Search Unity

  1. Unity 6 Preview is now available. To find out what's new, have a look at our Unity 6 Preview blog post.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity is excited to announce that we will be collaborating with TheXPlace for a summer game jam from June 13 - June 19. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Corgi Engine - Complete 2D/2.5D Platformer [new v8.0 : advanced damage system]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by reuno, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. NEHWind2

    NEHWind2

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Posts:
    31
    No worries then, and thanks anyway! I'll try recreating the setup from scratch in a fresh scene. Sometimes Unity pulls these sorts of oddities on me. I'll edit this post if I find the problem.
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2022
    reuno likes this.
  2. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @NEHWind2 > Sure, if you manage to reproduce the issue, don't hesitate to let me know. Don't edit your post though, I won't get a notification if you do, and there's a chance I'll miss it. Just make a new one :)
     
    NEHWind2 likes this.
  3. NEHWind2

    NEHWind2

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2016
    Posts:
    31
    Turns out it was my fault, as it usually is! ;)

    After examination I found that I was repeating the Resume Track Control Feedback a second time which caused the audio clip to restart. I had my timings set up correctly in regards to pausing and playing the Track but the Character Pause ability's "Ability Start Feedbacks" field also triggers when the game is unpaused so it was sending out "Resume" a second time before completing the first one since the time scaled nature of the first feedback was obviously keeping it in place until the game was unpaused.

    I had to find another method of pausing the UI Track when the game is paused. Attaching the scaled UI Track Pause feedback to the PauseSplash directly and having it activate on Awake pauses the UI Track correctly, then a second unscaled feedback is activated a split second later that resumes as soon as the game is un-paused. Done and done! Apologies for the poor explanation, but I got it figured out so I wanted to share!
     
  4. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @NEHWind2 > All good, I'm glad you solved your issue, thanks for letting me know!
     
    NEHWind2 likes this.
  5. bwlgeo

    bwlgeo

    Joined:
    May 10, 2022
    Posts:
    13
    Got a question about the Light feedback. I'm trying to do a flash of light alongside a gunshot, but I'm using the experimental 2D lighting pipeline. As it is, the MMFplayer doesn't recognize the 2d experimental lights as lights. Any way I can change the script on the light Feedback to add these lights or possibly do a workaround with using feedbacks to create/destroy the 2D light as a prefab?
     
  6. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @bwlgeo > At the moment there's no 2D light feedback (mostly because its API kept changing until recently). And the "regular" light feedback won't work as Unity made these two distinct APIs. You'd need to create a dedicated feedback for this. You could also use (for example) a SetActive feedback, but then your light would only just turn on/off.
     
  7. mekatama

    mekatama

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    Hello.
    Player is firing a series of shots. The player wants to inflict continuous damage on the enemy, but is experiencing a short invincibility duration after a hit. The player wants to reduce this duration to zero. But there is no place to set it in the inspector's Health. What should I do?
     
  8. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    mekatama likes this.
  9. mekatama

    mekatama

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    reuno likes this.
  10. bwlgeo

    bwlgeo

    Joined:
    May 10, 2022
    Posts:
    13
    Awesome, using a SetActive feedback worked perfectly well for what I needed, thanks for the tip!

    One other thing I'm having a bit of an issue with is restricting and allowing the player ability to attack during dialogue with DialogueSystem. I can get the game to properly pause when initiating dialogue, but then clicking still initiates an attack (which jumps the player model to the beginning of the attack animation and stacks attack sounds for every time there is a click during dialogue).

    I initially fixed this by setting a Permit bool on CharacterHandleWeapon to false, which works to disable the attack during dialogue. But then resetting the bool to true at the end of dialogue doesn't seem to work to give the character back the ability to attack.
     
  11. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
  12. vornicurares

    vornicurares

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2021
    Posts:
    3
    Hello!

    First of all I would like to thank you for the magnificent job that you did with the engine. As i just started to look into game dev, this spared me light years of time.

    I was curious if you could post a more detailed tutorial about how to use Corgi with URP. Or better, and this may be a stupid question, how do I add lights in a normal 2D projects, directly from Corgi? (without creating an URP pipeline).
    I noticed that with URP the post processing effects from Corgi don't work anymore.

