Search Unity

  1. Unity 2020.1 has been released.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Enviro - Sky and Weather (Dynamic Sky and Weather System)

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Vondox, Apr 11, 2015.

  1. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Sorry, haven't seen those when I replied.

    Yes, you can deactivate features you don't want to use of course. Northern lights and clouds are working in HDRP already.
     
    ftejada likes this.
  2. ftejada

    ftejada

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Posts:
    609
    Ok @Vondox . I buy. I'm already in discord. Can I request access to the Enviro HDRP beta over there?
     
  3. mmaclaurin

    mmaclaurin

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    244
    Ooooops thank you!!!
     
  4. woozles

    woozles

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Hi @Vondox
    I'm doing some testing cross platform and I'm experiencing some issues on macOS (Metal) with global reflections. (Everything is perfect in Windows).
    On a build initially everything is fine (first screenshot), but when I move the time of day and the reflection map updates I get artifacts in the cube map reflection map.
    I haven't done extensive testing, but was hoping I could be directed to a quick solution. It sometimes disappears and returns again when changing TOD.

    Thank you very much!





    Initial:


    Changing time of day and triggering global reflection


    Same here:
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2020
  5. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Hello, thanks for your report! I haven't seen those yet. Can you please try to deactivate the "Global Reflection Use Fog" option here to see if it is may related to that particular effect?
     
  6. woozles

    woozles

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Thank you Vondox, I'll give it a try. I captured it in a video:

     
  7. woozles

    woozles

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Hi again @Vondox that was it. I'll keep it off for now for the MacOS version. As I said, there is no problem in Windows builds.
    Have a nice day.
     
  8. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Okay, thanks for the feedback. I will have a look into that later. :)
     
  9. Enigma229

    Enigma229

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Posts:
    29
    I'm using Enviro to control weather for a cinematic I'm creating in Unity. I'm using Timeline and Cinemachine and I have a bad feeling that the particle effects (like rain) don't work when using Cinemachine's Virtual Cameras.

    Any ideas?
     
  10. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Maybe make sure that the assigned player transform in enviro is around your cameras as the position wil be used to move the particle effects. So maybe your cameras are just out of reach here?!
     
  11. Enigma229

    Enigma229

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Posts:
    29
    Seems to work now. Cinemachine's Virtual Cameras get some of their properties from the Main Camera. So the Main Camera is actually in the same place as the Virtual Cameras are.

    I can hardly see the rain. It's very visible in the Scene but barely visible in the Game view.

    Will tweaking the particle settings make them more visible?
     
  12. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Do you maybe use TAA here? That one also could lead to those fast small particles may be barely visible. Try to tweak the TAA effect values and tweaking the particle effect itself also could help here.
     
  13. Enigma229

    Enigma229

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Posts:
    29
    That helps. Still would like to increase the amount of rain visible.

    I noticed that the SevereWeather setting has no rain.
     
  14. Enigma229

    Enigma229

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Posts:
    29
    Disregard the SevereWeather comment. My co-worker made a custom Weather preset and said not to use it.

    But again, I would like to increase the amount of rain visible.
     
  15. Raul_MadGoat

    Raul_MadGoat

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Posts:
    327
    Hello!
    What would be the best way to check via code if the aurora is currently visible?
     
  16. Rastapastor

    Rastapastor

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Posts:
    135
    World Creator Standalone PRO + Quadspinner Gaea PRO + Enviro + Microsplat

    Textures from Game Textures....posting screenshots instead of the artstation link -.-, so hopefully this one not deleted XD
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      2.8 MB
      Views:
      94
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      2.5 MB
      Views:
      97
    • 3.jpg
      3.jpg
      File size:
      2.4 MB
      Views:
      83
    • 5.jpg
      5.jpg
      File size:
      2.1 MB
      Views:
      83
    • 6.jpg
      6.jpg
      File size:
      2.5 MB
      Views:
      77
    Vondox and Raul_MadGoat like this.
  17. Enigma229

    Enigma229

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Posts:
    29
    Looked at this page in this thread.

    I have CTS installed but when I goto Component>CTS>

    There is no option to add a CTS Weather Manager

    There is an option to add this in Window>Procedural Worlds>CTS and it just adds a CTS Weather Manager to the scene

    I've activated CTS support in the Enviro Sky Manager. Is the CTS shader on the Unity Terrain supposed to look wet when Rain is activated?
     
