Search Unity

[RELEASED] Corgi Engine - Complete 2D/2.5D Platformer [new v6.0 : game feel, Cinemachine, and more]

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by reuno, Dec 18, 2014.

  1. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @shredingskin > You can see an example of it in action in the RetroAdventure demo scenes. It's handled through the GUIManager if that was your question.
    @vitomoroz > It's planned indeed, but low priority right now (trying to stick to the initial promise). I have plans to add a more physics based alternative at some point, and this kind of interaction would fall under that umbrella.
     
  2. steelhamsterstudio

    steelhamsterstudio

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2018
    Posts:
    29
    I think I will make a simple and short cute adventure game when 5.3 will release and I already have a few ideas for it ;-).
     
  3. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
  4. Pikkukala

    Pikkukala

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Hello and congratulations for the Corgi Engine. I have been enjoying it a lot, but recently run into a problem with the Inventory engine. I get the error below when loading a saved inventory:
    The inventories in the rouge-like demo work fine until I reset them.
    Could it be a filesystem permission related problem?
    Using Unity 2018.2.19.1f on Mac.
    Sorry if this is too basic or has been solved before. Thanks!


    NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    MoreMountains.InventoryEngine.Inventory.ExtractSerializedInventory (MoreMountains.InventoryEngine.SerializedInventory serializedInventory) (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/InventoryEngine/InventoryEngine/Scripts/Core/Inventory.cs:447)
    MoreMountains.InventoryEngine.Inventory.LoadSavedInventory () (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/InventoryEngine/InventoryEngine/Scripts/Core/Inventory.cs:400)
    MoreMountains.InventoryEngine.Inventory.OnMMEvent (MMGameEvent gameEvent) (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/InventoryEngine/InventoryEngine/Scripts/Core/Inventory.cs:686)
    MoreMountains.Tools.MMEventManager.TriggerEvent[MMGameEvent] (MMGameEvent newEvent) (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/MMTools/Events/MMEventManager.cs:176)
    MoreMountains.Tools.MMGameEvent.Trigger (System.String newName) (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/MMTools/Events/MMEventManager.cs:28)
    MoreMountains.InventoryEngine.InventoryDemoGameManager.Start () (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/InventoryEngine/Demos/PixelRogue/Scripts/InventoryDemoGameManager.cs:25)
     
  5. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @Pikkukala > It could be a permission thing, hard to tell without context. If it was working before, I'd assume you've changed something? A first test would be to install a fresh instance of the engine, and see if the problem persists (it shouldn't). If it does, please send me more info on the support email, thanks.
     
    Pikkukala likes this.
  6. Pikkukala

    Pikkukala

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Posts:
    5
    Thanks. Will do!
     
  7. carolinemariast77

    carolinemariast77

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2018
    Posts:
    5
    Any New Inventory Items destroy my inventory!
    For example:


    Update:
    Work Only if items are in Resources Folder!
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2018
  8. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @carolinemariast77 > Yes, as explained in the documentation, you need your items' scriptable object instances in a Resources folder, that's the only way Unity can load them at runtime (just like most scriptable objects).
     
    carolinemariast77 likes this.
  9. eiannell

    eiannell

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Having same issue. Decided to just Truncate to 4 decimal places using:


    public static float Truncate(this float value, int digits)
    {
    double mult = Math.Pow(10.0, digits);
    double result = Math.Truncate( mult * value ) / mult;
    return (float) result;
    }
     
  10. shyamlondonconsolidated

    shyamlondonconsolidated

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2018
    Posts:
    35
    Hi Reuno,

    I have kind of got my scoremanager to work by listening to a playerdeath event;

    Code (CSharp):
    1.         public virtual void OnMMEvent(CorgiEngineEvent corgiEngineEvent)
    2.         {
    3.             switch (corgiEngineEvent.EventType)
    4.             {
    5.                 case CorgiEngineEventTypes.PlayerDeath:
    6.                     DBManager.IncreaseFunds("coins", totalScore);
    7.                     Debug.Log("player dieded");
    8.                     SaveHighScore();
    9.                     break;
    10.             }
    11.         }
    I have integrated the corgi engine with Simple IAP which if the player dies, the function
    Code (CSharp):
    1.  DBManager.IncreaseFunds("coins", totalScore);  // increases my virtual currency by totalScore.
    However something strange is happening ;

    1) Gameover Splash pops up when the player dies. When I restart the level, the currency instead of 2coins, it increases to 4coins.

