Search Unity

  1. Welcome to the Unity Forums! Please take the time to read our Code of Conduct to familiarize yourself with the forum rules and how to post constructively.
  2. Join us on Dec 8, 2022, between 7 am & 7 pm EST, in the DOTS Dev Blitz Day 2022 - Q&A forum, Discord, and Unity3D Subreddit to learn more about DOTS directly from the Unity Developers.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Have a look at our Games Focus blog post series which will show what Unity is doing for all game developers – now, next year, and in the future.
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Enviro - Sky and Weather (Dynamic Sky and Weather System)

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Vondox, Apr 11, 2015.

  1. Firlefanz73

    Firlefanz73

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Posts:
    1,248
    Thanks for the new Enviro 3, I hope and I am looking forward to love the new one as much as the older one ;-)
    I just bought Enviro 3, removed Enviro 2 from my current project and imported the new package.

    Now I get some problems with one other asset "Game Options / settings"
    Game Options/Settings | GUI Tools | Unity Asset Store

    What is the new Propertys that replaces: EnviroVolumeCloudsQuality?
    You can choose it in a public variable for quality configuration, it is later used like this (where cloudsLow is the EnviroVolumeCloudsQuality):

    EnviroSkyMgr.instance.CloudSettings.cloudsQualitySettings.bottomCloudHeight = cloudsLow.qualitySettings.bottomCloudHeight;

    I can tell you more in a conversion/chat if you like.

    Next one the asset is using and also I am too:

    EnviroSkyMgr.instance

    and EnviroSky like here:

    EnviroSky.instance.SetTime(2077, 1, 0, 0, 0);

    Hope I can get it working then, thanks :)
    Have a nice sunday
     
  2. Firlefanz73

    Firlefanz73

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Posts:
    1,248
    PS I found it for the time and clouds:
    Enviro.EnviroManager.instance.Time.SetDateTime
    Enviro.EnviroVolumetricCloudsQuality
     
  3. schildawg

    schildawg

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    I just upgraded to 3.0 and I love how everything looks and the improvements to the editor! However, I'm experiencing a problem when I build and run my game outside of Unity. The volume clouds don't render and the edges of the sky have weird random reflections. Everything works perfectly fine within Unity. I'm wondering if there is something I'm missing in project settings, like setting a shader to always active? I know in the previous version you had to, but I couldn't find anything in the documentation.
     
  4. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Hello, for basic API you could have a look into the included docs in Enviro 3 folder,

    For clouds bottom height:
    Enviro.EnviroManager.instance.VolumetricClouds.settingsLayer1.bottomCloudsHeight = 2000f;
    Enviro.EnviroManager.instance.VolumetricClouds.settingsLayer2.bottomCloudsHeight = 8000f;
     
    Firlefanz73 likes this.
  5. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Hello, hm what Unity version and renderpipeline do you use? Is this on PC or Mac? And can you please send me a screenshot of the artifacts you see in builds?
     
  6. schildawg

    schildawg

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    I'm on Windows 7 running Unity 2022.2 with built in. (Yeah, I know :D) I'll attach a screenshot in a few minutes. I already reverted back to earlier version. Shouldn't take long to redo :)
     
  7. schildawg

    schildawg

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    What I see in Unity:
    In Editor.png
     
  8. schildawg

    schildawg

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    What I see running build:
    Glitch2.png
     
  9. pychnight

    pychnight

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    few problems with unity 2021.3 with evo 3.01

