Search Unity

  1. New Unity Live Help updates. Check them out here!

    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Enviro - Sky and Weather (Dynamic Sky and Weather System)

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Vondox, Apr 11, 2015.

  1. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hi, this should work:

    Code (CSharp):
    1. using System.Collections;
    2. using System.Collections.Generic;
    3. using UnityEngine;
    4.  
    5. public class EnviroMinutePassedHandler : MonoBehaviour
    6. {
    7.     public EnviroEvents.EnviroActionEvent onMinutePassedActions = new EnviroEvents.EnviroActionEvent();
    8.     public delegate void MinutePassed();
    9.     public event MinutePassed OnMinutePassed;
    10.  
    11.     private int cashedMinute;
    12.  
    13.     public virtual void NotifyMinutePassed()
    14.     {
    15.         if (OnMinutePassed != null)
    16.             OnMinutePassed();
    17.     }
    18.  
    19.  
    20.     private void Start()
    21.     {
    22.         OnMinutePassed += () => MinutesPassed();
    23.         cashedMinute = EnviroSkyMgr.instance.GetCurrentMinute();
    24.     }
    25.  
    26.     private void Update()
    27.     {
    28.         int currentMinute = EnviroSkyMgr.instance.GetCurrentMinute();
    29.  
    30.         if (currentMinute != cashedMinute)
    31.         {
    32.             //Minute Passed event
    33.             NotifyMinutePassed();
    34.             cashedMinute = currentMinute;
    35.         }
    36.     }
    37.  
    38.     private void MinutesPassed()
    39.     {
    40.         onMinutePassedActions.Invoke();
    41.     }
    42. }
    This way you can listen to event like this:

    minuteHandler.OnMinutePassed += () => {

    help(.05f);

    };

    Or add actions directly in component inspector.
     
  2. SickaGamer

    SickaGamer

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2018
    Posts:
    943
    So whats the new big upgrade supposed to do?! :)
     
  3. jasperstocker

    jasperstocker

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Posts:
    412
    Hi @Vondox - great asset!!
    Quick query with something I'm trying to do. I'm capturing a video in Unity and at certain points I'm waiting for the level parts to load in so there can be 20-30 second gaps between actually rendering each frame into a video file. During this time the clouds move (as they should) so I've disabled the wind during this process and set the cloudsTimeScale to zero however the clouds still undulate in place as the get bigger/smaller. Is there something else I could do to effectively freeze the clouds which I'm capturing video? Thanks
     
  4. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    The next update will include improvements all over the features. Improved performance, improved dithering, cleaner UI new optional multi gradient based skybox and so on. Main work was done for upcoming HDRP support, where I will release a new beta version soon. Just awaiting release for HDRP 7.2. If all goes well I will upload Enviro - Pro upgrade to asset store next week. So no big new features but a lot of improvements and fixes for standard and lwrp/urp render pipeline and work done for HDRP support..
     
  5. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hello, do you use latest version of enviro? In latest version clouds should be freezed if "Time scale" is set to zero.
     
  6. atomicjoe

    atomicjoe

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    667
    I just saw you published a Video Skybox Creator.
    No upgrade discount for current Enviro owners? :(
     
  7. MianWaqqas

    MianWaqqas

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Need Urgent Help,
    black area on ios.
    device iphone 6s plus
    seeing black area when a specific season is came. when season is changed the black area is gone.as far i know its related to specific season. which i dont know :). Please see this video for issue.
     
  8. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hello, I have added a 10$ discount for enviro users for now. This may will change in future and price from Skybox Creator also will raise later when new features implemented.

    EDIT:
    Okay, I only can set upgrade as "Major Upgrade". But that way reviews and ratings are transferred from Enviro. I think that is misleading and not a good solution for this.
    I will have a chat with Unity Asset Store team later if there is another way. So no discout for now, sorry.. :/
     
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2020
    atomicjoe likes this.
  9. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hello, oh I haven't seen something like that yet. What version of enviro do you use? Are you sure it really is bound to season and not weather maybe?
     
  10. MianWaqqas

    MianWaqqas

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Version = 2.2.1a
     
  11. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Do you use lite or standard?
     
  12. jasperstocker

    jasperstocker

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Posts:
    412
    Thanks for your response! :D
    I had a go at updating but that didn't fix the issue.
    Then I noticed the "flatCloudsMorphingSpeed" variable...
    Setting that to zero stopped the clouds undulating effect (nice effect btw!)
    Sorted!
     
