Search Unity

  1. Calling all beginners! Join the FPS Beginners Mods Challenge until December 13.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. It's Cyber Week at the Asset Store!
    Dismiss Notice

[Released] Minicar Race Creator

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by TargetSoundFx, Dec 29, 2017.

  1. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Thank you adrog6666 :)
     
  2. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Thank you lorddweeb for your review on the Unity Asset Store it is very important for us :).
     
  3. uberwiggett

    uberwiggett

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Posts:
    95
    had some trouble importing to 2018.3 , had to reset package manager but I am not sure if it was due to project settings or just a random unity thing. Anyway I got it working and modified a car, happy with the results. Wanted to make some adjustments to the camera but wasn't sure exactly how it's set up, from what I can see the tute scene has the p1_cam not attached to the vehicle, and with a target script, but also follows the movement of the vehicle in 3d space. I haven't yet taken a look at the scripts, but is there somewhere in particular I should look for, and also if I intend on having a static cam that views the whole track, am I still able to control the vehicle? or does it rely on camera forward for directional input? (I don't think it does seeing as it's accelerate, brake and left/right :) )

    Also I noticed that despite selecting controller from the start menu, the buttons didn't work in game, it still defaulted to the keyboard but made me use the start button on the controller to bring up the menu. I will test it out again and see if i can replicate the issue.
     
  4. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Hi,
    When the scene starts, the camera P1_Cam (spot 1) follow the Cam_target that can be find in the Player 1 car (spot 2).

    If you want you can change the position of Cam_Target inside each car (spot 2).
    You can modify how the camera follow the car using the parameters in script car_Follow.cs (spot 1).

    Hope it helps :) .

    Screen Shot 2018-12-18 at 10.35.12.jpg
     
  5. Justin_Wingfall

    Justin_Wingfall

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Posts:
    86
    1. Anyway, I can add my own vehicle with it's own physics?

    2. always just an idea,traditionally once race is over, the cars usually continues to drive around track, while showing results. Anyway, you can make that possible. I'm assuming for AI cars once they place they continue on their path, and for player, (disable controls), and make player's prefab be controlled by AI, so player can followed path intill race is over.
     
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2018
    julianmauriciolema likes this.
  6. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    1-If you want to add your own car controller, you will have to recode a lot of things yourself (Mobile/ desktop/ joystick Inputs connexions, ...). For the moment, the asset is made to use the car controller included in the asset.

    2-We take your suggestion into account and add it to the list of potential additions for updates.
     
    julianmauriciolema likes this.
  7. julianmauriciolema

    julianmauriciolema

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Agree, this would be a great classic-touch add!

    Only after the possibility of the guns/powerups update :D

    I think that in fact the asset at this point would be having all the condiments of the great racing games.
     
  8. Arcanebits

    Arcanebits

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    Hi, this asset is amazing! Im going to wait for the networking instead of doing it myself. since its on the Devs plans, but I do really need ASAP to make some power ups, so I will make them.
    Any ETA for the Networking?
    Our game is planned for consoles.
    Cheers,
    Arcanebits
     
  9. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Hi,
    Thank you for your very positive feedback :) .
    We hope to be able to do the NetWorking by the end of February/Mid March.
    But we can not guarantee it.
     
    ATeam_Production and uberwiggett like this.
  10. Arcanebits

    Arcanebits

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    Amazin! if you need testers for that, we are more than pleased to help!
     
    TargetSoundFx likes this.
  11. kashifji2017

    kashifji2017

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Posts:
    7
    I am planning to buy your asset but want to know can i use my own environment in the game easily?
     
  12. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Hi,
    Yes you can import and use easily your environment with Minicar Race Creator.
     
  13. Pixelnovo

    Pixelnovo

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Posts:
    15
    Hello, is it possible to add a jump button?
     
  14. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Hi,

    For mobile, you can add a UI button and add your jump feature when the player press that button.
    But on desktop, for the moment it is not possible to add a new button in the Input remap editor.

    So if adding new buttons is an important feature we can add it to the roadmap.

    To be honest I don’t really figure out your jump feature. Would you like something like in Rocket League game?
     
  15. uberwiggett

    uberwiggett

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Posts:
    95
    Yeah maybe like a bounce option, so you press it and the car flies up into the air by an amount. Effectively just adding an upwards force. I think rock and roll racing did it, and maybe like a speed racer style, so you can dodge other cars etc.
     
  16. blamejane

    blamejane

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Posts:
    214
    Hi I am interested in your asset. I'm curious if you would briefly explain the difference between Championship and Solo?
     
  17. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Thank you for your interest about the asset :).

    Solo is for 1 player only.
    Versus is for 2 players splitscreen.

    Championship (available in Solo and Versus):
    You must finish the first of a selection of circuits.

    Arcade (available in Solo and Versus):
    You have to play against the computer on a specific track.

