Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.

[RELEASED] Highroad Engine - Arcade Racing solution

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by reuno, Jan 19, 2017.

  1. izam

    izam

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    Thank you very much for your reply @reuno ! I will try this out now.

     
    colemanation and reuno like this.
  2. Elmstrom

    Elmstrom

    Joined:
    May 8, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    Just playing around with the demo scenes, but there is a problem with TheBridgePostProcessingProfile + Color Grading + My android hardware. If the Color Grading is enable (as it is by standart), the graphics does not render correctly.
    It looks fine in the unity player, so my guess would by that it use som function that my hardware does not support.
    Is there any quick fixes for that situation?

    Also maybe i am blind, but i could not find the support email any were?
     
  3. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @Elmstrom > Unity's PostProcessing stack isn't known to be very mobile friendly, so it's not very surprising it doesn't work on some devices. I don't know of any quick fix for it (you'd better ask Unity themselves) other than just disabling the effects that don't work for you.
    And the support email is on the asset's website, there's a contact form, that's the one.
     
  4. izam

    izam

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    Hi @reuno , here is a vidcap of what I did with your game asset. awesome stuff really!

    There's a bit of a problem with the respawning of the solid player. This happens on the untouched scene assets as well where I didn't change any of the original code or the solid car prefabs. What happened was whenever the player's car is respawned when I exit the game scene back to the lobby scene and then back to the game scene again, the y position of the solid car gets lower. This resulted in the car getting stuck halfway down the tracks. And eventually after exiting and rentering the game scene the car respawns and the y position is so low that the car's box collider no longer collides with the ground layer and just falls through.

    Can you advise how to adjust the starting y position of the car whenever it respawns?
     
  5. izam

    izam

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    here are some screenshots to show the y position of the car after several going back and forth from lobby scene to game scene.

    Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 11.49.44 AM.png Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 11.50.08 AM.png Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 11.50.31 AM.png Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 11.50.49 AM.png Screen Shot 2018-06-07 at 11.51.14 AM.png
     
  6. jura_wd

    jura_wd

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    Hey @reuno! I have a problem with hover cars' AI (AirCarBehaviour) if the hover points exactly opposite direction - in EvaluateDirection, Vector3.Cross will return zero vector and sign will flicker from 1 to -1, so basically, the hovercar will move backward, with jittering (will try to rotate towards the target direction, but never be able to do that).
    What's the best way to fix it?
     
  7. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @jura_wd > For hover vehicles, you can tweak AI by simply inverting the direction value in the VehicleAI class, like so :
    _direction = _newDirection;

    @izam > That's weird. I tried to reproduce the problem with the TinyCars' LocalLobby, set the Emily as the first car, chose the MonacoTrack as first scene. Once the lobby started, I was able to do 20 back and forth lobby > start game > back button without the car moving its start position. I'd need more details to reproduce this. Also, please use the support email for support questions, thanks.
     
  8. izam

    izam

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2017
    Posts:
    16
    Alright will use the support email now.
    Oh anyway I attach a youtube video of the steps I did maybe this can help:

    I'm using unity version 2018.1.0f2
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2018
  9. jura_wd

    jura_wd

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Posts:
    32
    Sorry, @reuno, maybe I was not clear. If you put hover backward to the start - it won't turn around. It will fly backward.
    The problem is deeper, a steering value in [-1,1] range just cannot escape the situation like that. The hover just cannot decide what direction it should rotate. It cannot be solved by `_direction = _newDirection;` :) (I wouldn't bother you with such problem that could be solved so naive)
     
  10. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @jura_wd > What I meant is that in the VehicleAI > CalculateValues() method, we test whether the vehicle is in the wrong way in the if (_targetAngleAbsolute > _largeAngleDistance) test.

    If you modify, within that if, the _direction = -_newDirection; by replacing the "-" with a _direction = _newDirection; then the Hover vehicle will be forced to turn in a more natural way. I can include a patch in the next release to force that by default.
     
