Search Unity

  1. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

[Released] FSR 3 - Boost your FPS with AMD FidelityFX™ Super Resolution 3.0 (FSR 3) Upscaling

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Alterego-Games, Nov 4, 2022.

?

What would you be willen to pay for AMD FSR 2.0 support

  1. 2 - 5 dollar/euro

  2. 5 - 10 dollar/euro

  3. 10 - 15 dollar/euro

  4. 15 + dollar/euro

  5. 0 dollar/euro

  6. I'm not interested in FSR

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. baggyg

    baggyg

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Posts:
    26
    I need to ship my project in about 2.5 months. Is it likely VR support will be ready by then?
     
  2. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    I’m sorry, I can’t make any promises. We’re a small studio with very limited available time, so we have to use our time smart. It also depends on the popularity of the asset itself!
     
  3. Bwacky

    Bwacky

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Posts:
    192
    After running a bunch of checks seems Nature Renderer was the culprit of the incredibly annoying screen jitter and shake on my end, for anyone using it down the line start by checking that. The issue only popped up in scenes where I had it attached to terrains. Took me way too long to figure that out :D
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  4. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    Glad you found a solution!
     
    Bwacky likes this.
  5. PieterAlbers

    PieterAlbers

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Posts:
    227
    Is the Unity 2021.3.21f1 version a hard requirement for the asset?
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  6. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    No, you can use many Unity versions, however for some renderpipeline versions there is a minimum requirement, like URP 12 because of the added motion vector support. But there shouldn’t be any other hard requirement!

    If there is a issue with a Unity version we’ll try to fix it.

    Edit, I stand corrected, a minimum of 2020.1 is a hard requirement!
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2023
  7. Astfgl

    Astfgl

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Posts:
    86
    The core FSR2 implementation (the part that's open source) requires Unity 2020.1 at the minimum because of its reliance on multi_compile pragmas for managing all the compute shader variants, which was added in that version: https://forum.unity.com/threads/compute-shader-multi_compile-support.765566/

    [edit]
    Well I say that, but turns out a recent optimization that I made broke compatibility with any Unity version older than 2021.2. I'll get that fixed and make sure 2020.1 is the minimum requirement again.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2023
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  8. MagiJedi

    MagiJedi

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Posts:
    31
    Just wanted to add my +1 vote on VR support (mainly URP, but HDRP would be great as well). Immediate purchase once someone confirms if/when it'll work.
     
    pierre92nicot likes this.
  9. Dark-1-Games

    Dark-1-Games

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Posts:
    99
    I can say that it doesn't work on oculus pro using Vulkan - URP forward rendering, and also in editor for the same app running DX11. Produces a gray screen.
     
    MagiJedi likes this.
  10. Bwacky

    Bwacky

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Posts:
    192
    I did some testing and my first build with FSR 2.
    While it works fine in Editor, it's broken in builds by producing a weird overlay. It might be that error in the console I mentioned prior.

    Editor: 2022.3.1f0 & 2022.3.1f1
    URP



     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  11. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    I think it has to do with Unity’s Post processing, some part doesn’t scale correctly. I’ll be able check it out soon.
     
  12. wcavell

    wcavell

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Posts:
    6
    When I create a split screen, only the first camera content is displayed, how to solve it
    Snipaste_2023-06-12_09-12-24.png
    Snipaste_2023-06-12_09-12-35.png
     

    Attached Files:

    Alterego-Games likes this.
  13. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
  14. UsefulWeapon

    UsefulWeapon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    Hey, just bought you asset and checked out the HDRP demo, but i get this effect
     
    Last edited: Jun 12, 2023
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  15. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    It appears like the depth buffer or motion vector buffer isn’t captured. What Unity version are you using?
     
  16. UsefulWeapon

    UsefulWeapon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    I am using 2021.3.12f1 also my videocard is nvidia GTX 1070, maybe its too old for this ? :(
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  17. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    GTX 1070 is definitely not too old!
     
  18. UsefulWeapon

    UsefulWeapon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    So any ides then ?:)
    maybe some motion vector setting is wrong in my HDRP settings or smth
     
  19. pwka

    pwka

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    49
    I have a similar problem when using 2021.3.27f1 running on a GTX 3070.
     