    Time Trial (solo only):
    You are alone on the track. You have to make the best time possible on a specific track. It is possible to save the score in a local leaderboard.

    Don't hesitate to test the demo available on the store page:
    https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/templates/systems/minicar-race-creator-105901
     
    ATeam_Production likes this.
  18. blamejane

    blamejane

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Posts:
    214
    Thanks for the quick reply. I did try the demo and the game is quite addicting. I meant to ask what's the difference between championship and arcade (not solo), but your answer was thorough enough that it answered my question. So thanks for that.
     
    TargetSoundFx likes this.
  19. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Hi Pixelnovo,

    You must use the Ready for Mobile action (Tools -> MCR -> Switch Platform -> Ready for Mobile) in the menu scene, but you must also do it on each of the track scenes you use in your game.

    Screen Shot 2019-02-21 at 08.59.51.jpg

    You can have a look to the documentation section 7 Export to mobile Step 14 (page 49)

    Hope it helps :) .
     
  20. Arcanebits

    Arcanebits

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    Hello Guys! Any news about networking add on to the game?
    Aldo
     
  21. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    We are very late on our current project. We hope it will be over in two weeks. Then we will work on Minicar Race Creator :).
     
  22. reimajina

    reimajina

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    can car ai works on loop track ?
     

    Attached Files:

  23. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    No sorry but it doesn't work with looping.
     
  24. TechSins

    TechSins

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2015
    Posts:
    142
    Hey just a question before i buy will you be adding a guns/weapons feature to this? and if you are any ETA
     
  25. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    It is planned to add a weapons system :).
    We hope to be able to propose the feature within a few months. But we do not have a date yet.
    We will post a message on the forum when this feature will be done.
     
  26. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,274
    Hi Is there a way to make the cars have a boost mode? Like nitro for a shot time?
     
  27. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Hi,
    You can use the variable MaxSpeed in the CarController.cs to increase or decrease the car speed.

    For example you can create a coroutine to change car speed for a short time.

    Hope it helps :).
     
    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  28. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,274
    Thanks and if I want to make the split screen horizontal instead of vertical how can I do that?

    EDIT: I found it in the player 2 cam view port rect.
     
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2019
  29. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,274
    and one request: Can you add skid marks when the car brakes or corners ?
     
  30. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,274
    I'm making a game for Apple TV, and the controls are not setup up optimal, I'm trying to get it to work, It says I must use joystick 1 but I have the extra game controller and its not joystick one. and I cannot configure it.
     
  31. reimajina

    reimajina

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    Is there a way to display KMH speed?
     
  32. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Thanks and if I want to make the split screen horizontal instead of vertical how can I do that?
    EDIT: I found it in the player 2 cam view port rect

    Do you have find a way to do what you want?

    And one request: Can you add skid marks when the car brakes or corners ?
    For the moment it is not plan to add this feature.

    I'm making a game for Apple TV, and the controls are not setup up optimal, I'm trying to get it to work, It says I must use joystick 1 but I have the extra game controller and its not joystick one. and I cannot configure it.
    It is difficult for us to help you on this point because we have no Apple TV to test. But you’re right the player 1 must use joystick1 and player 2 must use joystick2.
     
  33. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Open the script CarController.cs and add the method below at the end of the script.
    MCR -> Assets -> Scripts -> car -> CarController.cs

    Code (CSharp):
    1.  public float MCR_KMH()
    2.     {
    3.         //Max magnitude corrseponding to the max car speed.
    4.         //(this value is arbitrary)
    5.         float MaxMagnitude = 5;
    6.         //Max Speed corrseponding to the max car KMH.
    7.         //(this value is arbitrary)
    8.         float MaxKMH = 220;
    9.  
    10.         //Calculate the current KMH
    11.         float KMH = Mathf.RoundToInt(rb.velocity.magnitude / MaxMagnitude * MaxKMH);
    12.  
    13.         //Debug.Log("KMH: " + KMH);
    14.  
    15.         if (KMH < 1) KMH = 0;
    16.         return KMH;
    17.     }
    Open a track scene. Example Track_01_CactusCounty.
    MCR -> Assets -> Scenes -> Track_01_CactusCounty

    In the Hierarchy create 2 UI Text (spot 1)
    Canvas_MainMenu -> Page_Pause -> InGameInformation.

    In the Hierarchy Create an empty object (spot 2)

    Add the script KMH.cs to the empty object (spot 3)
    You find the the script as attachement to this post.

    Drag and drop Game_Manager (spot 4)
    Drag and drop UI Text for Player 1 (spot 5)
    Drag and drop UI Text for Player 2 (spot 6)

    Now when you starts the race the KMH is displayed on screen.

    Hope you like :) .

    Screen Shot 2019-03-08 at 11.21.41.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  34. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,274
    Thanks for answering my questions.