    Thanks in advance for the answer and sorry if the questions sound too noob but..you have to start somewhere, no? :D
    Peace!
     
  13. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @vornicurares > No, I'm afraid I don't do tutorials on general Unity, only on things that are specific to the engine. URP and the engine are completely unrelated (the engine doesn't do any rendering). You can use it with any RP of your choice.
    If you decide to go for URP, and are confused by post processing or lights, I'd recommend taking the time to learn what it is, how it works, and what the differences are with other RPs, as maybe it's not the right pick for you at this time.
     
  14. doublet1992223

    doublet1992223

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    Hi reuno, I enjoyed the engine and it's a real benefit for someone with zero coding experience like me. I'm a one man game developer struggling with every single game feature, corgi engine makes it possible for me to complete a game project. Your work is greatly appreciated!
    -Btw, I think it would be great if more melee ability could be added to the character like parry and blocking.
    -Also, I wonder if Playmaker could send or listen to MM game events, and interact with the scrpits directly.
     
    YoyiyoStudio likes this.
  15. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @doublet1992223 > Thanks for the suggestions, I'll consider them. As for Playmaker being able to listen to events, I don't think it's a thing Playmaker can do, but I have to admit I never use that tool, so I may be mistaken.
     
  16. YoyiyoStudio

    YoyiyoStudio

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2021
    Posts:
    56
    Hi reuno,I was testing the stun function of the latest version.The player type character works fine.

    I found that when I continuously implemented the stun effect on the AI character for more than one time(Eg.like press stun button twice at Tests), the AI character stopped after stun.

    At first, I thought it was the problem of the animation controller, but from the Character component-ConditionState information of the inspector told me that the AI character was still in the stunned state and could not exit automatically.
    I don't know why these AI will fall into permanent sleep. Maybe they are trapped in some kind of infinite cycle. Can you fix it? :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2022
  17. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @wechat_os_Qy0z_aF7Nfhquhava38GLxUWU > I'd need to know more about how you tested, as I'm not aware of any issue with the stun on AIs.
    Here are simple steps to test that in the Retro AI demo scene :
    - select the RetroSwordsman, add a CharacterStun component to it
    - press play in the editor
    - on its CharacterStun ability, press the Stun button, then the ExitStun button, then Stun button, etc.
     
  18. jim00

    jim00

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    57
    Hi, I wanted to create a flying AI Character (enemy) that can aim & shoot

    I copy the prefab from RetroBlobFlying and add aim & shoot AI to its Brain. I was able to get everything working, the AI Character can aim & shoot.

    The problem is RetroBlobFlying is using MMPath (that don't have Random movement) thus I remove MMPath and replace it with MMPathMovement.

    During playtime, the AI character will move as define with MMPathMovement but the AI Brain is not working. It won't aim & shoot.

    Than I switch back to MMPath everything works fine, the AI Character can now Aim and Shoot as before.

    Is it MMPathMovement not compatible with with RetroBlobFlying?

    I would like to have random movement but MMPath don't have it, maybe you can add this feature?

    thanks.
     
  19. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @jim00 > you can't remove an MMPath (which defines a path) and replace it with a MMPathMovement, which defines movement on a path, they're two very different things. For what you're after you'd need to create a new AI action, that would move randomly on a path. You can also use the support form to request that feature, it's never been requested before.
     
  20. YoyiyoStudio

    YoyiyoStudio

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2021
    Posts:
    56
    Thanks for your reply
    I press the Stun button twice and AI character can' t exit stunned state.
    But press the Stun button once then press ExitStun works fine.
    AI character have to avoid stunned twice when it stunning.
     
    reuno likes this.
  21. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @wechat_os_Qy0z_aF7Nfhquhava38GLxUWU > I see what you mean, it'll be an easy fix, I can change that for the next release. Drop me a line via the support form if you want the fix before that.
     
