Search Unity

  1. Good news ✨ We have more Unite Now videos available for you to watch on-demand! Come check them out and ask our experts any questions!
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Ever participated in one our Game Jams? Want pointers on your project? Our Evangelists will be available on Friday to give feedback. Come share your games with us!
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Dungeon Architect

Discussion in 'Works In Progress' started by AliAkbar, Aug 9, 2015.

  1. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    Added fog of war to the minimap. I have a few more pending stuff that I'd like to push in the next release: a 2D game demo with this builder, a launcher window to launching the various samples/documentations

     
  2. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    Updated the fog of war algorithm keep the player from seeing through walls

     
  3. Nevercallmebyname

    Nevercallmebyname

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Posts:
    116
    This is almost perfect. It's just missing the ability to connect rooms to a winding narrow halway instead of directly to each other and the ability to connect sections without doorways and you'll have created a spiritual successor to the neverwinter nights 1 toolkit. I'm aiming specifically to pay homage to that and similar games so, as we discussed before, hopefuly you can figure them out for the next version.

    Although I can just stick to the original tile based system.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2019
    jasperbrooks79 likes this.
  4. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    @Nevercallmebyname I'll have a look
     
    jasperbrooks79 likes this.
  5. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    In the demo, you look down and you'll see the player hold a map like in minecraft. The minimap is rendered on to a render texture asset. You can then place this in a material and apply it anywhere

    da_mm_tablet.jpg
     
    jasperbrooks79, Necka_ and hopeful like this.
  6. TextusGames

    TextusGames

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    347
    You already support pre-designed modules in snap flow builder. I hope you was talking about support of pre-designed modules in Grid Flow Builder.
     
    jasperbrooks79 likes this.
  7. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    Yeah, thinking of giving it a new name without confusing everyone :D

    We'll call the existing one Snap builder and this one Snap Flow. Let me know if you guys have a better suggestion
     
    jasperbrooks79 and TextusGames like this.
  8. TextusGames

    TextusGames

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    347
    I think that Cell Builder or Flow Cell builder will be the best name for new builder because it uses cells in top level design. Also name does not collide with other builders.

    Other options - path, net, web, chain or dot, slot builder.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2019
    jasperbrooks79 likes this.
  9. TextusGames

    TextusGames

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    347
    That is a great job!

    Also in future you can improve mini map by adding a solid frienge between fog of war and showed area.
    It will make fog of war way more demonstrative.
    (It can be easily done by replacing fog color with alpha values ( > 0.05 and < 0.95) with solid color in fog shader.)

    Example in path of exile.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2019
    jasperbrooks79 and AliAkbar like this.
  10. hoodoo

    hoodoo

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Posts:
    150
    Hi @AliAkbar - just purchased and really looking forward to the Grid Flow Editor in the upcoming update!
     
    jasperbrooks79 and Neviah like this.
  11. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    Neviah likes this.
  12. Nevercallmebyname

    Nevercallmebyname

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Posts:
    116
    I wish my paypal hadn't been playing up during the black friday sale or I'd be using this right now.
     
    jasperbrooks79 likes this.
  13. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    Its up again for sale for the cyber week mega sale event (50% off). I believe this sale ends on Dec 13th
     
    jasperbrooks79 and hopeful like this.
  14. Necka_

    Necka_

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    431
    Hey @AliAkbar thanks for this awesome planned update

    I didn't like the previous builder as it required pre-made rooms.

    This one looks like using the procedural way of the original dungeon grid which is really good as we can finally define some objects/enemies spawning in a visual way with also a great minimap

    I'm looking forward to play with that
     
    jasperbrooks79 and AliAkbar like this.
  15. wtadlock

    wtadlock

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Hello @AliAkbar, I am another one that just purchased this asset. Going through the documentation however, I cannot find any information on adding a minimap. I opened one of the demo scenes and tried to duplicate what was there, however, all I am getting on my side is the player icon and nothing else. Do you have a step by step somewhere of how to get the minimap working?

    Thanks
     
  16. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    @wtadlock Thank you. I'm working on rewriting the documentation and I'll add this as well
     
    hopeful likes this.
  17. Sehlor

    Sehlor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Posts:
    195
    Is latest update up? If not, when we can expect :)
     
  18. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    I'm working on a launch pad window that will have a theme browser, sample browser, dungeon type browser etc. You can open samples from there, Create new dungeon scenes from existing templates, clone themes , snap flow graphs, grid flow graphs etc from template browsers

    I'm also working on making the builder and the editor future proof, so it is generic enough to be extend with other builders in the future. I'll need a little more time for that :)
     
    hoodoo likes this.
  19. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    We can use this grid flow branching feature to create race tracks in the city

    Each intersection between two roads is a node in the graph. The algorithm finds a main path (and optinally alternate paths). The race track is then created by closing off roads in the intersection that are not part of the race track
     
    neoshaman and Neviah like this.
  20. TextusGames

    TextusGames

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    347
    Is custom preconfigured rooms for Grid Flow builder still on track for next update?
     
