Search Unity

  1. Unity 2019.2 is now released.
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] Corgi Engine - Complete 2D/2.5D Platformer [new v6.1 : auto scrolling levels, and more]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by reuno, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @Betzalel > I haven't tried the Unity 2D package yet, doesn't it use Mecanim? If it does, it'll work just fine with the engine. The engine is agnostic when it comes to animation, all it does is send and update parameters, the rest is just standard Unity.
     
  2. Friction

    Friction

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2015
    Posts:
    16
    Hello,
    Is this a bug? Do you have any suggestions for this situation?
     
  3. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @Friction > That's not a bug, it's just an edge case that isn't implemented. You'd have to tell the jetpack ability what you want it to do in this situation. It could be adding a force to exit the gravity point's zone, or or inverting the force, for example.
     
  4. Pacaworks

    Pacaworks

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Hey!

    Does anyone knows if there's a way to get the object your colliding with? In CorgiEngine obviously! and without using voids like "OnCollisionEnter2D", etc...

    I was wondering if you can get the tag, the same way as "OnCollision" methods from unity: if(_controller.state.isColliding.gameobject.tag == yourTag) Do something


    Thanks for your attention! :)
     
  5. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @AesopWorks > You can get the object you're standing on via the controller's StandingOn property, and the wall you're colliding with via CurrentWallCollider. For anything else, the native OnCollision2D methods are the way to go. Not sure why you wouldn't want to use them, but alternatively you can cast rays to get that info if you prefer.
     
    Pacaworks likes this.
  6. matttardiff

    matttardiff

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    Request
    Under the MM Collision and Trigger script, I only use the OnTrigger2D. It would be great if we could collapse the OnCollision2d and others into their individual tabs. Like how the Info tab is under the BoxCollider2D. Tabs within tabs.
    asdsad.png
     
  7. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @matttardiff > Wow, I had forgotten I had created this script :)
    It's a cool one though. I see how I could add these tabs, I'll put that on the todo list, thanks for the suggestion!
     
  8. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    Boom_Shaka likes this.
  9. Bagazi

    Bagazi

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2018
    Posts:
    148
    Hi, is there some facility for Parallel backend gameObjects like Clouds?:)
     
  10. borkbork

    borkbork

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Posts:
    40
    Can I use anyportrait to build characters for corgi?
     
  11. MoFaShi

    MoFaShi

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Posts:
    30
  12. tallesmaziero

    tallesmaziero

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    I'm with a problem. I setted Ai Brain to shoot when my character enters the enemy radius. But the AI only shoot horizontally. How i set it to shoot at the direction of the player? I tried all the options in the weapon script in my enemy prefab (primary movement, second movement, etc)..
     
  13. tallesmaziero

    tallesmaziero

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    There is a chance in future updates an option to ride vehicles?
     
  14. Muppo

    Muppo

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Posts:
    222
    @Bagazi
    You mean like clouds having its own parallax? You can set parallax components to work forward or reverse separatelly, but if you want something like solo clouds, you can use a moving platform at a very slow speed, just don't forget to change its layer or delete the collider so player can't interact with it.

    @tallesmaziero
    I think what you need is already on the second yellow dude at "Retro AI" demo level.
     
    Bagazi and tallesmaziero like this.
  15. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @Bagazi > If you mean parallax, then you can, as @Muppo said, setup a parallax camera and elements. The Mesa1 demo scene shows an example of it.
    @borkbork > I've never tried AnyPortrait, but if it uses Mecanim as @MoFaShi said, then you'll be fine.
    @tallesmaziero > As @Muppo said, it's likely a setup issue, look at the RetroSwordsmanWithAGun prefab for reference on how to set that up. And you're the second person to request vehicles, I'll add your vote to it in the todo list.
     
    Bagazi and tallesmaziero like this.
  16. tallesmaziero

    tallesmaziero

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    It will be very good to have vehicles. I'd like to do a 2D motorcycle level. And i think Yoshi as a vehicle too.

