Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Procedural Planets

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by imphenzia, Nov 9, 2017.

  1. StutterFoxStudios

    StutterFoxStudios

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    Hi @roughninjaguy,

    Happy to try and help.

    Adobe products can be expensive but they do also offer a 1 month free trial period which can be great to try them out and see if they suit you and sometimes their online support might be able to negotiate a price that you're prepared to pay. GIMP is a free alternative to Photoshop. https://www.gimp.org/

    In terms of the nebula it's a frame of a video from an ink droplet being dropped onto a piece of glass. Then its a matter of colour correction etc. The lighting storm in the mouth of the nebula is a combination of lighting and animated noise masks in after effects.

    All the best with achieving your results.

    Cheers,
    -Todd
     
    roughninjaguy likes this.
  2. roughninjaguy

    roughninjaguy

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    thank you for the tips @SelfAvenger . Wow ink droplet....who would have guessed. that's really creative of you. I never thought about that.and thanks for the wishes. :) I hope I will start somewhere if I ever have the time with after effect or photoshop. so far I have only been thinking in terms of 3d softwares and only familiar with those.

    I also have zbrush. do you think zbrush (if you familiar with it) spotlight projection of textures from imphenzia planet be it space fabricator or procedural planet will work to get that textures on to a sphere? I still dont know which to get. or to get either at all...trying to reach Imphenzia is so hard. I tried via twitter and no reply. but he seems active there but no replying to my message at all
     
  3. StutterFoxStudios

    StutterFoxStudios

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    No worries,

    I don't think projecting a single texture onto a sphere would achieve the result your'e after. I think you'd find it looks off as it wraps around the sphere. I believe the way @imphenzia maps the textures for procedural planets is triplanar mapping. That's why there's no issues at the poles of the planets.

    To my knowledge space fabricator creates a single image for you. Not a flat texture you can use to wrap around a sphere. It does allow you to include an alpha channel though so you'd be able to composite the image in another program like photoshop or GIMP.

    If you're trying to create just still images of high detailed planets then using a mix between space fabricator and GIMP (which is free) sounds like the way to go if you're willing to spend the money. You could then get real photos of nebula and then put them in as the background in GIMP if that's what you're trying to achieve.

    Cheers,
    -Todd
     
    roughninjaguy likes this.
  4. StutterFoxStudios

    StutterFoxStudios

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    Hi All,

    I recently released a trailer for my game that features the procedural planets asset rather heavily. You can check it out here.


    You can get some really great results with the planets. Once you have a template of what you're happy with it's pretty easy to make a large number of cool looking worlds. All planets have baked textures at a resolution of 2048.

    Cheers,
    -Todd
     
    Inspeinre and hopeful like this.
  5. ReniTheGhost

    ReniTheGhost

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    Hello,

    Is it working with hdrp pipeline if i only need static planets? or i need to write a new shader ?
     
  6. StutterFoxStudios

    StutterFoxStudios

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    Hi @ReniTheGhost,

    It currently doesn't support HDRP.

    Cheers,

    -Todd
     
  7. ToyWalrus

    ToyWalrus

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hi there,

    I'll start out by saying, wow! This asset is incredible! I can tell a lot of effort went into creating it and am amazed by the sheer variety of options I have at my fingertips with all of the options that are included!

    This is my first time using a complex asset from the Asset Store (before it was things like sprites and whatnot) and so I don't know if I've done everything I need to in order for it to work properly, but there are a few problems I'm experiencing that I hope someone may be able to help me out with. (I'm currently using Unity 2019.3.0f6)

    Firstly, when I view the tutorial videos that have been posted on YouTube and when I run the DemoScene, everything looks and operates how I'd expect it to. However, when I create my own scene and spawn a random planet, it renders nicely in the editor, but thereafter when I run the scene sometimes the textures will just disappear after I exit play mode (it just becomes a solid colored sphere). Additionally, each time I play the scene, the initial planet is rendered, but then about 5 seconds later it gets re-rendered with the detail I saw while creating it. And this happens without fail, so I'm confused as to why it has a lagged render time for half of the textures.

    Secondly, sometimes it renders the base 64 string I give it correctly, and sometimes it gives me something completely different (the different planet is always the same, too -- a gas giant that looks like Jupiter). This is without me changing any settings or code between the two different runs, I just press play then exit, then play and exit, and the planet will render differently both times. I should say that I'm spawning the planets through the PlanetManager.CreatePlanet() function with coordinates and a base 64 string that I copied from a planet I got from tweaking a randomly generated one. (See attached screenshots for example here)

    Lastly, whenever I enter my IDE to edit scripts (usually VS Code, though sometimes I use Visual Studio) the OmniSharp server can't resolve any of the references ProceduralPlanets or Substance (from Allegorithmic) are using. From past experience this error usually comes from something not being built properly, or referenced in the correct location. I tried building the ProceduralPlanets and Substance solutions twice but got errors once and it worked once. Though even when it succeeded in building the .dll's the editor still had trouble resolving the .csproj references.