  21. pocketpair

    pocketpair

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Posts:
    58
    Hi, I'm waiting for new release with bug fixes for grid flow examples!
     
  22. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    Finalized the mario builder and created some art assets in blender

     
    PeppersGamer and Neviah like this.
  23. Necka_

    Necka_

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2018
    Posts:
    431
    And that's why I now understand why Mario should not have an AK-47! It would be a genocide in there :D

    Looks real good, I can't wait for the next update, especially with the new flow editor and minimap
     
  24. MegaMileyDev

    MegaMileyDev

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Posts:
    23
    Does Dungeon Architect have an ability to generate single houses as well? I've got some assets from Synty Studios and want to use them together with Dungeon Architect, since there's already a city builder and room builder, would there also be a way to generate full on houses?
     
    hopeful likes this.
  25. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    @MegaMileyDev It doesn't have proper support for it and it shouldn't be too hard to add it. I'll explore this in the future builds
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2019
    hopeful and MegaMileyDev like this.
  26. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    Past week I've been busy working on a launcher for DA

    This gives you a central place to view and clone samples (over 60 samples), create new scenes from one of the many builder templates, a theme template browser, grid flow and snap flow graph template browser and much more.

    You won't need to set things up manually like before

    launch_pad_builders.jpg launch_pad_samples.jpg launch_pad_details.jpg
     
  27. MegaMileyDev

    MegaMileyDev

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Posts:
    23

    Awesome! That will be very helpful for new users :D, is the ETA still somewhere this week? (saw a comment on Youtube last week where you mentioned the new update would launch in about a week which is around now ^^ )
     
  28. Unany

    Unany

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Hi,
    Love the asset but I have a few quick questions:

    1. Is it possible to have multiple fill textures and blend them

    2. Is it possible to have features such as lava flows / rivers procedurally generated to run through the map?

    *Image below to show what I mean by both both questions
     

    Attached Files:

  29. MegaMileyDev

    MegaMileyDev

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Posts:
    23
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2019
  30. MegaMileyDev

    MegaMileyDev

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2017
    Posts:
    23
    Also, whenever I accidentally click Build Dungeon without having a theme selected this outline pops up and starts flashing violently and never seems to go away, I have to re-load my entire scene for it to disappear. Please either fix or remove this
     

    Attached Files:

  31. eddieray7

    eddieray7

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Recently purchased DA... I'm seeing several warnings in the console after the code is compiled:

    Assets\DungeonArchitect\Scripts\Builders\SimpleCity\Landscape\LandscapeTransformerCity.cs(111,13): warning CS0618: 'TerrainData.splatPrototypes' is obsolete: 'Please use the terrainLayers API instead.'

    Assets\DungeonArchitect\Scripts\Builders\Grid\Landscape\LandscapeTransformerGrid.cs(70,4): warning CS0618: 'TerrainData.splatPrototypes' is obsolete: 'Please use the terrainLayers API instead.'

    I'm running Unity 2018.4.12f1.
     
  32. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    1. I'll be rewriting the landscape transformer to upgrade to the latest version and I'll see if I can implement it

    2. Perhaps in the future version
     
  33. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
  34. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    @MegaMileyDev I've gotten rid of it. It won't flash in the next update
     
  35. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    @eddieray7 I'll have this fixed in the next update
     
  36. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    Apologies for the delay on the next update. I've been busy working on re-writing the documentation. I'll submit to the asset store in a few days and keep you all posted

    New documentation website: docs.dungeonarchitect.com
     
  37. Razmot

    Razmot

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Posts:
    289
    The new doc is awesome, I ve read the grid flow builder tuto.

    Do you have a validation system that checks marker names are present in themes ?
    User entered strings in the grid flow have to match with marker names in themes and it's easy to make a mistake.

    Ideally there would be a pickable and addable list of "MarkerName", if you feel like doing editor code ;)

    And another little thing: you should ask the moderators to move this thread into the asset store forum ! I keep forgetting about DA, if it were in the asset store forum instead of WIP I wouldn't.
     
  38. TextusGames

    TextusGames

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    347
    Thanks for you work. @AliAkbar
    I have Read documentation about grid flow builder and there is no mention about pre -build modules(rooms). So there is no built-in way to inject custom room in flow? Without it this builder is very limited and not feature complete(for me at least), so many interesting things you can not do without it... What do you think about luck of custom rooms? Then do you plan to add this feature or you don't? I personally prefer to wait some time more just for getting it in this release..
     
  39. Sehlor

    Sehlor

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2012
    Posts:
    195
    Well, any news? :/
     
  40. Sir_patrickl

    Sir_patrickl

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Hi @AliAkbar
    I'm playing around with the FloorPlanner but noticed it only supports a minimal set of features. Basic markers like WallSeparator are missing and it doesn't seem to support spatial Constraints. Do you have any plans to add these or any other additional features to this builder? I just want to know if I should bother with it if there are no improvements coming.
     