    Code (CSharp):
    1. NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    2. EnviroExternalWindow.OnGUI () (at Assets/Enviro 3 - Sky and Weather/Scripts/Editor/Base/EnviroExternalWindow.cs:22)
    3. UnityEditor.HostView.InvokeOnGUI (UnityEngine.Rect onGUIPosition) (at <5e26277f966d4f80afa5d51573eba699>:0)
    4. UnityEditor.DockArea.DrawView (UnityEngine.Rect dockAreaRect) (at <5e26277f966d4f80afa5d51573eba699>:0)
    5. UnityEditor.DockArea.OldOnGUI () (at <5e26277f966d4f80afa5d51573eba699>:0)
    6. UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.DoOnGUI (UnityEngine.Event evt, UnityEngine.Matrix4x4 parentTransform, UnityEngine.Rect clippingRect, System.Boolean isComputingLayout, UnityEngine.Rect layoutSize, System.Action onGUIHandler, System.Boolean canAffectFocus) (at <fbddd4b6a38a43f8acee7fd19fb6ee84>:0)
    7. UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.HandleIMGUIEvent (UnityEngine.Event e, UnityEngine.Matrix4x4 worldTransform, UnityEngine.Rect clippingRect, System.Action onGUIHandler, System.Boolean canAffectFocus) (at <fbddd4b6a38a43f8acee7fd19fb6ee84>:0)
    8. UnityEngine.UIElements.IMGUIContainer.DoIMGUIRepaint () (at <fbddd4b6a38a43f8acee7fd19fb6ee84>:0)
    9. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIR.RenderChainCommand.ExecuteNonDrawMesh (UnityEngine.UIElements.UIR.DrawParams drawParams, System.Single pixelsPerPoint, System.Exception& immediateException) (at <fbddd4b6a38a43f8acee7fd19fb6ee84>:0)
    10. Rethrow as ImmediateModeException
    11. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIR.RenderChain.Render () (at <fbddd4b6a38a43f8acee7fd19fb6ee84>:0)
    12. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIRRepaintUpdater.Update () (at <fbddd4b6a38a43f8acee7fd19fb6ee84>:0)
    13. UnityEngine.UIElements.VisualTreeUpdater.UpdateVisualTreePhase (UnityEngine.UIElements.VisualTreeUpdatePhase phase) (at <fbddd4b6a38a43f8acee7fd19fb6ee84>:0)
    14. UnityEngine.UIElements.Panel.UpdateForRepaint () (at <fbddd4b6a38a43f8acee7fd19fb6ee84>:0)
    15. UnityEngine.UIElements.Panel.Repaint (UnityEngine.Event e) (at <fbddd4b6a38a43f8acee7fd19fb6ee84>:0)
    16. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIElementsUtility.DoDispatch (UnityEngine.UIElements.BaseVisualElementPanel panel) (at <fbddd4b6a38a43f8acee7fd19fb6ee84>:0)
    17. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIElementsUtility.UnityEngine.UIElements.IUIElementsUtility.ProcessEvent (System.Int32 instanceID, System.IntPtr nativeEventPtr, System.Boolean& eventHandled) (at <fbddd4b6a38a43f8acee7fd19fb6ee84>:0)
    18. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIEventRegistration.ProcessEvent (System.Int32 instanceID, System.IntPtr nativeEventPtr) (at <fbddd4b6a38a43f8acee7fd19fb6ee84>:0)
    19. UnityEngine.UIElements.UIEventRegistration+<>c.<.cctor>b__1_2 (System.Int32 i, System.IntPtr ptr) (at <fbddd4b6a38a43f8acee7fd19fb6ee84>:0)
    20. UnityEngine.GUIUtility.ProcessEvent (System.Int32 instanceID, System.IntPtr nativeEventPtr, System.Boolean& result) (at <dd3e446df64a4cc4811a8f1adf352c16>:0)
    tried fresh install with this and results are the same.
     
  10. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Hello, thanks for your report. Will be fixed in next update. For the moment please do not open the external enviro window (Windows -> Enviro -> Enviro Window) in non Enviro scenes. :D
     
  11. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Hello, that issue should be fixed with next Enviro 3 update in the next days. Seems like Unity does not auto set the camera depth texture texel size in Unity 2022?! Not sure why or if this is a Unity bug? Sorry for the inconvenience!
     
  12. schildawg

    schildawg

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    Not an inconvenience at all. I'm on outdated computer with a beta version of Unity :D You rock!!
     
  13. schildawg

    schildawg

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    Is it possible to insert a mountains "skybox" between the player and the clouds to reduce drawing the mountains in the distance?
     
  14. judah4

    judah4

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Posts:
    256
    I like the changes for Enviro 3! I have a question and issue though.

    Q: Is there an equivalent Server Headless Mode like in Enviro 2? Or is it expected to disable most of the modules for running time on a server?

    Issue: The clouds seem to have a layering issue with Line Renderers. I will should be able to grab you a screenshot and material details soon.
     
  15. imDanOush

    imDanOush

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Posts:
    367
    Hello,

    Would you please answer these 2 questions below @Vondox? (I'm talking about Enviro for Unity's Built-In Render Pipeline in this post)
    1. Does Enviro offer a 3D/Volumetric cloud [like the image below] so that I add it at a height of ~400 meters (Each Unity unit = 1 meter)


    2. Does Enviro fully support Crest Ocean (Built-in Render Pipeline) including the atmosphere, the underwater lighting, and the fog effects?


    Looking forward to your reply.
    - Dan.
     
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2022
  16. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Hello, yes but you would need to modify the skybox shader (Easy modification). But this only will work well when not using dynamic time of day.
     
  17. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Hello, currently no headless server mode. But I will add this soon in one of the next updates. Would be great to get some more information about your other issue.
     
  18. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Hello Dan, yeah you can render clouds at a height of 400 in front of your scene mountains. About crest: I have a guide to modify the crest shader to add Enviro fog and volumetrics effects to it. I actually haven't checked the underwater lighting yet.
     