    1) Gameover Splash pops up when the player dies. If I try going to another IAP splash menu, then close, then my coins increase to 4coins, then go to IAP splash again, then close again, my coins increase to 6coins (The IAP splash has a pause function which unpauses when closed and returned to the gameover splash)

    I dont have any other
    Code (CSharp):
    1. DBManager.IncreaseFunds("coins", totalScore);
    anywhere in any scripts within my game, so I believe something is happening in my player death listening events which is triggering multiple increasefunds

    Do you think its the playerdeath listening event? Its switching, causing an increase in coins?

    Any help would greatly be appreciated.

    Kind Regards,

    shyam
     
  11. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @eiannell > It's a good solution, although that bug should be fixed already. What version are you running?
    @shyamlondonconsolidated > There's only one time the PlayerDeath event gets triggered, it's when the player dies. If I were you I'd start debugging to figure out exactly what's happening in your code, that's the only way to understand the problem.
     
  12. ironfiftynine

    ironfiftynine

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Posts:
    56
    Good day. Is there a sample implementation on how to add an option to modify control configuration in-game? I was planning to make one but then upon searching online, there's no way to add/modify entries in the InputSettings via script (which is what the InputManager of CorgiEngine is using). Any suggestions on how to do this? Thank you very much. :)
     
  13. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @ironfiftynine > No, there's no implementation for that right now. You'd have to add a layer in between (or extend the InputManager, or use an asset dedicated to that, I think Rewired and InControl do that and both support the Corgi Engine).
     
    ironfiftynine likes this.
  14. RobertCom

    RobertCom

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2018
    Posts:
    12
    I have ordered your top down engine some days before and paid no taxes (with a tax number); today i tried to buy your corgi engine and the system wants the tax. So i have not sent any money. Seems there is no way to contact unity to delete the order from my card now?!
     
  15. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
  16. gferrari

    gferrari

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Posts:
    108
    Hi! I have this problem when trying to load the inventory. Copy all the example, I'm doing everything, except the Save / Load. Could you guide me where to look for the solution?

    It's when I pickup an item, I have it in the inventory correctly, but when I press play the editor again throws this error.

    For the game to work again I have to reset all inventories but the issue continue.. :(

    Code (CSharp):
    1. NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object
    2. MoreMountains.InventoryEngine.Inventory.ExtractSerializedInventory (MoreMountains.InventoryEngine.SerializedInventory serializedInventory) (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/InventoryEngine/InventoryEngine/Scripts/Core/Inventory.cs:447)
    3. MoreMountains.InventoryEngine.Inventory.LoadSavedInventory () (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/InventoryEngine/InventoryEngine/Scripts/Core/Inventory.cs:400)
    4. MoreMountains.InventoryEngine.Inventory.OnMMEvent (MMGameEvent gameEvent) (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/InventoryEngine/InventoryEngine/Scripts/Core/Inventory.cs:686)
    5. MoreMountains.Tools.MMEventManager.TriggerEvent[MMGameEvent] (MMGameEvent newEvent) (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/MMTools/Events/MMEventManager.cs:176)
    6. MoreMountains.Tools.MMGameEvent.Trigger (System.String newName) (at Assets/CorgiEngine/ThirdParty/MMTools/Events/MMEventManager.cs:28)
    7. MoreMountains.InventoryEngine.InventoryGameManager.Start () (at Assets/_CallOfCthulhu/Scripts/CorgiInventory/InventoryGameManager.cs:25)
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2018
  17. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @gferrari > This error is not enough to tell exactly what's wrong, it could be a number of these things :
    - an item that doesn't exist anymore (you deleted the scriptable object)
    - an item that isn't stored in the right folder (it should be Resources/Items)
    - items with improper names
    - something else maybe
    Also I'm not sure what you mean by "I'm doing everything except the save/load".
    I'd suggest making a fresh install of the engine, and checking if the error happens. If it doesn't, look for differences. If the problem persists, send me more info on what you may have changed on the support email and I'll see what I can do :)
     