  41. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    The new version is live in the asset store

    Version 1.10.0
    • A powerful new dungeon builder named GridFlow with a rich set to toolsets to design your dungeons (refer docs below)
    • Complete tutorial rewrite: https://docs.dungeonarchitect.com/unity
    • Launch Pad window allows you to browse and access all the samples, a theme template library, scene template library and a lot more
    • New Marios Builder
    • New Infinity Caves builder
    • Snap Flow Editor graph panels can be resized
    • Rewrote and improved the UI library that power the various editor windows
    • Landscape transformers are non destructive. Destroying a dungeon restores the original heightmap / paint and foliage data
    • Landscape transformers no long wipe out the entire terrain data and only modify the relavant terrain data
    • Improved the landscape transformer blending algorithm
    • Fixed the city build's CityWall offset issue
    • Added a new Snap Side Scroller builder. This uses the dungeon flow graph for assembling side scrolling levels

    Please check the new Launch Pad feature (Dungeon Architect > Launch Pad)
     
    MegaMileyDev, hoodoo, hopeful and 3 others like this.
  42. AliAkbar

    AliAkbar

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2014
    Posts:
    698
    I've submitted different versions of DA for various Unity versions for better compatibility
    • Unity 2017.4 (LTS)
    • Unity 2018.1
    • Unity 2018.2
    • Unity 2018.3
    • Unity 2018.4 (LTS)
    • Unity 2019.1
    • Unity 2019.2

    Please use the Editor's Asset store page to download DA, it will download the appropriate version.

    If you upgrade your game project to a different unity version, delete the existing DA folders and re-download them from the new engine's asset store tab to grab the best compatible version
     
  43. TextusGames

    TextusGames

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    347
    "Version 1.10.0"

    I thought it will be 2.0))
     
  44. Boaike

    Boaike

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    @AliAkbar I have been checking for the new version for the last two months regularly, I'm happy it's here! The flow works pretty well so far and helps loads with having a high level overview of the things in a scene.

    Maybe I'm going something strange, but it seems like some of the walls that get placed at the wall-marker, will get rotated.
    This means that if you change the X or Z value of the gameobject node in the theme editor, those walls will do exactly the opposite of the rest of the walls, making it impossible to close rooms properly.

    I have no idea what is causing this, has anyone else have this issue?
    The issue doesn't occur if I don't use the flow grid.
     
  45. TextusGames

    TextusGames

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    347
    Why by default there is no WallHalf(fence) in new grid flow builder??
    upload_2019-12-31_14-11-47.png

    Seams like futures from first grid builder like stairs, wall separaters are not translated into new builders. Any plans to make New Grid Flow builder to have markers from old grid builder?
    Seems like new grid builder should become new default one.

    How to check if cell is in corridor or in room or outsided of them?


    Also one there is one bug at least.
    If path does not have "EndOnPath" assigned, "MaxPathSize" setting has no effect. Path will always have "MinPathSize length."
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Dec 31, 2019
  46. Neviah

    Neviah

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Posts:
    235
    I'm unable to use Debug Draw in the new update, so I don't know if I'm placing my floors correctly
     
  47. TextusGames

    TextusGames

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    347
    Can't build a game with dungeon architect 1.10. Becouse of using editor api in runtime..
    upload_2020-1-1_15-58-43.png
     
    17windy likes this.
  48. Neviah

    Neviah

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2016
    Posts:
    235
    So I managed a workaround for not having corridor/hallway walls. I duplicated a wall prefab 3 times, and made a 4-sided wall so the Rocks prefab he uses can be easily replaced. See attachments.

    daHack2.png daHack1.png
     
  49. TextusGames

    TextusGames

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    347
    I was talking about built in fence around corridore.

    upload_2020-1-1_21-39-32.png
     
  50. TextusGames

    TextusGames

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2016
    Posts:
    347
    Some random buggy behaviour with grid flow dungeon.
    If you do not destroy dungeon in scene and launch game (then just build dungeon)
    some random invisible places will occur.
    upload_2020-1-1_21-52-30.png

    if you delete dungeon and start game everething is normal.

    Destroying dungeon first than wait for one frame fixes problem. If however you destroy and create dungeon in one frame problem still occurs.

    Code (CSharp):
    1. IEnumerator Start()
    2.         {
    3.             // Randomize and build the dungeon
    4.             if (dungeon != null)
    5.             {
    6.                 dungeon.DestroyDungeon();
    7.                 yield return null;
    8.  
    9.                 var dungeonConfig = dungeon.GetComponent<GridFlowDungeonConfig>();
    10.                 var random = new System.Random();
    11.                 dungeonConfig.Seed = (uint)random.Next();
    12.                 dungeon.Build();
    13.             }
    14.         }
     
    Last edited: Jan 1, 2020
unityunity