Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice

[Released] R.A.M River Auto Material.

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by NatureManufacture, Oct 13, 2017.

  1. Stranger-Games

    Stranger-Games

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Posts:
    393
    Thank you for the answer and I am sorry for the misplaced question.
     
    NatureManufacture likes this.
  2. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    Hi! As our asset Mountain Environment - Dynamic Nature is nominated to unity awards 2021 in best artistic content category we decide to release bigger video tutorial called "Let's Nature Manufacture" . Ofc we encourage to vote and check video tutorial!:). Tutorial include river auto material tips and workflow aswell. Unity Awards 2021 | Awards

     
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2022
    koirat and Rowlan like this.
  3. KunKunKom

    KunKunKom

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, great tool!

    Question: is R.A.M. compatible for VR? I am trying to use the mobile shader for a VR project but so far only managed to get the river material to render in one eye or none...

    Is this possible? Does the mobile shader need anything specific to work in VR (Multiview)?

    Kind regards
     
  4. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    Is it problem with single pass render?
     
  5. jason0663

    jason0663

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    Hi, I’ve got a problem with the terrain painting. I’m using a lot of textures on my terrain. It appears ram will only paint on first 4 textures or first splat. Is there a way to make it paint on all splats?
     
  6. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    You chose splats for painting they are not only first 4. Pleae share screem
     
  7. jason0663

    jason0663

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    I’m aware I’m able to chose whatever texture I want.to paint. What I’m saying is it’s only painting on the first alpha splat on the terrain which is holding 4 textures. I haven’t implemented any texture packing as yet and my terrain has 6 alpha splats and ram is only painting on the one splat it seems.
     
  8. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    Please share screens with problem. R.a.m should paint in any texture splat.
     
  9. jason0663

    jason0663

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    here are the screens.....first splat paints fine
    1.png 2.png This is taken a few textures/altitude up on terrain on a different texture.....
    3.png 4.png
    Pressing the paint terrain toggle does nothing, it wont paint paint on any texture past the first four I have loaded in unity. At the moment Im using 27 textures for terrain. Ive got the layer set to default for ram to paint. Im using unity 2019.4.9f1. Im using a script to paint the terrain with textures that is toggled off now that terrain is painted so its not on or active when I use ram even though its a runtime painting script. There is nothing painted under that blank material when I toggle off the ramspline to look. For this project Im actually using cascade for my rivers and LUX for my lakes but I just wanted to paint the river and lake beds with ram 2019. Anyhow as I said, it wont paint on any texture past the first 4 I have loaded in unity.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2022
  10. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    At first screen you paint via splat 12 at second aswell. We ill check that but r.a.m for unity 2019 maight have some bugs, I rather advice to use 2020.3 lts or migrate scripts from that version. Let us check the case.

    BTW anyway I would also suggest to avoid so many textures at terrain because unity add drawcalls per every 4 layers and terrain become super heavy.
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2022
  11. jason0663

    jason0663

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    Ya Im aware about textures and draw calls, Im still designing and nothing is set in stone yet. It will be chopped down considerably, Im just picking and choosing what looks good where and what fits at the moment. If its the version of unity I will change it because if you find the problem is the version, then that will be a couple assets Ive had a problem with working under this version. I used same texture (splat 12) in both instances to enforce what I was saying, that it doesnt matter what texture Im using thats loaded, it will still only paint on 1st alpha splat only. Its kinda weird because i had another problem with painting terrain with another asset using this version so if you find its the version then i will just change it, a hassle but will have to be done.
     
  12. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    In fact nobody support 2019 with latest updates when 2020.3 lts and soon there will be 2021.3 lts. We didn't notice such problem in any higher versions. You have multiple terrains or only one?
     
  13. jason0663

    jason0663

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    Just one at the moment, I havent chopped it up yet so its not that large, 16000 x 16000
     
  14. KunKunKom

    KunKunKom

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Hello, I have so far noticed that it is an issue that only occurs on Oculus 1, in Oculus 2 the river renders perfectly fine in both eyes.

    Using Multiview which is single pass indeed.

    Any issue what the incompatibility with Oculus 1 could be?
     
