Search Unity

  1. Get all the Unite Berlin 2018 news on the blog.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity 2018.2 has arrived! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Improve your Unity skills with a certified instructor in a private, interactive classroom. Learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. ARCore is out of developer preview! Read about it here.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Magic Leap’s Lumin SDK Technical Preview for Unity lets you get started creating content for Magic Leap One™. Find more information on our blog!
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Want to see the most recent patch releases? Take a peek at the patch release page.
    Dismiss Notice

[RELEASED] AnnotatorPro 1.70

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by shanemarks, Jun 30, 2015.

  1. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Available at the Unity Asset Store

    Latest version 1.71 (released 14 August 2017)

    Hi, we would like to announce a new asset for Unity: AnnotatorPro


    This plugin allows you to easily capture screenshots and annotate over them without breaking the flow of your play-testing.

    Features (v1.71):
    • 2017 support
    • Beta UGUI Drawable component
    • Desktop, Android, IOS and WebGL / WebPlayer Support
    • Undo / Redo
    • Works on unity 4.x pro and unity 5+ Free and Pro (tested up to 5.6+)
    • Single click setup / integration
    • Game will automatically pause while annotating, with support for custom pause events should it be required.
    • Brush & eraser
    • Shape Tools (Arrow, Circle, Square)
    • FTP Upload
    • Shortcut keys
    • Text tool
    • Zoom tool
    • Ruler tool
    • Arrow tool
    • Dashed line tool
    • Automatic slack upload
    • Upload to teamwork.com tasklisk (beta)
    • Added support for recording and sending logs with screenshot (slack & teamwork)
    • Send screenshots via email
    • Extendable class for custom uploads
    • Metadata (time-stamping, Author)
    • Brush size preview.
    • Custom save path
    • Editable color swatches
    • JPG Compression available in versions of unity that support it
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2017
  2. AndrewRH

    AndrewRH

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Posts:
    1,964
  3. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Version 1.1 released!

    new features:

    • Single click integration
    • Text tool
    • Automatic slack upload
    • Extendable class for custom uploads
    • Metadata (time-stamping, author)
    • Brush size preview.
    • Custom save path
     
  4. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Version 1.2 Released

    New Features:
    Desktop AND Android build support
    Editable Colour Swatches

    Introductory special offer: $10

    Bug fixes:
    Text selection bugs fixed.
    Eraser size not setting correctly in unity 5.x
    Improved rendering paths (higher quality and better performance)
     
  5. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    New Features:
    Send screenshots via email

    Bug fixes:
    Improved quality when saving to disk.
    fixed bug with one-click annotation in play mode
     
  6. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    New Features (1.3)
    Refactored UI so it is more intuitive
    Zoom Tool

    Bug fixes:
    annotation material now created at runtime
     
  7. inertiadesigns

    inertiadesigns

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Posts:
    14
    Hi - cool looking asset
    is it possible to only the annotations without the actual screen imagery behind? basically the annotations and text with alpha channel.

    thanks!
     
  8. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Hi, thanks for the interest. The asset does not save the annotation separately as a transparent layer, but it could theoretically be extended to behave like that. What you have in mind?
     
  9. inertiadesigns

    inertiadesigns

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Posts:
    14
    Instead of binding the notations to a screen shot we were thinking of using the asset to record multiple notes in one session independent of what was going on the screen. Imagine the user could bring up the notation tool, add notes (and see the ones previously) and then dismiss it again until they want to write down another note. Like using a grease pen on your monitor - the notes stay persisted until the end of the session. Every time they brought up the tool they'd see the previous notes exactly where they had written them previously. If you reused the same file name, then it continues to save all the notes in the same image file. If you changed the file name at each save (incremental name for instance) then you'd see the notes "build" over time as you scroll through the saved images. The point here is that instead of 20 files representing one note each on 20 game objects, you could have 1 file with 20 notes during 1 play session, with just the notations isolated. Does that make sense?
     
  10. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Hi,

    That makes sense. Its an interesting idea. At the moment I'm focusing on core tools (e.g. shapes, arrows etc), so a grease pencil won't be on the road-map for a while. That being said, it is certainly something for me to think about for future rounds of development though.
     
