Search Unity

1. Megacity Metro Demo now available. Download now.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Unity support for visionOS is now available. Learn more in our blog post.
    Dismiss Notice

Regarding modular level design

Discussion in 'World Building' started by loxagos_snake, Nov 12, 2018.

1. loxagos_snake

loxagos_snake

Hello there! Not sure if this is the right place to ask, but Worldbuilding was the closest to level design I could find. This is gonna get a bit long, but bear with me.

I'm making a first-person horror game (how original, eh) in Unity, and I decided to build my levels using modular assets of my own. The reasons being 1) I love the quick iteration it enables and 2) most of my past monolithic levels built in Blender ended up accumulating lighting issues. Since this is my first time attempting this approach, I've read up on the subject, watched a few talks -like the excellent one at GDC by the Bethesda devs about modular design in Skyrim/FO4- but I'm still having trouble understanding some principles. Just for the record, I'm making all my models in Blender and texturing in Substance Painter/Designer. My basic level blockout is already made in Unity using ProBuilder.

The first roadblock I'm hitting concerns walls, specifically making them 1-sided (plane) vs 2-sided. No matter how much I search around, it seems like everyone just casually ignores explaining their choice. I made a few mock up walls of both varieties myself: single-sided walls are better on performance but lack thickness - unless I leave an arbitrary, ugly gap between them when making walls that can be seen from both sides, while double sided walls seem more natural.