
    I'm clicking on it, but can't see to make the points appear? If its in the manual I'll get serious and do some reading, just thought this would be a quick question. Really like this asset, very cool.
     
  6. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,353
    They only appear when you hit the move/resize button.
     
    kerrmedia likes this.
  7. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,353
    Outside objects are affecting the river shader. Is there a way to avoid this? Check out the river water around the dragon's neck, it's blue and distorted:


    ram2.jpg
     
  8. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,821
    AQUAS does the same sort of thing. I just got R.A.M. too so I hope this is fixable.
     
  9. SilverStorm

    SilverStorm

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Posts:
    573
    Little bit off topic but what system are you using for your grass and trees. Can you detail your fps and card? Your scene looks very nice, Spyro the dragon style.
     
  10. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,353
    Thanks. Actually it's not offtopic at all. I was inspired by @NatureManufacture's video here:



    In the video he's using R.A.M., his Advanced Foliage Pack (still on sale for a few hours!) and Vegetation Studio. The poppies and reed I use are from another asset developer (I don't know if it's allowed to post the competition's name, so I leave that out). But Advanced Foliage Pack can be used as well, basically I bought it blinfold because it has vegetation studio support in the description, still have to try it myself. I bought too many assets during the sale, so little time :D Oh, and I'm using Lighting Box 2 for postprocessing. fps are around 100, but my system is high end cpu and gfx card wise (1080TI).
     
  11. SilverStorm

    SilverStorm

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Posts:
    573
    100fps on a $1000 card for such a simple scene is not good. What exactly is eating up all your fps?
    Otherwise it really does look amazing!
     
  12. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    Im not sure. This is how distortion works at transparent shaders.
     
  13. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,353
    I only drag in all of the assets I bought during the sale to see what works and what not (eg Enviro 2 is also running in the background, trees waving etc), don't currently consider anything else as long as I get smooth fps during the tests.

    In the above example I tried out R.A.M. in addition to all else. And it works and looks great. A very good addition to environment.
     
  14. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,353
    I noticed that the custom "Ram Spline (Script)" editor in the inspector gets collapsed to non-usability once the inspector panels below it fill up the screen. Reproduction: just open the shader editor.

    ram-inspector.png

    Also, please would it be possible to not have such a big logo there? It wastes a lot of space for no reason to the user :)

    ram-inspector-2.png
     
    TalkieTalkie and BackwoodsGaming like this.
  15. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,353
    I just noticed that when my dragon breathes fire (particle system), the ram spline is overlapping the fire. Any idea how to address this? Looks like this:

    ram-overlap.png

    Edit: here's the same with a simple particle system:

    ram-overlap-2.png
     
    blitzvb likes this.
  16. blitzvb

    blitzvb

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Posts:
    284
    yeah same here.
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  17. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,353
    I just tried with the plain R.A.M. scene that comes with the asset. Seems to be a general issue. I figured if you change the Render Queue of the shader you can get it to work. But no idea what other things that might cause. So I rather wait for a proper solution.
     
  18. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    Yes it will be fixed in next version. I also use ram so yeah this make me angry too;D
    Change render queue in river or fire. Probably in fire it should be adjusted a litle. Its always a matter of this. Everyone use different queue to avoid, fix something. In our shader its public you could do this there but... I would rather advice to move a bit particles.
     
  19. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,353
    The river is the exception, everything else doesn't overlap. Is it safe to change the render queue for the river? I'm fine with that as well.
     
  20. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    It must be transparent or transparent+
     
  21. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,353
    That will work, thanks!

    Another question: Do you have any hint how one could make something flow / swim on the river?
     
  22. creat327

    creat327

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,221
    hey, it seems i missed the sale :(
    anyway, i saw someone asking about mobile performance but there was no follow up on the result. Any chances we can get an android apk to download for testing on the device before purchasing? I wonder how nice it looks on mobile and how fast it is.
     
  23. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    Hi! New version is almost ready, it will be published after holidays.
    Upcomming v1.3changes:
    - particle effects you could check them here (done/work in progress)

    - paralel/multiple rivers connection like in movie (done)
    - more cool noise control over the river (done)
    - better spline mesh, much more optimised (done)
    - enviro compatibility pdf (done and works even now)

    - mesh shape manager (done)
    - slider fix in ui (done)
    - new, clear UI (done)
    - better tesselation effect (done)

    - new additional realistic texture pack (work in progress)
     
  24. SilverStorm

    SilverStorm

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Posts:
    573
    Ohh sounds very exciting I can't wait! Did you have any luck getting stylized textures?
     
  25. blitzvb

    blitzvb

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Posts:
    284
    New particules effect are pretty neat!

    Any progress on the procedural spline?
     
  26. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    Not yet but... it will have to be done because of secret reson.

    In update after this i promis it.
     
    kerrmedia and blitzvb like this.
  27. blitzvb

    blitzvb

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Posts:
    284
    Oh oh! ;) my wish would be a badass ocean plane. Am I close?
     
  28. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    Ask santa:D
     
    Mark_01 and blitzvb like this.
  29. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    eaque, kerrmedia, Teila and 5 others like this.
  30. creat327

    creat327

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,221
    looks good, why is it double sided though? isn't it a waste of rendering?
     
