Search Unity

  1. We would like to hear your feedback about Unity and our products. Click here for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] - Horror FPS KIT 1.5

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by ThunderWire, Nov 29, 2017.

  1. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    How to assign what is water? So he can swim?
     
  2. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    @ThunderWire I would appreciate some tutorial videos.

    * adding weapon + arms
    * adding item
    * how to handle what and where item operates
    * swimming
    * how do I crouch??
    * how to get the game saved in build and moves the save file outside of the game folder like to My documents, when uploading to steam the save game cant be in game folder..

    please support!

    Thanks, great asset overall
     
  3. ScourgeGames

    ScourgeGames

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    198
    Yeah, this bug is happening a lot in the update.
     
  4. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    yes, I see the bug now too if I go close a rock or over a rock edge or any mesh without jumping... and he starts jump... @ThunderWire
     
  5. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    Anyone know why I cant move in build?
     
  6. ScourgeGames

    ScourgeGames

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    198
    Is the config file missing? Maybe the keys aren't bound. Other than that, I don't know why it wouldn't work for you.
     
  7. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    The config file shouldnt be missing, dont know why, because it works in editor...
     
  8. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    the game config is there in the build data folder.

    EDIT: Actually its not ..
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2018
  9. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    USING CONFIG IN BUILDED GAME ! THIS IS IMPORTANT PART
    WHEN YOU BUILD GAME THE CREATED CONFIG WITH INPUT DOES NOT COME TO BUILDED GAME LOCATION! YOU MUST COPY DATA FOLDER TO GAME BUILD LOCATION "\YOURGAME_DATA\"
    OR
    WHEN YOU START GAME AND CONFIG DOES NOT EXIST IN THE DATA FOLDER THE InputController.cs SCRIPT AUTOMATICALLY CREATE CONFIG FILE SO YOU DOESN'T NEED TO COPY FROM PROJECT.

    This is S*** @ThunderWire , okay I build game.. and must copy... Really? How would my customers be able to do that, what? ... "WHEN YOU START GAME AND CONFIG DOES NOT EXIST IN THE DATA FOLDER THE InputController.cs SCRIPT AUTOMATICALLY CREATE CONFIG FILE SO YOU DOESN'T NEED TO COPY FROM PROJECT." And that part works, it creates yes... BUT THE CONFIG FILE IS EMPTY:.. It just creates file without info.. Player dont move...
     
  10. ScourgeGames

    ScourgeGames

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    198
    Your customers don't need to do that. You put it in the build folder before you release. The game config file is just a text file that the program reads when it starts up to do the default settings.


    Edit: Also remember that your game needs to start with the MainMenu scene, or you will probably have issues. Realize that this kit is not a complete game. It is a kit to build a game, so you'll need to experiment and extend things to your needs. If you expect everything to work perfectly and for all of the hard parts to be done for you, you are missing the best part of creating a game and you will be disappointed.
     
    CupitorImpossibilium likes this.
  11. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    yea the config files contains the input and graphics settings...And yes I got it to work both ways now, with copy it, and with the inputcontroller.cs.. But with the script way I have to restart the game, didnt use the mainmenu with my test build, guess thats why... Yes ofc I know, but I can use MY mainmenu wich I created with the setup tool in an empty scene?

    Yes ofcourse its not a complete game, I have really intergrated my own stuff here like boat driving and wood chopping..etc.. different weapons.. But things like saving and that kinda stuff really is a challenge, and I was in panic yesterday when it didnt work (Didnt know it wouldnt) cuz I was on my way to a company to show my game..
     
  12. ScourgeGames

    ScourgeGames

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    198
    @ThunderWire I'd really like to use the new release of this kit (1.42), but there are just too many bugs compared to 1.41. I love the new features, but it would be nice if you could take some time to release a patch. The biggest bug right now is that the character controller gets stuck in an infinite jump cycle when getting close to an edge. I haven't tracked down issue in the code, but it's really easy to reproduce.
     
