Search Unity

  1. Are you interested in providing feedback directly to Unity teams? Sign up to become a member of Unity Pulse, our new product feedback and research community.
    Dismiss Notice

[Released] PaintCraft (Multiplatform coloring book & drawing app constructor)

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by nicloay, May 17, 2016.

  1. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    Hello. Try to remove RemoveDuplicateLastInputPositions filter from tool pipeline
     
  2. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
  3. vzlomvl

    vzlomvl

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2016
    Posts:
    38
    Hello Nicolay.
    Any news about the release of the 3.0 on the Asset Store?
    Thanks.
     
  4. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    I'm sorry but not in near future.
     
  5. jakwin39

    jakwin39

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Hi. I'm using U2017.3.0p1 and PaintCraft2.2u 2017.1.
    I do programming an android game. I did test it on UEditor and I had no problem but I just tested in two android devices (Samsung Galaxy Ground Prime+ with android 6 and Samsung Galaxy A70 with android 9) and both of them have the same result:
    Screenshot_20200204-152503.png
    Is any shader is not Compatible with this smartphones GPU? and how to solve that?
     
  6. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    hello. just reimport package from asset stoee. you lost the project settings
     
    jakwin39 likes this.
  7. nagibatr

    nagibatr

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    Привет! Подскажите, пожалуйста, как правильно вызывать ClearTexture? И нужно вызывать только перед выходом в галерею или еще и в момент, когда игрок отпустил палец с экрана и перестал рисовать? Спасибо!
     
  8. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    не совсем понятно для чего ее вы хотите вызывать. она вызывается автоматически по нажатию на кнопку например, либо когда undo отматывается до 1го шага.

    А так в демке можно увидеть что она вызывается с кнопки через стандартные unity event-ы
     
  9. nagibatr

    nagibatr

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    Имею ввиду Streaming Page Config)

    upload_2020-2-10_14-35-47.png
     
  10. nagibatr

    nagibatr

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    Еще StreamingColoringPageConfig почему-то как-то неправильно отображает превью в галерее выбора раскраски
     
  11. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    пришлите invoice id на support @ paintcraft . in я вышлю стабильную бету- там стриминг ассеты из коробки идут нормальные.
     
  12. nikhildhamsania

    nikhildhamsania

    Joined:
    May 4, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    We are not able to find a document about how to generate a grayscale file to use in paint craft.
    please let us know where can we find it.

    thanks
     
  13. Soulside

    Soulside

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Posts:
    21
    Hello, Nickolay!
    The PaintCraft drawing tool is amazing! Thank you!
    Is it possible to customize the brush so, that you can draw mandalas?
    For reference see this video:
     
  14. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    @nikhil_unity726, as I replied by email, now you can use all 3 channels (RGB) for the regions, so no need to import as grayscale

    @Soulside, Unfortunately it's not possible to do that in base version and required much of customization.
     
  15. Hiephm

    Hiephm

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2017
    Posts:
    9
    Hi Nicloay, i have one problem on IOS (only IOS). When i update version unity from 2018 to 2019, at version 2018 memory on all devices i tested is good but when i update to version 2019 memory have problem it increase without stopping every time i touch the screen. i found this problem but i don't know how to fix this. The problem is BeginLine function in ScreenCameraController when i command it, it's stop increase but if i use this function memory increase until memory overflow and the game crashed. Help me fix it, please! Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Soulside

    Soulside

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2018
    Posts:
    21
    @nicloay, thanks for your response. Can you please describe the steps to implement it. What kind of customization is required?
     
  17. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    @Soulside, I'm sorry but it's like a whole new game mechanic - not sure that I can describe it as it required to much architecture.

    @Hiephm, did you try new beta? it should works more stable on 2018 version (sorry didn't test in on 2019 yet). If you don't have access please send me your invoice id to support@paintcraft.in and I'll give you download link.
     
  18. Frelenk

    Frelenk

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hi Nicloay, i have one question. PaintCraft PRO support auto region function from svg file?
     
  19. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    yes. current version from asset store support it. But I have to let you know that SVG works in limited way. It doesn't render SVG runtime - and do it only on start, that's mean if you zoom the image on the device you will see pixelation.
     
  20. supereid86

    supereid86

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hi nicolay,

    We have an app with about 120 images to color, would you suggest that we use streaming age configs? Is this feature ready for use with the current version? It says "experimental" in the docs. How can you suggest we keep our app size small?
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2020
  21. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    Yes. I would suggest to send your invoice id to the support@paintcraft.in so I'll send you access to the beta. in new beta all page configs by default are in streaming assets.
     
