Search Unity

[RELEASED] 3D Scifi Kit Vol 3!

Discussion in 'Assets and Asset Store' started by Creepy-Cat, Jun 21, 2018.

  1. smada-luap

    smada-luap

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2013
    Posts:
    943
    or next to a space station :D
     
    dirkjacobasch likes this.
  2. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    The health pod doors does not have a collider. :)
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  3. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    After a coke glass splash and a glued by sugar keyboards keys, here is a small video of the actual wip... Sorry for accent...


    I can't imagine the size of the hangar needed :)

     
    hopeful likes this.
  4. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    That looks awesome. Can't wait to see it when it is ready.
    How long is the ship and how can I enter the ship?
     
  5. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Around 300 meters long (Unity units), about the entering??, it's a good question lol :)

    Because i just begin to "think" the interior kit! The official spaceship entrance will be like the movie, by the bottom hangar pneumatic bay, but i need to do :)

    For the release 1.08 only the rear hangar and the command cockpit will be ready i think...

    Else i take more time, and i release with all. But you will need to wait :) I saw the 1.08 like an intermediate update before the 1.09 (with interior kit) because some peoples want begin code to move the ship reactors :)
     
  6. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    The actual spaceship size VS the others :)

    Capture d’écran 2019-01-16 à 21.43.45.png
     
    Quarior and smada-luap like this.
  7. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Actual rover size VS landing gear, this rover can enter in the bottom hangar bay :)

    Capture d’écran 2019-01-16 à 21.46.04.png Capture d’écran 2019-01-16 à 21.47.34.png
     
  8. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,883
    Great choice on those interior inspirations. If you can get that kind of look ... wow!

    Oh, and I did laugh when you spilled your Coke, sorry! Your accent is fine, I could understand all the cursing! lol

    Are you leaving room for cargo? I imagine any ship has to hold some boxes of supplies ... parts for repairing the ship, if nothing else.
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  9. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    I plan all of this by a new kit interior! In a previous topic if i remember, i showed how i plan it. A serie of modules stackable and linkable by a door or a corridor. A more simple system for spaceship interiors, this new kit allow me to not recreate the wheel each time i make a spaceship in the futur... Because you need to know that do those kind of stuff break my balls each time :) If i can get a generic interior kit for ships... It should be cool for me!

    Thanks for the accent :) :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2019
  10. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    Take the time you need. I can wait. :)
    You could make an elevator comming down from the bridge.
     
  11. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    I plan something like this (i'll try to beat the masters...) if i can technicaly... :) I begin for the doors :) About elevator?
    Hum maybe, but stairs for the begining, sure! Think to your cardio... :)

    Why not elevator? Because i want to avoid noob message example :

    "Why the elevator do not take my stair choice blablabla? I'll write a crappy review if you don't fix it etc..."

    Or better :

    "Why the elevator can't be exported to another project?? Please refund now! Else i write a rotten review!"

    (i'm not joking, i got some case like this...)

    If i can avoid codes problem, i do it... If i put a elevator, it's because i have a code solution that i can debug by myself, like the rover physic or the doors script, or the small shooting system. But never i shoot my own foot with a technology i can't debug.

    If you knew how the door script break my balls to be created, the eternal fight with local rotation and world rotation VS meshes axis.... has been a nightmare for the no coder i am!! :) :)



    Capture d’écran 2019-01-16 à 22.00.34.png Capture d’écran 2019-01-16 à 22.01.01.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2019
    TeagansDad and AshyB like this.
  12. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,883
    Building things in a modular fashion is a good idea ... for you, and for us. Thanks! :)
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  13. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Yes but less of liberty for a particular interior creation (like the actual kit for houses) but IMO 60% => 70% of the users want big blocks to prototype quickly something...
     
  14. EstudioVR

    EstudioVR

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2013
    Posts:
    61
    This spaceship deserves a package just for it. I'll be happy to pay for the extra.
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  15. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Just for you it's a secret... But i plan secretly to make the volume 3 with a maximum of spaceship/pieces/prices etc, and next i plan to work on a scifi kit vol 4 but with a alien look but the same rules/number of objects etc :) to get a coherent using/look/rules between the two kits. this kit is a good laboratory for me :) :)

    But of course, not for now! I hate running two rabbits at same time :)

    But first i can't wait to see the first productions made with my kit on steam :) :) Just by curiosity!
     
    EstudioVR likes this.
  16. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    Yeah, face hugger confirmed. :D
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  17. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    I'm working on the pilot plateform, all is modular, you can extract all pieces you want :) I found that the look is better with the small base plateform. I need to make the stairs now :)

    Capture d’écran 2019-01-17 à 12.55.07.png Capture d’écran 2019-01-17 à 12.55.24.png
     
    Rajmahal and dirkjacobasch like this.
  18. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    I like the ambiant you can give! War mode in this case :) :) Only a bloom for post effect, i can't wait to test this with screen space reflection post effect... But this damn effect do not work anymore on my old mac, it worked on 2017...

