Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.2 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Imposter System OPTIMIZATION

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by MUGIK, Aug 18, 2016.

?

Are you interested in this project?

  1. Yes.

    159 vote(s)
    92.4%
  2. Maybe.

    11 vote(s)
    6.4%
  3. No.

    2 vote(s)
    1.2%
  1. hoyoyo80

    hoyoyo80

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    Hi, thanks for the suggestion. Its getting much better on Snapdragon 430. All the trees 400k tris and with imposters in down to 40k run on SD430. On pc it run no problems and also on my Mate 20X with Kirin 980.
     
    MUGIK likes this.
  2. hoyoyo80

    hoyoyo80

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    Hi, i put my imposter on lod1 but i dont see any lightmap for this? Is this how unity work? or im missing something? Thanks
     
  3. MUGIK

    MUGIK

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Posts:
    209
    Hi. In unity 2018.3.14 with settings below lightmaps work correctly in imposter mode.
    upload_2019-10-11_11-48-18.png

    May I know your unity version, lightmap settings and imposter setup?

    Are you sure you using the renderer with a lightmap for imposter creation?
     
  4. MUGIK

    MUGIK

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Posts:
    209
    JBR-games and AthrunVLokiz like this.
  5. hoyoyo80

    hoyoyo80

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    Thanks for the asset:) but i just bought the system does that mean the one i bought will be deprecated?o_O
     
  6. MUGIK

    MUGIK

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Posts:
    209
    Not for now.
    New version depends on preview packages such as Jobs and unity 2019.3.
    Current system might become deprecated only next year.
     
  7. gonglin

    gonglin

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Posts:
    5
    Does this asset support WebGL platform? thanks!
     
  8. MUGIK

    MUGIK

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Posts:
    209
    Yes, it work everywhere.
    The only requirement is the device(where app will run) must support RenderTexures. Nowadays almost every device do that.
     
    JBR-games likes this.
  9. Erathor

    Erathor

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Posts:
    16
    Glad this has still Unity 5 support. I may give this a try :)
     
    JBR-games likes this.
  10. Zeven001

    Zeven001

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    Does this asset support 2 materials on Meshrenderer and still bake correctly?
     
  11. MUGIK

    MUGIK

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Posts:
    209
    Yes
     
  12. MUGIK

    MUGIK

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Posts:
    209
    Hi everyone!
    What a great day!

    Finally, I have made everything I want for the beta version, including handy editors and tools.

    If you are interested in trying out the new Impostors 2019 beta package, then let me know in private message or contact me at doterpoter@gmail.com.

    Manual: https://docs.google.com/document/d/1bDfeWAWtNxyVPek8Q3yeY5bKLGliWE3Qkf6T3WN-asw/edit?usp=sharing

    [WIP] Forum thread for new Impostors 2019 package:
    https://forum.unity.com/threads/wip-impostors-2019-optimization.759110/

     
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2019
    JBR-games likes this.
  13. JBR-games

    JBR-games

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Posts:
    644
    is there anyway to completely stop updating certain imposters, including look at.. while still rendering the imposter ? or atleast some areas to look inside the code to do so.
    thank you
     
  14. MUGIK

    MUGIK

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Posts:
    209
    Hi. There is no built-in functionality for this but you can look at NeedUpdate() method in ImposterController.cs and add this feature.
     
    JBR-games likes this.
  15. millerlyte87

    millerlyte87

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Will this work with LWRP and URP? I see in the notes it says it won't work with HDRP, but curious about LWRP.
     
  16. MUGIK

    MUGIK

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Posts:
    209
    Not for now. URP has a lot of API and Pipeline changes and the Imposter System needs to adapt to them.
     
  17. milox777

    milox777

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Posts:
    119
    When will there be URP/LWRP version? There's not a single imposter system that works with URP ;(
     
    dozhwal, Abended and JoeStrout like this.
  18. JuJuCoder

    JuJuCoder

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Posts:
    30
    Can you handle animated objects like Zombies?
     
  19. MUGIK

    MUGIK

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Posts:
    209
    It's quite a difficult question. Last time I tried to use LWRP (not URP, it was like a year ago) it had critical limitations that prevent implementing Imposter System to work with LWRP/URP. But with new stackable cameras it might work.
    Can't promise anything.
     
    dozhwal likes this.
  20. MUGIK

    MUGIK

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Posts:
    209
    Imposter System not intended for use with animated objects. It works the best with static not moving objects.
     
  21. Redrag

    Redrag

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2014
    Posts:
    150
    I'm not sure of the latest on Unity terrain, but if you don't support it I think you are missing out. Even if the terrain imposter is cached and does not have vegetation (or the vegatation is not exactly the same as the normal runtime vegetation). I guess Unity terrain is quite well optimised for distance already but it would be good to get rid of it complety when far away...
     
  22. p_hergott

    p_hergott

    Joined:
    May 7, 2018
    Posts:
    407
    Unity terrain is gpu instanced.....
     
  23. JBR-games

    JBR-games

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Posts:
    644
    could always convert the terrain to a mesh and use that as a LOD level.
     
  24. TimBurnstone

    TimBurnstone

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Trying to get your impostor system to play nice with my trees, spent all afternoon working on this. Really doesn't want to include the leaves in the billboard. What could I have done wrong?
     

    Attached Files:

  25. MUGIK

    MUGIK

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Posts:
    209
    Hi!
    This is a known issue. Leaves are using a shader that doesn't write to ZBuffer. Most likely it is a transparent shader. Could you possibly change the material for leaves? If so, then try to set any Cutout shader to the leaves' material. This should help.
    Let me know if it works for you.
     
    JBR-games likes this.
  26. TimBurnstone

    TimBurnstone

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks for the response. Ended up just rewriting my foliage shader to use alpha clipping rather than testing. Had to write a custom shadow caster pass as well, but it was worth it to get everything working with your impostor billboards. Which is something I couldn't get to work at all with Amplify's Impostors.

    I couldn't be happier with the purchase. Thank you so much for making LOD modelling a thing of the past.
     
    MUGIK and JBR-games like this.
  27. MUGIK

    MUGIK

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2015
    Posts:
    209
    Sorry for such a question... But may I know what exactly didn't work with Amplify's Impostors?
     
unityunity