Search Unity

[Released] GIS Terrain Loader

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by UnityGISTech, Aug 12, 2019.

  1. UnityGISTech

    UnityGISTech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Posts:
    37


    GIS Terrain Loader is designed to load real world elevation files from GIS applications, by using this asset you can generate terrains in editor or at runtime. This asset work with GlobalMapper-L3DT or any GIS application that able to export terrains in FLT (float point elevation ) format.


    • Editor Terrain Loader

    Generating terrain in editor is easy and fast:
    - Import .*flt elevation file into resources folder, setup your terrain resolution, elevation mode, terrain scale, texture mode….. Generate your terrain.

    - Setup terrain elevation mode to Real World Elevation or Exaggeration mode

    - Customized GUI Interface included .


    • Runtime Terrain Loader

    - Load Single Terrain :


    -GIS Terrain Loader can easily load .* flt elevation file and generate terrain at runtime with minimum configuration.

    - Load geographic position and elevation (m) of any position on terrain.

    - No more scaling problem, you can set your vector scale and make your terrain as large as you want.

    - Ability to load terrain from StreamingAsset folder or from any location in hard disk.

    - Other heightmaps extensions may be added in the GlobalMapper and exported as .*flt file.

    - Demo Scene Included (Editor and Runtime ) with customized UI Interface.

    - Tested on Unity 5.5 and unity 2018.3 2018.7.


    https://assetstore.unity.com/packages/tools/integration/gis-terrain-loader-147632



    Current version v1.1
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2019
  2. july731520

    july731520

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    Can the loaded terrain be edit by Unity's Terrain Tools?
     
  3. UnityGISTech

    UnityGISTech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Hi July

    Yes, Once terrain is generated it can be edited by Unity, this tools work with new terrain system.

    For more Info please watch the video tutorial .

     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2019
  4. july731520

    july731520

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I purchased!

    It seems can't run in 2019.2.

    So I watched your video and run in 2018.3, but I got problems.

    I can't generate terrain like video with your asset and my own.

    The terrain seems to be very large, I can't see them all.

    Do you have tutorial documents? I want to know how to set the parameters
     
  5. july731520

    july731520

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    I got Terrain Dimentions like this with your desert asset
    upload_2019-8-16_17-51-57.png
     
  6. UnityGISTech

    UnityGISTech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    we will soon update the asset to work with unity 2019.
    we are testing the asset on the same unity version that you are using we hope fixing that soon .
     
  7. UnityGISTech

    UnityGISTech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Probleme solved please read your inbox.
     
  8. UnityGISTech

    UnityGISTech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    GIS Terrain Loader Updated to v1.2 :

    - Added support for Unity 2019.1 and Unity 2019.2
    - Fixing some bugs happening with Unity 2018.3.
    - Editor GUI improved.
    - New : Added the ability to smooth Terrain surface and Terrain Heighs
    this option used on hight heightmap resolutions . Smoothing.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2019
  9. july731520

    july731520

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2019
    Posts:
    4
    when can I get this updated package? The ability to smooth Terrain is useful!
     
  10. UnityGISTech

    UnityGISTech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Package is on reviewing by unity asset store.

    Yes ,if you try to load terrain with heightmap resolution > loaded file resolution you will have result as its shown on the first picture (top/ left)
    using smoothe operation help to have clean terrain surface without box shape appearing.
     
  11. UnityGISTech

    UnityGISTech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Posts:
    37


    GIS Terrain Loader Updated to v1.3

    - Added support for OSM Vector Data (Tree + Grass).












     
    Mike891 likes this.
  12. Gibbonuk

    Gibbonuk

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Posts:
    162
    Hi, i am interested in purchasing, however, its hard to tell if it does some features that i'm wanting so maybe you could answer before I buy.

    So just to clarify, does the current asset (on the asset store) do the following?

    Load terrain elevation and textures at runtime?

    Is it 1 texture per terrain or 4?

    Can you also elaborate on the OSM vector data for trees.

    Lastly can you advise on any alternative software from Global Mapper than can export FLT and imagery that isn't $549!

    Thanks
     
  13. UnityGISTech

    UnityGISTech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Posts:
    37

    Hi there

    This asset work on editor and at runtime.

    At runtime you can load terrains and textures from your hard disk.

    By using globalmapper you will be able to split your large texture into small tiles (4x4 - 5×8 16x16...etc).

    GIS terrain Loader detect the number of tiles in texture folder and split your large terrain in to small unity terrain.


    By exporting OSM data file and past it into VectorData folder GIS Terrain Loader will be able to generate Grass and trees, (we are working to add this option to runtime ).

    You can use any prefab for grass and trees, Package already contain some prefabs.

    This asset designed to use any software able to export texture and DTM files as FLT format.
    Globalmapper is the best to use this asset.
    But we can add support for other extensions like ASCII or RAW files if we are in need of that.

    Thanks
     
  14. Gibbonuk

    Gibbonuk

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Posts:
    162
    My big
    Thank you, I think this is great and a near perfect solution for my project. My only is issue managing to actually get a hold of the imagery and elevation data in a organised format without having to buy software for £500+. You see I want my users to be able to add their own terrains to my project, so not everyone (including me) will want to spend £500+ on gloabalmapper. Is there any other solution, I have tried looking for other softwares that export FLT and there doesnt seem to be many?

    Plus, if different user acquire data from different softwares how is it organised when loaded into your asset. As in, how does the GIS Terrain Loader know the location of the data?

    Thanks
    Andy
     
  15. UnityGISTech

    UnityGISTech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Posts:
    37

    Hi againe

    Please watch tutorial videos to understand how this asset works.

    GIS terrain Loader is an integration offline tools so he could not download data from online sources.
    He is developped after many requesting of GloablMapper " saying : how to export terrains from Globalmapper to Unity Engine (Editor and Runtime) "

    Globalmapper has a lot of data sources including premium data.

    You can use GlobalMapper for 30 days to test how it works.

    Thats a good idea may be we will include online sources for GIS Terrain Loader in the future.
     
  16. Gibbonuk

    Gibbonuk

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Posts:
    162
    Ahh ok, so this asset is suited mainly for globalmapper?

    I would purchase your asset if i had globalmapper or other software that could output the FLT files.

    I will have to do some more research.

    Thanks
     
    UnityGISTech likes this.
  17. UnityGISTech

    UnityGISTech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Let us more time

    Let us more time maybe GIS Terrain Loader will support more DTM files like (ASCI,bt,raw...etc).
     
  18. Gibbonuk

    Gibbonuk

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Posts:
    162
    Ok thank you, look forward to it.
     
  19. UnityGISTech

    UnityGISTech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    Some users ask if GIS Terrain Loader can load terrains from free GIS software because Globalmapper is expensive.

    So we would tell all users that GIS terrain Loader will soon load terrains from QGIS.

    QGIS is free software.
     
  20. UnityGISTech

    UnityGISTech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    New Update v1.4 For GIS Terrain Loader :

    - GIS Terrain Loader can load terrains from (QGIS && SAS.Planet).

    - Added support for Terragen files ("*.Ter") and GeoTiff files ("*.Tif").

    - OSM Vector loader added to Runtime GIS Terrain Loader.



     
  21. UnityGISTech

    UnityGISTech

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Posts:
    37
    the users of GIS terrain loader let us know if you need other integration or more supported extensions.