    gferrari likes this.
  18. gferrari

    gferrari

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Posts:
    108
    This one!! "- an item that isn't stored in the right folder (it should be Resources/Items) "

    Thank you!!
     
  19. carlos170586001500

    carlos170586001500

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Posts:
    2
    Hi, any way to order the MMEventManager when register the events? I want to trigger the positive effects first on a specific event.
     
  20. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
  21. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    Good news everyone, I've just submitted v5.3 of the Corgi Engine to the Asset Store.
    As announced previously, the main feature of this version is the ability to grab ledges and climb them.
    As usual, expect a few days of delay as Unity validates the package.

    Here are the full release notes :
    - Adds Ledges and the CharacterLedgeHang ability, allowing you to place ledges in your levels your characters will be able to hang from. You can then jump from that ledge, or pull yourself up.
    - Adds an example of a MidHeightOneWayPlatform to the FeaturesPlatforms demo scene.
    - Adds an option to reset camera offset on jump
    - Improves the reliability of the mobile buttons on certain Android devices
    - Fixes a bug that would cause the player to get stuck in an unstable state when dying while climbing up a ladder.
    - Fixes a bug that would prevent from triggering button activated zones with certain settings when arriving from the air only
    - Fixes the binding of the ResetSaveFiles button in the StartScreen
    - Prevents jumping while pushing
    - Fixes Pushable's execution order
    - Removes a useless object in the StartScreen scene
    - Fixes a bug with CharacterPush and weapon speed modifiers
    - Fixes a potential null reference exception error in the Pushable class
    - Fixes a bug in some levels where health and jetpack bars would be invisible
    - Fixes a bug with combo weapons equipped as secondary weapons
    - Fixes a bug that would have the treadmills work at the wrong speed on super low fps conditions
    - Fixes a bug that wouldn't correctly unequip the current weapon when dropping it
    - Fixes a bug that would preventing deleting save files on certain platforms
     
    Kelgand, NathanG, Boom_Shaka and 2 others like this.
  22. Muppo

    Muppo

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Posts:
    210
    "- Improves the reliability of the mobile buttons on certain Android devices"

    Does this one include joystick or just buttons?
    Had issues on the joy response in my last cell phone, I though it was due to the age of the device (old Moto G from 2014) but it stills working a bit odd in a current phone - sometimes I have to release it then press again to get player response -

    May it be a problem on my side? I left this as it comes out from the box if that helps.

    "- Adds an option to reset camera offset on jump"
    Also, this sound interesting, not sure how it works but I'll try it definitely.
     
  23. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @Muppo > That fix is really just about buttons. I'm not aware of any issue with the joystick, I'd need more info to investigate.
    As for the camera offset reset, it adds more control over situations where you're crouched or looking up and camera is offset, and then you jump.
     
  24. Muppo

    Muppo

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2016
    Posts:
    210
    Oh, I see. Thanks.
    Will make some testing about my joystick issue and send you an email if I find something weird.
     
  25. bravery

    bravery

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Hi reuno

    Is there an example of how to achieve this:
    • vertical dash which smashes the ground and shakes the camera
     
  26. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @bravery > Sure, as explained in the documentation, that's handled by the CharacterDive ability. You'll find an example of it in the Mesa1 demo scene, for example.
    @Muppo > Alright, let me know what you find!
     
