Search Unity

  1. We are migrating the Unity Forums to Unity Discussions. On July 12, the Unity Forums will become read-only.

    Please, do not make any changes to your username or email addresses at id.unity.com during this transition time.

    It's still possible to reply to existing private message conversations during the migration, but any new replies you post will be missing after the main migration is complete. We'll do our best to migrate these messages in a follow-up step.

    On July 15, Unity Discussions will become read-only until July 18, when the new design and the migrated forum contents will go live.


    Read our full announcement for more information and let us know if you have any questions.

[Released] Cascade - Rivers, Lakes, Waterfall and more ..

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by antoripa, Mar 7, 2018.

  1. filod

    filod

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Posts:
    226
    Cascade Manger UI is broken in Unity 2018.2.2f1 (4k display)

    upload_2018-8-21_13-31-51.png
    sometimes i need to click red circle to expand the section (whole ui seems a little up offset against click area)

    upload_2018-8-21_13-33-38.png
    Also this weird behavior


    other questions:
    1. Do u plan to add redo/undo system during design process (ctrl+z/ctrl+y), that would be very helpful !
    2. Is it possible to use 3rd party water shader (like a stylized / lowpoly one) ?

    thx !
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2018
  2. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,151
    Does the standard look so bad so that you consider a 3rd party one?
     
  3. filod

    filod

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Posts:
    226
    nope, cascade could be a general water design tool, and leave the artistic part to their users (such as river like these:



    just a thought :p
     
    MaximilianPs, antoripa and mattis89 like this.
  4. derkoi

    derkoi

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,273
    Sorry if this has been asked before but can I use Cascade to create water on my existing terrain without needing to carve from scratch?

    Thanks
     
    antoripa likes this.
  5. derkoi

    derkoi

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,273
    Tried to import into Unity 2018.2.3f1 with Vegetation Studio and got these errors:

     
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2018
    DougCole and antoripa like this.
  6. magique

    magique

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Posts:
    4,030
    There is a hotfix available for VS integration. You can get the file from the Cascade Discord channel.
     
    antoripa likes this.
  7. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    Hey . sorry .I did not get notification for your message.
    I would suggest to use also the support channels . there we can provide support in really short time . and you can get advice from entire community.
     
  8. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    Soon integration between Cascade and our new assets TerraPainter will be live

    TerraPainter will generate a biomes area from your Cascade Builder ( lake or river ) and use that for splatmap generation



     
  9. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    Yes, you can
     
  10. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    Latest version has fixed. It was an issue with VS Integration.
     
    derkoi likes this.
  11. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    Sure . I have plan to support other shader so you can use Cascade to shape your landscape and after apply your prefed shader other than Cascade native one.
     
  12. ctherndon

    ctherndon

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Posts:
    10
    Been looking forward to this since December 2016. I'm lucky I had this in my bookmarks or I would not have been able to find it again.
     
    antoripa likes this.
  13. twobob

    twobob

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2014
    Posts:
    2,058
    Bought everything you sell. and intend to buy all the rest. nice one.
     
    antoripa likes this.
  14. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    Hey... thanks a lot ...next weeks I will add more features to Cascade and TerraPainter ...
     
  15. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    Small overview about
    TERRAPAINTER AND CASCADE Integration ...
     
    boysenberry and nirvanajie like this.
  16. mkgame

    mkgame

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Posts:
    592
    Hi, how is the water quality? Do you have transparency for shore and deep water? Could I make this relatively simple water:

    bandicam 2018-10-06 23-53-41-517.jpg
     
    antoripa likes this.
  17. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    that's CASCADE UNIQUE FEATURES ..EarthShaping IP ... it works in real time as well
    I hope to never see plagiarism on that

    eeee.PNG
     
    Kirsche and LukeDawn like this.
  18. combatsheep

    combatsheep

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    133
    Hi.
    I purchased Cascade, and I need help.


    I started to learn Cascade with Youtube tutorial.
    When I set to "Design Mode On", pink mesh appeared.
    How can I fix it? Cascade_pinkMesh.jpg

    Env:
    MacBook12inch(2015/Metal).
    Unity2018.2.16f1

    Thanks.
     
  19. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,151
    Are you using the standard pipeline or hd/ld?
     
  20. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,151
    so, hows the performance? can I have some profiler view?
     
  21. combatsheep

    combatsheep

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    133
    Yes.
    OK, I'll try Cascade without render pipeline.
    (Do not use it?)

    Thank you, mattis89.
     
    antoripa likes this.
  22. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,151
    No, just update the materials! render pipeline settings >> Update materials
     
    combatsheep likes this.
  23. jbooth

    jbooth

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    5,461
    Custom shaders have to be re-written for render pipelines (from scratch, pretty much); Unity's upgrader only works for the standard shader.
     
    evilangel89, antoripa and combatsheep like this.
  24. combatsheep

    combatsheep

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    133
    I was wrong.
    After checking the project, I did not use the render pipeline.


