Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Marvelous Techniques

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Kirnu-Interactive, Aug 22, 2015.

  1. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    I think your Time.timeScale = 0 for some reason. Could you check what is causing that?

    -Arto
     
  2. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    Are you saying that the fog shader doesn't work on your 2D sprites?

    -Arto
     
  3. p6r

    p6r

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,146
    The Order in Layer option doesn't work for example to place a sprite in front of or behind another one if I use your shader.
    2D sprites don't have a cutout parameter with your shaders. So, we (actually) can't use them with sprites...

    Here is an example mixing Megabook and Marvelous Shaders :



    6R
     
    IdrilKalean likes this.
  4. anuj

    anuj

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    unable to import the asset from asset store in 5.2.1f1. Unity Crashes with error "UnwrapCL.exe has stopped working"
     
  5. cygnusprojects

    cygnusprojects

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    I can indeed confirm that importing the asset will crash with Unity 5.2.1f1. However there seems to be no usefull information in the editor logs.
     
  6. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    This might be due some Unity bug where it needs UVs for all models.
    There are update v.1.11 coming but as you might know it might take long to get the update to be reviewed.

    If you want the v1.11 beforehand please contact me.

    -Arto
     
  7. anuj

    anuj

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    have send you details in private message
     
  8. anuj

    anuj

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    looks like you have uploaded the 1.11 version on asset store and it is available at asset store for doenload .
    but problem remains the same, it is still crashing unity
    please try to import your asset in 5.2.1f1
    you are using 5.2.0 to pack the asset , where as issue is with version 5.2.1f

    Edit : ok issue is with building_dome.fbx i reimported it in 3ds max and applied uvs and resaved it , and all got fixed in v1.11

    if anyone ran into same issue either apply uvs manually to buildings_dome.fbx or just dont import it at all

    This import issue will be fixed in unity 5.2.1p2
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2015
  9. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    Yes you are correct the package just got approved.
    I'll try to update Unity to the latest version and fix the issue.

    Meanwhile can you post the editor log from the console. Go to console and select open editor log from selection list which can be opened from top right corner.

    -Arto
     
  10. anuj

    anuj

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    issue is with building_dome.fbx i reimported it in 3ds max and applied uvs and resaved it , and all got fixed in v1.11

    if anyone ran into same issue either apply uvs manually to buildings_dome.fbx or just dont import it at all

    This import issue will be fixed in unity 5.2.1p2
     
  11. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    Thanks anuj. Really appreciated your help!
    I fixed the UVs for some of the models for some recent Unity patch version but it seems it wasn't enough for this version.

    This is nasty Unity bug. I hope it will get fixed soon.

    -Arto
     
  12. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
     
  13. Guideborn

    Guideborn

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Posts:
    228
    Will you add this as a demo scene in the package? Really looks awesome and would love to dissect it.
     
  14. anuj

    anuj

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    Guideborn
    this is included in package already :)
     
  15. Guideborn

    Guideborn

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Posts:
    228
    Oh woops. I guess I didn't look through all of them!
     
  16. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    I worked with Marvelous Techniques package today and created a scene for a tutorial video which is about using the custom lighting shaders.
    When the scene was ready I though that it's very rewarding to work with this package and would recommend it for everyone. I might be a bit biased though :)

     
  17. Gozdek

    Gozdek

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2015
    Posts:
    356
  18. anuj

    anuj

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    scenes look nice and polished , but what about dynamic objects , like characters , sliding or rotating platforms etc
    what is the workflow of having dynamic objects matching with the static environment quality
     
  19. Frpmta

    Frpmta

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2013
    Posts:
    468
    Is that the scene you make in the tutorial?
     
    Guideborn likes this.
  20. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    If you are talking about lightmapping check out how they did it in MV: @42:52

     
  21. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    Yes I'll make a tutorial about the custom lighting shaders and explain how to get the look what you see in the image.

    -Arto
     
    Spoken_OS likes this.
  22. Guideborn

    Guideborn

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Posts:
    228
    I would enjoy that. I really like the texture on the monument as well.
     
  23. Boercam

    Boercam

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2015
    Posts:
    6
    Love the pack. Even if I never use the assets it has been a worthwhile purchase just for what I'm learning from each asset.

    I have a question in regards to the ocean shader (I know very little about shaders so bear with me).

    Is it possible to get the ocean shader to work with deferred rendering? Forcing another render pass for the depth texture (using the camera's depthTextureMode) literally halves my framerate which won't be feasible for the project I was hoping to use it on. I was already using deferred rendering by default, but I've read that it's possible to get a depth texture (maybe it's a depth + normal texture) in a shader without running a second render pass, but only if the rendering path is deferred. Is this possible?
     
  24. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    To understand the problem correctly:
    - The OceanDepth shader doesn't work with deferred by default for you?
    - How do you force the second pass
    - For which devices you are targeting. It sounds weird that using depth texture halves the frame rate.

    -Arto
     
  25. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    Just started to package and test the v1.2....

    -Arto
     
  26. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    The package is ready for testing. If you are interested to test it please PM or email me.

