Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Corgi Engine - Complete 2D/2.5D Platformer [new v6.1 : auto scrolling levels, and more]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by reuno, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. hassonhamo3

    hassonhamo3

    Joined:
    May 25, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    hey ! how to use Ik ? I have punch animation and I want to use it while running or idle ..etc so i only want the hands to be effected by the animation not the whole body
     
  2. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @hassonhamo3 > What you describe is (likely) not IK, but rather layered animation. IK is a different thing (hands that remain on a gun while aiming for example). This is just regular Unity though, nothing to do with the engine. I'm sure Unity has some documentation on that : https://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/AnimationLayers.html (just the first result in google, there are definitely more resources out there).
     
    hassonhamo3 likes this.
  3. hassonhamo3

    hassonhamo3

    Joined:
    May 25, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    @reuno wow thank you so much for the quick reply and the great information :D
     
    reuno likes this.
  4. Shekkles

    Shekkles

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    Apologies I was very unclear. I forgot the word "online". The local co-op is fantastic but I was wondering if online multiplayer is in the mix for a future feature?
     
  5. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @Shekkles > No, online coop (or online anything) isn't planned, as really the online implementation really depends on your game's rules, there's no silver bullet, so it'd be impossible to provide a generic solution that would accomodate for all the possible game styles you can create with the engine. And providing just one example would be of little value unless you just so happen to work on that exact same game.
     
  6. DrSizzle

    DrSizzle

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2018
    Posts:
    2
    Is it possible or can it be added?
    When damage is taken by player or enemy we can control the direction they get thrown or pushed? If I hit an enemy with an uppercut I’d like to be able to have then hit into the air. Or like turtles in mario they can be pushed when jumped on? Or if meleed from behind to fall forward. Also, various death animations for both player and enemies?

    Anyone have some answers?

    Thanks
     
  7. Legionghost

    Legionghost

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Posts:
    16
    For weapons I see you have many types we can work off of but no beam weapons, is that something on your todo list?
     
  8. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @DrSizzle > All that is possible. You can define force applied per weapon, that's knockback force, as explained in the documentation. As for various death animations, that's something you typically handle in your animator, just have some random parameter in there you can act upon.
    @Legionghost > It's on the todo list, although it's really just visuals at this point, so it's quite low as it's already doable.
     
    DrSizzle likes this.
  9. Robutmike

    Robutmike

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Posts:
    4
    Hi @reuno love your asset! I am going to update the Dash ability to be able to dash upward and diagonally as well. Before I start trying to delve into that, would you mind to give me a little direction on how you would go about doing that? I don't expect you to do the work, just want some pointers on how you might set it up so that I could potentially save myself a little headache.

    Thanks!

    EDIT: Got it working already. Created a new character ability based on the Dash ability and removed the portion in the first ProcessAbility() section that sets vertical force to 0, then I just slapped the vertical input into a new _computedDashForceVertical and multiplied that by dash force. Then finally setVerticalForce to that computed value.

    Very readable, very well commented. Thank you.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2019
  10. tallesmaziero

    tallesmaziero

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    I'm using the 2018.3.12fl version of unity and corgi engine 5.4. I created a platform using rule tile and then create a character with auto build. Now i can't jump with this character or walk into a 45º slope. What am i doing wrong?
     
  11. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @Robutmike > You were too fast! Coincidentally I've added that feature to the next update a few weeks ago.
    @tallesmaziero > Nothing, slopes over 45° are considered as walls.
     
  12. Tycellent

    Tycellent

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Posts:
    27
    I'm thinking of getting the corgi engine but does the corgi engine have some sort of implementation that handles the sprite's animation from "sliding" as they move?
     
  13. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @Tycellent > I'm not sure what you're referring to? What exactly is a sliding sprite animation? Do you mean like pixel perfect camera? If yes, that's native in Unity now (and there are examples of pixel perfect scenes in the engine).
     
  14. Tycellent

    Tycellent

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Posts:
    27
    oo thanks for the fast reply! Sorry about not being clear. Yeah so with my sprite animations at the moment it seems like i need to match the stride of the sprites with the movement so it doesn't look like they're "sliding". So during 1 step of the sprite they may move an amount of space that's too big and it makes them look like they're sliding instead of moving 1 step at a time. Hopefully that clarifies things but i can send a gif if need be.
     
  15. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @Tycellent > Usually you tweak your animation and movement speed so they match.
    There's no system reading your sprite's feet position and adapting speed to that if that's your question. I have to admit I don't know of any game that does that, usually you solve that at the animation level.
     
  16. Tycellent

    Tycellent

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2014
    Posts:
    27
    Ahh not a problem. I wasn't too sure myself where it would lie but it's all good. Thanks again for replying so fast!
     