    CupitorImpossibilium likes this.
  13. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    Yea the jump bug is the worst.. My guess that it has something to do with the CC settings...? I havent played around much because I made a boat and controlller to work with thi asset and so bow it does so im gonna find that bug today and let you know.
     
  14. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    Hello! do anyone else have the issue that you cant see the glock18 in game view but in scene view? I pick it up, see it in inventory, can shoot.. but dont see arms and weapon...

    EDIT: Nvm, I had Aquas to ignore weapon and interact.. ooops
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2018
  15. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    If anyone is interested in how to get a meele weapon to work, and in inventory pick up too, like this post :)
     
  16. JC_LEON

    JC_LEON

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    420
    i'm really interest to this feature..
     
    mattis89 likes this.
  17. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    @ThunderWire
    cool! Im fixing some draw animation bug atm , I get back to you .
     
  18. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    So, my idea works but I have to make custom weapon controller script, I have to strip down the original so, takes some days,
     
  19. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    Hey guys! So about my meele weapon intergration, its half way done. You have it now as item and it draws and holster and shows up in the inventory with pick up object / slash drop. I still need to figure out how to handle animations (it wont play the given idle just some other idle and I dont know where it comes from) and damage , attack animations.. But if you want the script PM me!
     
  20. ThunderWire

    ThunderWire

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    Hello, sorry for my inactivity but I've been busy with school but don't worry I already started with fixing bugs and adding new features to a HFPS KIT. If you have some questions feel free and ask me.
     
  21. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    Hello!

    cool! Please look into the jumping bug.. And would it possible to trigger the swimming and bouyancy to only have the collider and not the water that comes with it because I use Aquas? What are the new features? Will the meele be covered or should I finish it and send it to you? I know schools busy now..
     
  22. paulojsam

    paulojsam

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2012
    Posts:
    475
    please integrate this with realistic fps asset
     
  23. JC_LEON

    JC_LEON

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    420
    this is really impossible since they are two complete different system and work logic...
     
    mattis89 likes this.
  24. ScourgeGames

    ScourgeGames

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    198
    I don't think it's impossible, but it would be a lot of work and not really worth it. The same goes for UFPS or any other FPS controller.

    A person could, however, utilize many of the scripts in this kit with other FPS controllers.
     
    mattis89 likes this.
  25. JC_LEON

    JC_LEON

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Posts:
    420
    EXACTLY,...it ìs what i'm doing ..I created my own fps framework system with inventory and baisc crafting,with ranged weapons fire weapons ,melee, enemies, vehicles, water and underwater system with oxygen, survival system with thirst, hunger, cold ect, and I'm adding interaction system(door/key system, flashlight/battery system ect) from HFPS Kit..
     
  26. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    I have a meele script ready for you tomorrow... Still trying to blend the end of the attack together with idle... and sound trigger and damage options are not there.
     
  27. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    Think Im gonna change everything to mechanim
     
  28. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    Hello guys! As promised.. Here is the meele weapon script.. NO damage function or sound... I recommend animation event for both.
     

    Attached Files:

  29. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    Please report bugs or improvement
     
  30. ScourgeGames

    ScourgeGames

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    198
    Thanks for looking into some bug fixes. I've been utilizing the 1.41 version because I had made a whole bunch of changes that I didn't want to roll into 1.42 yet and I the bugs were a bit much for me to troubleshoot. If you need someone to run through a test before you re-submit to the asset store, let me know. I'm happy to do some testing.
     
  31. ScourgeGames

    ScourgeGames

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    198
    I'll take a look at it for you and see how it works. I have a melee function that I've built and maybe I can contribute to this so we get something comprehensive. Mine has damage and sound and a few other things, but I'm not sure how well it works with the latest version of the kit. I've made a lot of changes to the controller, so I'm guessing it will take a bit of work.
     
    mattis89 likes this.
  32. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    thans alot :)
     
  33. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    Here is a bit more improved script .. How do I get the Parent where attacj script is communicate with the collider on my weapon wich is a bit further down the same hierachy? .. OnTriggerEnter is what I want to use...
     