    Anyway, I don't know if these are common bugs or not, but if anyone might be able to help me get these sorted out I'd be incredibly grateful! Thanks!! ErrScreenshotCode.png ErrScreenshotGame.png
    (these three planets you see generated are all coming from the same JSON string... which is incredibly confusing and not at all what should be happening -- the middle planet is the expected result)
     
  8. StutterFoxStudios

    StutterFoxStudios

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    Hi @ToyWalrus,

    Sure sounds like you're getting some weird results there. I suggest trying to contact the developer @imphenzia directly regarding your issues. The asset was only recently updated to a beta for 2018 & 2019. The most recent stable version where it should all work as expected is 2017. It's a long story but Unity depreciated substances which this asset relied on. The algorithmic plugin was in beta and really didn't work so @imphenzia had to make some substantial changes to the asset to get it to work. It's still very much in beta so any issues you report will help @imphenzia work out the kinks.

    I personally primarily use baked planets and build them in 2017.1 and import them in Unity 2018 with a lite version of the asset so it only really has the shaders for baked planets. You can get some amazing results with the asset.



    Sorry I can't help you directly.

    Cheers,
    -Todd
     
  9. ToyWalrus

    ToyWalrus

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks a bunch for your reply @SelfAvenger! I'll try that.

    Quick question: will the asset import the same in 2017.1 as it does in any other Unity version? I guess what I'm asking is, is it backwards compatible? Or is there something else I should do when importing the files? I ask because when I tried it in 2017.1 I got messages saying,
    "Failed to retrieve a single SBSASM file in the archive... Did you use the Substance cooker to generated the archive ?" ​
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2020
  10. StutterFoxStudios

    StutterFoxStudios

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    Hi @ToyWalrus,

    No worries. Happy to try and help. Regarding your 2017 query. It should import the same although I will say that the developer has updated the asset to get the procedural component to work with 2018/2019 so that might have caused issues with earlier releases of Unity or it might be something completely different that's causing you issues. I never updated my earlier version of the asset for 2017 so I can't speak to the issues you've experienced.

    Sorry that's not much help. I suggest trying to contact @imphenzia directly if you haven't already.

    Cheers,
    Todd
     
  11. Exis

    Exis

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Posts:
    14
    You say the package is ~3MB, but when I build the demo scene in android, with nothing else in the project (at all) except for the procedural planets plugin, the build is over 700 MB.

    Additionally, it immediately crashes the game upon load, unity 2019.2.21

    Can you explain what this black shadow swatch is (attached image)? it appears on many planets and generally makes them look terrible. Seems completely incongruous with the sun object.
    Shadow_issue.jpg
    Shadow_issue2.jpg

    Anything to be done about all of this?
     
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2020
  12. StutterFoxStudios

    StutterFoxStudios

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    40

    Hi @Exis

    Can't comment about the build size I'm sorry but I can say that the weird black shadows look like issues with the normal map generation. Procedural planets for 2018.x and 2019.x is currently in beta mode. Which Unity version were you using when you created those planets?

    Cheers,
    -Todd
     
  13. Exis

    Exis

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Posts:
    14
    @SelfAvenger Same as the build version: 2019.2.21

    Doesn't matter though, it crashes every single time, so we can't use this software. I emailed the developer for a refund, but no response yet. So we'll see if they do the right thing.

    Be much nicer if I could fix the visual issue above and keep it from crashing the build on start. We need to use runtime generation, so we can't build the planets in another version then prefab them out. Anyway, the crash on start is the biggest problem; happens in a clean project with nothing else in it but procPlanets.
     
    Last edited: Apr 2, 2020
  14. wheee09

    wheee09

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Posts:
    43
    Hi, I've been trying to get this asset to work with URP. I've updated the materials and tried to hack up the default planet linear shader so that it's recognized as a URP shader but no go.

    Thanks!
     
  15. StutterFoxStudios

    StutterFoxStudios

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    Hi @wheee09

    I know the asset doesn't currently support HDRP so I don't believe it would support URP either. I could be wrong about the latter though.

    I suggest contacting @imphenzia directly.

    Cheers,
    Todd
     
  16. TheMessyCoder

    TheMessyCoder

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2017
    Posts:
    497
  17. Stephen_O

    Stephen_O

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,183
    This was my last question to him on this thread, he never answered, I guess he's too busy to make sure his asset works.. almost a year ago now since I've asked, a year patiently waiting for fixes before asking. I've not been able to use the asset since purchase, very poor support :(

     
  18. StutterFoxStudios

    StutterFoxStudios

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Posts:
    40
  19. wheee09

    wheee09

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Posts:
    43
    Hey all,

    Spent the week and got the asset working in URP. Learned a whole lot about Substance... and how to do patch (using Harmony) on C# code to fix an annoying bug in the Substance code.

    I'm not sure what the legalities are with sharing modified code for a purchased asset - I suspect I'm not really allowed to... so if anyone's interested I could try and write down all the steps I took. It was pretty tedious... but I guess I learned. fair bit doing it.
     
    kenamis likes this.
unityunity