  15. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    Hi
    It's rather up to unity if it support all features for every device. No idea to be honest. I would also suggest to check few engine versions, they could fix that for example in 2020.3lts
     
  16. unity_F7C74FDC2239D4DA2C98

    unity_F7C74FDC2239D4DA2C98

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    Hi,

    Im using RAM 1.7 (im stuck using 2018.2.8F1). A river Spine will carve correctly but im getting the following error when trying to carve using a lake polygon - any help would be appreciated

    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    LakePolygonEditor.TerrainCarve () (at Assets/NatureManufacture Assets/Spline System/Scripts/LakePolygon/Editor/LakePolygonEditor.cs:511)
    LakePolygonEditor.OnInspectorGUI () (at Assets/NatureManufacture Assets/Spline System/Scripts/LakePolygon/Editor/LakePolygonEditor.cs:194)
    UnityEditor.InspectorWindow.DrawEditor (UnityEditor.Editor[] editors, System.Int32 editorIndex, System.Boolean rebuildOptimizedGUIBlock, System.Boolean& showImportedObjectBarNext, UnityEngine.Rect& importedObjectBarRect) (at C:/buildslave/unity/build/Editor/Mono/Inspector/InspectorWindow.cs:1367)
    UnityEngine.GUIUtility:processEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
     
  17. hollegar

    hollegar

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Posts:
    34
    Hi, can you show how your lake is situated on terrain? I can't reproduce the error.
     
  18. jason0663

    jason0663

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    Hello, I have installed the latest versions of unity 2019 and 2020 and am using ram 2019 vs 1.7.1. Ram will not paint or carve a single terrain over the size of 10000 meters square. I have tested on numerous terrains of various sizes and heights. Is there a script tweak.
     
  19. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    Did you chose proper layer with terrain in carving?
     
  20. m4robb

    m4robb

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Posts:
    38
    Hi I'm trying to do a windows standalone build in urp 2021.2.14, with the latest LVE system, 1.7.1 installed the URP packgae, and get a set of errors when building, like this:

    Shader error in 'NatureManufacture/URP/Lava River/Lava River Vertex Color Flowmap': maximum ps_4_0 sampler register index (16) exceeded at line 11511 (on d3d11)

    Ive had the package for a while, and its built with no problems prior to this, so any help would be much appeciated!
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2022
  21. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    You have baked gi and realtime gi at the same time? Does shader throw error in editor? You have other custom light systems that eat 1 texture sample from every shader?
     
  22. m4robb

    m4robb

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2017
    Posts:
    38
    no, just baked lighting, no error in the editor, am using Bakery for the lightmapping. The lava shaders used to compile perfectly into a build. I guess the only difference I can see is going from 2021.2.10 to 2021.2.14, perhaps a Unity issue?
     
  23. jason0663

    jason0663

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    Yes I used the default. Playing around with it in various terrain sizes, it will work on a terrain up to 4000 meters by 4000 meters, nothing larger. It will carve and paint only flat x axis up to 10000 meteres but wont carve or paint any y axis up to 10000 meters. Anything over 4000 meters its stops carving and painting y axis steepness. So I guess Ill have to work on a chopped up map with no chunks larger than 4000 x 4000 meters
     
  24. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    It looks like that
     
  25. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    How about terrain heightmap resolution with 10k terrain? I would say 10k terrain is crazy.
    You get very low terrain resolution as heightmap is max 4k. so you get 2 meters per vert - super low. That maifght be the problem with carving. How big river is? Maybe it's smaller then distance between 2 verts thats why it didnt carve.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2022
  26. Le_Clair

    Le_Clair

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Hi! I am pretty happy with how my river is looking. Unfortunately, the only problem I am having is that the river is really transparent. You can easily see what's below the surface, including the terrain. I have changed every value I can change both on the Ram Spline script and on the shader (Water River Offset Vertex Color Flow) and nothings changes the opacity. Am I missing something? Using Unity 2019.3.7f1 and its built-in render pipeline.

    P.S: Thank for your assets, I am using them for all my nature environments and they are great!
    upload_2022-3-16_13-34-31.png
     
  27. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    You have clean and shallow water sliders, also transparency sliders to control transparency. Did you play with them? At your screen not much is visible;)
     
  28. Stranger-Games

    Stranger-Games

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Posts:
    393
    I just purchased this asset and I am impressed with how easy it's to use and integrate.
    However I have a question and an issue to report.

    How can I set the depth of carving? I want to give the river enough depth so player can drown in it.

    The issue seems to be a unity issue not the asset issue but I will report it anyway, so if someone faced that, he knows how it can be resolved.
    I am using Unity 2021.2.15f1
    When I imported the urp package, most materials including the river materials were pink.
    I got a strange shader error in the log. I should have copied it, but I didn't.
    A mix of restarting unity and opening and closing of the RAM 2019 Demo Mobile scene resolved the issue.
     