  27. bravery

    bravery

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Hi renuo,

    Thanks for the info, I notice the dive ability, but it's really difficult to deal with! I mean you will need to be on air and then click on two buttons the F (dash) and quickly at the same time the down arrow S button, so can we do some modification so in case we was on the air (after jump) and only click the down arrow the Dive will get activated?

    will you please how to achieve this?

    Thank in advance.
     
  28. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @bravery > Just like any other ability, you can extend it and override its HandleInput method to have it look at different conditions. Just extending it and having the HandleInput like this will give you the behaviour you're after :

    Code (CSharp):
    1. using UnityEngine;
    2. using System.Collections;
    3. using MoreMountains.Tools;
    4.  
    5. namespace MoreMountains.CorgiEngine
    6. {
    7.     /// Add this class to a Character and it'll be able to dive by pressing down, pounding the ground in the process.
    8.     /// This class is derived from CharacterDive and shows how you can very simply extend an ability to change how it detects input
    9.     /// Animator parameters : Diving (bool)
    10.     [AddComponentMenu("Corgi Engine/Character/Abilities/Character Simple Dive")]
    11.     public class CharacterSimpleDive : CharacterDive
    12.     {
    13.         /// <summary>
    14.         /// We override input detection to have it simply look at the down direction
    15.         /// </summary>
    16.         protected override void HandleInput()
    17.         {
    18.             if (_verticalInput < -_inputManager.Threshold.y)
    19.             {
    20.                 InitiateDive();
    21.             }
    22.         }
    23.     }
    24. }
     
  29. bravery

    bravery

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    WOW that's great

    thank you man :)
     
    reuno likes this.
  30. bravery

    bravery

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    reuno,

    if I upgrade my unity to the latest version 18.3, is it compatible with Corgi 5.2?
     
    carlos_m_orozco likes this.
  31. shredingskin

    shredingskin

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Posts:
    155
    Hello, what's the best way to reset the gamemanager at the gameoverscreen (or the menuscreen for that matter) ?

    I'm just using
    GameManager.Instance.ResetLives();
    Over a emply gameobject and calling it from the corgi button.
    Trying to use the gamemanager in the scene from the button doesn't work.
    I guess that's because it's using the scene reference of the gamemanager and not the original "don't destroy on load" gamemanager ?
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2018
  32. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @bravery > Yes, absolutely.
    @shredingskin > What exactly do you mean "reset the gamemanager"? Just reset the lives? Then yes, calling that method will work. You shouldn't have more than one game manager, in any case :)
     
  33. Glaswyll

    Glaswyll

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Posts:
    81
    Hello and thanks for making this. So far it's working great except for a couple areas, which I'm hoping can be resolved through help:

    1. The melee attack animation is ending too soon and the state changes back to idle before the attack animation is completed. Is there a way to ensure the attack animation completes before returning to idle?

    2. I would like to stop movement during attack animations or have a configurable "move forward" distance when each attack is executed. Should I build that through an extension of CE or is there an out of the box solution for doing this?

    Thanks in advance!
     
  34. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @Glaswyll > 1. You probably have another transition interrupting your animation. Animations in the engine is handled through Unity's native animator system, all the engine does is send and update parameters, so you have complete control over your animator and can tailor it to each character. Usually you'll want to look at exit time, and possibly diverge from the demo "any state" pattern, that works for a demo but your character might require something more traditional.
    2. You can (via the Weapon inspector) prevent movement during attack, or modify the movement speed. It may or may not be what you're after. These are the two only options related to movement when it comes to weapons.
     
  35. Glaswyll

    Glaswyll

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Posts:
    81
    Yeah I saw your reply to a previous poster asking about a similar issue and found my answer. Thank you!
     
    reuno likes this.
  36. MoFaShi

    MoFaShi

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Posts:
    30
    this is the best asset I have bought on AssetStore. it contains so many features, most of them are really cool.
    and I have learned a lot of new things from it. hope the author could add more features to it.
     
    reuno likes this.
  37. bravery

    bravery

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Hi reuno

    If I want my character to climb the wall is it possible to do so?
     