  31. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    Because waterfall often is visible from both side. Some users will add underwater effect and swim around etc.
     
  32. SilverStorm

    SilverStorm

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2011
    Posts:
    573
    Ah finally I understand. Your waterfall texture is too blue to exist in real life. It's the color of a deep blue ocean which is not natural so it looks wrong compared to the terrain.

    Most waterfalls and rivers are transparent color that copies the background terrain.
    It's actually mostly white texture for the foam and shore effects.


    This is why the forest is green and so is the water. The white foam is the only thing that has a white texture and is always white.

    The best way is to have a separate layer/texture slot for the water color and the white foam.
    This way we will be able to control it with a stylized texture or leave it transparent to blend with terrain background texture like it does in real life.

    The hard way to make the water blend is to do some advanced math the sample the background terrain texture but the easy and better way is to just let the user choose the color of the water edge, outer and middle colors and let them get a good estimate.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2017
  33. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    You have this on sliders. You could make it more transparent and move shalow and deep water into deeper values etc.
     
    Mark_01 likes this.
  34. EHG_Unity

    EHG_Unity

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    Create River Spline isn't showing up under create 3d object :( Any idea why?
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2017
  35. coverpage

    coverpage

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Posts:
    385
    @NatureManufacture Used your asset to create this river. I'm really a fan of RAM, it can even look better if I adjust the lighting.

     
    Mark_01, kerrmedia and SilverStorm like this.
  36. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    Everything is compiled correctly? All scripts? No errors at console?

    You didnt adjust the spline I see wrong direction in many places. You also could increate it's resolution.

    We added PBR and non pbr particles. This cost us a lot of time to support PBR particles and unity particle system options. We still have few issues with spline so we need to delay 1-2 days release for this version.

    https://gyazo.com/93c4c55f70f628fe8b864810da9166eb
    https://gyazo.com/369f603299f9bac5abf5411e8db1ffb5
     
    Mark_01, Rowlan and coverpage like this.
  37. coverpage

    coverpage

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Posts:
    385
    I agree this can be better.

    I can fix this particular segment but that's one trouble I have, its easy for uniform width rivers but it's harder when the river has changing width when it is asymmetrical , because the edge cannot flow away from the tapering bank.

    How do I increase resolution?
     
  38. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    You could scale each part. :) Check our tuts:)
     
    coverpage likes this.
  39. EHG_Unity

    EHG_Unity

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    Reporting this from Alexander as Im having the same issue:

    Hi! @NatureManufacture i can't add points by the spline tool, when i press the ctrl + left click another object has be selected on the scene .. what im doing wrong?
     
  40. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    You hold ctr ? Even at blank project ?
     
  41. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    Today we upload this:

    upload_2018-1-3_11-10-46.png

    6 synced rivers In, out etc.
     
  42. blitzvb

    blitzvb

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Posts:
    284
    Wow! Cannot wait.
     
  43. coverpage

    coverpage

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Posts:
    385
    Nice... needed this
     
  44. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    I know I also create demo with particles and many splines thats why it took so long. New doc left, everything else is done.
     
    Mark_01, coverpage and blitzvb like this.
  45. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    As we love to make suprices list of features is much longer! We add more things that we mention before:D

    v1.3 (online):

    HUGE changes. You have to refresh old splines, we refresh and rebuild it.
    - particle effects pbr and non pbr setup,
    - paralel/multiple rivers connection now you could connect few rivers (IN/OUT)
    - more cool noise control over the river
    - transparent control at waterfalls (useful at fountains and big waterfalls)
    - better spline mesh, much more optimised
    - mesh shape curves (spline could be road or anything else)
    - spline point rotation XYZ (By Z you could create cascade at flat area)
    - enviro compatibility (we will add compiled shaders in minor update)
    - mesh terrain snapping for streams or roads or...haha you will see soon!
    - slider fix in UI
    - new, clear UI with tips
    - better tesselation effect (more regular)
    - new additional realistic texture pack and material
    - new demo scene

    upload_2018-1-3_16-30-20.png
     
    kerrmedia, Mark_01, treshold and 7 others like this.
  46. EHG_Unity

    EHG_Unity

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    Yea just tried in a new project too. Is there something I need to have selected first in order to do this? I may just be doing something silly. Ctrl+left click does its standard function of selecting multiple object
     
  47. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    Hmmm do you have terrain or something in background? This is raycasting so it need to hit collider to setup point.

    Anyway catch me at skype dahrrrr tomorow.
     
  48. EHG_Unity

    EHG_Unity

    Joined:
    May 21, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    We tried in the example scene, the one that is in your video and it doesnt work there. Terrain is in the background though.
     
    jayalter likes this.
  49. blitzvb

    blitzvb

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Posts:
    284
    The new realistic texture and particles effects are really great! Also the grounder of spline work well.

    Two room of improvement in my view:

    - a button with add particule to a waterfall
    - a profile to change texture to the new one (yeah, I am lazy)

    My two cents.
     
    NatureManufacture likes this.
  50. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    1,771
    1- no i mean i dont know how to do this proceduraly as in most case user must adjust lenght of it
    2 - we must add this yes... but profile will contain more data:)
     
    Mark_01 and blitzvb like this.
unityunity