Search Unity

[RELEASED] Magnet Roads v2.0.0

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by TB_Langley, Dec 18, 2017.

  1. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17


    Magnet Roads v3.0.1 is here...
    For those who've not heard of Magnet Roads:

    The quick and easy way to quickly create spline based road geometry in the editor; making use of a simple to use magnet-inspired interface to snap roads together. Use intersection pieces to create larger interconnected road networks, and use inbuilt methods to extrapolate data from the Magnet Roads to meet your own ends.

    Magnet Roads is a package designed to easily and rapidly produce interconnected, high-quality roadways in Unity. Making use of a unique magnet-like polarity system to attach different roads and intersections together, Magnet Roads combines visual readability with ease-of-use to give you a road generation solution unlike any other available.

    TL;DR - Roads with Magnetized ends for simple snapping goodness.

    Here are some of the pre-existing features:








    2.0.0 FEATURES


    Customisable peripheral road geometry like fences and central reservations!


    Roads can now snap to the contours of the terrain.


    3.0.0 FEATURES




    The full changelog:
    ==============================================
    Magnet Roads v3.0.0 - Changelist
    ==============================================
    Copyright - Torchbearer Interactive Ltd - 2017
    ----------------------------------------------
    + Added Dynamic intersections with changeable connection amount
    + Added Decal system for Magnet roads
    + Added Snap to collider feature to Magnet roads
    + Can now Snap points of the same type to each other
    + Added SetRoadControlPointPosition method to Magnet road
    + Added two-way intersections
    + Added sidewalks to intersections
    ~ Updated to Unity 2018
    ~ Updated handle colours to make them more distinguishable
    ~ Updated TBUnityLib to v1.6.0 (addition of plane generation for dynamic intersections)
    ~ Updated Gizmos handles (removed unused functionality)
    ~ Fixed bug where clear mesh would sometimes throw a null reference
    ~ Fixed bug where gizmos were not clickable

    ===========
    Patch 3.0.1
    ===========
    ~ Fixed issue with default texture assignment overriding custom textures
    ~ Stopped crashes on build

    Asset Store Link

    Demo Link

    Always keen for feedback and comments! If you want to report an issue/bug please email us:
    contact@tbinteractive.co.uk

    Hope you enjoy it!​
     
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2019
    DrOcto likes this.
  2. Discord

    Discord

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Posts:
    1,008
    I don't suppose this is compatible with Unity 5.6 by chance? The asset store lists it as 2017.1.1 or higher, but I figured I'd double check.
     
  3. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Afraid it's only updated to Unity 2017 at the moment. But I can't imagine it would be a big job to support it with a couple of tweaks to the codebase.
     
  4. Marcos-Elias

    Marcos-Elias

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Posts:
    159
    After that it generates the road, can we easily save the mesh on the scene and completely remove the script? I had many problems with other road tools in the past, so I'm looking for this feature.

    By watching the videos it seems to be perfect for what I need, a fast tool to make my prototypes.
     
  5. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Hi, Marcos-Elias

    Yes, I can confirm that this is possible. If you want the game object without the scripts just follows these steps:
    • Generate the road mesh (I'd suggest ticking the 'Show Child Objects' checkbox)
    • Remove all attached scripts (usually MagnetRoad & BezierSpline)
    • Delete the SnapPoint child objects
    • And there you go! You now have the geometry of the magnet road without the scripts.
    Note: Magnet Roads generates multiple meshes in child game objects. The final output of this method will be a game object with multiple children. E.g:



    I hope this is the functionality you were after!
     
    Marcos-Elias likes this.
  6. Marcos-Elias

    Marcos-Elias

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Posts:
    159
    Nice, exactly what I wanted! With some other tools the mesh is lost when I did this. I'll try it, I bought your script today. Thanks!
     
  7. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Great stuff! Happy to help.
     
  8. coder76_unity

    coder76_unity

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    I'm making endless runner games.
    When the end of the road approaches, I will connect the new road to make the world.
    But what do I do? The AttachMagnetRoad() function was not what I was thinking.
    I would appreciate it if you could give me an easy way to do it.
    Or AttachMagnetRoad (bool atPositive, MagnetRoad newRoad)
    Could you make an next update?
     
  9. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Great idea! Hadn't considered this as a feature, but it's definitely going into the next feature update.

    I'll add it to my work backlog! :)
     
  10. Greg-Bassett

    Greg-Bassett

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Posts:
    628
    Hi, great looking asset for road and track creation.

    I have just been reading the documentation, and I was wondering if its possible to set start and end points for roadside fences? from the documentation it look like when you add a roadside fence, it adds it to all of the road, not just certain sections.

    Hope that makes sense...
     
  11. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Hi, Greg

    As it stands you can only create fences that line the entirety of the road. That being said, you can remove individual parts of the fence in-editor once generated. Sounds like a great idea for a future feature though!

    Hope this helps.
     