  18. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Hello, the rain effects are standard unity particle effects. You can esily tweak ot replace with your own here. You can find the prefabs that will get instantiated in Enviro - Sky and Weather -> Core -> Prefabs -> Particle Effects folder.
     
  19. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Hello, following code should work:

    Code (CSharp):
    1.         if (EnviroSky.instance.auroraSettings.auroraIntensity.Evaluate(EnviroSky.instance.GameTime.solarTime) * EnviroSky.instance.auroraIntensity > 0f)
    2.         {
    3.             //Visible
    4.         }
    5.         else
    6.         {
    7.             //not visble
    8.         }
     
    Raul_MadGoat likes this.
  20. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Yeah, it is supposed to look wet when it is raining. Please check the CTS Weather Manager does the wetness setting increase here when it is raining in Enviro, because that is the only part enviro does here -> setting the values in CTS Weather Manager.
     
  21. mmaclaurin

    mmaclaurin

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2016
    Posts:
    244
    Hello Vondox, sorry if I missed this but how do we emulate the old shoreline node in MM2?
     
  22. mbhagat

    mbhagat

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    any example ?
    Say one envieonrment is snow ,
    One is jungle
    both will have different lighting setting and skỵ
    Please share one test case or guidance how it will work.
     
  23. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,394
    You can change the weather preset easily during runtime. It's just a matter of invoking a single method which sets the preset you want

    Code (CSharp):
    1. EnviroSkyMgr.instance.ChangeWeather( "Heavy Snow");
    2.  
    You could even mix weather zones like I did here:

     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2020
    Magic73, mmaclaurin and mbhagat like this.
  24. mbhagat

    mbhagat

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    Okay so it have coding control to load profile or preset.
    It can work in my case .
    Thanks a lot.
    Let me buy it.
    Only last thing , is it good to use on mobile ?
    I mean any special precaution?
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2020
  25. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    You should use Enviro Lite on mobiles. And maybe also come over to discord (https://discord.gg/5c6kfW6) and I can send you latest test version with the new faster 2D clouds system.
     
  26. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Hi, I guess wrong thread? :D
     
    mmaclaurin likes this.
  27. Enigma229

    Enigma229

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2019
    Posts:
    29
    The terrain doesn't look wet in Play mode. Am I missing a step?
     
  28. mbhagat

    mbhagat

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Posts:
    27
    cool let me join discord .
    I have bouight the pack .
     
  29. JalalGurbanov

    JalalGurbanov

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2017
    Posts:
    13
    Hi, is HDRP supported? If it is not, is there any plan to do so?
     
  30. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Hello, HDRP support is currently in development and in open beta test on enviro discord channel. Feel free to join there when if you bought enviro and send me a message so I can give your beta tester role.
     
  31. muzboz

    muzboz

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Posts:
    68
    re: What FOG to use with Enviro?

    I'm using Enviro for its great day-night cycle, and light rays and things.

    In my game, I I have a set of islands dotted around in a big ocean.

    I want to FOG my set of islands, to give it more mood, and also to maybe bring in the draw distance, with a dense distance fog.





    Q: What sorts of FOG do people generally use with Enviro?

    I see that Enviro has it's own built-in fog. Do people use that?

    Or other packages? Any good / compatible free ones that people love?

    Or other paid ones that work really well?

    (I see "Aura 2" and "Volume Fog 3" are both mentioned as compatible on the Enviro product page. What have people found using those? Recommended? Limitations? Easy? Hard?)
     
    Last edited: Apr 20, 2020
  32. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,394
    I just modified my Enviro runtime Weather and Time switcher Script which I use for development purposes. I thought it might be of use for you guys as well.

    So attached you can find the script.

    Usage:

    NumPad +/-: shift through predefined list of weather presets
    Alpha [1..0]: directly access a weather preset from a list of weather presets
    PageUp/Down: change time of day by hour

    You can optionally show the current weather preset and time in the UI in a TextMesh Pro control, in my screens bottom left and bottom right. Creating such screenshots with different time and weather conditions is just a matter of a minute and pushing keys:

    s5.jpg
    s6.jpg
    s3.jpg
    s2.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  33. muzboz

    muzboz

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Posts:
    68

    Nice, thanks!
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  34. muzboz

    muzboz

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2012
    Posts:
    68
    Does Enviro come with some example scenes that have the Enviro FOG in them?
     
