Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. We’re making changes to the Unity Runtime Fee pricing policy that we announced on September 12th. Access our latest thread for more information!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Highroad Engine - Arcade Racing solution

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by reuno, Jan 19, 2017.

  1. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @AngelBeatsZzz > I guess it depends on what you mean by these.
    There's no dashboard I can think of, but there is indeed acceleration, thankfully :)
     
    AngelBeatsZzz likes this.
  2. AngelBeatsZzz

    AngelBeatsZzz

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Posts:
    239
    OK, thanks for reply.
     
  3. shawnatkidzpace

    shawnatkidzpace

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    I am interested in making a 4 player top down racer for android using this asset. Would it be a lot of work to convert the template?
     
  4. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @shawnatkidzpace > It's not a template, it's an engine, it's a collection of tools and helpers to streamline racing games creation. And it already supports 4 players (and more), so there isn't much to convert. As for how much work that'd be, I guess that depends on exactly what you want to do.
     
  5. gamezuv

    gamezuv

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Posts:
    82
    Hi I am very interested in using multiplayer features of your asset. I was wondering if it is possible to replace the cars in your highroad engine with edy's vehicle prefabs/physics for photon multiplayer in highroad engine?
     
  6. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @gamezuv > I don't know this asset. Probably doable, but that'll imply a lot of refactoring. It'd likely be faster to rebuild something from scratch.
     
  7. gamezuv

    gamezuv

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Posts:
    82
    Thanks for replying. To simplify the question...can I replace the cars and physics with my own to use with the photon racing game scene?
     
  8. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @gamezuv > The answer is the same :)
    The multiplayer implementation is closely tied to the controller, like in any network implementation.
    So sure, you could technically replace the controller and rewrite everything else, but it'd be simply faster to start from scratch in my opinion.
     
  9. gamezuv

    gamezuv

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Posts:
    82
    Ok cool. Problem is, I am using a racing game kit which does not have multiplayer and the game is in final dev stage
     
  10. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @gamezuv > In my experience network takes 60-80% of the total dev time. I don't know of any shortcut to that.
     
  11. AngelBeatsZzz

    AngelBeatsZzz

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Posts:
    239
    Hi, I got a lot of errors after importing "Highroad Engine" into 2019.1.0f2. Will you support 2019.1?
     
  12. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @AngelBeatsZzz > Right now it's not supported, but it's planned, yes :)
     
    AngelBeatsZzz likes this.
  13. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    To anyone who may have errors with 2019.x and Highroad, it looks like simply going to the project settings and changing the .NET version to 4.x solves the problem.
     
    AngelBeatsZzz likes this.
  14. AngelBeatsZzz

    AngelBeatsZzz

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Posts:
    239
    It doesn't work, there are 76 errors, most of which are related to the network.
     
  15. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @AngelBeatsZzz > That's probably due to a missing HLAPI package then.
    I'm soon gonna push an update that supports 2019.1 explicitely. I'd suggest sticking to 2018.3 or older until then if you're not too familiar with packages and stuff.
     
    NathanG and AngelBeatsZzz like this.
  16. AngelBeatsZzz

    AngelBeatsZzz

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Posts:
    239
    Hi reuno, I really like the Highroad Engine, I have some questions. I have basic coding skills and hope you can help me.

    1. When I hold down the right arrow key, the car will always "addTorque" and turn to the right, I found this code in the "UpdateTorqueRotation()" method. I now want to give the car a maximum rotation angle. For example, I keep pressing the right arrow key, but the car can only rotate 30 degrees to the right. After rotating 30 degrees, it stops "_rigidbody.AddTorque". Can you tell me how to do it?

    2. I added a jump function to the car, but the speed will drop rapidly when the car jumps up. I want to keep the speed of the jump after the car jumps up. When it falls to the ground, it can still run at the original speed. This is similar to some arcade racing games. Can you tell me how to do it?

    3. I think the sound of the car engine doesn't sound very comfortable. I tried to change a lot of engine sounds and adjust the parameters of "Solid Sound Behaviour.cs" but it didn't improve much. I want to integrate the engine sound system in Unity's official Car Demo into "Solid Sound Behaviour.cs". The sound system in that Demo sounds very comfortable. Do you think this can be done?
     
  17. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @AngelBeatsZzz > I usually don't comment on things outside of the engine, it's up to you to implement your own features. Plus how to do these things really depends on your context and specs, there's not just one way to do things.
    But quickly :
    1. I guess you'll want to store the initial angle and prevent adding more torque after that angle's been reached.
    2. Add more force to the car when in the air.
    3. Yes.
     
    AngelBeatsZzz likes this.
  18. AngelBeatsZzz

    AngelBeatsZzz

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2017
    Posts:
    239
    OK, thanks for the reply.
     
  19. Rzeznik

    Rzeznik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Posts:
    27
    Hi @reuno, unfortunately, I have this issue too. Everything is fine in the editor however when you deploy any default scene that uses solid controller to Android (in my case) phone then ... well everything is working car is accelerating and turning but the wheels are not. Strange indeed.
     