  13. DeidreRae

    DeidreRae

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2019
    Posts:
    11
    So been using enviro past 6 months its amazing. Getting to a point our game is ready for an alpha in the next month WOHOO! Alas.. I seem to have very bright days that i wished would change as they cast some aweful shadows at most Daylight hours on our characters face. Can anyone point me in a direction to possibly aid in this? Thank you
     
  14. MianWaqqas

    MianWaqqas

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Check this
     

    Attached Files:

  15. abenoit-sip

    abenoit-sip

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2019
    Posts:
    1
    Hello Vendox,

    I am having an issue with a night/day cycle.
    The idea is to change the time in a single scene.
    First is early morning with a low sun : the player races through the forest for about 20 seconds.
    upload_2020-2-7_15-27-18.png
    Then I have a 2D image pop up for a couple of seconds which allows me to change time and profiles without having to worry about transitions.
    Then I go to midday.
    Same thing for sunset, dusk and finally night.
    My issue is when I go back to early morning my ambient light is the same as the night before so the shadows are way too dark :
    upload_2020-2-7_15-31-56.png
    You can reproduce this quickly in the enviro sky profile :
    upload_2020-2-7_15-34-29.png
    Set the time to 8. Press play.
    Set the time to 12. Release the cursor and go back to 8.
    Everything should be fine.
    Now set the time to 21, and go back to 8, it feels like the ambient is "stuck" at night.
    Any idea on what I am doing wrong ?
     
  16. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hi, do you use skybox ambient mode here? Please try and call DynamicGI.UpdateEnvironment(); when you set time back to early morning. I will have a look why it should stuck in this case for next update.

    Thanks. :)
     
  17. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hi, please check Enviro Sky Instance -> Edit Profile -> Lighting and decrease the right half of "Direct Light Sun Intensity".
     
  18. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,111
    I toyed around with various assets during the weekend, one of the core was Enviro, so here is a little showcase of them all working together:



    :)
     
  19. atomicjoe

    atomicjoe

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    667
    Impressive! (although something seems wrong with the rotation axis of that car.)
    Looks like AAA to me.
    What hardware were you running that on?
     
  20. Rowlan

    Rowlan

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Posts:
    1,111
    Thank you :) Yeah, that's one of the next things I'm looking into. Here's a pic regarding hardware. I didn't optimize anything yet.

    hw.jpg
     
    KRGraphics and atomicjoe like this.
  21. skinwalker

    skinwalker

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Posts:
    376
    Hello,

    Id like to know if its possible to extend the duration of the sun setting down, currently DayLengthInMinutes is 25 and NightLengthInMinutes is 15, but when its 18:30 the sun is already down and I can see moon, is it possible to make the sun go down at around 20:30 ?

    I start the game at 10AM and after about 6-7 minutes you can already see it going dark.
     
  22. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hello, you could change the location (lat/long/time offset) and maybe also date (summer) for longer sunlight times.
     
    skinwalker likes this.
  23. SKNKanimation

    SKNKanimation

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    Having a little bit of an issue compiling in GLES3 on Unity 2019.2.20. Any suggestions on how to fix this one? I'm not going to be using it on the Android build, but it's still in the program for the Windows version (which works fine.)

    Android compile gives me:

    Shader error in 'Hidden/EnviroDistanceBlur': Output variable vert contains a system-interpreted value (SV_RenderTargetArrayIndex) which must be written in every execution path of the shader. Unconditional initialization may help. at Assets/Enviro - Sky and Weather/Enviro Standard/Resources/Shaders/Core/EnviroBlurCore.cginc(165) (on gles3)
    Compiling Vertex program with STEREO_INSTANCING_ON UNITY_COLORSPACE_GAMMA
    Platform defines: UNITY_NO_DXT5nm UNITY_NO_RGBM UNITY_ENABLE_REFLECTION_BUFFERS UNITY_FRAMEBUFFER_FETCH_AVAILABLE UNITY_NO_CUBEMAP_ARRAY UNITY_NO_SCREENSPACE_SHADOWS UNITY_PBS_USE_BRDF2 SHADER_API_MOBILE UNITY_HARDWARE_TIER2 UNITY_LIGHTMAP_DLDR_ENCODING
     
  24. SKNKanimation

    SKNKanimation

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2017
    Posts:
    10
    I'm not really sure if this is a good solution, but to get it to compile I was able to change line 167 in EnviroBlurCore from
    v2f_img o;
    to
    v2f_img o = (v2f_img)0;
    And it compiled. This may very well break the Windows build or something; I don't know. I've been programming for years and shader code is still beyond me.
     