  38. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @MoFaShi > Glad you like the engine!
    @bravery > It's possible (everything is) but it's something you'll have to implement for now, it's not built-in. It's on my todo list though (and quite high).
     
  39. Mehrdad155

    Mehrdad155

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    Hi
    I want make a cinematic platformer game like Flashback or Another world game. I have some parameters. If that was Ok I'll buy it now:
    I want for 2D only:
    1) Character don't move to left and right in the air
    2) Width jumping. Character make arcs for jumping and get new position.
    3) Standing after falling. After finish standing animation, player move again.
    4) Swim and change animation to swiming and grab ledges for out of water.
    5) show turning character animations before walking to left and right.
    6) Multiple rooms instead scrolling camera.

    Thanks a lot
     
  40. bravery

    bravery

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Nice any hint or advise where I can start? Like for example how can the ladder implementation help me on this one?
     
  41. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @bravery > Sure, the ladder could be a good start for this I guess :)
    @Mehrdad155 > Pretty much none of these features are in the engine right now, but all could be easily added by extending existing abilities or creating new ones. I can add these features to the todo list (a few of them are on it already).
     
  42. Mehrdad155

    Mehrdad155

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Posts:
    7
    @reuno
    Which one is ready? I'm appreciate for mention them by numbers
     
  43. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
  44. bravery

    bravery

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Hi Reuno,

    Wow man I was reading the wall clinging and the character ladder scripts to try to implement my own Wall Climping although they look nicely arranged but there is many factors need to take in consideration, it's not an easy task :(

    although I like to share my simple trial so maybe I can get some help:

    Code (CSharp):
    1.     [AddComponentMenu("Corgi Engine/Character/Abilities/Character Wallclimping")]
    2.     public class CharacterWallClimping : CharacterAbility
    3.     {
    4.         /// This method is only used to display a helpbox text at the beginning of the ability's inspector
    5.         public override string HelpBoxText() { return "Add this component to your character and it'll be able to climp to walls, moving up the wall. Here you can define the move up factor (close to 0 : super slow, 1 : fast) and the tolerance (to account for tiny holes in the wall."; }
    6.  
    7.         /// the speed factor when wall climping
    8.         public float WallClimpingSpeed=2.0f;
    9.         /// the tolerance applied to compensate for tiny irregularities in the wall (slightly misplaced tiles for example)
    10.         public float WallClingingTolerance = 0.3f;
    11.  
    12.         /// <summary>
    13.         /// Checks the input to see if we should enter the WallClinging state
    14.         /// </summary>
    15.         protected override void HandleInput()
    16.         {
    17.             // if we're pressing left or right
    18.             if ( (_horizontalInput <= -_inputManager.Threshold.x) || (_horizontalInput >= _inputManager.Threshold.x) )
    19.             {
    20.                 WallClimping();
    21.             }
    22.         }
    23.  
    24.         /// <summary>
    25.         /// Every frame, checks if the wallclinging state should be exited
    26.         /// </summary>
    27.         public override void ProcessAbility()
    28.         {
    29.             base.ProcessAbility();
    30.             WallClimping();
    31.             //ExitWallClinging();
    32.             //WallClingingLastFrame ();
    33.         }
    34.         /// <summary>
    35.         /// Makes the player stick to a wall when jumping
    36.         /// </summary>
    37.         protected virtual void WallClimping()
    38.         {
    39.             if (!AbilityPermitted
    40.                 || (_condition.CurrentState != CharacterStates.CharacterConditions.Normal)
    41.                 || (_controller.State.IsGrounded)
    42.                 || (_controller.State.ColliderResized)
    43.                 || (_controller.Speed.y >= 0) )
    44.             {
    45.                 return;
    46.             }
    47.  
    48.             if ( ( (_controller.State.IsCollidingLeft) && (_horizontalInput <= -_inputManager.Threshold.x) )
    49.                 || ( (_controller.State.IsCollidingRight) && (_horizontalInput >= _inputManager.Threshold.x)))
    50.             {
    51.                 MMDebug.DebugOnScreen("value is:" + _verticalInput * WallClimpingSpeed);
    52.                 // we disable the gravity
    53.                 //_controller.GravityActive(false);
    54.                 //_controller.CollisionsOn();
    55.                 _controller.SetVerticalForce( _verticalInput * WallClimpingSpeed);
    56.                // CurrentWallClimpingSpeed = Mathf.Abs(_verticalInput) * transform.up;
    57.  
    58.             }
    59.         }
    60.  
    61.  
    if any help is available that will be appreciated.
     
