Search Unity

Assets [RELEASED] CScape - advanced building generator

Discussion in 'Works In Progress' started by olix4242, Mar 11, 2017.

  1. FirstTimeCreator

    FirstTimeCreator

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Posts:
    729
    I have everything working with the exception of one thing.

    The foliage is not generating across all of the street tiles, It appears to only generate for less than 1/3 of the city. Is there some controls somewhere for foliage that I am not seeing that is preventing it form generating foliage for every street tile?
     
  2. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
    Youi have folliage treshold value in Random Settings. But I sincerely wouldn't suggest adding too much folliage as folliage can be pretty heavy.
     
  3. Aaron2348

    Aaron2348

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Posts:
    270
    Hey so can we get some kind of update on Cscape 2.0 it's been awhile since you said anything about it.
     
    JBR-games likes this.
  4. JBR-games

    JBR-games

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2012
    Posts:
    610
    not sure if its just me but even the demo scenes on a fresh project seem to have all kinds of errors.. nothing that breaks anything but missing references mostly..
     
  5. Aaron2348

    Aaron2348

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Posts:
    270
    Hey, im actually not sure about that only because i did not use the demo scenes, I just go Gameobject>CScape>Create MegaCity Complex.
     
    JBR-games likes this.
  6. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    60
    If you mean missing references as compile errors, then this is because of the character-controller. You can either try to import the appropriate scripts from the unity standard assets or the solution I'm doing: just delete the folder with the character controller scripts. I don't have access to my computer to answer more detailed, but the scripts should be located in something like Project-Root -> Standard-Assets -> Character

    If you mean missing references in the CScape scripts: there is a difference in creating the CScape city. You can do it by using a menu-entry, by dragging a CScape City prefab into the scene or using one of the elements in a demo-scene (this works best for me, since at least one of the other solutions does not create all references as expected).
     
  7. buc

    buc

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Posts:
    60
    Would it be possible to store the needed information with UV-coords? The +y-values represent the chosen facade-type, negative y-values and both x-sides could be used for other information.
     
  8. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
    Well it is done this way already. But unfortunately, We have only 4 sets of UV's available in Unity. One is main mapping set (so it can't be modified as we need it for mapping), third and fourth are used by unity itself (for realtime GI and for lightmapping), and another is secondary UV set that I'm already using for writing compressed information of all faccade properties (and there are really a lot of them). Then I'm also using vertex colors for defining shapes. So practically, I would need a Unity to implement more UV sets than those two. Im still fiddling about it as I really need more ways to implement some things that I absolutely want to implement (and one of them is a possibility to add crunchiness to building corners).
     
    JBR-games likes this.
  9. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
    You are right. If you need some features, like custom buildings from plans, it is available for customers, but stil in beta and not finished. I was just waiting for unity to sort some of the issues, so that I can make unified version of CScape for all platforms.
     
    MorpheusXI, HakJak and JBR-games like this.
  10. SmileTR

    SmileTR

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Posts:
    20
  11. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
  12. SmileTR

    SmileTR

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    @olix4242

    For now I am only checking on android device. "OpenGLES3" Active, yes.
    It works fine on my phone. But it doesn't work on some phones.
     
  13. SmileTR

    SmileTR

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    I'm using Unity version 2019.2.4f1. Same time, I clicked button for linear space.

    (Error) Debug log ;

    Code (CSharp):
    1. unsupported platform: couldn't get group name for target %i
    2. UnityEditor.PlayerSettings:SetUseDefaultGraphicsAPIs(BuildTarget, Boolean)
    3. CScape.CityRandomizerEditor:OnInspectorGUI() (at Assets/CScape/Editor/CityRandomizerEditor.cs:105)
    4. UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
    5.  
    Code (CSharp):
    1. ExecuteMenuItem failed because there is no menu named 'Edit/Graphics Emulation/No Emulation'
    2. UnityEditor.EditorApplication:ExecuteMenuItem(String)
    3. CScape.CityRandomizerEditor:OnInspectorGUI() (at Assets/CScape/Editor/CityRandomizerEditor.cs:62)
    4. UnityEngine.GUIUtility:ProcessEvent(Int32, IntPtr)
    5.  
    Could it be related to that?
    There is no such section. : Edit/Graphics Emulation/No Emulation
     
  14. SmileTR

    SmileTR

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Posts:
    20
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2020
  15. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
    No, this is only for Unity internal usage. What is important is to check your build/player settings and see that you have forced usage of GLES 3.0 and don't have API settings set to automatic.
    Samsung Galaxy j6+ should absolutely work. As for Zenphone Go, I'm not sure, it's a pretty old and cheap phone.
     
