Search Unity

  1. We've closed the job boards. If you're looking for work, or looking to hire check out Unity Connect. You can see more information here.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2017.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. The Unity Gear Store is here to help you look great at your next meetup, user group or conference. With all new Unity apparel, stickers and more!
    Dismiss Notice
  4. If you're a macOS 10.13 High Sierra user take be sure to read this before updating Unity.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Introducing the Unity Essentials Packs! Find out more.
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice
  7. Unity 2017.3 beta is now available for download.
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] psai® Interactive Music Engine

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Periscope Studio, Nov 13, 2014.

  1. ponx

    ponx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Hi gevarre, this might be related to Unity spawning a 2nd EventSystem automatically. Is the Scene in Psai/Demos/PsaiPlayer working correctly? If your problem persists, please contact us at devsupport@homeofpsai.com
    thanks and cheers, andy
     
  2. gevarre

    gevarre

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    Thanks for the tip. After looking at it more, I figured out that if I just drag the Psai prefab into a scene and hook it up, no EventSystem is created at all at runtime. If I copy the EventSystem from the demo into my scene, then it all works fine.
     
  3. gevarre

    gevarre

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    Okay, so I have a single theme with 1 group that contains several segments that are set up to randomly switch between themselves and never end. There is 0 prebeat or postbeat since these are seamless loops. At runtime a few of these segments play and then it suddenly stops and gives the following error message:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. PSAI [546][WARNING]: playback timing problem detected! Missing milliseconds: 352
    2. UnityEngine.Debug:LogWarning(Object)
    3. psai.net.LoggerOutputUnity:WriteLog(String, LogLevel) (at Assets/Psai/Psai/src/LoggerOutputUnity.cs:33)
    4. psai.net.Logger:WriteToLoggerOutputs(String, LogLevel) (at Assets/Psai/Psai/src/Logger.cs:199)
    5. psai.net.Logger:Log(String, LogLevel) (at Assets/Psai/Psai/src/Logger.cs:179)
    6. psai.net.<LoadSegmentAsync_Coroutine>c__Iterator1E:MoveNext() (at Assets/Psai/Psai/src/AudioPlaybackLayerChannelUnity.cs:87)
    7. UnityEngine.SetupCoroutine:InvokeMoveNext(IEnumerator, IntPtr)
    I've checked all the settings for all the segments and can't find anything wrong. What does this error message actually mean?

    Again, Unity 5.4.0b21
     
  4. ponx

    ponx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    hi gevarre!
    The message means that psai did not have enough time to load and play the next dynamic Segment at runtime, and in this case was 352 ms late, when it was finally ready to play. This is usually caused by the corresponding audio file not being loaded quickly enough on your current target platform, or respectively by the audio system taking too long for playing back the preloaded audio data. For both of these factors you can raise the values in the PsaiCoreManager component of your Psai.prefab. The default is 100ms and 50ms, try 250 and 150.
    352 sounds rather high though, and i think the reason for this might be bugs introduced by Unity in 5.3.5p6 (see my posting from 3 days ago). 5.4.0 b21 might also suffer from these changes. We are waiting for a response from Unity, so until then we recommend using psai with a more stable Unity version. 5.3.4 and 5.3.5f1 should run fine! cheers, andy
     
  5. gevarre

    gevarre

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Posts:
    121
    Thanks. I figured it was probably something to do with the Unity beta bugs. Just wanted to know what the actual message meant so I could start tracking it down. Unfortunately, 5.4 is necessary for the VR work I'm doing, so I too will just have to hope that they fix things on their end. That's the fun of working with beta software :)
     
  6. ponx

    ponx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    dear users, the latest Unity release 5.4.0f3 seems to have solved the issues related to streaming audio clips that had been indroduced in Unity 5.3.5p6. And, as you already might have been notified by the Asset Store mailer, psai 1.7.3 has been released today with loads of fixes and improvements:

    2016-08-01 1.7.3
    * added checkbox in PsaiCoreManager to keep the psai instance between Scenes
    * fixed timing problems in case of high latencies / loading times
    * fixed problem of occasionally skipped Segments when starting from rest / silence
    * fixed nulled out soundtrack file in PsaiSoundtrackLoader Inspector
    * fixed psai Editor LE: Selection of AudioClips was only working if the soundtrack was residing in Assets/Resources
    * fixed an issue that could result in wrong playback timing for large audio clips
    * fixed Couroutine handling
    * fixed wrong wake up from rest after StopMusic() had been called
    * changed: calling StopMusic when the music was already fading will override the original fade rather than ignoring the second fade
    * fixed PsaiCoreManager not setting its master volume on Start()

    Cheers, your psai development team
     
    mcmorry likes this.
  7. Graphicalgeek

    Graphicalgeek

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Posts:
    199
    Hello,

    I purchased Psai during its introductory discount promotion, and now I'm looking at integrating it into my current Unity project. I've searched through your various FAQ and other posts, and couldn't find any mention of .mod support within Unity for using Psai.

    Is this something that Psai can still work with?

    Thanks!
     
  8. ponx

    ponx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Hi, thanks for purchasing psai! Sorry, psai is based on pre-recorded audio files in pcm / wav format, and currently does not support the playback of .mod files.
    best greetings, andy
     
  9. ScruffyNinja

    ScruffyNinja

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2012
    Posts:
    13
    Hi

    Firstly I'm posting here because I got a couldn't be delivered bounce back when I tried emailing info@periscopestudio.de

    I'm interested in the product but work exclusively on the Mac and want the standalone Editor so I can compose my own music — is there still an issue with the version for Mac and if so, do you have some idea of when a Mac version will be available?

    Cheers.
     
  10. ponx

    ponx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Hi ZenZero, thanks for your interest in psai, and sorry about info@periscopestudio.de being temporarily unreachable, we are checking the issue! In case you have further questions feel free to alternatively contact us at info@homeofpsai.com .
    Regarding the Mac version - i'm sorry to say that we still currently have no resources to provide support for both platforms, so we have to stick to the Windows version. We hope to come up with a fully featured psai Editor integrated into the Unity Editor one day, but i cannot make any estimations on when the work on that will start.
    best greetings and thanks again, andy / ponx
     
  11. mcmorry

    mcmorry

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Posts:
    546
    I also work on Mac and I use a virtual machine for this. It works very well on Parallel Desktop but should work also on Virtual Box that is free. You'd need only a Windows licence.
     
  12. Shturmovik

    Shturmovik

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    Is there an easy way to include psai's current state when saving and restoring a game? Not monumentally important, but I thought it would be a nice touch to have the scene music continue exactly as it was when the game was saved instead of just triggering the same theme from the start.
     
  13. ponx

    ponx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    hi Shturmovik, i'm sorry, but this is currently not supported. Thanks for the suggestion, we'll add it to the wishlist!
     
  14. Shturmovik

    Shturmovik

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Posts:
    8
    mcmorry likes this.
  15. CameronReynolds

    CameronReynolds

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Hi PSAI people.

    I'm loving it and just blown away by the clever thinking gone into it.

    Is there anyway to make the segment tails play over the next segment to create seamless reverb tails?

    Cheers.

    Cam.
     
  16. ponx

    ponx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Hi Cam, thanks alot for your kind words, we're happy you like it! And yes, the segment tails (that's the "postbeat region" in psai) will always automatically play over the following segment to make sure the transitions are seamless. Just mark the reverb tail as the postbeat region in the psai Editor. A postbeat-region can be as long as you wish, so we encourage you to record the full reverb tails whenever it's possible (e.g. when using multitrack recording / sequencing software). Cheers and let us know if any problems arise! andy / ponx
     
  17. CameronReynolds

    CameronReynolds

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Genius.

    OK - I had experimented with this and found it not was not doing what I wanted. This was obviously me doing something wrong. I will have another go and let you know if I have any problems.

    Cheers.
     
  18. CameronReynolds

    CameronReynolds

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2016
    Posts:
    3
    Hi there ponx.

    I see the problem now - it is completely obvious. I was putting 1000 into the Postbeat Length because I was thinking in milliseconds not samples. Not reading what is right in front of me.

    The pre and postbeat lengths being in samples I personally find a bit annoying. Would it be possible to have a ms option instead/as well?