  35. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Hello, the fog is already active as default setting. Just change to a foggy weather and you should see it for example in enviro sample scene.
     
    muzboz likes this.
  36. robertandriessen

    robertandriessen

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Hi,

    I have a basic setup in the URP for unity, just trying out the demo scene. But it looks like my house and terrain is purple. Does it have a problem with the latest version of Unity? 2019.3.10f1

    It's also complaining about relfection probes missing and some unknown on this behaviour missing what ever that is.
     
  37. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Hello, sorry there currently is no dedicated sample scene for URP, but enviro itself should work correctly. Please try to setup enviro in your own scene. I will add sample scene for urp in a later update.
     
    muzboz likes this.
  38. theonerm2_unity

    theonerm2_unity

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2018
    Posts:
    69
    How can I stop the Rain/Snow from going inside my buildings?
    I tried this and it only partially works. Some rain still seems to get through. Not sure what to do about it.

     
  39. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Hello, please make sure that you are not running into the "Max Collision Shape" count here. Best option is creating your own layer for any colliders that should stop particle effects here. Also maybe try to lower the "Voxel Size" here too, but try to keep it as high as you can.

    https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/PartSysCollisionModule.html
     
  40. sky_dragon

    sky_dragon

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Posts:
    26
    The characters and maps I used are enlarged. How can I adjust the size of this?

    upload_2020-4-24_19-46-38.png
     
  41. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Hello, sorry not really understand your image here. What version of Enviro are you using? And what exactly you want to do here? Clouds seen from above view?
     
  42. sky_dragon

    sky_dragon

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Posts:
    26
    Enviro:2.3.0.
    My English is not good, sorry.
    As shown in the picture, the size of my character and map is enlarged ten times. So the effect in Enviro becomes smaller.
    The white part of the circle around the character is the snow effect.
     
  43. sky_dragon

    sky_dragon

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Posts:
    26
    What I want to achieve is to also enlarge "Enviro Effects" ten times. However, I found that the Scale can only be modified at runtime, not could be modified in Editor.
     
  44. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Ah okay, you would need to tweak the particle effects here. For example set "Start Size" * 10 and "Radius" * 10. You can find the prefabs of the weather effects in Enviro - Sky and Weather -> Core -> Prefabs -> Particle Effects folder.

    upload_2020-4-24_18-19-19.png

    Please note that you need to restart your scene to see the changes made here, so I may would edit them outside of Enviro.
     
  45. eaque

    eaque

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Posts:
    664
    HI,

    Always enjoying working with Enviro and I noticed on several computers i often have a too strong bloom around the sun even without post process on camera...
    Sometimes when the sun is at the borders of the camera, the llight clipps with huge white light foggy thing on screen.

    I know it's me! i must be missing something :p
    thx in advance

    upload_2020-4-24_23-30-27.png
     
  46. eaque

    eaque

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Posts:
    664
    most of the times this "issue" happens more when the sun is laying down at the horizon
    upload_2020-4-24_23-32-24.png

    in this case i use lux water and the issue is much much bigger, :cool:. I did all the steps for the integration on lux water manual....
     
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2020
  47. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,133
    Hello, could be related to Volume Lighting or Lightshafts maybe. Please try to deactive those effects and check if that will stop the bright fog here. Then you could tweak either the Volume Lighting intensity in your weather presets -> General config. Or the Lightshafts intensity in your Enviro Sky Instance -> Edit Profile -> Lightshafts -> Intensity.
     
  48. eaque

    eaque

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Posts:
    664
    (edit:half):) Solved! Many thanks for your fast answer:
    - it was the light shaft, the blur radius was set too high. :) No more sunglasses while working on unity!
    :cool:
     
    Last edited: Apr 25, 2020
  49. eaque

    eaque

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Posts:
    664
    sorry again, but even with low settings the sun can appear real big depending on camera ...
    upload_2020-4-25_17-0-27.png
    upload_2020-4-25_17-1-26.png
     
  50. eaque

    eaque

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Posts:
    664
    settings are so low that i loose the benefit of lightshaft effect but the sun remains big even with very "small settings"
    upload_2020-4-25_17-2-44.png
     
unityunity