    Attached Files:

  34. ScourgeGames

    ScourgeGames

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    198

    You can use this method: https://docs.unity3d.com/ScriptReference/GameObject.GetComponentsInParent.html

    You can also create a public property on your GameObject and just drag the parent as a variable that's loaded at design time.
     
    mattis89 likes this.
  35. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
  36. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    So tommorow I will have a semi complete script for wood chopping.. Treehealth script and damage dealing.. Timed cutrate and sounds...PM if interested :)
     
  37. dizzymediainc

    dizzymediainc

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Posts:
    100
    Seems to be some bugs with the zombie ai,
    - continuous attacking through a wall, seeing player behind an object (kind of the same bug)
    - ai tries to move to waypoint even if a wall is blocking it's path and there is no navigation bath between the two waypoints (so baked navigation shows the wall separates the navigation between the rooms)

    Also getting a bug with the gun, if i die and then find it again, try to pick it up, it throws an array error. This happens with a few items.

    Big question is, can we add a listening feature to this? So for instance the AI can hear objects drop around the house and then move to that room or location?
     
  38. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    yea , yoi can do anything you want.
     
  39. CupitorImpossibilium

    CupitorImpossibilium

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Posts:
    287
    @ThunderWire is there any news on the update/patch?
    Thanks!
     
  40. RoyS

    RoyS

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2009
    Posts:
    650
    The manual shows how to do everything except how to change scenes/levels. I set up the MainMenu and GameScene Setup (pages 5-6). So where do I have the MainMenu Load point to my first scene/level?
     
  41. dizzymediainc

    dizzymediainc

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Posts:
    100
    I've been working on making some changes to the AI code and including some new features, currently I am adding a barricade feature that has the AI detect if a door is it's in way while chasing the player or reacting to a sound, and if so, it knocks down the door. What I can't seem to figure out is how the AI script is launching OnDamage for the player (i.e public void AttackPlayer() ). It seems to only be listed once and i can't find it linked in any other scripts.

    Can you point me in the right direction? I'd like to integrate the barricade attack function but need to know where the AttackPlayer call is originating from.
     
  42. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    look how they are made in the demo.. I did.. I have now my custom scenes.
     
    RoyS likes this.
  43. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    The attackplayer call is most likely originated within the AI´s script somewhere in the lines about player detection
     
  44. dizzymediainc

    dizzymediainc

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Posts:
    100
    It's not, as i said, it's listed once but the actual call isn't listed anywhere else.
     
  45. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,046
    ThunderWire likes this.
  46. cloverme

    cloverme

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Posts:
    21
    Thanks for continuing to update the kit, keep up the good work!

    I have a potential fix, after spending some time debugging it because I had the same issue, it appears to be a runaway race condition around the sliding mechanic in the first person controller. Once the character starts to "slide" the value is set to true and then never is set to false again and the character movement is "stuck" with a hop.

    Edit PlayerController.cs, search for "moveDirection *= slideSpeed, after that line enter in "sliding = false;".

    It fixed the issue for me, but another way to fix it is just to set the condition so that sliding is always false. It appears that maybe this was set to detect sliding vs falling.
     
  47. ScourgeGames

    ScourgeGames

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2017
    Posts:
    198
    Thanks for sussing this out and sharing.
     
  48. ThunderWire

    ThunderWire

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    Hello, I'm currently uploaded and submitted new version for approval, so new version will be available soon! You can read notes to the new version at our website: https://www.twgamesdev.com/
     
    ScourgeGames and mattis89 like this.
  49. ThunderWire

    ThunderWire

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    Thanks a lot for sharing a potential fix for a jumping bug with us, we have included this fix in upcoming update.
     
    mattis89 likes this.
  50. Migueljb

    Migueljb

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    Posts:
    412
    Does this have any controls for mobile VR or not? Be cool to walk around with the candle in the oculus go and explore stuff.