  29. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    1. You can change carve setting at curve. I suggest to check second video at asset store --> tutorial.
    2. Did you import support pack urp 12.0 from our files? Sometimes after you import it it need "reimport click" to force engine to compile files.
    Not all scenes / materials are supported for example tesseled wont work at urp yet.
     
    Stranger-Games likes this.
  30. Stranger-Games

    Stranger-Games

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Posts:
    393
    1. I was using the curve settings in a wrong way. I tried again and carving is more like what I needed. Thank you.

    2. Yes, I imported URP 12.1 Unity 2021.2 River Auto Material 2019.unitypackage. I forgot to say that I did reimport, opened the demo scene and restarted unity, and the issue is resolved. I am not sure which step resolved it, but it's resolved now, thank you.
     
  31. ActiveMe

    ActiveMe

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Posts:
    6
    Hi,
    How to remove the carving preview on the terrain like you in the video ?

    Thanks in advance ;)
     
  32. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    You mean debug mode for carve? There is button in terrain section. Hide/Show terrain shape.
     
  33. jason0663

    jason0663

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    Hello, hope things are going well. I have a question for you, when making a lake, Im noticing that that evrything inside the spline is being textured when I paint, including that which is above the waterline. Is it supposed to work like that? What I mean is small islands or mounds within the lake are getting painted that is above the waterline or rather anything within the lake is being painted both above and below the waterline. Is there something Im doing wrong?
     
  34. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    Screens please:)
     
  35. jason0663

    jason0663

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2020
    Posts:
    36
    Hello, this is the setup
    unity 1.jpg
    This is the before unity 2.jpg
    and this is the after I hit paint unity 3.jpg Its set to default in the layers in Basic setup.
     
  36. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    Ah because in fact it's inside lake. You have island in the middle because you rise up terrain carve on right side of the curve;p To be honest we didnt ummm predicted that:p . We check lake broders not its depth. Anyway very good idea!:)
     
  37. Darkwolf69001

    Darkwolf69001

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2022
    Posts:
    5
    Hi!!I have Unity 2021.1.9f1 and HDRP 11.0.0, so i imported the package HDRP of R.A.M. i added the SSS setings in the diffusion profil list and i use a offset material but my river is pink. Can you help me please?
     
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2022
    McKane likes this.
  38. Darkwolf69001

    Darkwolf69001

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2022
    Posts:
    5
  39. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,381
  40. Darkwolf69001

    Darkwolf69001

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2022
    Posts:
    5
    I installed the hdrp package. For the light i know and i need to work with that ( I search to have god's ray) but it's not really my problem with materials of R.A.M. lol Capture d’écran (389).png lol
     
  41. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    4,381
    It's not "lol", it's "log". How about pasting the one from the console?
     
  42. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    Unity 2021.1 use 11 HD RP support pack not 12.x At your screen you have 12.x and unity 2021.1 thats why it doesnt work. Seams you download pack via unity 2021.2 and place it at project with unity 2021.1

    make note that hd rp 11.x is totaly different then 12.x and files from 12.x will not work at 11.x and files from 11.x will not work at 12.x. Please dowload asset with files for your engine version.
     
    Darkwolf69001 likes this.
  43. Darkwolf69001

    Darkwolf69001

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2022
    Posts:
    5
    Ok thanks, i will try.
     
  44. Darkwolf69001

    Darkwolf69001

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2022
    Posts:
    5
    It's done but the river is green...

    Update : It's done for the color, i just need to fix a thing in the material.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 6, 2022
  45. NatureManufacture

    NatureManufacture

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    2,029
    Please follow readme to the end. We mention there you need to add subsurface profiles to your project.
     
  46. ZhouCCCCCCCC

    ZhouCCCCCCCC

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2022
    Posts:
    6
    Why does my river model stay where it was originally created? Moving and creating points does not change the state of my river model? C@@W%KMD{[6@X8~@AKLK{WV.png M_426M]O)FSZ1}`3~A$4JQC.png
     
  47. ZhouCCCCCCCC

    ZhouCCCCCCCC

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2022
    Posts:
    6
  48. hollegar

    hollegar

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2011
    Posts:
    34
  49. ZhouCCCCCCCC

    ZhouCCCCCCCC

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2022
    Posts:
    6
    1.7.2 unity 2021.2.5 This happens when I apply any material to the river model
     
  50. ZhouCCCCCCCC

    ZhouCCCCCCCC

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2022
    Posts:
    6
    This also happened when I reinstalled 1.7.1 after that