  25. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hi, thanks for your report. That one should be fixed in next update already, but I will give it another try and build for android later. :)
     
  26. jayeshK

    jayeshK

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hello sir,
    I am trying to build URP project with steamvr plugin. I have followed the step as per Documentation 2.0. I m able to see the effect in editor. But as soon as i build the project, I get black screen when i start the built EXE. Probably i m missing something. I couldnt Find Enviro/VolumeLighting, Instead I found Enviro/Standard/VolumeLighting. I added it to graphics setting as per guide.

    Kindly find the following log that i get for multiple times .



    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.LWRP.EnviroVolumeCloudsLWRP.AddRenderPasses (UnityEngine.Rendering.Universal.ScriptableRenderer renderer, UnityEngine.Rendering.Universal.RenderingData& renderingData) [0x000c9] in <e43515a7e8054d7f8dc1407497881ef6>:0
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.Universal.ForwardRenderer.Setup (UnityEngine.Rendering.ScriptableRenderContext context, UnityEngine.Rendering.Universal.RenderingData& renderingData) [0x00201] in <5b1b94c7d9a54d5b8d7a6b02dd7482ba>:0
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.Universal.UniversalRenderPipeline.RenderSingleCamera (UnityEngine.Rendering.ScriptableRenderContext context, UnityEngine.Camera camera) [0x000e6] in <5b1b94c7d9a54d5b8d7a6b02dd7482ba>:0
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.Universal.UniversalRenderPipeline.Render (UnityEngine.Rendering.ScriptableRenderContext renderContext, UnityEngine.Camera[] cameras) [0x00040] in <5b1b94c7d9a54d5b8d7a6b02dd7482ba>:0
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipeline.InternalRender (UnityEngine.Rendering.ScriptableRenderContext context, UnityEngine.Camera[] cameras) [0x0001c] in <81f8687028fe45258b35a0e4d1b5fd5a>:0
    at UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipelineManager.DoRenderLoop_Internal (UnityEngine.Rendering.RenderPipelineAsset pipe, System.IntPtr loopPtr) [0x0003d] in <81f8687028fe45258b35a0e4d1b5fd5a>:0
     
  27. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hello, please join discord and contact me there for beta role to download preview patches. I think that one should be fixed already in preview update and will be soon released.
     
  28. bartek0403

    bartek0403

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Hi, I'm trying to integrate Enviro with my existing project, but I come across a strange bug. I'm having double sided image when the camera (with EnviroSkyRenderer enebled) meets point light. When I disable EnviroSkyRenderer or move point light away from view frustum everything is normal. I suppose it can be connected with Deffered Lighting.
    I tried to search the thread but found nothing similar.
    Below my spec with screenshot.
    Unity 2019.3
    Enviro 2.2.1 with Sky Manager VR Instance (VR Singlepass checkbox enabled)
    Singlepass VR
    Deffered lighting

    First screen EnviroSkyRenderer enabled, second disabled.
     

    Attached Files:

  29. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hello, please try to deactivate "Volumetric Lighting" in Enviro "Feature Controls". I will have a look into that and include a fix then for next update. Thanks. :)
     
  30. bartek0403

    bartek0403

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2018
    Posts:
    3

    Thanks for quick answer, I tried recreating issue on clean project - no success. So it must be issue on my side. Probably due to "Shader Keyword limit exceeded", but I will keep investigating. I will update post for future generations if I find solution :D Sorry for bothering you
     
  31. Firlefanz73

    Firlefanz73

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Posts:
    1,135
    Hello,

    I just updated to the latest Enviro Version.
    Where did These go, I get an error after the update:

    EnviroSkyMgr.instance.Components.GlobalReflectionProbe.hdr

    And are there QualitySettings for EnviroSkyMgr now somewhere or will be in the next update?

    Thanks a lot :)

    PS: And how do I turn off the Enviro Camera HDR Flag with EnviroSkyMgr.instance?
     
    Last edited: Feb 12, 2020
  32. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hello, I think I was able to reproduce that issue in Unity 2019.3.0f6. Please contact me in discord and I can send you a fixed package.
     
  33. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hello, you can change the HDR setting of the probe here:

    EnviroSkyMgr.instance.Components.GlobalReflectionProbe.myProbe.hdr

    I will add both HDR and QualitySettings in next update. Should be released next week.
     