  11. maniak_001

    maniak_001

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Posts:
    31
    @reuno Thank you for this fantastic asset, I have been playing around with it for a few days and it is very functional and easy to use.
    Is there a way to force a race to end, like the player crashes out too many times and ends up losing immediately?
     
  12. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @walter_sung > There's nothing properly built-in right now for that (added to the todo list), but you can override the RaceManager's Update method and add this to it when your conditions are met : OnDisableControlForPlayers();
    _isPlaying = false;

    This will trigger the end race process.
     
  13. maniak_001

    maniak_001

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2016
    Posts:
    31
    @reuno Thanks for your suggestion

    I have some suggestions for you to add to your backlog:
    • Could you emit some events from the Race Manager, in particular when the race starts and ends, when checkpoints are passed for each vehicle and for each lap for each vehicle.
    • Could you also implement the Race Manager start positions in a similar way to either Checkpoints or AI Waypoints to make copying start positions to another race manager much easier.
    Thanks
     
  14. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @walter_sung > These are great suggestions, added to the list!
     
  15. MaccyDBoy

    MaccyDBoy

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Posts:
    30
    Hi @reuno ! Yes, i bought that engine too !

    Awesome engine. i managed create a map with Sun cycle and tail/head lights matching the time. But there is something i dont understand ;

    I took the Local lobby of tiny cars to mix it with the Solid cars, which technically doesnt change anything. i changed the available maps and car to match and yet it does work great, but the problem is that when i load Monaco FROM the local lobby the maps is Very dark but the directionnal light set up'ed alright. When i load it directly tho, the directionnal light is perfect.. Is there something thats changes light from the local lobby tot he actual map ?

    Thanks !
     
  16. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @MaccyDBoy > No there's not (that'd be weird). I don't reproduce the problem, but it looks like a GI issue, nothing related to the engine really. If the problem persists, please use the support email, thanks.
     
  17. gta_guam

    gta_guam

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Great system and awesome documentation. Is there a way to use models with a walk cycle as opposed to vehicles with tires? I wanted to create a game where the characters were riding different animals and racing them. Some quadrupeds and other two-legged animals like ostriches.
     
  18. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @kottura_innovations > Sure, cars are just a visual representation, but it could be anything else. If you look at the TinyCars demo for example, the "car" is just a box. What you decide to put inside that box is up to you.
     
    gta_guam likes this.
  19. gta_guam

    gta_guam

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    @reuno Thanks for the reply!
     
    reuno likes this.
  20. jouveer

    jouveer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Is there a way to make the AI chase the player rather than just follow the programmed path? I was wondering if I could make something where the AI attempts to push players off of the road/track by hitting the side of their cars. Do you think this would be a hard thing to implement?
    Also, would this asset be compatible with the infinite runner engine so that I could have the track generated as the player drives?
     
  21. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @jouveer > That's not something that is built-in right now. But sure, you can implement it. As for how hard that'd be, it's not for me to answer. It all depends on your skills, not mine :) I'd say it should be quite simple, but really my opinion on this doesn't matter much.
     
  22. manirana94

    manirana94

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2018
    Posts:
    7
    Hi can someone help me? i am not getting how to change car properly. when i just change the scale car not move forward is there any video for changing car?
     
  23. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @manirana94 > There's a complete documentation for the asset, have you checked it out?
     
  24. MudPuppet

    MudPuppet

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    162
    I have had a few issues with some projects and implementing my own characters/vehicles etc and it is always better to take a given (Vehicle) prefab from the asset product and swap out the models etc for your own. That's the quickest way to get something 'going' and from there you have a good idea of what is going on and can apply your knowledge to a clean/new vehicle.
     