    I will look at RetroSwordsmanWithAGun prefab. Thx.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2019
    Betzalel and reuno like this.
  17. Muppo

    Muppo

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Posts:
    222
    Didn't though on vehicles at platform engines before but then I remember minecart stages on several games. My vote on this feature.
     
    Boom_Shaka, Betzalel and reuno like this.
  18. tallesmaziero

    tallesmaziero

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    Donkey Kong games has barrels and animals as vehicles too.
     
  19. RD_Indiana

    RD_Indiana

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    I get the same error when I create a new scene. Ever figure this out?
     
  20. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @RD_Indiana > Do you get that error in a fresh install of the engine? If yes, please send me more info (engine version, steps to reproduce, Unity version, etc) via the support email, thanks.
     
  21. RD_Indiana

    RD_Indiana

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    Yep, fresh install as of yesterday. I just emailed you through the corgi website.
     
  22. quent369

    quent369

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Posts:
    2
    Hello !
    Is there a 2018.3 version coming up with integration of the new prefab system (prefab variance ect ...).
    I'm just starting a project and I wan't to know if I better wait some days for a new version or not.
     
  23. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @quent369 > The new version will probably run on 2018.3, but I don't have plans to rework all prefabs (as there's no need, really, it already works fine on it), so you can go ahead. I think I'll make use of the new system as I go and where needed, but nothing drastic.
     
    quent369 likes this.
  24. MoFaShi

    MoFaShi

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    I have run into a weird problem, in Unity Editor everything is ok. but when my game is built as a standalone Windows file. all enemies Can't play the MeleeAttack animation. in the end, I found this because the update method of Character Handle Weapon executed before AI Brain's update method. I thought this should be a bug, right?
     
  25. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @MoFaShi > That sounds like a bug indeed, but I've never ran into it (or noticed). Could you send me more info on how to replicate it (what Unity / Corgi versions, what demo character etc) on the support email? Thanks!
     
  26. hoyoyo80

    hoyoyo80

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2018
    Posts:
    23
    @reuno, may i request something for the Advance AI to have a Random Variable Decision and the AI perform the action base on the Random Decision?

    Another thing, any plan on officially support playmaker (with the engine reputation, separate purchase for the playmaker action is worth it)

    Thanks
     
    tallesmaziero likes this.
  27. tallesmaziero

    tallesmaziero

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2018
    Posts:
    14
    There is a script for a shield in the engine? I couldn't find one.
     
  28. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @hoyoyo80 > The random decision is a great suggestion. It's been requested many times already, I'll add your vote to it.
    No plans to support Playmaker, for many reasons : over the years I've gotten less and less requests about it, I don't think there's much demand for it, I've never used it, and I don't want to have to support a 3rd party asset and maintain compatibility, it's too much work.
    @tallesmaziero > No, there isn't. You can look at the asset's website for a full list of features. If it's not listed, it's not in the engine.
     
    tallesmaziero likes this.
  29. Prog-Maker

    Prog-Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    Hello!
    You engine is good!!
    But there are some problems.
    Unity 2018.3.0f2
    Corgi Engine 5.3
    The essence of the problem :
    Box Collider 2D - Layer - OneWayPlatform = 80 - 90 fps
    Tilemap Collder 2D - Layer - Platforms = 40 fps
    Tilemap Collder 2D - Layer - OneWayPlatform = 8 - 9 FPS - ???????
     
  30. Prog-Maker

    Prog-Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    A small addition. If there are about 100 units on the stage, then there is a strong drop in the FPS.
     
  31. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @Prog-Maker > Yeah performance is affected by how many things you put on screen, and you'll need to probably handle things differently, that's no big surprise...
    As for your first post, I don't really understand what you mean, please use the support email and provide more details, thanks.
     
  32. F1GHTOFFYRDMNS

    F1GHTOFFYRDMNS

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    I'm new to the Corgi Engine, but so far it's been amazing and I'm really enjoying learning about the engine. One question though... I've been looking through the documentation and poking around in Unity and I can't seem to figure out if there's something included with the Corgi Engine for implementing auto-scrolling levels?

