Search Unity

  1. We would like to hear your feedback about Unity and our products. Click here for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Easy Voice - Text to Speech Editor Extension

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by afonseca, Sep 30, 2014.

  1. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    I'd like to introduce Easy Voice, an editor extension to help developers quickly and easily prototype in-game voice dialog.


    Using your computer’s built in text to speech engine, Easy Voice takes written lines of dialogue and generates sound file assets ready to test in Unity. Make as many changes as you want and re-generate all your dialogue files with the press of a button.

    Here's a brief overview showing Easy Voice in action:



    • Works on PC and Mac using the native Text to Speech engine
    • Customizable automatic voice file naming
    • Import/Export lines to spreadsheet via CSV
    • Full source code included

    Now available in the Asset Store.
    http://u3d.as/9vL
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2017
  2. username132323232

    username132323232

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    422
    Great plugin. It works flawlessly if build target is set to Standalone. After switching to Webplayer, the project won't compile because of several errors in EasyVoiceQuerierMacOS.cs. For example:

    Assets/Easy Voice/EasyVoiceQuerierMacOS.cs(46,26): error CS0200: Property or indexer `System.Diagnostics.Process.StartInfo' cannot be assigned to (it is read only)

    Do you have any suggestions for fixing this without deleting Easy Voice from the project when it's in Webplayer mode?

    Thanks!
     
  3. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Hi username, thanks for letting us know about the issue. We are looking into it now and will provide an update as soon as possible.

    Thanks!
     
  4. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Just a quick update, we've implemented and tested a fix and just submitted the update for approval.

    Thanks again!
     
  5. username132323232

    username132323232

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    422
    Great! Thank you so much for fixing this so quickly. Do you know if there's a way to get an automatic notification when the new version is available on the Asset store?
     
  6. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    As far as I know there isn't a way to get notifications from the Asset Store but maybe others can chime in if there is. I will post here when the update is live so you could subscribe to be notified.
     
    Last edited: Jun 11, 2019
  7. username132323232

    username132323232

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    422
    Sounds good. Thanks again!
     
  8. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
  9. username132323232

    username132323232

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    422
    Sorry, this is strange, but I still see a lot of errors:
    Easy Voice.PNG
     
  10. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    It looks like you are still running the previous version. Please check you've imported the released version 1.1 and try again. If you're not sure you can always remove the Easy Voice directory and re-import from the Asset Store. Just be sure to close the Easy Voice window first before removing and keep your data file (make a backup of everything just to be safe). Please let me know if this works.
     
  11. username132323232

    username132323232

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    422
    Yes, that was my first thought when I saw the errors. So, I deleted the Easy Voice directory and re-imported from the Asset Store. That didn't help, so I repeated the process. Still, I got the same errors. All the .cs files have the date of 10-22-2014. Any idea what I may be doing wrong?
     
  12. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    We're looking into the issue and will post here shortly. Sorry about the inconvenience, we'll get this sorted out for you.
     
  13. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Okay, we figured out the issue. Unity recently made some changes to the Asset Store upload system and now supports multiple packages to co-exist for different versions of the editor. Long story short, this caused some confusion since I uploaded with an older version of the editor. I've just re-submitted and this will resolve the issue. I'll post here again when it's live in the store.
     
  14. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    username132323232 likes this.
  15. username132323232

    username132323232

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Posts:
    422
  16. wetcircuit

    wetcircuit

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Posts:
    963
    Hi, I am getting some errors with certain TTS voices on osX
    I notice the "Efficient" text that is causing the error is an embedded text that some TTS voices say if you have not paid for them.... However, I have paid for these voices (I am seeing two different texts which I believe are CereProc voices and iVox voices) and the text is not recorded by Easy Voice. The project still plays and the audio files seem to have been written correctly.

    :

    Code (CSharp):
    1. Process returned unexpected line: Efficient, fast and of very high quality, why don't you try me out \pau= 50\ using your own words in the context of your application?
    2. UnityEngine.Debug:LogError(Object)
    3. EasyVoiceQuerierMacOS:QueryForVoiceList(EasyVoiceSettings) (at Assets/Easy Voice/EasyVoiceQuerierMacOS.cs:114)
    4. EasyVoiceSettings:Initialize() (at Assets/Easy Voice/EasyVoiceSettings.cs:106)
    5. EasyVoiceEditorWindow:OnEnable() (at Assets/Easy Voice/Editor/EasyVoiceEditorWindow.cs:126)
    6. UnityEditorInternal.InternalEditorUtility:LoadSerializedFileAndForget(String)
    7. UnityEditor.WindowLayout:LoadWindowLayout(String, Boolean)
    8.  
     
  17. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Hi wetcircuit, thanks for bringing this issue to our attention. Please give me some more details so we can work on a fix. Which voices specifically are you seeing giving these errors? If you can provide a link I'll try them myself. Also, when you say the text is not recorded, you mean the error text? I'm assuming the line you entered is being properly saved as an audio clip but please confirm.
     
