Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Landscape Auto Material terrain&foliage toolset

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by VEA_Games, Jun 2, 2016.

  1. larsbertram1

    larsbertram1

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    5,662
    have you ever opened the profiler and looked how much cpu is needed to generate the grass?
    last time i did in the demo scene it was 29ms. so if you do not do a simple forst but a game this is a no go.
     
    S4G4N likes this.
  2. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    Reduce foliage settings values (especially frame budget )to optimize runtime foliage system:
    default in my 4790K cpu was 20 ms
    now 1 ms
    Also thank you for your mention. Now my scene has 60+ fps without lag hahaha
    Untitled.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2017
  3. larsbertram1

    larsbertram1

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    5,662
    that leads to a lot of popping... and spikes due to gc.
     
  4. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    What is your CPU model ?
    In my PC everything is OK with 5 frame budget

    Also all grass rendering solutions has same problem. But this one is a lot better and has awesome quality
     
  5. larsbertram1

    larsbertram1

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Posts:
    5,662
    core i7, 2.5ghz.
     
  6. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    1-5 ms in my 4790k cpu in high detail and 1-5 frame budget
     
  7. MarkusGod

    MarkusGod

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    164
    Also you can disable runtime grass generation and create everything in editor and set them static.
    So grass now takes 0ms on my i5-4200U :), but this is more memory/cpu tradeoff.
     
    LightingBox2 likes this.
  8. Kats4

    Kats4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    187
    Thanks for the tutorial, took some questions I had about Asset.

    Does anyone even tell me, if I create a terrain with MapMagic or Gaia, without textures, will I be able to integrate with LAM? I'm interested in Asset, but I need this to work. If it does not work it will not be interesting, since the topology generation of the MapMagic terrain for example is very good, and I already have land of 10,000X10,000 ready.
    Sorry about my English. :p
     
  9. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    Send me your generated height map file to test it for you
     
    Kats4 likes this.
  10. Kats4

    Kats4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    187
    Of course, I'll export the project and send it. I'll try to do that in 30 minutes.
    Thanks for the quick reply friend. :)
     
  11. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    I get a height map file from mag magic
    It works correctly

    I will send you few screenshots now
     
    Kats4 likes this.
  12. Kats4

    Kats4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    187
    Cool, I'm very grateful.
     
  13. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
  14. Kats4

    Kats4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    187
    2017-08-13.png

    My biggest question is whether LAM is able to work with a cropped map. How is it in my 3x4 print. If you look at the hierarchy tab, you will see that there are several maps.
     
  15. Kats4

    Kats4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    187
  16. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    LAM is just an replacement for unity terrain component. So you can use only Height map from other terrain generators. 1. Go to terrain settings
    2. Export height map
    3. Import height map file to LAM terrain and generate foliage in few minutes
     
    Kats4 likes this.
  17. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    Wait for test
     
  18. Kats4

    Kats4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    187
    The "Export RAW" is only for 1 terrain, and in the case they are 3x4. I believe that in LAM I can only import 1, right? How can I get my full land with the 12 shares in LAM? o_O
     
  19. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    3*1024 LAM terrain - 3*1024 MapMagic terrain
    Untitled.jpg
     
    Kats4 likes this.
  20. Kats4

    Kats4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    187
    Wow, really very good. Thanks a lot for the help. This asset will help me a lot, and save a lot of time. I also want to test your active "Outdoor Lighting Box", it looks very good. Thanks for the help, I will post here the prints of my progress.
     
    LightingBox2 likes this.
  21. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    There are some(very small) holes between tessellated layers. You can paint grass layer (without high tessellation amount) into theses areas to fix the issue:
    3.jpg
     
    Kats4 likes this.
  22. guidoponzini

    guidoponzini

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Posts:
    55
    I'm really interested in buying this asset, just a couple of questions to the users:

    1) It's planned to be supported? As from reviews and forum I saw mixed experiences. The price is quite important, so I would like to know the plans of the developer

    2) How many textures support with tessellation?

    3) It's possible, of course, to use other textures for grass (as turboscalpeur, for example)?

    4) It features snow and wetness? It has some included textures?
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2017
  23. MarkusGod

    MarkusGod

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    164
    1) nobody knows, developer quite rare being here so better email him.
    2) all (but max texture count is 6)
    3) any prefab, built in grass, support everything
    4) Nope, no snow and etc. Everything is in the demo is included.
     
    guidoponzini likes this.
  24. guidoponzini

    guidoponzini

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Posts:
    55
    So you suggest to buy this asset? It's good as it looks?
     
  25. MarkusGod

    MarkusGod

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    164
    I really like how it works, needs some fixes that aliyeredon2 posted here, and it may be complex at the start to understand how it works, but it really powerful and complex tool.
     
  26. Kats4

    Kats4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    187
    I bought it, and I'm relying on DEV (@VEAGamesTeam) so that this asset does not die. Because it is an excellent resource and has a lot of potential.
    I'm doing the tests with MapMagic. Thank you for your help @aliyeredon2
     
  27. Kats4

    Kats4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    187
    When importing the package in version 5.6.2p3 I get this error. Can someone help me?

    Assets/Plugins/LandscapeAutoMaterial/Standard Assets/Editor/ImageEffects/CreaseShadingEditor.cs(8,26): error CS0246: The type or namespace name `CreaseShading' could not be found. Are you missing an assembly reference?
     