  22. LanceNYC

    LanceNYC

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hello Nicloay,
    I am new to Unity and pretty much decided on it because of your package. So fresh install of unity, I bouight your package and imported it, to see a LONG list of error messages.
    upload_2020-4-17_12-39-41.png
    upload_2020-4-17_12-40-31.png
    upload_2020-4-17_12-40-53.png

    Plus that shader warning at the bottom, saying it isn't compatible with my AMD RX 570 video card?
    What should I do to correct all of this?

    Much appreciated!
     
  23. Chris_DC

    Chris_DC

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Hi, I have been utilizing this tool for a project i have been working on for a while, and I have run into a snag and hope you might be able to help me out. Basically I have a UI with a drawing window, using the RectToCanvasPosition to place the drawing. Everything has been working fine at the base resolution.

    The issue appears when i switch to a different resolution, when i draw, the line is off, it seems like it is not taking the canvas scalar into account. Like when i draw from center to the left edge, the line starts and center and only makes it to about 1/2 way left when i reach the edge. And the canvas scale is ~.5. Also at this smaller resolution, the canvas camera renderers a smaller version and i have to zoom into to get the image back to the desired size.

    I have been testing different approaches to get this scale to work, when I adjust the canvas ortho camera to be the appropriate size, the drawing aligns properly but the pixels drawn are too large, not shaped properly

    I have done a lot of custom work to other parts of the tool, and we are late in dev process so i probably could not change over to the beta.

    Thanks for the tool, it has been very helpful, and i feel like there is something I am missing here that you might be able to help me with.
     
  24. bonbongame

    bonbongame

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    Hello,
    I am having a problem please guide me.
    When I paint, how do I know when my mouse position is in the region I'm drawing, when my mouse is out of the region where I can draw?
    Thank you !
     
  25. Bazilikum

    Bazilikum

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Hello!

    It would be helpful to be able to disable auto-saving of user changes (ISaveUserChanges/Icons) to the disk.
    We have a situation where we use the same configs on different targets and get sharing violations.

    Cheers!
     
  26. kunal_unity715

    kunal_unity715

    Joined:
    May 21, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    Hi Nicloay,
    Paint Craft looks awesome. A friend of mine recommended it and it perfectly fits my need. Please help me understand if I can restrict the colors to be filled in a particular area. I want users to see the original image and then fill colors as mentioned.
    I am really struggling to achieve it. Please help.
     
    not-adhoc likes this.
  27. not-adhoc

    not-adhoc

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    I have the same need as kunal_unity715 as I'm trying to build a Paint by Number app and will also really appreciate to be able to do it with PaintCraft
    Thanks
     
  28. eiecheverri

    eiecheverri

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Dear creator: would this asset work if I wanted to draw something on either a 'flat' 3D object or on UI within a VR project?? Thank you!! :)
     
  29. MaxForUnity

    MaxForUnity

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    @nicloay Hello.
    I'm using PaintCraft Asset, thank you for this awesome work!
    But I have problems with iOS, PaintingZone is just black when I open this scene.
    I searched answers, for similar question you said to use 2017 version (that answer was old).
    Now I'm using Unity 2019.2.21f version.
    It works perfectly in Android. But when I build for iOS it's just black when I open any image. And Clear button isn't working. I can't understand what's problem. Please, help me
     
  30. edem96

    edem96

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Can you send me this beta too ?
     
  31. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    Sorry guys, I didn't check the forum for a while. Please use mail, usually I provide response within several days.

    @Chris_DC, did you solve the problem with camera? I'm not sure but it looks like the problem that it takes input data from another camera, this is why the line could go to the wrong position

    @bonbongame, there is no such functionality in paintcraft, It take original click position, and when you move a finger, it just compare the pixel underneath with original click position in shader, and if colors are equal render it, otherwise discard. So in your case if you need to check when you leave the region, you need to make background texture rw enabled and use GetPixel() method.

    @Bazilikum, In new beta version you have more control over that, just drop your invoice id to support@paintcraft.in, and I'll give you access.

    @kunal_unity715, @not-adhoc, there is no such functionality in paintcraft. If you are comfortable with c# you can start with tool pipeline, you need to create new filter which read first position, and then access the region texture (you need to enable read/write access in texture settings for that), after that you can cancel drawing based on the color

    @eiecheverri, yes on flat surface it should works smooth, it use render texture, and on plain mesh it works without any problem. The issue is when you have convex surface, on the stiches you will have a glitches, as paintcraft just draw based on UV coordinates on the render texture

    @MaxForUnity, You need to disable metal rendering, or use new beta, for new beta just send me your invoice id.