  17. tallesmaziero

    tallesmaziero

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    The slope is exactly 45º.

    i made a new project, imported Corgi Engine from the Asset Store, created a auto-build player character and my character still not jump in a straight floor. I think this is a bug.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2019
  18. ckgames-admin

    ckgames-admin

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    I bought the Corgi Engine and have seen the tutorials to make my own game. GREAT ASSET!!!
    I'm now looking on the 5.4 update tutorial on Youtube and found that the zipline is not in my asset. No scripts no prefabs.
    I've checked the version on my Corgi Engine and even imported again into a new project but still couldn;t find it.
    I've bought the Corgi Engine + Handcrafted Art - 2D Platformer Mega Bundle(link).
    Is there any chance that some features have been omitted in the Mega bundle?
     
  19. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @tallesmaziero > Please use the support contact form if you think you've found a bug, and provide the requested info, thanks!
    @ckgames-admin > You probably want to read the first, highlighted item of the FAQ. If that doesn't solve it, please let me know using the support form, thanks.
     
  20. Shekkles

    Shekkles

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2014
    Posts:
    3
    @reuno thanks for the reply. I bough the engine last week and I've been playing around in it. Thank you so much for all the effort you put in.
     
  21. wangyuxuan669

    wangyuxuan669

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    First I need to say, I love this engine. It made me an artist to create a game.
    I am creating a multiplayer game. But I can't bring up the pauseSplash in the UI camera.
    And I also looked at THE HUNT level, Its pauseSplash can't be called out either.
    PS. I use joysticks as input devices.
    Is it where I don't understand? please help me and thank you so much.
     
  22. hassonhamo3

    hassonhamo3

    Joined:
    May 25, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    found a solution yet ? I really want that rope system so bad
     
  23. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @wangyuxuan669 > That seems entirely normal, characters in the Hunt demo don't have a CharacterPause ability. You just need to add one to your characters to have them trigger pauses, as explained in the documentation.
     
  24. wangyuxuan669

    wangyuxuan669

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks a lot! This is very useful!
    But I got a new problem now. Today I open my project and run the StartScrern, the console tell me 'Scene 'LoadingScreen' couldn't be loaded because it has not been added to the build settings or the AssetBundle has not been loaded. ' I checked other levels, and all the scenes that need loading will report an error.
    But I followed the cue in the build settings to see but the LoadScene is been added.
     
  25. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @wangyuxuan669 > I've never seen that error in any other context than when a scene is not in the build settings. So it's probably the issue here as well. If the problem persists try doing a fresh install of the asset in an empty project. If you have more questions like these please use the support contact form, thanks.
     
  26. Mindjar

    Mindjar

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Posts:
    28
    @hassonhamo3 - I've integrated Rope 2D into Corgi - it's pretty straightforward.
     
    reuno likes this.
  27. hassonhamo3

    hassonhamo3

    Joined:
    May 25, 2018
    Posts:
    38
    it's good to hear that , how to get it and is it free ?
     
  28. Mindjar

    Mindjar

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Posts:
    28
  29. matttardiff

    matttardiff

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    I've gone through this set up before.
    • Create sprite
    • Add MM Trigger and Collision script
    • tell it what I want it to do
    In this case, when the player enters the trigger I want it to play a specific animation.

    I have the animation ready to go


    On the trigger I created two slots, one for the animator.enabled and the other animator.play (string) and I place the name M88 Crawler Emerge in the slot as show in the picture



    But as soon as I deselect the trigger and reselect, the name disappears as shown below.





    I've tried just using the Animator.play (String) alone and with the Animator.enabled.
    It disappears every time.
    What am I missing?
     
  30. wangyuxuan669

    wangyuxuan669

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2019
    Posts:
    3
    Sure and thanks the repeat
     
    reuno likes this.
  31. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @matttardiff > There was indeed a bug in the MMTriggerAndCollision script in the last release. It's been reported around 50 times already, and fixed :) I had no idea so many people were using this helper. Don't hesitate to use the support form to report bugs, that way I can send you the fix directly. Note that the bug wasn't exactly what you're reporting, but it seems to work now, so I guess it also fixed this. The fix will be included in the next release of course.
     
  32. Valathene

    Valathene

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Hi @reuno

    I have been with Corgi since 2015, and finally came back to development,

    Its been a long time and I want to get back into using Corgi,

    I was wondering Is there a tutorial page or a video I can go to and learn about setting up a new project fresh not using corgi as a template or any of the demos and slowly building out the game,

    I know you have all those YouTube videos and documentation but I cannot find a starting point and its got me mind boggled.
     
  33. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @Valathene > Well I guess the Contents of the asset and Minimal scene tutorials would be good starting points. And then pick whatever video focuses on what you prefer. The engine being an engine, and not just a reskinnable template, it's hard to make a video where you just "build the game", as it can build so many different games and gameplay styles. That wouldn't make much sense :)
     
  34. matttardiff

    matttardiff

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    @reuno
    Crap, yeah I immediately forgot about the support form.
    Won't happen again.
     