  18. wetcircuit

    wetcircuit

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Posts:
    963
    Correct. My dialog is recorded and saved as expected, so there is no emergency and Easy Voice is working.

    The errors only show until after I have closed the project and re-opened it - they show on launch. I have re-written a few of the dialog, replaced some dialog and created new ones, and I am not sure which voices caused (are continuing to cause?) the errors. If I clear the errors and save, then re-open the project, they are there again in the console. One of the voices is apparently Arabic (which I remember choosing by accident, I thought I had deleted it without creating the audioclip but I am not sure.)

    Screen Shot 2015-03-04 at 9.31.22 PM.png

    The errors do not prevent the scene from running. Adding new voices (same scene) does not appear to create new errors.... I don't seem to be able to recreate it, but in this scene these same errors return. I can clear them but they come back on next launch....

    The two TTS companies are
    CereProc https://www.cereproc.com/individuals
    InfoVox - iVox http://www.assistiveware.com/product/infovox-ivox

    If you install one of their voices and do not purchase it (just try before buy) you will hear the "mystery phrase" spoken at least once per speech. The "mystery phrase" was not recorded by Easy Voice. My assumption is Easy Voice triggered the license check for the TTS voices since that is the phrase in the error, but as I said I cannot recreate it...

    Is it possible Unity crashed while these voices were in the trays (had issues with a different plugin), but I don't know how that might effect it. I thought you should be aware, and also I can't get rid of the errors, lol.
     
  19. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Thanks for the input, we're working on a fix and I'll post here when we have an update.

    Thanks again!
     
    wetcircuit likes this.
  20. pab

    pab

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Posts:
    2
    Hello -

    EasyVoice has been working great for me.

    However - have today just downloaded Unity5 free, and got following errors even after Unity attempted a project conversion. Hope you can make an easy fix please.

    Assets/Easy Voice/Editor/EasyVoiceAudioClipImporter.cs(57,64): warning CS0618: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat' is obsolete: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat has been deprecated. Use UnityEngine.AudioCompressionFormat instead.'
    Assets/Easy Voice/Editor/EasyVoiceAudioClipImporter.cs(80,19): warning CS0618: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat' is obsolete: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat has been deprecated. Use UnityEngine.AudioCompressionFormat instead.'
    Assets/Easy Voice/Editor/EasyVoiceAudioClipImporter.cs(41,27): warning CS0618: `UnityEditor.AudioImporter.threeD' is obsolete: `AudioImporter.threeD is no longer supported'

    Assets/Easy Voice/Editor/EasyVoiceAudioClipImporter.cs(42,27): error CS0122: `UnityEditor.AudioImporter.format' is inaccessible due to its protection level

    Assets/Easy Voice/Editor/EasyVoiceAudioClipImporter.cs(43,27): error CS1061: Type `UnityEditor.AudioImporter' does not contain a definition for `loadType' and no extension method `loadType' of type `UnityEditor.AudioImporter' could be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)
    Assets/Easy Voice/Editor/EasyVoiceAudioClipImporter.cs(61,38): warning CS0618: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat' is obsolete: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat has been deprecated. Use UnityEngine.AudioCompressionFormat instead.'
    Assets/Easy Voice/Editor/EasyVoiceAudioClipImporter.cs(62,38): warning CS0618: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat' is obsolete: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat has been deprecated. Use UnityEngine.AudioCompressionFormat instead.'
    Assets/Easy Voice/Editor/EasyVoiceAudioClipImporter.cs(84,74): warning CS0618: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat' is obsolete: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat has been deprecated. Use UnityEngine.AudioCompressionFormat instead.'
    Assets/Easy Voice/Editor/EasyVoiceAudioClipImporter.cs(85,78): warning CS0618: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat' is obsolete: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat has been deprecated. Use UnityEngine.AudioCompressionFormat instead.'
    Assets/Easy Voice/Editor/EasyVoiceAudioClipImporter.cs(86,49): warning CS0618: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat' is obsolete: `UnityEditor.AudioImporterFormat has been deprecated. Use UnityEngine.AudioCompressionFormat instead.'
     
  21. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Hi pab, thank you for posting. We are currently testing the fix for Unity 5 and will have a new build soon. I'll post here with an update as soon as possible.
     
  22. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Here's a brief update. We've just submitted a new build to the Asset Store with both a fix to the error messages and a new package with Unity 5 support. I'll post here again when it's live.

    Thanks!
     
  23. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
  24. honorlulu

    honorlulu

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    7
    easy voice support asian language?
     
  25. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Hi, I haven't tested it with asian languages explicitly but it should work with any language your OS supports for TTS.
     
  26. probesys

    probesys

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Posts:
    56
    I just bought the Easy Voice plugin, and I must say that it is great! Really easy to use.

    I am on Windows, and usually we can customize voices with XML tags like theses ones:

    https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms717077(v=vs.85).aspx

    For some reason theses tags are no handled in Easy Voice, but they are in the Windows text to speech window. Would it be possible to add them to Easy Voice?
     
    afonseca likes this.
  27. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Hi probesys, thank you for trying Easy Voice and I'm glad you're enjoying using it. I had not come across the tag system in Windows so I'll give it a try and let you know if we can add support for it. Thank you for sharing!
     