    Otherwise - brilliant.

    Cheers.
     
  19. NeatWolf

    NeatWolf

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2013
    Posts:
    664
    Hi there :)

    I'm considering to purchase Psai, but, I see that latest update dates back to about 1 year ago (1.7.3 Aug 03, 2016).

    Is this asset going to receive support or updates in the near future?

    Regards,
    Alessandro
     
  20. ponx

    ponx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Hi Alessandro! Thanks for your interest in psai! To be honest, the sale rates in the audio segment are not allowing us to keep pushing forward the development currently. However psai has matured over several years, and it's working very well. The engine itself is free for download, so i recommend to just try it out and see if it meets your expectations. The Editor has been in development for several years, too, and is considered feature complete. We'd be happy if you gave it a try! :)
    Cheers, andy
     
  21. mwituni

    mwituni

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Posts:
    328
    I don't believe PSAI is working in Unity 2017.x, as I'm upgrading and getting PSAI errors.
    Can you confirm it works?
    Else please push an update - many customers will be upgrading.
     
  22. ponx

    ponx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    hi mwituni, thanks for the info! I will try to look into it until the end of the next week and post a reply in this thread on when to expect an update.
     
    mwituni likes this.
  23. ponx

    ponx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Hi again Mwituni,
    I can confirm psai works fine on Unity 2017.1.0f3!
    What you see during import of the psai package are a couple of warnings related to Unity API calls used in the Rollerball Demo, but you can safely ignore them. We try to keep things backwards compatible without touching the original Unity Classes, so hopefully it doesn't cause too much confusion. There were also four warnings related to unused Events caused by our shared code between the psai Editor and the psai Unity API, I just fixed that. It's equally harmless, but maybe confusing, so thanks alot for your feedback.

    Best greetings, andy
     
    mwituni likes this.
  24. mwituni

    mwituni

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Posts:
    328
    Great thanks, are you going to post an update as "compatible" with 2017.1.0f3?

    If not, can you post the changes so others can make them.
     
  25. ponx

    ponx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    sure, the lines affected are in Psai/Editor/EditorModel/EditorModel.cs , starting from Line 117.
    The following four Events defined there are only needed when we build the Psai Standalone Editor. They are not needed when compiling the Psai Unity Editor Extension, so you can safely delete them. I put the in compile tags, so our original code now looks like this:

    Code (csharp):
    1.  
    2. ...
    3. #if (PSAI_EDITOR_STANDALONE)
    4.         [field: NonSerializedAttribute()]
    5.         public event EventHandler<EventArgs_ProgressBarStart> EventProgressBarStart;
    6.         [field: NonSerializedAttribute()]
    7.         public event EventHandler<EventArgs_ProgressBarUpdate> EventProgressBarUpdate;
    8.         [field: NonSerializedAttribute()]
    9.         public event EventHandler<EventArgs_AuditOrExportResult> EventAuditCompleted;
    10.         [field: NonSerializedAttribute()]
    11.         public event EventHandler<EventArgs_AuditOrExportResult> EventExportCompleted;
    12. #endif
    13. ...
    14.  
    cheers, andy
     
    mwituni likes this.
  26. blacksun666

    blacksun666

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Posts:
    59
    Is there a way to drive this tool via Unity's timeline?
     
  27. ponx

    ponx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    Hi blacksun! we don't support the timelime, as psai adapts the music dynamically at runtime, so the audio segments are chosen on-the-fly in relation to the current gameplay intensity (set by a simple float value between 0 and 1). Cheers, andy
     
  28. blacksun666

    blacksun666

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Posts:
    59
    I presume the float is a public variable so it should be possible to control it via timeline? I was thinking as the timeline object progresses it could alter the intensity rather than get the timeline to play multiple audio clips and try fade between them?
     
  29. ponx

    ponx

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Posts:
    41
    hi Blacksun, you can update psai's playback Intensity by calling Psai::TriggerMusicTheme(int themeId, float intensity) (repeatedly) so i guess this should work out fine. Feel free to try and download the psai Music Engine from the Unity Asset Store, it's free! We only charge you for the Editor. Hope that helps, cheers! andy