  25. MudPuppet

    MudPuppet

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    162
    Hey Reuno, not sure if this is a good suggestion or not but it would be great if the Vehicle Info could include a vehicle prefab and then in the Local Lobby be able to choose whether you want to display the vehicle image (sprite) or a 3d model (spinning perhaps). Perhaps a boolean toggle on the Vehicle Info to facilitate it(?).

    I have had a bit of a look into this but kept thinking that the vehicle prefabs could really be called from the list on the Local Lobby Manager (and then disabling scripts on the vehicles or something along those lines). Every other example I have found thus far seems to rely on it's own manager class so I haven't been able to work out how to solve this myself thus far.
     
  26. MudPuppet

    MudPuppet

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    162
    Hello Reuno, with the Local Lobby GUI I have been looking at separating it into different panels for each selection type (vehicles, tracks, and bots). So you select a vehicle, click next, select a track, click next etc. Would I be correct in assuming that rather than just enabling/disabling these panels that I would be better off tinkering with the Z position instead? I ask because of how it is set up so that when a player has selected a vehicle the 'Start' button appears.

    I also noticed upon trying out your suggestion for auto-adding bot vehicles that I still have to have the Bots GUI visible for it to work - so I have moved this off-screen. I mention this because it leads back to whether to not to hide the selection panels or move them in front of each other upon a button press. Hope this makes sense.
     
  27. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @MudPuppet > Regarding your first point, that's typically something you'd create your own class for. The engine just provides one example of presentation, but there are as many ways to do that view as there are games, just adding another example wouldn't provide much value.
    You can play with the Z position if you want. I don't think it'd make much of a difference, but if you get better results that way go for it, again UI is typically game specific, there's no generic answer here.
     
  28. MudPuppet

    MudPuppet

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    162
    Hey Reuno, no problem, I understand the situation and will endeavour to sort it out myself.
     
    reuno likes this.
  29. Polysquat_Studios

    Polysquat_Studios

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2014
    Posts:
    37
    Hi, will this be able to work in unity 2018?
     
  30. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
  31. MudPuppet

    MudPuppet

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2012
    Posts:
    162
    Oooh it looks like you snuck an update out there. Nice! Can't wait to check it out. I just solved a big part to my lobby GUI as well. Half my own stuff and the other half is utilising your carousel class etc from the Corgi Engine. :)
     
  32. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    Oh I didn't get the notification that the update had been accepted. So yay, new update!

    Here are the release notes for it:
    - Adds a new network mode compatible with PUN 2 network engine (https://www.photonengine.com/en-US/PUN)
    - Adds a new track mode : rally-like, non-looping track
    - Adds a new option in RaceManager that allows you to decide whether or not every car must end the race before the game is stopped
    - Adds new motor sounds for Solid vehicles
    - Adds a death ground prefab that resets vehicle position when touched
    - Adds a new demo scene : AirRally showcasing open loop and a death ground
    - Fixes raycasts for ground & suspension now ignoring triggers objects
    - Fixes gravity when applied in Solid Scenes on multiple scene opening
    - Fixes car rolling with AI
    - Fixes respawn action when vehicle still in start position
    - Fixes a checkpoint rotation in the Monaco Track
    - Fixes finding AI waypoint after a respawn
    - Reduces trampoline size in playground scene following raycast ignoring triggers
    - Requires Unity 2018.2 or more
     
    MudPuppet and IvyKun like this.
  33. toto2003

    toto2003

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Posts:
    520
    Hello, i just got your asset during the cyber sale, it look very good so far, is there a way to add more than 4 cars? if not will it be on your roadmap?

    thanks
     
  34. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @toto2003 > Sure, just modify the RaceManager's Max Players value.
     
    toto2003 likes this.
  35. scorpionfeast

    scorpionfeast

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2014
    Posts:
    18
    Hey,
    I just got your assets, it looks amazing. But i need help with multiplayer. you had mentioned that engine is supportig photon, but i didnt find any way to test it. Can you help?
     
  36. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @ImranKhalil > Have you read the dedicated readme at the root of the asset?
     