    Greg-Bassett likes this.
  12. Greg-Bassett

    Greg-Bassett

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Posts:
    628
    Thanks for reply, I think I will grab a copy and have a play, btw the runtime tools look great!
     
  13. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    No worries, glad you like the look of it! If you find any bugs or just want to ask a question feel free to email me directly!

    Hope you enjoy it.
     
  14. Dliix66

    Dliix66

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    Hi,

    This tool looks amazing, any updates on the endless mode feature ?

    Thanks!
     
  15. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Afraid the next update is still firmly in the works. Will be spending a lot more time on it soon though!
     
  16. Emile97

    Emile97

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Posts:
    105
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2018
  17. Emile97

    Emile97

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Posts:
    105
    Hum i guess that to complete your point, using an asset like mesh baker to bake the mesh will also increase performances
     
  18. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
  19. Emile97

    Emile97

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Posts:
    105
    Will you include it into your next update???
     
  20. Emile97

    Emile97

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Posts:
    105
    Today I tried to make a spring kind of road(this kind of spring) . Do you have a way to smooth the mesh so that when the car reach a turning point (corner of the spring) it doesn't start behaving as if there were holes and bump on the ground?(jumping around and shaking)
     

    Attached Files:

  21. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Hi, Emile

    I'm guessing you're using the Road Follower/Demo Racer script that ships with the demo?

    Unfortunately, it's only a rudimentary demonstration script with no interpolation and I wouldn't recommend that you use the script on a production game - at this time it's only good for getting a visual on where the road waypoints are for each lane.

    I'd recommend that you implement your own car script - feel free to use the demo script as a starting point though!

    All the best
    Jon
     
  22. Emile97

    Emile97

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Posts:
    105
    No no I'm using my own car physics script.
    I will be making a video and show you how it does perform
     
  23. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Alrighty then, will take a look-see when you upload; a code snippet might be great as well (as long as you don't mind).

    All the best
    Jon
     
  24. Emile97

    Emile97

    Joined:
    May 28, 2017
    Posts:
    105
    OK ok I can send you the script of the car physics on DM.. I'll do everything tomorrow and show it to you
     
  25. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Sounds good. Will give it a lookover.
     
  26. 3CHO12

    3CHO12

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Posts:
    18
    Hi, I want to make a 4 lane road like this pic, with dotted lines....will this keep my spacing / tiling using my own texture instead of the provided default texture?

    Also with the new border feature can I control size and texture of sidewalks? For example can it be made large enough to place building models or only footpath width?

    Thanks!
     
  27. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Hi, 3CHO12

    Yes and yes. Custom textures should work fine & tile without seams.

    The sidewalks can be as wide as you want them to be.

    upload_2019-1-24_13-43-37.png

    Hope this helps!

    All the best
    Jon
     
    3CHO12 likes this.
  28. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Updated the OP with the latest changelogs & screenshots.
     
  29. FloBeber

    FloBeber

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2015
    Posts:
    166
    Hi, is it possible to split a road in two in a Y shape (like on the image attached).
    I'm considering buying but I need to make sure of that before. Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

    • Y.jpg
      Y.jpg
      File size:
      27.8 KB
      Views:
      640
  30. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Afraid it's able to do that at this stage - but it's a feature that's been requested a few times now, so it's definitely on the target feature list. :)

    Jon
     
  31. CoughE

    CoughE

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Posts:
    39
    Hi there, been unable to get the intersections to work on 2018.3, besides using the realtime demo.

    Also is there a way to edit roads without having to first click on an end point and then click and drag again? Very tedious.

    Thanks!
     
  32. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Do you have any more information on the intersections; what settings you've got selected and what exactly were you trying to do when it wasn't working? I haven't been able to break them in my initial tests so far.

    As for the second point, yes - the only way to edit roads is one node at a time as it stands.

    I hope this helps, and I look forward to hearing back from you!

    All the best
    Jon
     
  33. CoughE

    CoughE

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Posts:
    39
    Sorry for late reply, never got a notification for response for some reason. Here is a gif I made of trying to connect some roads to an intersection in the demo scene. As you can see there is no snapping or connecting of any sort.

    https://gyazo.com/b40bfc8db2e2c4f63701005d359c4a63
     
  34. TB_Langley

    TB_Langley

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Have you tried making new roads and an intersection in a new scene and testing it there? I'll take a look at the demo scene again and see if there's anything wrong with the setup.
     
  35. CoughE

    CoughE

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Posts:
    39
    Yeah that's why I went to the demo scene to see if I was setting it up wrong or something. I somehow got one to connect once but couldn't reproduce it.
     
  36. Stolzenberg

    Stolzenberg

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    So is the asset usable or not? The last review said its not usable on newer unity versions.
     
  37. ArshakKroyan

    ArshakKroyan

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2015
    Posts:
    32
    I can not find the asset. Is it removed from store?
     
  38. CoughE

    CoughE

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Posts:
    39
    Yes it has been removed from the store.