    -Arto
     
  27. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    v1.2 uploaded to Asset Store and waiting for to be reviewed.

    The price will go slightly up with this release so if you have been planning to get this package this is teh moment to do that.

    -Arto
     
  28. MinhDao

    MinhDao

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Posts:
    155
    Cool! What's new in version 1.2?
     
  29. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    Shaders
    - LinearGradientBG
    - TransparentAdditive
    - TransparentAdditiveFG
    - VignetteFG
    - OceanOpaque

    Scenes
    - Lava
    - Volcano
    - House
    - Night
     
  30. DougMcFarlane

    DougMcFarlane

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Posts:
    197
    Does this work on dynamically generated models? My entire scene is generated at runtime.
    I was just thinking of how they achieve this lighting / shader effect! Love the fog effects also!
     
  31. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    I can't figure out any reason why the shaders wouldn't work with dynamically generated models.
     
  32. anuj

    anuj

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2015
    Posts:
    27
    It works with dynamically generated Models , i have used them in a scene where prefabs are generated and destroyed on the fly . without any issue


    1.2 is now available to download at asset store
    More Shaders
    More Scenes
    More Techniques

    https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/37726/
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2015
  33. cygnusprojects

    cygnusprojects

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    Hi Arto,

    I just tried to import the latest version into a new 5.2.1f1 project and the Unity Editor is crashing with the error that UnwrapCL.exe stopped working. The import progressbar is displaying Lava_rock_3.fbx as beeing imported. Anything I can do to fix this? (I'm a programmer and don't own any 3d modelling software except for Blender).

    Edit: after a number of retries the project did open but both the building_dome.fbx and lava_rock_3.fbx have an geometrical icon and request for reimport, doing so will crash the editor again. Strange is that lava_rock_2.fbx which also crashed doesn't need any import but yet better to doublecheck.

    Kind regards,

    Wim Vancoillie
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2015
  34. ikazrima

    ikazrima

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Posts:
    305
    I faced the same problem. The error is related to importing fbx files in 5.21f1. This is fixed in the latest Unity patch.
     
  35. cygnusprojects

    cygnusprojects

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    Thanks for the update, but I'm not eager to install the patches as patch 5.2.1p1 did completely break the UI on another project. I could try patch 2 and hope this time I don't have to revert back and lose time doing so.
     
  36. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    Yes this is a known Unity bug. As ikazrima said it's fixed in latest Unity patch version.
    If you don't want to update Unity I can send you a new package with fixed fbx models.

    -Arto
     
  37. cygnusprojects

    cygnusprojects

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    Tried Unity 5.2.1p2 and indeed your package is loading without any issues however seems like the UI Fill issue is still present. No need to provide anything as I'm guessing/hoping Unity will have this UI bug fixed in patch 3.

    Kind regards,

    Wim
     
  38. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    Marvelous Techniques - Workflow Tutorial 2 video is now available:

     
  39. cygnusprojects

    cygnusprojects

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Posts:
    705
    Just installed Unity 5.2.1p3 and your package does load without any issues AND my UI is still intact. I'm happy :p
     
  40. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    Nice to hear that :) Unity 5 is getting better every day.
     
  41. ikazrima

    ikazrima

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Posts:
    305
  42. kevindaluz

    kevindaluz

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    I may have found a bug. I encountered an exception when trying to combine meshes when one of the meshes does not have uvs in the first channel. My work around was to insert "if (mesh.uv.Length > 0)" to MeshUtils.cs line 106--just before uvs = mesh.uv [vertexIndex];

    Just an fyi
     
  43. boongea

    boongea

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Great Shader!
    Thanks. Kirnu!
    Can i use realtime shadow with custom light distance fog shader?
     
  44. PixelEnvision

    PixelEnvision

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Posts:
    497
    Very nice package! I'm especially interested in VignetteFG, what's the performance hit when used on mobile devices?
     
  45. Hitch42

    Hitch42

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Posts:
    98
    This asset looks very nice. I'm a fan of games with this flat shaded look. I want to make sure that I understand how it works. All of the examples that I've seen have a fixed camera. Is it it possible to use Marvelous Techniques with a first person camera? I'm interested in creating something with a similar look to this:

     
  46. Benjamin.chevalier

    Benjamin.chevalier

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Posts:
    21
    Excellent package I must say.
    An updated documentation would be greatly appreciated.
     
  47. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    There is no such shader in the package atm but you can use the CustomLightingSimpleDistanceLightRS shader instead.

    -Arto
     
  48. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    There should be very small performance hit because it's a transparent shader.
    I tested it with my iPad 4 and didn't see any drop in fps.

    When you try it out your self please post your result here.

    -Arto
     
  49. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    This is possible with the shaders. The only restriction that the lighting direction is fixed so you can't actually move the custom light source.

    -Arto
     
  50. Kirnu-Interactive

    Kirnu-Interactive

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Posts:
    154
    I accidentally forgot to update the documentation when I released the current version.
    Will do this in next version.

    -Arto
     
    Spoken_OS likes this.
unityunity