    Firlefanz73 likes this.
  34. Firlefanz73

    Firlefanz73

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Posts:
    1,135
  35. Firlefanz73

    Firlefanz73

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Posts:
    1,135
    When Building, I get an error (PC Standalone, Unity 2019.3.1f1, latest Enviro from store):

    Error building Player: Shader error in 'Enviro/Lite/EnviroFogRendering': undeclared identifier '_SkyFogHeight' at line 135 (on d3d11)
    Compiling Vertex program with LUXWATER_DEFERREDFOG
    Platform defines: UNITY_ENABLE_REFLECTION_BUFFERS UNITY_USE_DITHER_MASK_FOR_ALPHABLENDED_SHADOWS UNITY_PBS_USE_BRDF1 UNITY_SPECCUBE_BOX_PROJECTION UNITY_SPECCUBE_BLENDING UNITY_ENABLE_DETAIL_NORMALMAP SHADER_API_DESKTOP UNITY_COLORSPACE_GAMMA UNITY_LIGHT_PROBE_PROXY_VOLUME UNITY_LIGHTMAP_RGBM_ENCODING

    How do I fix it? Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2020
  36. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hi, please check your conversation. I send you a package with a fix.

    Edit: Error was caused by old shader that was lying around in project. It should not appear on fresh import.
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2020
    Firlefanz73 likes this.
  37. MintIsHere

    MintIsHere

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Posts:
    6
    hi !
    i will buy Enviro soon…
    Enviro work with game kit controller ?
     
  38. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hello, I haven't used that particulal asset yet, but I don't see any reason why it shouldn't work with enviro. :)
     
  39. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,995
    Hey, guys... it's been a while since I've been on here... wanted to know what are the latest developments of this asset. I will be moving to more powerful hardware and I wanted to know if the sun could have its Dynamic range set? Like the actual sun intensity affecting the entire scene. And will this work with RTX On? For my upcoming project, I am intent on using Real-time raytracing with sky lighting
     
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2020
  40. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hello, currently focusing on releasing support for HDRP. Join discord if you want ot test the preview version! I haven't tested raytracing yet. Sorry, can't you tell how well that works already.
     
  41. KRGraphics

    KRGraphics

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Posts:
    3,995
    Sweet... and what is this sky baking I was reading about?

    EDIT:

    Export to HDR Cubemap:
    Enviro can render your sky in insane quality and export to a .exr hdr cubemap you can use in other projects where you don't need dynamic skies.


    I LOVE the sound of this!! Just need to ensure that the sky is outputting full HDR values... hence why I hope to test this feature in conjunction with RTX Raytracing. Also, need to find out about lighting in clouds and bolts...

    I can also use the export to cubemap feature to swap out the sky for interior levels to save on performance...
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2020
  42. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Yeah, unfortunaly small bug in that feature in current version of asset store where the sky export not using correct render texture format for full hdr. Already fixed for next update and also in preview version that you can test when joining discord. So just join and give it a try. :D
     
  43. MianWaqqas

    MianWaqqas

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    Urgent Help :
    Night sound playing before night came. In other words night sound playing in day.
    Days In Year = 365
    Day Length In Min = 10
    Night Length In Min = 5
    Day Night Switch =0.7
     
  44. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hello, just reduce the Day-Night Switch value. Default is 0.45.
     
  45. AhmadMcreator

    AhmadMcreator

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2019
    Posts:
    13
    Hi

    My rain suddenly started falling to the side instead of down.. Is there even a way to decide the direction of the rain? I deleted the files and re-downloaded it and it still has the same bug
     
  46. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hello, could be related to an additional wind zone in your scene. Please check that first. Otherwise you also can reduce the influence from windzones in weather effect particle prefabs. (Enviro - Sky and Weather -> Core -> Prefabs -> Particle Effects.) Changes in those need a restart of your game to show up.
     
    AhmadMcreator likes this.
  47. MianWaqqas

    MianWaqqas

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2017
    Posts:
    12
    thank you
     
  48. atomicjoe

    atomicjoe

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Posts:
    667
    Thanks for the sale, Vondox! :)
     
  49. secondsight_

    secondsight_

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Posts:
    134
    Hey there,
    I need to setup a VR scene without having a VR set. :(
    So, is it possible to setup all weather presets and then later switch to VR ?
    If so, would I have to add a VR SkyManger and load my presents ? Or can I use the standard manager and change this one to VR somehow ?

    Thanks !
     
  50. Vondox

    Vondox

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Posts:
    2,022
    Hi, you can switch to VR later. Only difference in VR to standard setup is the preconfiguration. For example the scale of weather particle effects and the quality settings. (Use one of the VR quality modes to start with).
     
unityunity