  19. imDanOush

    imDanOush

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2013
    Posts:
    367
    Thank you for your reply but it brought me 2 questions:
    1. Does that mean that the player can go into the clouds - as if they are somehow in a volumetric fog?

    2. And would you please confirm if the underwater lighting and its other effects would work with Enviro using the latest built-in render pipeline version of Crest? A screenshot or a video would indeed be much appreciated.

    Looking forward to your reply.
     
    Last edited: Nov 10, 2022
  20. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Yeah camera can go into clouds. And here are some screenshots with cest. (I don't know all the crest features and not using it regulary, so it might can be configured better) :D

    upload_2022-11-10_17-28-2.png

    upload_2022-11-10_17-28-33.png

    upload_2022-11-10_17-29-19.png
     

    Attached Files:

    imDanOush likes this.
  21. LootlabGames

    LootlabGames

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Posts:
    306
  22. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Hello, please check your Unity shadow settings. Use four cascades and do not use too large shadow distance.
     
  23. LootlabGames

    LootlabGames

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Posts:
    306
    Thanks for the reply.

    I am using 4 shadow cascades and even if I turn the shadow distance down to 10 it still flickers. But lowering it helps a bit. Is this just a unity problem?


     
  24. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Hello, I will add a new setting in next update to update the directional light rotation in steps. So it won't rotate every frame. That will also help to render shadows a bit more stable.
     
    LootlabGames likes this.
  25. knas01

    knas01

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Posts:
    220
    Hi, I have some questions.

    What's the difference between Enviro and Enviro 3? In the descriptions it look pretty similar.

    Is there an online demo or something to test it out? The reason I ask is that other volumetric cloud systems I tried has the tendency to make the graphics card go to full load, making it hot and maxes the fans, even at very low settings. I have a RTX 2080 so it's by no means weak but at full load it sounds like an airport..
     
  26. mchangxe

    mchangxe

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2019
    Posts:
    51
    Hi, I've ran into a pretty big bug imo. I have multiple scenes using enviro 3 and therefore have created multiple enviro 3 configurations to use in each scene. I have found that in the weather section, When I change settings in a weather, say Rain, all rain settings in my other configurations change as well. Is this intended?
     
  27. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Hello, Enviro 3 was written from scratch with a new modular design philosophy. Its core features like sky / fog and volumetric clouds are a visual upgrade from Enviro 2 with pretty much same performance impact. In short: Its easier to use/customize and has better overall visuals.

    About maxing out your GPU: Effects like volumetric clouds run heavy on GPU. Sounds like your project is GPU bound at the moment, meaning your GPU run at its limit whereas your CPU is idling. You could limit the framerate if you don't want to max out your GPU.
     
  28. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Hello, this is actually intended. The weather types are scriptable objects my its own and saved separately (Check the Enviro 3 -> Profiles -> Weather Types folder). You could create copies of the weather types and assign those to your other configurations as a solution.
     
  29. knas01

    knas01

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2018
    Posts:
    220
    So you are saying that I won't get this problem with Enviro if I limit FPS? The reason I ask is that some assets that use volumetric effects and/or raymarching maxes the GPU while others don't, without me having to limit FPS. That's why I was curious if there was a demo there I could try different settings.
     
  30. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Sorry, currently no demo available. I might will provide a demo download in future, when I find the time. :)
     
  31. artsyguy209_unity

    artsyguy209_unity

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2020
    Posts:
    1
    hello, how do i use shadows feature?
     
  32. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,400
    Hello, do you mean cloud shadows? You can enable those in your volumetric clouds module at the bottom.
     
  33. rafaelmfernandez

    rafaelmfernandez

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Posts:
    55
    Using this in my game, is there a way to slow down how fast the move around?

    Edit: This is done by editing the clouds world scale
     
  34. OffroadGamesStudio

    OffroadGamesStudio

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2016
    Posts:
    5
    Hi, i am building game for mobile android/ios and i dont need VR in my game. When i removed VR Package from Unity Package Manager Built Packages. Got Error because enviro need VR. Which you added support for VR.
    Is there way i can remove features from Enviro like VR which i don't need.
    I recommend Enable/Disable VR Feature. same for other features.
     
  35. hsklunity

    hsklunity

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    hello is there a way to get the wind direction and a way to set the direction.
     
  36. jRocket

    jRocket

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Posts:
    637
    In Enviro 3, undo doesn't seem to work.
     
  37. jRocket

    jRocket

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Posts:
    637
    I noticed that my night scene looks different in brightness in play mode vs scene view. It's much darker in play mode. This only occurs if ambient mode is set to "Skybox".
     
  38. jRocket

    jRocket

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Posts:
    637
    Another bug- "Ambient Intensity Curve" does not work whenever it is set to "Trilight" or "Flat". Also, Ambient Intensity Modifier slider is always grayed out for me.