    Capture d’écran 2019-01-17 à 15.38.21.png Capture d’écran 2019-01-17 à 15.56.16.png
     
    dirkjacobasch likes this.
  19. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    That looks awesome!:cool:
     
    hopeful and Creepy-Cat like this.
  20. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    I have a wish for the next update. Is it possible that you add the Light_Support part of the P_Light_Exterior_01 prefab as a single light? :rolleyes:
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  21. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    If i understand you want just one halogen lamp ? Any screen possible to understand and not
    loose time? :)
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2019
  22. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    The part in the red square. light.jpg
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  23. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Ok, i'll try to think it :) Note : If i forget, do not hesitate to remember me... Lot of work to do on this release :)
     
    dirkjacobasch likes this.
  24. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    Thanks alot for your support. I wish I could model a little bit, but I even fail with those simple models. :D
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  25. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    With a low level max skill it is possible to import the FBX file and extract the part you need :) But i'll try to remember to make one halogen (i think to need one for the pilot glass window)
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2019
  26. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Hey :)

    I reworked on the plateform, i push up a bit the poly number to get a more detailled object... And the stair is almost finish :)

    Capture d’écran 2019-01-18 à 02.15.31.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 22, 2019
    dirkjacobasch likes this.
  27. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    New cockpit screens :) I think finish the spaceship body soon... (i know i say that since a while, but now it's true)

    Capture d’écran 2019-01-18 à 21.04.08.png Capture d’écran 2019-01-18 à 21.01.52.png
    Capture d’écran 2019-01-18 à 21.05.10.png
     
  28. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    I re-worked on the lights mesh in the hangar bay... and bay door finish!

    Capture d’écran 2019-01-22 à 02.39.56.png Capture d’écran 2019-01-22 à 02.41.38.png Capture d’écran 2019-01-22 à 02.43.54.png
     
    AshyB, Quarior, hopeful and 1 other person like this.
  29. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    Awesome!
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  30. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    I'm starting the bottom hangar texturing :) (Blue = Un-textured...)

    Capture d’écran 2019-01-27 à 03.05.01.png
     
  31. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    Nice
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  32. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
  33. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    Cool. Any idea how to add LOD to you models?
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  34. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,883
    Nice! Looks like it is an object that could either be lowered and loaded, or switched out like a cartridge ...?
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  35. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Actually? Hum, no... But the pieces are really low poly, i think that a good using of the occlusion culling should be enought. Because creating lod piece is really a second job! When the kit will be most advanced i'll create some "low poly" of some pieces. But that all... The kit get really good FPS perf actually.


    Yeah, like the movie :) This big hangar bay is the only possibility to go in the big spaceship from floor. It drop down from the spaceship => Like a elevator => To the ground.

    Like this :

    Capture d’écran 2019-01-30 à 10.23.12.png

    But i need to finish the door! Like on this prometheus rough graphic :

    Capture d’écran 2019-01-30 à 10.22.17.png

    And due to modularity, i'll keep this big hangar to a autonomous prefab :) Like this you can use it for anything you want, no locked to the spaceship.

    And yes, it allow the possibility to be switched "like a cartridge ..." :) ! I hope you like it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2019
    dirkjacobasch likes this.
  36. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    Hi,

    I don't mean you should add LODs, I meant do you know any kind of asset I can use to add LODs. There are some LOD assets, but I have no idea which are good. :)
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  37. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Ah! Ok :) I need admit to don't know what kind of asset can do it! Usually the lod is made by the GFX artist himself. You get bad performance? Or it's just to add a feature in your project?
     
  38. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    My problem is, that I can not use Unitys OC because Unity is crashing all the time when I try to bake OC in my 2000km solar system. :( Don't know why. There is not much in it right now. A sun, 3 planets, 2 moons and a space station. That is why I want to use LODs plus I make my own simple dynamic OC.
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  39. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Did you try to play with the size of the OC block ?
     
  40. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    Yes, I tried to bake occlusion area onyl for the space station with the same result. Unity crashed.
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  41. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Hey :)

    I decided to change my plans a bit! Indeed after some tests on the hangar under the ship,
    I found that integration was wobbly...

    So I decided to add a big hatch under the ship which then let down the hangar.
    You will also see the rear hangar door which is finished.

    But with this new configuration I have to change the hangar bottom texture :)

     
    dirkjacobasch likes this.
  42. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    Looks great. The ship is so big that you can make a FPS arena inside of the ship. :D
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.
  43. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Once I finish the interior kit, yes :)
     
  44. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Door for the bottom hangar bay almost finish :)


    Capture d’écran 2019-01-31 à 15.25.23.png

    Capture d’écran 2019-01-31 à 15.25.57.png
     
    hopeful likes this.
  45. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    I need to finish the small gears on the side, and this hangar bay should be terminated :)

    Capture d’écran 2019-01-31 à 16.40.51.png
     
    AshyB, Quarior, hopeful and 2 others like this.
  46. hopeful

    hopeful

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2013
    Posts:
    4,883
    Look into SimpleLOD. It even has runtime generation of LOD, which is great if you are doing any procedural generation.
     
    dirkjacobasch likes this.
  47. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Neviah, AshyB and Quarior like this.
  48. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    Hey all :)

    I'm happy! :) In fact, i finished the body texturing! And now i can integrate the body into the spaceship prefab... pfiuuuu (sigh).

    Now, i need to add details / lightning/ small things, and prefabs into the command center! But i find the result cool :)

    I hope you like it!

    Video :


    Screen :
    Capture d’écran 2019-02-01 à 01.33.16.png Capture d’écran 2019-02-01 à 01.33.33.png Capture d’écran 2019-02-01 à 01.33.56.png
    Capture d’écran 2019-02-01 à 01.34.27.png
     
    Quarior, Neviah, AshyB and 2 others like this.
  49. Creepy-Cat

    Creepy-Cat

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Posts:
    612
    And the prefab : P_Light_01 ? Maybe enought to use it on a wall etc? Or stucked on another small object? I thinked to this, when i worked on the big spaceship spotlight effects :)
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2019
  50. dirkjacobasch

    dirkjacobasch

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Posts:
    173
    I want to use it on walls or on the ground.
     
    Creepy-Cat likes this.