  28. MarkusGod

    MarkusGod

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    164
    Import legacy image effects and replace that asset.
     
  29. coverpage

    coverpage

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Posts:
    385
    Delete imageffects and reimport it again?
     
  30. coverpage

    coverpage

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Posts:
    385
    Can I ask for those who purchased, what are the good and bad of setting up LAM thus far.
     
  31. Kats4

    Kats4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    187
    I tried both but it did not work. :(
     
  32. MarkusGod

    MarkusGod

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    164
    Anyway it is not a problem, its just a image effect for camera in test scene.
     
    Kats4 likes this.
  33. Kats4

    Kats4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    187
    Yes, I'll just remove it, since it does not interfere with work. Thank you. :)
     
  34. MarkusGod

    MarkusGod

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    164
    It doing magick when it running, but i not very like it grass/foolige managment.

    It takes a lot time to setup terrain. I still can't get running texture combiner, so i doing it manualy in photoshop.

    For tessalation they storing height info in alpha channel, and smothnes metal and specularyty in another R,G,B texture.
     
    coverpage likes this.
  35. coverpage

    coverpage

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2016
    Posts:
    385
    Thanks for sharing. They have channel packer asset on asset store https://www.assetstore.unity3d.com/en/#!/content/84299 but maybe better to wait for @VEAGamesTeam dev to fix this,
     
    MarkusGod likes this.
  36. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    1. It was completed already. Maybe some new features will be added in the future. Developers are active as he said in the last month.

    2. 6 Layer

    3. Yes. Everything is based on unity terrain system + own foliage system. you can combine them

    4. You can use your own snow or wetness texture with smoothness and tessellation. download textures from : www.textures.com
    Make seamless textures using GIMP (Filter->Map->Make Seamless)







     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2017
    Kats4 likes this.
  37. Kats4

    Kats4

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    187
    @aliyeredon2 Thank you for your tutorials. Do you intend to make others?
     
  38. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    Already recorded
    Wait for edit and upload
     
    Kats4 likes this.
  39. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    New tutorials about getting start with LAM and Lighting Box will be available today :

    ScreenShotScreenShot2.jpg ScreenShotScreenShot4.jpg ScreenShotScreenShot5.jpg ScreenShotScreenShot9.jpg ScreenShotScreenShot11.jpg
     
    Kats4 and coverpage like this.
  40. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    Untitled.jpg
    Untitled.jpg
    Untitled.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2017
    Kats4 likes this.
  41. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
  42. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
  43. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
  44. nomax5

    nomax5

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Posts:
    351
    Thanks aliyeredon2 for the videos, I’ve not bought this asset but I did buy Lighing Box which is Fantastic and IMHO you really do know what you’re talking about which adds a lot of weight to your comments about LAM

    But this is an expensive asset and like many other people here I’ve been stung before. The Unity asset store is a minefield at the moment:
    There are many Top Rated assets which got their ratings years ago and are either unsuported or even incompatible with current versions of unity.
    There are many 3D models that have been earning money for 5 – 6 years unchanged – they’ve not even been updated to PBR.
    not to mention DEPRICATED my #bin folder grows by the day.
    Example: Last week an asset I own shot up in price from £20 to £80 I looked to see if it had been updated and it hadn’t which I thought was odd.
    This week it has been DEPRICATED, They wacked the price up hoping some suckers would buy it before it goes.

    That’s what we have to deal with !!
    So people are sceptical

    I want this Asset to be better I’ve been looking for a good terrain solution for years (I own all the others FFS) I want to buy it.

    The only way I see this Asset getting a foot hold in this category is a MASSIVE Sale if it is as good as you say the community will make sure it rises to the top!

    Until then we don’t know and I’m not willing to spend that much money finding out.

    Cheers

    Roy
     
    StevenPicard likes this.
  45. LightingBox2

    LightingBox2

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2015
    Posts:
    2,817
    Yes, the author must answer the questions
    He is currently responding to email only

    I'm sure about its quality.Developers are very professional
     
  46. Aress28

    Aress28

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Posts:
    83
    is this asset still in dev or its just like before cash in as much as u can and go away?
     
  47. MarkusGod

    MarkusGod

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    164
    The asset is complete, and they updating it for new version compatibility. And the author is mostly active through Email, so you better send them your questions directly rather than waiting for the answer on the forum.
     
  48. VEA_Games

    VEA_Games

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2016
    Posts:
    53
    Hi guys! Sure, we are improving LAM Unity. Recently we have released a big update of package:

    Sorry for delays in Unity forum, it is better to send direct mails at info@veagames.com.

    NEW VERSION FEATURES:
    - Improved in-game performance
    - WYSIWYG Editor
    - Improved auto repaint editor system
    - Editor performance improved (more than 3x faster!)
    - Improved Transmission foliage materials
    - Updated post process configuration and demo-scene
    - Smooth LOD Transition for Leave Tree shader
    - Unity 2017 compatibility

    1.jpg 2.jpg 3.jpg 4.jpg
     
  49. robymv

    robymv

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2013
    Posts:
    71
    Hi, I can try a demo scene for Windows? The video is interesting but i'd like to try a demo and view the framerate to compare it to the system I'm currently using.
     
  50. Aress28

    Aress28

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2015
    Posts:
    83
    glad to hear.is there any date for 2.0?
     
unityunity