  11. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Version 1.35 Released

    New Features:
    Shortcuts
    Arrow tool

    Workflow enhancements
    • Shortcut key to take screenshot also toggles out of capture mode now
    • "Are you sure" on quit only shows if you have made an edit
    • Added tooltips
    • Palette icon shows the current brush colour
    • Button spacing improved
     
  12. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Version 1.37 Released
    New Features:
    Extra shapes (circle, square)
    FTP Upload integration
     
  13. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Version 1.4 Released

    Added teamwork.com integration (beta)
    Deactivates event system when annotating
    added jpg compression
    Fixed in-editor bug for unity 5.2+
    fixed example custom pause scene
     
  14. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Version 1.45 Released

    Added Undo / Redo support for painting tools
    Added back missing zoom icon
     
  15. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Version 1.46 Released

    Added Ruler tool
     
  16. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Version 1.47 Released

    Added support for recording logs, which can be sent along with the screenshot to slack or teamwork
    Add
     
  17. AlexJ.AlexJ

    AlexJ.AlexJ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Posts:
    1
    Does it support on web unity player? i want to make annotation running in the web player of unity….
     
  18. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Hi,

    I just added beta webgl and webplayer support, see video below:


    If you have any other questions please feel free to contact me
     
  19. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Version 1.50 Released

    New Features:
    WebGL and WebPlayer support
     
  20. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Version 1.55 Released
    New Features:
    IOS Support !
    New in-editor tool window
     
  21. artifexet

    artifexet

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Hi.
    I have a problem with Annotator. It does not work properly in editor. The problem occurs also in windowed mode standard OS X applications. Instead screenshot is displayed gray screen. In addition, in editor I can't draw.
    I using free unity 5.3.4
     
  22. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Sorry to hear you are having issues. I will testing on that version of unity on OSX tomorrow and see if I can replicate the problem. are there any error logs being thrown? Please email through that information to unitysupport@renderheads.com and I will look into it soon.

    Shane
     
  23. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Hi Artifexet.

    I have fixed the bugs reported as I was able to replicate them on OSX 5.3.4. A new version should be available on the asset store soon.

    I have sent you a fixed version via mail in the mean time.

    Bugs fixed in version 1.56
    • improved file path resolution on OSX
    • fixed bug in windowed mode where screenshot was not getting applied to texture
     
  24. artifexet

    artifexet

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    Posts:
    6
    Thank you for the fast response and path.
     
  25. tolosaoldfan

    tolosaoldfan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    56
    Hello,
    I have an important bug when I reload the scene that contains the Annotator.
    It works well the first time the scene is loaded. The app unloads the scene and loads once again the scene => error when Adding a new element in ModalManager.cs
    in :
    Add(...)
    {
    Assert.Test(!_modalContents.ContainsKey(modalName),"Anactionisalreadyassignedtokey:"+modalName);
    Assert.Test(guiDelegate !=null,"Passinganullintothedelegatefieldisnotacceptable");
    ModalDatadata=newModalData(guiDelegate,title);
    _modalContents.Add(modalName,data);
    }


    The error is :
    An action is already assigned to key: ModalQuit
    UnityEngine.Debug:LogError(Object)
    RH.Annotator.Assert:Test(Boolean, String) (at Assets/Annotator/scripts/AnnotatorUtils.cs:303)
    RH.Annotator.ModalManager:Add(String, Action, String) (at Assets/Annotator/scripts/GUI/ModalManager.cs:111)
    RH.Annotator.<Start>c__Iterator2:MoveNext() (at Assets/Annotator/scripts/ScreenAnnotateGUI.cs:466)


    and just after :

    ArgumentException: An element with the same key already exists in the dictionary.
    System.Collections.Generic.Dictionary`2[System.String,RH.Annotator.ModalData].Add (System.String key, ModalData value) (at /Users/builduser/buildslave/mono/build/mcs/class/corlib/System.Collections.Generic/Dictionary.cs:404)
    RH.Annotator.ModalManager.Add (System.String modalName, System.Action guiDelegate, System.String title) (at Assets/Annotator/scripts/GUI/ModalManager.cs:114)
    RH.Annotator.ScreenAnnotateGUI+<Start>c__Iterator2.MoveNext () (at Assets/Annotator/scripts/ScreenAnnotateGUI.cs:466)


    We must release very soon our apps. Any help would be great !
    We love your plugin. Very quickly implemented, and give an addedvalue for our app. Great job !
     
  26. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52

    Hi there,

    Thanks for reporting the issue, I will be happy to look into it for you. Please send an email to unitysupport@renderheads.com and include your unity version and operating system.