    Basically, I'm wondering if there's something already built inside Corgi to force the player to move with the camera in whatever direction I set, rather than the camera following the player (so I can force the player to have to run away from something like a wall of lava or spikes or whatever)? I see that there are "One Way Level" settings on the Level Manager and this is kind of a good first step of sorts, but is there anything in the engine for levels that move automatically?

    Thanks!
     
  33. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @F1GHTOFFYRDMNS > Glad you like the engine :)
    There is nothing right now for autoscrolling levels (it's quite high on the todo list though, so coming soonish).
    And you're absolutely right, I think I'd look at the one way level system as a first step for this. I'd say a combination of this and an additional script on the camera that makes it auto move to the right (usually).
     
  34. F1GHTOFFYRDMNS

    F1GHTOFFYRDMNS

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Posts:
    4
    Thanks @reuno

    I think implementation should be fairly straightforward... Just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something somewhere. Corgi has so many features that it's gonna take me awhile to wrap my head around everything the engine has to offer.

    Thanks for making such a great asset. It's really gonna help save me massive amounts of time...
     
    reuno likes this.
  35. Nikul

    Nikul

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2012
    Posts:
    11
    Just purchased Corgi engine and I'm loving it so far! Working on a 2.5d platformer and have run into 2 problems, when my 3d character holding a weapon flips left, his arms/hands are pointed backwards am I missing something?

    Also using the enemy spawner is there a way to limit the amount of enemies spawned by that spawner, eg spawn 2 enemies at a time 6 times? Currently its just an endless stream of 2 guys.

    Thanks for any tips!
     
  36. Bigluobo

    Bigluobo

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1
    Is it currently possible to adjust gravity for individual gravity points? Also it seems like the character cannot jump in a zero gravity zone, even if he's on the ground or on platforms
     
  37. Dragonbladeon

    Dragonbladeon

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    I've been using this engine for a while now and absolutely love it!

    I was wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction for using the weapon IK mounts within corgi with a 2D sprite?

    I recently rebuilt my character's 2D sprite with Anima2D/IK Limbs in order to take advantage of having my character aim weapons created with the corgi engine. Currently I'm using a custom script that binds the IK Limbs so that the right/left hand limbs attach/detach to the weapons when they are selected by the player. This works, but it seems from the corgi documentation that there's an easier way to achieve this using the built in mechanics of the corgi engine using the IKPass and Weapon IK Script. I've been studying the documentation/the Hunt characters for days now but this has gone over my head a little!

    Thanks in advance!
     
  38. Pacaworks

    Pacaworks

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Posts:
    12
    Hello everyone!

    I've a very quick doubt: I want to prevent my character from being moved by any Input via code. What should be the best way to do it? deactivating movement scripts or there's a special method or properties I can use?


    Thanks for your attention! ^^
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2019
  39. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @Nikul > Not sure why you'd get that result. I'd suggest looking at the Hunt demo characters to see how they're setup. As for your timed spawner question, not natively, but you could easily extend that class to add that behaviour, for sure.
    @Bigluobo > No, you can't adjust gravity for individual points (although you could extend the class and add that option quite easily), and you can of course jump in gravity zones. Look at the FeaturesGravity demo scene for an example of that.
    @BurnhamRichard > I'm not sure how this will behave with Anima2D (never tried it), but all there is to know about the IK implementation in the Hunt is explained in the IK section of the weapons documentation (https://corgi-engine-docs.moremountains.com/weapons.html#weapons-ik)
    @AesopWorks > Depending on what you want to do, you can disable the input manager, the abilities, or the scripts themselves, all are valid options.
     
    Pacaworks likes this.
  40. Boom_Shaka

    Boom_Shaka

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2017
    Posts:
    103
    Make sure the "flip weapon on character flip" box is checked. You can also try making the weapon model a child of the weapon game object -- not exactly sure why, but that seems to solve a lot of translation issues in Unity.