  35. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @matttardiff > No problem at all. Drop me a line if you want the fix before the next release :)
     
  36. Quinn221

    Quinn221

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Posts:
    17
    Question for all you Corgi users. I noticed that the character switch will not switch the current weapon. The weapon will be visible in the weapon display, but you will not be able to use it. Have any of you used the character switcher with weapons? If so, how did you work around it so the weapon will also switch.
     
  37. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @Quinn221 > Calling ChangeWeapon should do the trick. I'll add that to the next release as an option, good idea!
     
    Kelgand and Boom_Shaka like this.
  38. Quinn221

    Quinn221

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Posts:
    17
    @reuno that would be great! Thanks
     
  39. SDC1235

    SDC1235

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Posts:
    1
  40. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @SDC1235 > You can use any character you want as long as it works in Unity.
     
  41. HCrowley

    HCrowley

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    18
    hi

    i bought this way back in 2015, but i got sidetracked by other projects, so i've only just got round to using it in anger (on a small prototype castle-vania-em-up)

    i've been plugging away for a week or two now, with the help of the documentation and the extensive examples, and so far i've been able to get round any of the obstacles i've encountered, apart from this one thing:

    my player character uses a melee weapon attack. that's all set up ok and working fine. press Attack, swing the weapon, kill the things... EXCEPT:

    if the player rapidly switches direction while moving and, while doing so, presses the Attack button, then the attack is successfully triggered, as expected, BUT, the corresponding attack animation doesn't play

    i've twiddled around with all the variables exposed in the inspector, for the player, and for the weapon, but i'm guessing that the problem goes deeper than that, probably at the animation level. however for the life of me i can't think of any other avenues to pursue to fix it, so any suggestions would be more than welcome
     
  42. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @HCrowley > Wild guess without more details of course, but it's likely just an animator setup issue. Something (and by that I mean another transition) is preventing your attack animation to play. You'll want to tweak your transitions conditions and settings so that it doesn't happen. Usually it's mostly exit time and interruption conditions, but depending on your setup it could be something else. I recommend reading Unity's documentation about animators to learn more about it. If the problem persists please drop me a line on the support contact form.
     
  43. ckgames-admin

    ckgames-admin

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks for your reply:)
    I've read the highlighted item that you've mentioned. Found out that the Corgi Engine 5.4 requires Unity 3.4 or more but my Unity Engine was also 3.4.
    The Unity Asset Store only shows "import"
    I tried upgrading Unity version to more recent version(now I have 3.12) but still don't have the zipline.
    Thank you.
    I 1.jpg 2.jpg
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2019
  44. HCrowley

    HCrowley

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2013
    Posts:
    18
    @reuno you may well be right, but i've reduced the player to the barest minimum of functioning components, i've reduced the animation controller to just idle, walk, and startMelee, and i've reduced each of those animations to just a single frame of animation, and it STILL exhibits the same behaviour (no matter how much i fiddle with transition conditions and settings)

    i'll bang on for a while longer, but i may have to use the support contact form at some point, because this is preventing me from moving forward with the rest of the project
     
  45. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @ckgames-admin > As I said in my previous reply, please use the support contact form, I'm gonna need more info from you to be able to help.
    @HCrowley > You can use the debugger to easily make sure the chain of events happens in the right order. If it doesn't, please let me know. Changing the duration of your animations probably won't solve the issue though, as I said, it's likely a transition issue, not an animation one. The length of the animations doesn't factor in transitions really :)
     
  46. ckgames-admin

    ckgames-admin

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2019
    Posts:
    5
    Is it possible to use two AI Decision Distance To Target in one AI character?
    One for tracking players while patrolling and one for checking if the player is on effective range to hit melee attack.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2019
  47. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
  48. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @ckgames-admin > The email you used to contact me (jjhhrry2@gmail.com) doesn't exist.
     
  49. matttardiff

    matttardiff

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    I'm asking this question from the perspective of someone that does not program. The Corgi Engine gives me 80% of what I need and until I can hire a programmer for A Crooked Heart, I have to accept my limitations.
    The animation is not a cycle.

    Is there a way to trigger an action more than once using the MM Trigger and Collision?
    My setup on the object i want to use as the trigger
    • OnTrigger2D
      • Character (under the Runtime dropdown) Animator.bool enabled
      • Character Animator.string "animation name"
    • The object with the trigger is set to trigger.
    The trigger works once and plays the animation I ask for.
    So, when I enter the object, it'll trigger the animation.
    When I leave and try to enter it again, the animation does not play.

    As long as I know there's a way to do it without writing a script.
    If not, I'll try to figure something out.

    I also tried OnCollision2D but that doesn't fire at all.
    The Collision2D issue is most likely not a bug and instead me fumbling around in the dark.
     
  50. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,117
    @matttardiff > No, there isn't. This class is just a very simple helper meant to bind stuff to Unity's native collider APIs :)
     
    matttardiff likes this.