  28. Assets-Reporter

    Assets-Reporter

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Posts:
    79
    afonseca likes this.
  29. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Thank you Assets Reporter, we appreciate it! Also, very nice site I'll have to bookmark.
     
  30. rwetzold

    rwetzold

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Posts:
    225
    This asset is an awesome idea! It would be even more awesome and an instant buy for me if it could integrate into adventure creator. Adventure games feature lots of speech and being able to put in some quick placeholders to get a feeling for the dialogs would be of tremendous value. Any plans for an integration?
     
  31. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Hi 10FingerArmy, thank you for the kind words! I've heard of Adventure Creator but hadn't looked into it until now. I'll do some research and see what would make sense. If you have some specific ideas on what you'd like to see in an integration we're happy to listen. We really appreciate the feedback and ideas to make Easy Voice even better!
     
    rwetzold likes this.
  32. rwetzold

    rwetzold

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Posts:
    225
    Here you find a rundown of the speech feature: http://adventurecreator.org/tutorials/playing-voice-files

    Basically in Adventure Creator one has tons of texts and dialogs. You can then gather these automatically into a file and AC will search in the file system for files named after a certain convention. It would be great if I can create (and update, when text changes) missing files with text2speech placeholders but still know that these are only placeholders.
     
  33. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    @10FingerArmy, thank you for sharing that. This would be a nice workflow with Adventure Game Creator so I've reached out to the developer and started to look into this. Stay tuned... :)
     
    rwetzold likes this.
  34. adamz

    adamz

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Posts:
    893
    How long does it take to convert a sentence or two to an audio file, and can you do that at run-time? I'd like to take automatically generated text from a text field, convert it to audio using your asset, and then play it using lip sync such as SALSA as quickly as possible.
     
  35. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    @adamz, it's a fairly quick process to do the conversion but we don't support doing this at run-time as Easy Voice was created as a design mode tool. As such, it only supports Windows/Mac editor environments while tools like SALSA support the various Unity target platforms (mobile, etc).
     
  36. EParent

    EParent

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    36
    Well, it would be great if we can do this on runtime. I search everywhere for a plugin, sdk or other....I just find web based api like yakitome. I need english, french ans spanish...

    My game is kind of a quiz, and I want to be able to listen the question, the answers and the retroaction.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2015
  37. wetcircuit

    wetcircuit

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Posts:
    963
  38. EParent

    EParent

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    36
    Thx wetcircuit, but it's for PC and MAC standalone only...i need all platform...and in french, english and spanish.
     
  39. wetcircuit

    wetcircuit

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2012
    Posts:
    963
  40. EParent

    EParent

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Posts:
    36
    thx, but none seems to have what I want
     
  41. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    @EParent Easy Voice was not designed as a runtime tool and as you saw others that are for runtime have chosen not to support all Unity target platforms. As you can imagine this is a big undertaking so we have chosen to do a really good job with the in-editor tool instead.
     
    wetcircuit likes this.
  42. Alex-3D

    Alex-3D

    Joined:
    May 21, 2013
    Posts:
    78
    Hi,
    What about integration with Adventure Creator?
     
  43. kilik128

    kilik128

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Posts:
    823
    any ingame sample please ?
    in presentation look get lot or more voice is normal ?
    what's EasyVoiceWinConsole.exe do ? :)
     
  44. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    @Alex 3D, yes, it's on our list for an upcoming update. I'll post an update here when I have more news about that.
     
  45. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    @kilik128, now sure what you mean by ingame samples? These would just be audio files as shown in the video.

    With regards to EasyVoiceWinConsole.exe, it is a Windows console app that does the writing of the sound files using the system speech API. The source code is provided in the included zip file.
     
  46. S_Darkwell

    S_Darkwell

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    315
    @afonseca: There appears to be an issue generating audio using anything but the default "Microsoft David / Zira Desktop". I downloaded a variety of other voices, and while they install and show up in Easy Voice, when I click "Create voice", it appears to process, but doesn't create any output. I'm running this on Windows 10, and attempting to use it in Unity 5.3.0b2.

    Hopefully we can find a resolution to this difficulty -- it seems like an asset with many possibilities!
     
  47. S_Darkwell

    S_Darkwell

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2013
    Posts:
    315
    @afonseca: Please ignore my prior comment. It appears that the voice files I had been provided weren't compatible with Windows 10. Thank you so much, regardless! I look forward to experimenting further with your asset!
     
  48. afonseca

    afonseca

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    @Arismeir, no worries and thank you for the update!
     
    S_Darkwell likes this.
  49. kilik128

    kilik128

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Posts:
    823
    by ingame samples i mean create in game by user like on android game
     
  50. khos85

    khos85

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    541
    I am interested in your asset but would like to ask what kind of settings the plugin has, e.g. can you set talking speed, or to more natural flow of speech? The video seems good but the voice is very monotone etc, can this be adjusted at all?