  45. artonator

    artonator

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Posts:
    68
    HI, I have purchased your engine, it looks awesome. Great job.

    I have one question.

    I have a round platfrom which is rotating though when a character landed into that platform, it stays where it landed instead of rotating with the platform, is there a way I can fix this?

    Thank you
     
  46. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @bravery > It's no easy task indeed. As I said, it's high on my todo list, it shouldn't be too long before it makes it into a release.
    @artonator > You'll need a script for that, it's a non physics based engine, nothing happens without a script explicitely telling things to happen. You can look at how the moving platforms work for reference.
     
  47. matttardiff

    matttardiff

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Posts:
    15
    This is the best update! I'm so very happy with the additions and fixes. Our girls say "Thank you!"
    13903331_10210968361791856_3328912814743514404_n.jpg
     
  48. matttardiff

    matttardiff

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Posts:
    15


    Hopefully i'm just doing something wrong.
    When I add the CharacterGrip to my character and Grip to the Object, no matter what, she'll always get sucked into the middle and stuck in her jump animation.
    When I remove the Grip component from the object, everything returns to normal.
    Here is what I've tried so far, even if some of it seems pointless.
    • Offset the grip values
      • This has the same result where I've offset the values.
    • Changed Layers
    • Changed Sorting
    • Removed and added several times
    • The object has a Box Collider 2D and its collision is the size of the object.
    What am I missing?

    Screen Shot 2018-12-17 at 4.00.31 PM.png Screen Shot 2018-12-17 at 4.01.16 PM.png
     
  49. pjooren

    pjooren

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Posts:
    11
    So I had been working on my game using the Corgi Engine for months, I've got a lot of time invested into it, I didn't import the new updates nor did I upgrade Unity until now. I decided to update to 5.3 because some of the features looked useful. This of-course required that I upgrade Unity. So I upgraded from 2017.2 to 2018.3. Now, I've got 40 or so compiler errors and it's a bit overwhelming to try to fix for someone that isn't very skilled at troubleshooting code. One of the reasons I purchased the Corgi Engine is because I'm not good at code. Sooo, is there something obvious that I'm missing? Am I the only one? or am I going to have to try to figure out each one of these errors? Or worst yet start over rebuilding everything I've done so far?
     
  50. reuno

    reuno

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2014
    Posts:
    3,082
    @matttardiff > Are these yours? They're adorable!
    As for the grip, I'm not sure what you were expecting, as you don't mention it :) As explained in the documentation, grip will indeed stick you to the center of the object (plus the offset) and turn the Gripping animation parameter to true, that's what the ability does, that's by design. You can see an example of it in the FeaturesPlatforms demo scene (the rope uses it). Maybe what you're after is the CharacterLedgeHang ability? If so, you can see an example of it in action at the start of the RetroPush demo scene, and check the documentation for more info about it.

    @pjooren > The safest way would probably to rollback to a previous version of Unity and your project. Then I guess I'd need to know more about the errors, are they engine related? Or in your own code? I'm not aware of any errors with 5.3 and 2018.3, it's gone through a lot of beta testing and no errors were reported. So my guess is it's in your code, and if it is, then rollbacking to a previous commit would be the way to go, especially if you don't want to debug :) Otherwise, I'm gonna need more info, such as wether or not these errors happen with a fresh install of the engine, and if they don't, what version you were coming from, etc. And please use the support email for support questions like these, thanks!