Search Unity

Discussion refreshRate obsolete, use refreshRateRatio instead + SetResolution fourth argument

Discussion in 'Scripting' started by ShidaPenns, Feb 19, 2023.

1. ShidaPenns

ShidaPenns

'Resolution.refreshRate' is obsolete: 'Resolution.refreshRate is obsolete. Use refreshRateRatio instead.'

'Screen.SetResolution(int, int, FullScreenMode, int)' is obsolete: 'SetResolution(int, int, FullScreenMode, int) is obsolete. Use SetResolution(int, int, FullScreenMode, RefreshRate) instead.'

So I had these two issues, just warnings about obsolescence that I could ignore of course. But I wanted to solve it. But I couldn't find anything online. Which is to say... I'm actually kind of proud of myself for solving this, as I'm an almost complete beginner, just started recently. Only able to do this at all thanks to ChatGPT, I'm disabled and learning is a painfully stressful thing.

Anyway, so, I had this (resolutions is a Resolutions[] array set to Screen.resolutions):
    Code (CSharp):
    1.         for (int i = 0; i < resolutions.Length; i++)
    2.         {
    3.             if (resolutions[i].refreshRate == refreshRate)
    4.             {
    5.                 filteredResolutions.Add(resolutions[i]);
    6.             }
    7.         }

And worked out I can replace refreshRate with refreshRateRatio.value. So, this:
    Code (CSharp):
    1.         for(int i = 0; i < resolutions.Length; i++)
    2.         {
    3.             if (resolutions[i].refreshRateRatio.value == refreshRate)
    4.             {
    5.                 filteredResolutions.Add(resolutions[i]);
    6.             }
    7.         }
    But the next one was a lot more difficult, everything I tried wasn't working and ChatGPT was giving wrong answers that didn't work. But I eventually worked out how to properly set the fourth value of SetResolution which expects a RefreshRate type (rRate is my refresh rate value here, an int set to "60"):
    Code (CSharp):