  20. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    I'll research it, perhaps its something small, keep you posted!
     
    UsefulWeapon likes this.
  21. UsefulWeapon

    UsefulWeapon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    If needed i can send you the project that i have. When i downloaded the HDRP porject it missed few dependencies (no shader graph and visual effect graph installed) after i installed them i was forced to upgrade HDRP from 12.2 (or smthing) to 12.7. then i did everything like in the docs, got it working fine but this thing make asset unusable for me :(
     
  22. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    I have noticed a bug in the HDRP demo, its missing the Custom Post Process Order, I'll update the demo soon.

    upload_2023-6-13_17-35-24.png

    Yes please, send me the project! dominic@alteregogames.com
     
  23. UsefulWeapon

    UsefulWeapon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    Will send you it in a few, i think i did everything right there as in documentation but no luck. Hope you find where the problem is so i can transfer it to my main projects :)
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  24. UsefulWeapon

    UsefulWeapon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  25. lacas8282

    lacas8282

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Posts:
    134
    Here is my fast testing result

    in URP editor, unity 2022.3 LTS

    PROJECT NULL the game 4K


    normal 45 FPS
    quality AVG 70 FPS (little ghosting)
    balanced AVG 76 FPS (little ghosting)
    performance AVG 76 FPS (ghosting)
    ultra performance AVG 76 FPS (ghosting, very pixelated like a 320*240px on 4K)


    I don't know why but in my game 76 FPS is the maximum, on an RTX 3070

    Also

    upload_2023-6-13_21-29-50.png

    FXAA kill the viewport
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  26. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    FSR 2 has its own internal AA, if you add any AA, you will get worse results! Can you post the ghosting results, it shouldn’t ghost more than normal TAA.

    Also, on 4K it shouldn’t look as pixelated as you describe. Could you make some comparison screenshots?

    The reason you don’t see a difference between balanced, performance and ultra performance is probably because your getting cpu bound at those settings (very easy to be cpu bound in the editor, you’ll get way better results in a build). Check you GPU usage in windows task manager. You probably see that the GPU is less than 100% on those settings. Someone with a less powerfull GPU will see better results.
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2023
    lacas8282 likes this.
  27. lacas8282

    lacas8282

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Posts:
    134
    URP BUILD, VULKAN, RTX 3070

    normal 85 FPS
    quality AVG 103 FPS (best, 20-25%+)
    balanced AVG 109 FPS (25%+)
    performance AVG 107 FPS (20-25%+)
    ultra performance AVG 148 FPS (not so nice :D 70%+)

    When I selecting FSR2 from my game menu, I disable all AA, so it fixes the ghost, and pixelated things
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  28. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    I found the issue! You have to enable "Decals" in your renderpipeline asset:
    upload_2023-6-14_12-25-9.png

    I'll update the documentation accordingly!
     
    UsefulWeapon likes this.
  29. UsefulWeapon

    UsefulWeapon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    Nice! Will try it now and try to port it to my main project :)
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  30. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    Please let me know if it works for your main project!
     
    UsefulWeapon likes this.
  31. UsefulWeapon

    UsefulWeapon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    Hello! So i ported everything just fine, it works, but i cant see any performance gains on my project:(((
    I am a bit confused because demo worked super fine. On my main project i have HDRP too and the version of the engine is 2021.3.10f1. When you try different quality levels you can see how image decrease its quality i bit but no performance gains, I am starting to think its some kind of curse on this project :D
     
    Alterego-Games and lacas8282 like this.
  32. Astfgl

    Astfgl

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Posts:
    86
    You'll only see performance gains if your game is GPU bound. If your game's performance is limited by the CPU then applying FSR2 won't do much for performance, though you'll still get the nice anti-aliasing of course. Try running your game through some profilers, and perhaps use FrameTimingManager to get some measurements as well, to get an idea of how the balance between CPU/GPU time is per frame and where your performance bottleneck is.
     