    YoyiyoStudio likes this.
  22. SHSA

    SHSA

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Tell me, I haven't found a solution anywhere - unity 2021 Corgi engine 7.6
    When running on the phone, the animation on the player's character is strangely lagging for a fraction of a second, and it seems like a frame of the jump animation is shown for this fraction of a second?. there is no such problem on a PC.
    And even if I run a standard demo , does the retro level lag as well ?
    I will be glad to have any thoughts on this
     
  23. YoyiyoStudio

    YoyiyoStudio

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2021
    Posts:
    56
    Hi reuno,I have a very basic question about "Time" at "Project Settings"in unity.
    I changed Fixed Timestep to 0.005.The default setting is 0.02.
    The Maximum Allowed Timestep default setting is 0.3333333

    Sometimes the player dead and i restart levels after GameOver scene then everthing become the slowmotion.
    I dont know what caused this.I test a lot i found If I dont change any Project Settings everything works fine.
    I realized the Maximum Allowed Timestep somehow it automatically became 0.005 too.

    The reason i change Fixed Timestep is the bullet fly so fast that can't trigger collider sometimes.
    You are an experianced game developer.Any advice about Fixed Timestep please))
     
  24. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @SHSA > I believe I've answered you via email (and someone answered you on discord). It looks like you need to adjust your transitions' settings.
    @wechat_os_Qy0z_aF7Nfhquhava38GLxUWU > I'm not sure what this question has to do with the engine (or me) I'm afraid.
     
    SHSA likes this.
  25. SHSA

    SHSA

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    thank you so much for answering, I will fix it
     
    reuno likes this.
  26. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
  27. Cdy0774

    Cdy0774

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    Input Button XXXXXX is not setup. How to solve?
     
  28. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @Cdy0774 > That's a bit too vague to be able to tell you how to solve it. It probably means you haven't setup the correct input axis in your input manager, but I'd need the exact error and context to be able to provide an actual solution. Don't hesitate to provide more info, or even tell if it's related to the engine.
     
  29. Cdy0774

    Cdy0774

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Posts:
    9
    Not found InputManager.asset replacement
    a lot Input Button XXXXXX is not setup
     
  30. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @Cdy0774 > Again, could you provide a bit more context?
    - what version of Unity are you using?
    - what version of the engine (info is in the readme)?
    - does the issue happen on a fresh install of the engine, no changes made? If yes, how exactly are you installing (install instructions are at https://corgi-engine-docs.moremountains.com/how-to-install.html) If not, could you explain what you've done to get there?
    - can you provide the exact error you're getting? None of what you've mentioned so far are errors outputted by the engine, they look like Unity errors.
    - can you provide the stack trace as well?
     
  31. YoyiyoStudio

    YoyiyoStudio

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2021
    Posts:
    56
    Hello reuno, I have a question about Text shown in MMprogressBar.

    For example,set the health values is 40 but it shown 100% at HP bar
    I learned the demo you made and notice they are PercentageText.

    How to make MMprogressBar display specific values instead of percentages?
     
  32. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    YoyiyoStudio likes this.
  33. YoyiyoStudio

    YoyiyoStudio

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2021
    Posts:
    56
    Thank you very much!
     
    reuno likes this.
  34. CasualAttitude

    CasualAttitude

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2020
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, I just ran into an issue with Unity version 2021.3.3f1 and Corgi Engine for v7.5.1.
    After I switched to iOS platform, the scripts are just missing an assembly referenceMoreMountains of each feature like CorgiEngine, CharacterAutoMovement... But everything was doing ok before the platform switching. I have no idea how to fix this, please do me a favor. I've ran into this issue for few days.

    BTW, attach the error message:
    Assets/_Game/Script/05 Adventure/Movement/Coin.cs(1,21): error CS0234: The type or namespace name 'CorgiEngine' does not exist in the namespace 'MoreMountains' (are you missing an assembly reference?)

    Assets/_Game/Script/05 Adventure/Movement/MovementGameController.cs(23,17): error CS0246: The type or namespace name 'Character' could not be found (are you missing a using directive or an assembly reference?)

    ....
     
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2022
  35. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @CasualAttitude > Unless I'm mistaken I've already answered you via the support form.
    Please let me know if the issue persists.
     
  36. casualattitude0

    casualattitude0

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2022
    Posts:
    1
    @reuno Thanks, I've received that.
     