  16. SmileTR

    SmileTR

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Posts:
    20
  17. batman2211

    batman2211

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2017
    Posts:
    5
    Hey guys I noticed that there is a Samsung Galaxy commercial billboard included in CScape, is it okay to put billboard of big names like Samsung in my game? Will they go nuts and try to sue me? (I'm from Vietnam if that helps)
     
  18. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
    Hi, this advertisement is wrongly included in latest update as a leftover, and it serves only as placeholder as you should change all advertisings to you liking. (You probably don't want to use same advertisements as all other creators). That said, I wouldn't worry too much about legal issues, it was an existing advert. If you make photo of a real city with advertisements, you can't sue someone because photographing it.
    But my suggestion is to change adverts to meet a feel of your game. Its really simple to do, just change images in a texture.
     
    batman2211 and hopeful like this.
  19. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    3,783
    @olix4242 I tried the latest version in Unity 5.6.3 and after Generating City and running the scene I get the following error 33 times after I exit run mode:

    UnassignedReferenceException: The variable rooftopHolder of CSRooftops has not been assigned.
    You probably need to assign the rooftopHolder variable of the CSRooftops script in the inspector.
    CScape.CSRooftops.OnDestroy () (at Assets/CScape/Scripts/CSRooftops.cs:342)

    I
     
  20. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
    It's a harmless error that happens on initialization when run in editor. It really doesn't have any importance.
     
    magique likes this.
  21. vyral13

    vyral13

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    Regarding the above rooftop error. If you try and change the random roof seed after a while it completely vanishes and throws errors.

    I have noticed huge performance drops in the new version compared to the old version.
    Got a racing game im working on added the latest Cscape version, build tested on Galaxy S10 and noticable lag...
    So i had to resort to the 0.9.5.4 version, again same city size just a quick build tested and works smooth as silk no frame drops at all. Using 2018 LTS.
    Any suggestions? Happy to use older version for my needs as its simply distant night buildings.
    Cheers!
     
  22. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
    In one of my last posts I have added packs that contain shaders optimized for mobile phones. You should use them.
     
  23. secondsight_

    secondsight_

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Posts:
    134
    Hey there,
    I´ve read on the shop page that custom packs / themes are coming ? When will that happen ?

    Also, I leave this here:
     
    Aaron2348, olix4242 and Neviah like this.
  24. JamesWjRose

    JamesWjRose

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2017
    Posts:
    426
    @olix4242

    This is just an fyi: I upgraded to Until 2019.3.0f6 and in that process I got an error with the following line: PlayerSettings.Android.minSdkVersion = AndroidSdkVersions.AndroidApiLevel18; Line 61 in CityRandomizerEditor.cs

    Error info:
    Severity Code Description Project File Line Suppression State
    Error CS0619 'AndroidSdkVersions.AndroidApiLevel18' is obsolete: 'Minimum supported Android API level is 19 (Android 4.4 KitKat). Please use AndroidApiLevel19 or higher' Assembly-CSharp-Editor C:\Users\ASUS\Desktop\Heartbeat City\Heartbeat City\Assets\CScape\Editor\CityRandomizerEditor.cs 61 Active

    I changed the value to AndroidSdkVersions.AndroidApiLevel19 and everything seems fine.

    Just thought you should know.
     
  25. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
    Great demo for Skyhawk :)
    As for themes-packs, I'm still waiting for a Cscape version 2.0 to be finished - and this somewhat requires final version of HDRP pipeline to be made by Unity.
     
  26. vyral13

    vyral13

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2014
    Posts:
    15
    Thanks! I'll give it a try! Currently looking and working incredibly smooth with the current version. Again just need lit buildings for side of race track decor. Cscape doesnt even effect the frame rate on the Galaxy S10. Beauty.

    That looks awesome! Reminds me of G-Police!
     
    olix4242 likes this.
  27. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
    This is good to know. I'm testing still CScape on a S8, and that is my target for a performance. But it's already outdated, so I might have more space to introduce more features into buildings without impacting too much performance on new phones.
     
  28. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    674
    Hi, I am getting the following errors after upgrading unity to 2019.3 Latest.


    Assets\CScape\Scripts\FPSCounter.cs(26,27): error CS0619: 'GUIText' is obsolete: 'GUIText has been removed. Use UI.Text instead.'

    Assets\CScape\Scripts\FPSCounter.cs(26,13): error CS0023: Operator '!' cannot be applied to operand of type 'GUIText'

    Assets\CScape\Scripts\FPSCounter.cs(47,26): error CS0619: 'GUIText' is obsolete: 'GUIText has been removed. Use UI.Text instead.'