    When switching between mobile and desktop I have to edit each scene, this takes a long time, is this really necessary?

    Perhaps for the next version this can be optimised.
     
    TargetSoundFx likes this.
  35. Pode

    Pode

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2013
    Posts:
    117
    @TargetSoundFx : your asset is great, I managed to build a simple game (one track), and let my kids (7 years old and 4 years old) play with it and a joystick on a TV. The game was built for a tiny windows box strapped to it.
    I noticed however that while the controls are 'okay' for an adult that wants a bit of a challenge from an arcade game, they are too difficult for a young kid like them for the moment.
    Is it possible to add a 'kid' or 'young kid' mode ? That would means more dampening on the rotation of the wheel, I think, an 'auto-accelerate' mode (it's difficult at 4 years old to press simultaneously on a button while doing something else), and an AI that is 'easier to beat'.
     
  36. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Hi,
    First we are happy to see that you like the asset :) .
    Don’t hesitate to post a review on the asset store it is very important to us ;) .

    If you want to test other values for car speed and car rotation speed.

    Open the script CarController.cs and add the code below in the Start method line 263.
    MCR -> Assets -> Scripts -> car -> CarController.cs

    Screen Shot 2019-03-08 at 17.25.23.jpg

    This code change the value for all the car in the race.

    Code (CSharp):
    1.  
    2. if (carAI.enabled)    
    3.     MaxSpeed -= 1.0f;   // Decrease Car AI speed
    4. else
    5.     MaxSpeed -= 0.5f;   // Decrease Player 1 and 2
    6.  
    7.  
    8. if (carAI.enabled)
    9.     CarRotationSpeed -= 0.1f;   // Decrease Car Rotation speed
    10. else
    11.     CarRotationSpeed -= 2.0f;   // Decrease Car Rotation speed
    12.  
     
  37. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,274
    I'm trying to use joystick control analog for steering.
    so the player has control over how fast the steering is, Where in the script do I need to change?
     
  38. marincaspaul

    marincaspaul

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2019
    Posts:
    2
    I want to integrate a shop in the car selection menu to buy cars with coins, do you have any ideas how can i?
     
    DrOcto and Lars-Steenhoff like this.
  39. reimajina

    reimajina

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    thank you for answering my question:)
     
    TargetSoundFx likes this.
  40. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    @Lars-Steenhoff
    First thank you for your review on the Asset Store page :) .
    The asset has not been designed to do what you want. To have a system that works for all input types the carController.cs script only detects if the player presses a key.
    To modify the system of inputs you can have a look to the script carController.cs and in the method MCR_carV1 () line 727

    @marincaspaul
    Some people ask us the possibility of unlocking cars. The asset is not designed to do it. For the moment, you can only unlock tracks. We add this feature to the list of features that can be added in future updates. But we can't guarantee that we can add it to this asset.
     
    marincaspaul likes this.
  41. Lars-Steenhoff

    Lars-Steenhoff

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Posts:
    2,274
    how can I increase the Max car speed from 6 to a higher number in the public inspector of each car?
     
  42. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Hi,
    Open the script CarControllerEditor.cs (spot 1)
    (Project Tab: MCR Creator -> Assets -> Scripts -> car -> )

    Line 215 change the value 6 (spot 2)

    Screen Shot 2019-03-18 at 07.05.04.jpg
     
    Lars-Steenhoff likes this.
  43. reimajina

    reimajina

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2017
    Posts:
    4
    hello,
    why my car roll forward like i hit something infront of my car but nothing there?
     

    Attached Files:

  44. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Hi,
    You probably push too much customization settings of the car.
    Try to restore the default car settings. Do not use too many "extreme" settings.
    For example, the Center Of Mass Z Axis setting should be changed carefully.
     
  45. Aldevi

    Aldevi

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    hi
    Minicar Race Creator and
    Compatible with Minicar Race 4 Environments
    considering buy both as beginner how easy is to integrate this two can i see documentation on that
     
  46. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Hi,
    Send us an email and we will send you the documentation :) .
    Best regards.
     
  47. Arcanebits

    Arcanebits

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Posts:
    66
    Hello! im just curious about network, is it done yet? (Insert childish repetitive and anoying same question here, multiple times)
    Cheers!
     
  48. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Hi,
    We are very very late on our current project ;) .
    We hope we can get back to working on Minicar next week.
    The multiplayer is still one of our priorities on the roadmap. However we can not give you a date.
    You can be sure that we will tell you on the forum as soon as it is done :) .
     
  49. shawnatkidzpace

    shawnatkidzpace

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    I am interested in making a 4 player top down racer for android using this asset. Would it be a lot of work to convert the template?
     
  50. TargetSoundFx

    TargetSoundFx

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2016
    Posts:
    156
    Sorry but the asset is not design to make a top down.