  37. Rzeznik

    Rzeznik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Posts:
    27
    Hi reuno,

    quick question - is it possible to increase the grip for tiny car controller? So it wont slip that much?

    BTW great asset! :)
     
  38. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @Rzeznik > Sure, you'll want to play with the drag values on the rigidbody to do so.
     
  39. Rzeznik

    Rzeznik

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2016
    Posts:
    27
    @reuno > hey, it works! thank you! :)
     
    reuno likes this.
  40. luniac

    luniac

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Posts:
    585
    how difficult would it be to make an endless track
     
  41. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @luniac > I don't know, there's no generic answer to such a question, it'd depend on your skills and what exactly you'd want to do. But it's usually just a matter of recycling old parts to generate your new track, so I'd say pretty easy if you have some basic knowledge of Unity.
     
  42. luniac

    luniac

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Posts:
    585
    To be more specific, does the engine rely on the track to be pre assembled for the racing to function properly?
    Can i snap road pieces to the track at runtime and everything should still work, collision wise and stuff?

    I wanna make not necessarily a racing game, but a driving game like outrun where you drive on a long long track and pick turns to go to different sections until the finish.

    I certainly will have to use a pooling system and load/unload stuff, but i like the game feel of the highroad engine and am wondering if it's flexible enough for this.
     
  43. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @luniac > You can absolutely assemble your track at runtime.
    The car controller(s) included in the asset can be (and has been) used on their own, no problem.
     
  44. luniac

    luniac

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Posts:
    585
    Awesome, thanks.
     
  45. voxelholic

    voxelholic

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Just updated to Unity 2018.3. There is a known issue with an ambiguity bewteen UnityEditor.MinAttribute and UnityEditor.PostProcessing.MinAttribute.

    Assets/External/HighroadEngine/PostProcessing/Editor/PropertyDrawers/MinDrawer.cs(11,39): error CS0104: `MinAttribute' is an ambiguous reference between `UnityEngine.MinAttribute' and `UnityEngine.PostProcessing.MinAttribute'
    I tried adding:

    using MinAttribute = UnityEngine.PostProcessing.MinAttribute;

    to MinDrawer.cs but the compiler still complains with the same error and now I have run out of ideas.

    Any suggestions?
     
  46. voxelholic

    voxelholic

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Actually it did work but strangely, I had to completely exit Unity. After re-launching, it built fine with the above changes.
     
  47. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @zeropage > If you just replace any occurence of MinAttribute with UnityEngine.PostProcessing.MinAttribute the problem goes away :) I'll fix that for the next release, thanks for reporting it.

    Edit : just pushed v1.2.1 to the Asset Store, that fixes 2018.3 compatibility
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2018
    voxelholic likes this.
  48. adrog6666

    adrog6666

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2018
    Posts:
    39
    any other new additions to the update? or just a compatibility update?
    Eagerly waiting new features suggested by the rest of the forum users. :)
     
  49. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,814
    @adrog6666 > This one is just a compatibility update.
    More is coming.
     
    voxelholic likes this.
  50. egem2015

    egem2015

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2015
    Posts:
    80
    Hi Renaud,

    i have corgi and this game and you are great developer and artist.

    you know game development business very well , it is obvious.

    But i think something is missing in this highroad engine.

    1) There is no speedometer and gauge . it is must for racing game.i have so many racing game asset such as rgsk by intense gamer , racing game template by turnthegameon and multiplayer racing by rebound game that is deprecated.all of them have speedometer and gauge.

    2) accelerometer option for driving . it is also must.

    3) Simplier and automated car creator.


    if all of these can be implemented , this asset become a treasure

    Because

    Car controller is better and follow script is better and i think Reuno is better developer.

    Because we are waiting as buyers in other assets there is no update for so long time.
    Renaud is more dedicated and more responsive developer.

    I hope Renaud can do my suggestions.

    King Regards.