    Does this happen in an empty scene? Ideally, if you can replicate the problem in a small scene and send it to me, it would be easier to debug.

    I think I have a good idea as to whats going on though - I expect I can resolve this for you in the next 24 hours

    These asserts are fired if it tries to add the same modal view to the scene twice (so it may be to do with how the scene is being loaded)
     
  27. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    @tolosaoldfan A fix should now be available if you update the asset from the asset store (logs should report v1.57).

    Bugs fixed in version 1.57
    • Better handling of loading scenes containing annotators.
    • Modal Manager collections are cleared on the destruction of the annotator.
     
  28. tolosaoldfan

    tolosaoldfan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    56
    Hello,
    I upgraded to Unity v5.4 and got this error :
    "Assets/Annotator/connectors/SlackConnector.cs(146,44): error CS0117: `RH.Annotator.AnnotatorUtils' does not contain a definition for `EncodingJPG'"
    Annotator worked well with the 5.3 version before the upgrade.
     
  29. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Thanks for reporting the issue - I will release a build for 5.4 very soon (probably tomorrow)

    Shane
     
  30. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Version 1.58 released - this should fix your issues with unity 5.4
     
  31. tolosaoldfan

    tolosaoldfan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    56
    Thanks you Shane for the prompt fix !
     
  32. tolosaoldfan

    tolosaoldfan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    56
    Hi,
    I didn't succeed to use the email feature.
    No email was sent, and I tried all the servers we're using in our company.
    Can you give some examples of smtp server settings that are working for you ?
    Tested in the editor, under MacOs 10.11.6 U3D 5.4.03 + annotator 1.58
     
  33. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Hi sorry to hear you are having problems.

    I am currently travelling in France and will be back next Monday, I will try to have a look at this as soon as I can, might take a day or two.
     
  34. tolosaoldfan

    tolosaoldfan

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2012
    Posts:
    56
    Do'nt worry, it's not very urgent. Stay calm and enjoy your trip in the most beautiful country ;)
    We're based in Toulouse, France. Do you stay in Paris only or have we a chance to meet ?
     
  35. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Thanks:)

    It is beautiful indeed. I am in Paris for the Gameconnection conference, unfortunately I won't be visiting other cities while I am here :( Next time I am in France I will definitely come and say hi!
     
  36. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Hi,

    I managed to send an email fine... Are you using GMAIL as the smtp server?

    If so be sure to use port 587 (port 465 won't work).

    Also in your Gmail settings you need to activate "Allow less secure apps". By default it blocks most 3rd party mail sending apps
    .
    https://support.google.com/accounts/answer/6010255?hl=en

    If this does not solve the issue, let me know what platform you are building for, and what the error message is and I will look further into it.

    Shane
     
  37. Galahad

    Galahad

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Posts:
    72
    Good evening,
    I would like to know if there is anything that could be done to improve this tool performance.
    It runs fine on my PC, but runs poorly on my boss notebook.

    Regards
    Thiago
     
  38. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Hi Thiago,
    Sorry to hear you have having performance issues. What are the specs of your bosses PC.

    The annotator is actually quite lightweight already so I am surprised you are running into issues. It only draws a fullscreen texture to the screen, and redraws only where you draw.

    If you are able to share the project with me I can take a look at whats going on.

    Alternatively,
    A potential solution would be for you to add the PauseHook component and then write a function that disables the other render cameras in the scene while you are annotating, and re-enables them when you are done - I would be interested to see if this fixes it, if it does I may add it as an option to the system.
     
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2016
  39. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Version 1.59 Released

    Bug Fixes:
    Fixed rendering issues when using deferred pipeline

    General:

    Tested and compatible with unity 5.5


     
  40. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Version 1.70 Released

    New Feature:
    Dashed Line Tool
     
  41. avrigus

    avrigus

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Posts:
    53
    Heya,

    I'm just integrating the annotator into my project and i'd like to know how I can change the position of the onscreen button? I'd like to position it at the bottom left of the screen.

    Thanks,

    Simon
     
  42. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Hello,

    In ScreenAnnotateActivator.cs, you can modify the Rect parameters in the OnGUI function.... bottom left would look something like this:

     
  43. shanemarks

    shanemarks

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2012
    Posts:
    52
    Released
    Version 1.71
    Changes:
    Unity 2017.x support
    Added beta drawable uGUI component