    Cascade_pinkMesh_LWRenderPipline.jpg And after that, I tried to Upgrade project materials to Light weight Render pipline after installing LW render pipeline, too.
    But, nothing changed.

    Does MacBook use the bad GPU?
     
  25. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,151
    yes thats true, sorry guys forgot that...
     
  26. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,151
    hmmm looks like Cascade only support built in shader... And if you are using mac I cant help you
     
  27. kepesh

    kepesh

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    So it's not currently possible to apply a custom shader to the river mesh?
     
    antoripa likes this.
  28. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    If shader has not special requirement, you can
     
  29. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    Hi. From the screenshoot looks like you are using LW SRP. So Cascade shader won't work.
    Currenly SRP is a preview and not a stable release, so we don't support.
    As soon as Unity will release in final version, you will get full support. Thanks
     
  30. kepesh

    kepesh

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    Does Cascade work with mapmagic?
     
  31. kepesh

    kepesh

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    Getting this error when trying to add my terrain in the landscape tab. I'm pressing "Refresh Terrains from Scene"
     
  32. kepesh

    kepesh

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    Despite this bug, this plugin is extremely cool!
     
  33. combatsheep

    combatsheep

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2015
    Posts:
    133
    Hi.
    But, when I don't use LW SRP, the pink mesh appears.
    (Just I create a new project without LW SRP, and open the demo scene of Cascade.)

    Thanks.

    Unity2018.2.16f1
    MacBook 12inch(2015) HighSierra
    Cascade_pinkMesh2.jpg
     
  34. kepesh

    kepesh

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2017
    Posts:
    92
    Trying to get Cascade to work with Terrain Composer 2 but they're not co-operating well. Is there a way to make them work together?
     
  35. holodevice

    holodevice

    Joined:
    May 29, 2017
    Posts:
    28
    will the scripts support Windows universal platform (UWP) ?
    I see errors in other assets (Not yours) and I have not bought your assets (Cascade)yet. I would like to know if there will be support for the UWP platform.
     
    antoripa likes this.
  36. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163


    HAPPY NEW YEAR

     
  37. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163

    We are glad to introduce a new unique feature in CASCADE

    Procedural Lake Terrain Carving Generator
    with our original preview design mode







    Beware of imitations
    :):)
     
  38. Milanis

    Milanis

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2018
    Posts:
    55
    Gonna test it, thank you!!
     
    antoripa likes this.
  39. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    New Procedural Lake Terrain Carving Generator
    with our original preview design mode

    We are adding new amazing feature . video shows how is easy and powerfull


     
    evilangel89 and Rowlan like this.
  40. franky_li

    franky_li

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    165
    Hi Antonio,
    I just upgraded to VSP and have now errors from Cascade: 'VegetationStudioManager' does not contain a definition for 'SetCamera' and error CS0234: The type or namespace name 'VegetationTypeIndex' does not exist in the namespace 'AwesomeTechnologies' (are you missing an assembly reference?) I had to comment that code out, otherwise I can't use the play mode anymore!
    Any suggestions?
     
    antoripa likes this.
  41. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    Hello,
    thanks for reporting the issue. Did you have VS installed and you moved to VSP ?
     
  42. franky_li

    franky_li

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    165
    Yes!
     
  43. franky_li

    franky_li

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    165
    When can we have a fix for this error? I had to disable Cascade to be able to play in editor.
     
  44. ramos123

    ramos123

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Posts:
    7
    its compatible with Map Magic?
     
  45. franky_li

    franky_li

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2016
    Posts:
    165
    Since 4 month no update and no fixes, I can't use it anymore with Unity 2018.3.0 and Vegetation Studio Pro, I think I'll drop it and move to R.A.M., that seems to be much better maintained.
     
  46. Hitman772

    Hitman772

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2017
    Posts:
    3
    Hi
    Is There any tools within cascade to create oceans?

    Thank you
     
  47. Nevercallmebyname

    Nevercallmebyname

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2013
    Posts:
    120
    Hi. My terrain is going to be generated using map magic. I imagine that will prevent me from using this? This seems to be the only water related plugin that isn't just a shader for an infinite water plane and infinite water really wont work for the game I'm making.
    Also, can sections of this water be separated from the terrain for something like an aqueduct, a water wheel, could I have a dam beside a section of this water?
     
  48. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,151
    Hello! Is the LUX water intergration out?
     
    antoripa likes this.
  49. mattis89

    mattis89

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2017
    Posts:
    1,151
  50. antoripa

    antoripa

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Posts:
    1,163
    Not yet. Last planned test was with 2019.1 as there are some important changes.
    I hope will be out in next 2 weeks
     
    twobob likes this.