    A recent Corgi update gave the option to rotate 3d characters instead of flipping them - I haven't used it yet but you might want to try that as well.
     
    reuno likes this.
  41. Wrix789

    Wrix789

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    Hi guys,
    First of all I would like to say this is an amazing Engine you guys made.. Makes my game development much rapid and easier! Recently I started to work on the AI scene (Retro) and I ran into an issue with the following StackTrace:
    Code (CSharp):
    1. NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    2. MoreMountains.CorgiEngine.AIActionShoot.TestFaceTarget () (at Assets/CorgiEngine/Common/Scripts/Agents/AI/Advanced/AIActionShoot.cs:83)
    3. MoreMountains.CorgiEngine.AIActionShoot.PerformAction () (at Assets/CorgiEngine/Common/Scripts/Agents/AI/Advanced/AIActionShoot.cs:39)
    4. MoreMountains.Tools.AIState.PerformActions () (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/MMTools/AI/AIState.cs:101)
    5. MoreMountains.Tools.AIState.UpdateState () (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/MMTools/AI/AIState.cs:51)
    6. MoreMountains.Tools.AIBrain.Update () (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/MMTools/AI/AIBrain.cs:60)
    Please take a look at the screenshot for more reference..
    Also what I am trying to do here is to have something similar applied using the AIBrain for my AI characters especially the Swordsman and Swordsman with a Bow, but this error keeps popping up even though I tried troubleshooting it but to no avail...
    any help is appreciated! Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  42. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @Wrix789 > Without context it's hard to tell what the issue is here. Please use the support email and send me more details, such as steps to reproduce the issue from a fresh install, and I'll have a look.
     
  43. Wrix789

    Wrix789

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Posts:
    2
    @reuno > Never mind, apparently a misconfiguration issue in my project was the cause, fixed it already.
     
    reuno likes this.
  44. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @Wrix789 > Alright, glad it's working now then, thanks for letting me know!
     
  45. zmatiaki

    zmatiaki

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2018
    Posts:
    4
    Greetings to The Team,

    I just starting using the engine and looks very nice!I am looking to achieve some camera locks on my level in order to achieve better camera smooth. I will try to demonstrate what happens and what I want to achieve. Please advice if its possible.I am using Corgi3D demo scene and I have imported my own 2D Sprites ( combination of Vertical and Horizontal Sprites with 2D colliders ) .
    So, we have the level bellow and the Camera moves as you can see in the gif ;



    The issue is that camera follows the player and I want to find a way to lock it as you can see below



    Any Ideas?
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2019
  46. Dragonbladeon

    Dragonbladeon

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2016
    Posts:
    15
    Thanks for the quick reply @reuno - my character is 2D so I don't believe it's possible to rig it up via an avatar. I was just wondering if anyone else has attempted to use the anima2D IK system with this engine. At the moment I have a script which applies the IK every-time the weapon is equipped so the arms follow the weapon rotation - but this feels a convoluted way of doing it, and also relies on another animation parameter. I'm sure someone has a better way somewhere!
     
  47. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,128
    @zmatiaki > So if I get this right, you'd like the camera to move freely in the red zones, but be locked horizontally when in the yellow one? If that's it, then it's not something that is built-in. I'd probably use Cinemachine for that, I think its confiner system would support this.
    @BurnhamRichard > That doesn't seem like such a bad way of doing things to me, but again I never used anima2D so I'm not the best person to ask.
     
  48. Prog-Maker

    Prog-Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    Im use cinemachine.
     
  49. Prog-Maker

    Prog-Maker

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2017
    Posts:
    20
    But need a little change LevelManager
     
  50. RD_Indiana

    RD_Indiana

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2018
    Posts:
    3
    HI everyone, just looking for a nudge in the correct direction. I'm working on a local co-op platformer and would like to display dialogue between my two characters in a fixed position (the center of the screen). I like the corgi dialogue system. Is there an easy way to have the dialogue boxes/text draw in a fixed position on the gui? See screenshot for an example of what I have in mind.

    upload_2019-1-12_11-5-40.png