    @edem96, sure, just drop me your invoice id to support@paintcraft.in
     
  32. damianvcampbell

    damianvcampbell

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, I just purchased your package today and so far I like it alot. I've run into a problem and I'm wondering if my Unity version is to blame. I'm using 2019.4.7 and I can't seem to configure the Coloring page. The configuration box freezes when I try to link a texture and disappears completely in the case of the icon. Once this happens I can no longer edit any of the properties of the Coloring Book Configuration. Is this due to the version and can I have a copy of the new beta also if it hasn't been released yet? Thanks
     
  33. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    I think problem is somewhere in resources folders. You need to change inspector to debug mode and clear references to the images (as string values) there.

    For the beta access just send me your invoice id to support@paintcraft.in.

    Thank.
     
  34. damianvcampbell

    damianvcampbell

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks! I will give it a try.
     
  35. Saad_Khawaja

    Saad_Khawaja

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Posts:
    31

    Hi @nicloay
    Using Unity 2020 and URP and not able to paint. The images all turn black when I open them and the painting does not work.

    Any solution? Does the beta fix this? Let me know so that I can send the invoice id.

    Thanks
     
    Desarrolloappsronda likes this.
  36. andreuone

    andreuone

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Does the beta fix black iOS problem?

    I am looking for a coloring tool, I have read a lot of good things about paintcraft but I am worried that I will not be able to integrate it in unity 2019.4

    Thanks
     
  37. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    please send your invoice id to support@paintcraft.in new beta should fix that

    @andreuone yes, new beta should work with 2019
     
  38. Saad_Khawaja

    Saad_Khawaja

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2013
    Posts:
    31
    Alright! Sent you an email. Please send the BETA link. Thanks
     
  39. AshrafAbiSaid

    AshrafAbiSaid

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Hello Nicolay, if I wanted to make the PaintCraft canvas size half of what it is while keeping the screen size as it is, what should I do? I want the drawing canvas to be a small box at the top of my screen and not something that fills the entire screen, but when I try to make the canvas smaller the coloring tools still color relative to where the canvas should have been. Any tips would be greatly appreciated.

    Have a good day!
     
  40. Tweak_Kit

    Tweak_Kit

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hello Nicolay.
    I want to paint the picture with the pattern brush, but every time i paint at the old positions, the pattern is always updated and changed. I want the brush not to change where i have painted, how could i do that please help!
     
  41. Tweak_Kit

    Tweak_Kit

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Hi @nicloay please help answer my question because i'm in a rush releasing my app. Thank you!
     
  42. MaxForUnity

    MaxForUnity

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Hello @nicloay I'm using PaintCraft asset. I have no problems with using this amazing asset. But I have difficulties to create new GlowBrush type, which brush glow with black background. I read old your answers (https://forum.unity.com/threads/rel...ng-app-constructor.404998/page-4#post-3293979) and I used even these asset also (https://assetstore.unity.com/packag...2811.165990522.1609083543-39091722.1600320296). But it didn't help. I want to save picture after drawing. I tried to create new Brush type GlowBrush like other brushes, but I have no idea where should I put any shaders to make glow effect in filters.
    Have you any solution or idea to make glow effect, please?
     
  43. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    Try to save image try to render camera (where you applied the effect) to the render texture and then save it to the file. maybe it will work.

    Brush itself are not capable of creating glow effect you need to apply it to the whole canvas so everything will glow.
     
  44. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    As I explained in the mail, please open the brush configuration and remove jittering effect for the first point, so offset will be stable
     
  45. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    please try to find ScreenCameraController, it has ViewPortOffset configuration, try to play with these values
     
    MaxForUnity likes this.
  46. MaxForUnity

    MaxForUnity

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Hello @nicloay, thank you for answers. Glow is working fine, and I can save it also. I take screenshot while saving ICON, and I changed icon to the screenshot that I took. Then I save this as an ICON image. Then it is saving as glowed image.

    I have another question. Is there any way to add the supporting regions for Bucket Brush tool?
    Now, If I paint with Bucket tool, every part of gray will be painted. I want that bucket also support regions and it should paint the are which I clicked, not every area which the same grey color.

    If you have any idea or solution, please answer.

    Best Regards
     

    Attached Files:

  47. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    Hello @MaxForUnity
    I'm sorry, but there is no runtime flood fill calculation in the package, all bucket tools works only with precalculated masks (which are different grayscale levels, on the region file).
     
  48. MaxForUnity

    MaxForUnity

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2019
    Posts:
    7
    Thank you @nicloay I'm using different grayscale in region picture now, I think it's the best way to solve my problem.
     
    nicloay likes this.
  49. prasanth-akon

    prasanth-akon

    Joined:
    May 30, 2013
    Posts:
    16
    Hi Nicolay,
    I bought your asset recently and it works great. I was just wondering if there is any way that I could track the progress of a painted region? Like 0 - 100% painted using some float value? Please let me know.
    Thanks.
     
  50. nicloay

    nicloay

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Posts:
    515
    Unfortunately no, there is no such functionality in the package.
     
unityunity