  20. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @Rzeznik > Please use the support email for bug reports, thanks.
     
  21. Pixelnovo

    Pixelnovo

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Posts:
    22
    Is there any plan to Photon multiplayer now that UNet is deprecated?
     
  22. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @Pixelnovo > There's been support for Photon in the Highroad Engine since November 2018.
     
  23. Pixelnovo

    Pixelnovo

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Posts:
    22
    Of perfect!! Now I'm having those 3 messages:


    Assets/HighroadEngine/Common/Scripts/Lobby/Photon/PunLobbyManager.cs(44,16): error CS0246: The type or namespace name `OnlineLobbyUI' could not be found. Are you missing an assembly reference?

    Assets/HighroadEngine/Common/Scripts/Lobby/Photon/PunLobbyManager.cs(188,9): error CS0246: The type or namespace name `OnlineLobbyUI' could not be found. Are you missing an assembly reference?

    Assets/HighroadEngine/Common/Scripts/Lobby/IGenericNetworkLobbyManager.cs(14,9): error CS0246: The type or namespace name `OnlineLobbyUI' could not be found. Are you missing an assembly reference?

    I'm using 2018.3.12f1, I already installed PUN 2
     
  24. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
  25. Rzeznik

    Rzeznik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Posts:
    27
    @Pixelnovo -> I had the same error. There is double initialization of OnlineLobbyUI in PunLobbyManager.

    Remove this line in PunLobbyManager: _onlineLobbyUI = GetComponentInChildren<OnlineLobbyUI>();

    or place OnlineLobbyUI as a child of PunLobbyManager gameobject in the scene.
     
    Pixelnovo likes this.
  26. Pixelnovo

    Pixelnovo

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2017
    Posts:
    22
    Thank you, now the problem I have is the vehicles are not moving in the other player screen, in the lobby I can see the other player is selecting the vehicle but then in the game the other player vehicle won't move, did you have this problem?
     
  27. Rzeznik

    Rzeznik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Posts:
    27
    Nope. What do you mean by not moving? Is it still showing "Wating for Players" and no one can move or only the other player can't move?
     
  28. Rzeznik

    Rzeznik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Posts:
    27
    @reuno -> Do you have a plan to add gear box system to the solid controller?
     
  29. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @Rzeznik > Yes, that's on the todo list.
     
    MudPuppet likes this.
  30. Striker446

    Striker446

    Joined:
    May 31, 2019
    Posts:
    9
    I am having a problem with all the cars i make myself when i test them they face in the backward direction i changed the mesh orientation but it does not work how to fix this????
     

    Attached Files:

  31. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @Striker446 > Have you tried rotating the model? Or maybe look at how other cars are built? It's hard to tell what the issue could be without context here :)
     
  32. Rzeznik

    Rzeznik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Posts:
    27
    hey @reuno, another two questions:
    1. how to change acceleration? I've touched every possible setting in the solid controller and couldn't find a way to reduce the acceleration without impacting top speed. Right now the car is reaching top speed in a second.
    2. (somehow related to the first one) Are you planning to add car engines RPM to the solid controller? I'm trying to integrate your engine with RealisticEngineSound asset, and it would be much easier for me and overall better to have rpm and gearbox instead of just plain speed.
     
  33. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @Rzeznik > The acceleration and max speed of a vehicle are defined by three vectors :
    - DragForce : the air resistance of the vehicle
    - EngineForce : the engine's power
    - input sensibility (what parameters are sent by a gamepad for example)

    Highroad isn't meant as a realistic physics simulation, it's meant to reproduce the arcade aspect and fun of games like MicroMachines for example. That said, you should be able to get the desired result by blocking the input sensibility to a value below 1, like so:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. public virtual void VerticalPosition(IActorInput p, float value)
    2.         {
    3.             float sensibility = 0.8f;
    4.             value = value > sensibility ? sensibility : value < -sensibility ? -sensibility : value;
    5.             p.VerticalPosition(value);
    If you modify (or extend) that method to add these two lines, and then modify the sensibility parameter to get what you're after, that should work.

    As for gears, that's on the roadmap.
     
  34. Rzeznik

    Rzeznik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Posts:
    27
    Thanks @reuno I've tried your approach but it's still affecting the top speed.

    I've planned to have only 3 performance stats: top speed, acceleration and handling. The thing is the car is reaching top speed insanely fast, making acceleration parameter completely useless. I can easily change top speed and handling, but not acceleration (at least not changing top speed).

    I am aware that your system is purely for arcade racing games, but I think I've seen a lot of arcade racing games (i.e. Crash Team Racing) with such stats.
     
  35. adrog6666

    adrog6666

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Posts:
    39
    @reuno Im having this same issue as well, works fine in unity preview, but once built on iPhone or android, the player car smoke particles don't show, and the wheels don't turn on steering, the AI cars are fine and work correctly, but once loaded as the player car the issue happens.