    Ryiah and Alterego-Games like this.
  33. lacas8282

    lacas8282

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Posts:
    134
    Vsync off? Target frame rate is set to large?
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  34. Felinde

    Felinde

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2021
    Posts:
    18
    Hi, the urp version, is it compatible for WebGL?
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  35. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    If you want, you can send me a build and I can run some tests to see if you are GPU or CPU bound. And yes, do check if maybe you're limiteting the FPS in some other way!

    I'll run a quick test, I haven't yet tested WebGL.
     
    Felinde likes this.
  36. UsefulWeapon

    UsefulWeapon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    Thanks! Sadly i cant share this project due to NDA, maybe you can give me some advice on where i can check it ? Or i can send you some kind of profiler report
     
  37. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    In general, if you create a build (only test performance in a build), if you look at the Windows Task Manager, and you see the GPU not at 100%, you're either CPU bound or are using some FPS limiter.
     
  38. UsefulWeapon

    UsefulWeapon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    Okie, this game is indeed GPU bound, i get around 98-100 % load on GPU even when game is paused. CPU is about 20%
    upload_2023-6-15_13-10-10.png
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  39. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    GPU bound is great, this means that running FSR 2 should have a positive effect on your fps, do you see the GPU percentage change when going to lower FSR quality settings?
     
  40. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    I've just ran a quick test, unfortunately it seems it doesn't work. However it seems its something to do with rendertextures being the wrong format, so perhaps I can make it work in a newer version.
     
    Felinde and Marseol like this.
  41. Felinde

    Felinde

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2021
    Posts:
    18
    That would be fantastic; it seems like your solution generates fewer flickers compared to the TAA we're using (and the only one available).
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  42. killer_bigpoint

    killer_bigpoint

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Posts:
    20
    Is there any plans to support VR? My use case would pretty much be the use on a standalone Quest 2 since I am building a portable game, it would be highly beneficial
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  43. UsefulWeapon

    UsefulWeapon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    I am making a new build, will let you know how it goes
     
  44. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    As there is much request for VR, it's high on our priority list, but I can't make any promises regarding a release date yet.

    It is possible that with FSR Off == 100% GPU usage, and FSR Quality == 100% GPU usage without any performance gain, just improved TAA quality.

    If you see FSR Balanced == 100% GPU usage, it has to give you a higher FPS. Or something is probably going wrong.
    However if you see less than 100% GPU usage on "Balanced" or lower quality settings, it probably means that on your hardware your game is getting CPU bound when using FSR.

    In case of a project we develop in-house, I first saw almost to none performance increase when using FSR 2. Then I worked like crazy on optimizing the CPU size of the game. After optimizing the CPU size I now get really nice fps improvements from FSR 2. (1440p FSR off = 50 fps average, FSR "performance" = 90 fps average.
     
    UsefulWeapon likes this.
  45. UsefulWeapon

    UsefulWeapon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    Seems like i got it working! After making some custom fps counter and a new build when i switch i gain at least 10-15 fps per quality level, LOVE IT!
    Now i think i will be making this system adaptive to the frame rate, i think its a good idea for your asset to make it also automatically adaptive to the frames per second. For example if you have a big drop in frames it will automatically switch quality level of the FSR to lower and so on :)
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  46. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    Adaptive FSR quality is definitely something we're looking into, in theory it can even be seemless, as the downscaling is a float value between 1 and 3.
     
    UsefulWeapon likes this.
  47. UsefulWeapon

    UsefulWeapon

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2013
    Posts:
    65
    Nice, thanks for the support. Will write a 5* review soon ;)
     
    Alterego-Games likes this.
  48. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    Reviews are very much appreciated!
     
    UsefulWeapon likes this.
  49. lacas8282

    lacas8282

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2015
    Posts:
    134
    I have some issues in development build:

    upload_2023-6-15_22-23-12.png

    Top of the pic: that is a thumbnail from a gun, see attached pictures, RenderTexture by the way
    Bottom: I don't know what is this, maybe the spotlight from the light
     

    Attached Files:

  50. Alterego-Games

    Alterego-Games

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Posts:
    342
    Maybe its because the rendertexture has the “dynamic resolution” flag enabled?.
     
    lacas8282 likes this.