    Assets\CScape\Scripts\FPSCounter.cs(47,13): error CS0619: 'GUIText.text' is obsolete: 'GUIText has been removed. Use UI.Text instead.'

    Assets\CScape\Scripts\FPSCounter.cs(47,44): error CS0029: Cannot implicitly convert type 'string' to 'bool'

    Assets\CScape\Scripts\FPSCounter.cs(50,30): error CS0619: 'GUIText' is obsolete: 'GUIText has been removed. Use UI.Text instead.'

    Assets\CScape\Scripts\FPSCounter.cs(50,17): error CS0619: 'GUIText.material' is obsolete: 'GUIText has been removed. Use UI.Text instead.'

    Assets\CScape\Scripts\FPSCounter.cs(53,30): error CS0619: 'GUIText' is obsolete: 'GUIText has been removed. Use UI.Text instead.'

    Assets\CScape\Scripts\FPSCounter.cs(53,17): error CS0619: 'GUIText.material' is obsolete: 'GUIText has been removed. Use UI.Text instead.'

    Assets\CScape\Scripts\FPSCounter.cs(55,30): error CS0619: 'GUIText' is obsolete: 'GUIText has been removed. Use UI.Text instead.'

    Assets\CScape\Scripts\FPSCounter.cs(55,17): error CS0619: 'GUIText.material' is obsolete: 'GUIText has been removed. Use UI.Text instead.'



    I tried my own fix changing GUIText to Image but that resulted in a "text" issue I could'nt get around as I am not a coder at all.

    Any ideas how to fix this.

    I also reimported CScape City just in case I missed an update.

    Thanks
     
  29. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
    Try to remove that script (it isn't important and is there only for testing purposes). FPSCounter.cs
     
    Hawk0077 likes this.
  30. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    674
    Thanks Oliver, much appreciated that solved the problem.

    However, I am now getting this error. I am not using any android related settings in my project so not sure how to fix this?

    error CS0619: 'AndroidSdkVersions.AndroidApiLevel18' is obsolete: 'Minimum supported Android API level is 19 (Android 4.4 KitKat). Please use AndroidApiLevel19 or higher'

    Many thanks
     
  31. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    674
    I actually commented out hat line which solved the problem but not sure if its a good way around but as I said I dont use Android.



    // PlayerSettings.Android.minSdkVersion = AndroidSdkVersions.AndroidApiLevel18;
     
  32. Ctttdaddy

    Ctttdaddy

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Posts:
    52
    I just purchased CScape and it doesn't seem to work. All the scripts say they can not be loaded. Even the demo does not work at all. I am running Unity3d 2019.1.8f1
     
  33. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
    Check your console that you don't have any script errors.
     
  34. legionkingz

    legionkingz

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2018
    Posts:
    1
    When is CScape 2.0 coming out and is there a Beta?
     
    Rowlan likes this.
  35. Testmobile

    Testmobile

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    92
    Hey Olix, i was wondering if there's a way to open the exported meshes in a 3d application?!
    Or perhaps some way to export them as OBJ!?
    The thing is that i wanted to be able to make the walls where the level ends, some down and uphill streets, alleys and stuff, getting the city to show up (even if it's just a mesh) would be really useful as reference to design the level.

    Thanks in advance!
     
  36. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    674
    Is CScape going to be HDRP compatible any time soon? Many thanks
     
  37. hotshot03

    hotshot03

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Posts:
    6
    How to make it compatible with Unity HDRP ?
     
    Hawk0077 likes this.
  38. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    674
    I don't think you can, although Im not 100% sure. Oliver is no doubt busy developing cscape and possibly other building projects so all we can do is be patient. Just a little longer.
     
  39. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
    hopeful and Hawk0077 like this.
  40. olix4242

    olix4242

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Posts:
    1,556
    Unity has it's included FBX exporter. Be sure to add it in a package manager. It will export all meshes from Cscape (without textures/materials)
     
    Testmobile likes this.
  41. Hawk0077

    Hawk0077

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2017
    Posts:
    674
    Thanks Oliver, much appreciated. Ill follow your advice and stick to pink for now.
     
  42. Cowboy_Jow

    Cowboy_Jow

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Posts:
    19
    Hi, I'm having trouble reading the shader. Im trying to replicate the fake interiors parallax effect. I want to write it in a surface shader without amplify or shadergraph. how do you achieve the final "interiorUV"? it is hard to trace in the code without amplify shader.
     
unityunity