    Were you able to fix it for @jugueton ?
    thanks..
     
  36. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @adrog6666 > Yes, the fix will be included in the next release, but feel free to contact me via the support form I'll send it to you.
     
    adrog6666 likes this.
  37. adrog6666

    adrog6666

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Posts:
    39
    awesome, ill contact you now... thanks.
     
  38. adrog6666

    adrog6666

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Posts:
    39
    To anyone that knows how to?
    Is there a way to race against other cars without using the local lobby?
    So user just presses start, and enters a race against other cars?
    Something like test mode.
    Any advice or help would be appreciated,
    thanks..

    NeverMind------got it working perfect..
    Oh this engine is awesome...
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2019
    reuno likes this.
  39. adrog6666

    adrog6666

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Posts:
    39
    @reuno
    Stupid question....sorry.
    How can I destroy the LocalLobbyManager without returning to the StartScreen Scene?
    Say maybe on button click or something like that....
    So im trying to go from a gameScene to another scene(which I want to delete the LocalLobbyManager) then back to the Lobby from that scene.
    only way I can work out how, is to duplicate the scripts and alter the scene names in them, but there must be an easier way?
    Sorry for my newbish question.
    Thanks
     
  40. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @adrog6666 > I'm not sure I understand your question. Isn't Destroy working? And please use the support form for support questions, thanks.
     
  41. BlackManatee

    BlackManatee

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Posts:
    63
    I've been working with the Highroad Engine for a long time, and appreciate the quality of the package. I just installed the Highroad Engine into a totally new project, Unity version 2019.1.5, but I got a message that it was downgrading my .NET to 3.5. That's something I can't do, because I have other stuff that requires .NET 4.0.

    I tried switching it to .NET 4.0, but got all kinds of errors. I'm assuming that would be the case even if I upgraded my whole Unity editor to the version you list as being compatible (" Adds compatibility with 2019.2.0f1")?

    I've spent a lot of time designing the game to work with HRE, particularly because of its networking capability -- and I was thrilled to see that you had updated to be compatible with Unity 2019. But if I'm reading things right, it looks like I'll have to either choose between all of my more modern assets (requiring .NET 4.0) and the Highroad Engine?

    Please let me know the status. I'll be happy to upgrade Unity to 2019.2, but I don't want to bother if it's not going to fix the .NET 4.0 compatibility issues with HRE. Thanks!

    UPDATE/POSSIBLE TEMPORARY FIX: I realized I had encountered the problem a couple of months ago on a previous installation of HRE. After a lot of tinkering, I found a possible link with the Multiplayer HLAPI package. The latest version is 1.04, but I've also used the 1.02 version successfully. It triggers ~45 (yellow) warnings (mostly obsolete notices), but that's a lot better than the 75 red alerts that I initially had when I shifted my new HRE project to .NET 4.0.

    Any thoughts on this? Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2019
  42. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @BlackManatee > The latest version of the engine uses 4.0. And yes, it has much more to do with HLAPI than the engine.
     
  43. BlackManatee

    BlackManatee

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Posts:
    63
    Great to know, thanks! FYI, the actual version of Multiplayer HLAPI doesn't seem to be an issue. I'm running HRE with HLAPI 1.0.4 and everything's cool. A big relief!

    Not sure why it's auto-downgrading .NET from 4.0 to 3.5 on installation, but I'll just roll it back to 4.0 if/when I need to reinstall again.
     
  44. BlackManatee

    BlackManatee

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2013
    Posts:
    63
    Quick question: I'm using Rewired, and I noticed that there's an integration pack for the Corgi engine. Is there an integration tool available for the Highroad Engine? If not, is there anything in particular you recommend doing (or avoiding) when using Rewired and HRE?
     
    Corum likes this.
  45. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @BlackManatee > Not that I know of, but it's pretty straightforward, it should be no problem :)
     
    Corum likes this.
  46. anhtuan1911

    anhtuan1911

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Does the AI have a chase feature to chase the player?
     
  47. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @anhtuan1911 > No, it doesn't. You can see a full list of features on the asset's page.
     
  48. MudPuppet

    MudPuppet

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    162
    Hey Reuno, I just wanted to say that I started to implement your Nice Vibrations asset with my Highroad Race Game project yesterday and it is freaking AWESOME! So cool to get some light vibrations when offload and little thumps when running over critters :). I highly recommend the Nice Vibrations asset to anyone using either the Highroad Engine or other More Mountains assets.
     
    adrog6666 and reuno like this.
  49. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,852
    @MudPuppet > I'm glad you like them! The new version (v2.0) should hit the store pretty soon and it's packed with new cool stuff (and a car demo), so hopefully you'll like it as well.
     
    george_bacanu and MudPuppet like this.
  50. adrog6666

    adrog6666

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Posts:
    39