  37. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @casualattitude0 > Did it solve your issue? Don't hesitate to reply to it if your issue persists.
     
  38. PeterJayJay

    PeterJayJay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2022
    Posts:
    4
    Hi Reuno, just wondering is there a grappling gun type weapon/ability? If not, any tips on where I should start if I want to make one? (I'm completely new to coding and Unity)
     
  39. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @PeterJonesMusic > If you're completely new to coding and Unity, then I'd recommend taking a few months to learn the basics before tackling a task as complex as a grappling gun, it will likely prove way too hard.

    But it's very doable once you'll have a bit more experience. It basically comes down to disabling the controller for the duration of the grappling (similar to how grip works in the engine), and from there your new ability will take over. How you simulate trajectories is up to you, and done like in any other project, there wouldn't be much specific to the engine aside from the controller disabling/enabling I mentioned above.
     
  40. PeterJayJay

    PeterJayJay

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2022
    Posts:
    4
    @reuno Thanks! Will do.

    I have one other quick question. I see in the dash script that the successive dash reset method can be set to grounded or time. Is it possible for me to add another method in here where I could, for example, reset the character damage dash every time it hits or kills an enemy?

    Apologies if this is also another complex coding task
     
  41. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @PeterJonesMusic > Yes, you could absolutely do that. Extending the dash ability would be the best way to do so.
    Likewise, I'd recommend taking the time to learn through smaller tasks, but it's up to you, everyone learns in different ways.
     
  42. mekatama

    mekatama

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2022
    Posts:
    8
    Hello.
    I want to display [PointsWhenDestroyed] as well as [MMFeedbackCorgiEngineFloatingText] when an enemy is killed. Is there such a function?
    If not, is it better to modify [MMFeedbackCorgiEngineFloatingText]?
     
  43. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @mekatama > No, there's no such feature built-in, and indeed creating a new feedback, likely replicating the floating text one would be the way to go.
     
    mekatama likes this.
  44. Crew_Long

    Crew_Long

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    @reuno Hello there, is it possible to switch from BoxCollider2D to PolygonCollider2D when creating Characters? Because the sprite I need is just that complex so a BoxCollider2D is just not enough.

    From your official documentation a BoxCollider2D is needed along with the CorgiController/Character/Abilities scripts, and BoxCollider2D is hard coded in CorgiController.cs, I cannot find a way to use a PolygonCollider2D instead
     
  45. Crew_Long

    Crew_Long

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    And I tried to disable the BoxCollider2D(it cannot be deleted because CorgiController needs it), add a PolygonCollider2D, but BoxCollider2D is automatically activated when I enter play mode, PolygonCollider2D is not working.
     
  46. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @SillyCarbon > No, the documentation is right, you can't use a PolygonCollider2D, this is a raycast based framework. I can't think of a single non physics based platformer (or even game) that uses polygon colliders.
     
  47. Crew_Long

    Crew_Long

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    Alright, that's rather sad:(, thanks for your reply.
     
  48. Crew_Long

    Crew_Long

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    Sorry but I still wanna ask: It there any chance that I can achieve this via CorgiEngine (plus some modifications or extensions or code)?
     
  49. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    4,959
    @SillyCarbon > Certainly, if you implement that feature, you can do it, there's nothing that can't be done. That said, I'd need to know more about your use case to be able to tell. I've been working on platformers in this industry for 20 years, I've never seen one that used polygon colliders for base character collisions. That's typically something you'd use a physics engine for. If you can tell me more about your use case, or mention an example in a released game, I can maybe offer solutions.
     
  50. Crew_Long

    Crew_Long

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2019
    Posts:
    8
    In my use case, the player can draw his own character into the scene, and control that drawn character as the main character to interact with any objects within the scene, to jump through randomly shaped holes or passages, for instance, in order to pass through a narrow passage the player can draw a character that's thin enough so it won't be stuck by the passage, and in another situation the player can draw a big character to get over a huge hole... And even more complicated scenes

    So I think for these things to happen, a BoxCollider is just not enough to fit into all situations, or would not act as players' expectations, and it's just not very well... things would be easier if a PolygonCollider is supported.